Plasma Causing Hum in Amps - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 11-21-2013, 02:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
slovell1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting an oscillating hum from my Adcom amps whenever I turn on my Panasonic plasma tv. The hum isn't coming through the speakers, but from the amps themselves. I turn on the tv and the amps hum, I turn the tv off and the hum from the amps disappears. I'm stumped. The amps and the tv are plugged into separate outlets on different walls in the room. Does anyone have any advice as to how to fix this?
slovell1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 11-21-2013, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
lentiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by slovell1 View Post

I'm getting an oscillating hum from my Adcom amps whenever I turn on my Panasonic plasma tv. The hum isn't coming through the speakers, but from the amps themselves. I turn on the tv and the amps hum, I turn the tv off and the hum from the amps disappears. I'm stumped. The amps and the tv are plugged into separate outlets on different walls in the room. Does anyone have any advice as to how to fix this?

Sounds like you may need a ground loop isolator or equivalent. The easiest way to test this is get a grounded to ungrounded (i.e. three female prong to two male prong) adapter at Home Depot and plug it into your amp power plug then plug that into the wall. Then turn on the plasma and see if you still get hum. I had a subwoofer that did this and that fixed it. There are other fixes also, but this is the least expensive. Insert warning about surge protection and such here.


 

lentiman is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 11-21-2013, 02:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
slovell1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The plugs on the amps and tv are all two prong male. Should I try a two female to three male adapter? Do they even make these? I've seen the three female to two male but I don't recall seeing the two female to three male.
slovell1 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-19-2014, 04:34 PM
Newbie
 
ginospin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe you have resolved issue. I had same problem with new panasonic plasma and emotiva amps.

I plugged tv in outlet on different circuit while everything else remained same, problem gone.
ginospin is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-21-2014, 11:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
slovell1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought a Humbuster from AVA Audio which completely eliminated the hum. It's not often you actually get what you paid for.
Regards, Sam
slovell1 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Plasma Hdtv

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off