Samsung PN51F5300 – What a little gem! - i1Pro Calibration results inside - Page 20 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Display Devices > Plasma Flat Panel Displays > Samsung PN51F5300 – What a little gem! - i1Pro Calibration results inside

Plasma Flat Panel Displays

E5teufelhunden0311
07:26 PM Liked: 0
post #571 of 1432
06-17-2014 | Posts: 1
Joined: Jun 2014
Hello everyone. I just purchased this set today and am very excited about it. I am definitely a plasma fan. I have looked over a majority of the posts here and will use each of them to set my calibration to meet my needs. I do have a couple questions. I've seen several posts talking about letting the set "settle in" first. What exactly does that entail and should I do that before calibration? Also, I've seen posts mentioning something about black bars on the TV while watching Blu Ray and this subject seemed important to the calibration. What exactly is it referring to?

Thanks!
showsjohn's Avatar showsjohn
09:02 PM Liked: 17
post #572 of 1432
06-17-2014 | Posts: 93
Joined: Jun 2010
Getting my TV delivered tomorrow, very excited. PC gaming will be absolutely glorious on this. Still havent decided on a proper stand for it yet. Any ideas on some black stands with a mount? Not a fan of the stand, though I havent seen it in person yet.
drag0nkore
10:43 PM Liked: 0
post #573 of 1432
06-17-2014 | Posts: 3
Joined: Jun 2014
Hello, everyone, thanks for the great thread. I just bought a used PN51F5300 and everything looks great with Dan's settings, except for two issues that are bugging me.

1) When the screen is transitioning to something and there is black displayed (e.g., you load a blu-ray and it goes to black while it spins the disc), there are faint grey horizontal bars that show up, but they aren't visible when the actual movie is playing during a dark scene. I got closer to the screen to take a look and there is some static-looking fuzz going on. Not sure if this is normal or not.

2) While investing this issue, I paused a blu-ray and got close to the screen and there were little white speckles randomly alternating throughout the screen, but they are totally not noticeable at all from a short distance. The movie had black bars on the top and bottom and those had no white speckles, just the actual movie frame. Again, not sure if this is something specific to plasma or PenTile displays (only owned LCDs), or a defect.

Neither of these is terrible as I got a great deal on this TV, but I'm just curious.

Thanks.


Edit: After more reading, I think #2 might be "dithering noise" which is apparently normal.
showsjohn's Avatar showsjohn
11:56 AM Liked: 17
post #574 of 1432
06-18-2014 | Posts: 93
Joined: Jun 2010
Had my TV delivered today, only had about 30 minutes to play with it before work. Coming from a 2010 Panasonic G20 I was surprised how thin the bezel was in person. Nothin compared to an LCD or higher end Plasma, but very sleek nonetheless. I was also very surprised how great it looks close up. My Panny looks like ass unless I'm at least 6+ feet away. The F5300 looks great as close as 3 feet with very little dither noise. I couldn't believe it.

A lot of people report issues with glare and washed out image when the lights are on. I found this of no issue for me. The lack of a filter just shows a hair more reflection than my Panny, and that's with the overhead light on. When its off, its perfect, but I have no issues with the lights in.

Still got to put it to the tests as far as blurays and such and tweak the colors, but left a great impression in the short time. I think I may end up regretting not getting the 64", but I may still pick up the 60" for the living room if the 64" doesn't come back in stock.
schrock's Avatar schrock
12:56 PM Liked: 12
post #575 of 1432
06-18-2014 | Posts: 37
Joined: Mar 2014
Would someone be kind enough to measure the wattage draw on this tv using a kill a watt device or something similar?
drag0nkore
05:00 PM Liked: 0
post #576 of 1432
06-18-2014 | Posts: 3
Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by schrock View Post
Would someone be kind enough to measure the wattage draw on this tv using a kill a watt device or something similar?
Haven't tested it myself but an Amazon review states 144 kWh.



To anyone who experiences a fuzziness when the TV is displaying solid black: lower your brightness. I reduced mine from 49 to 40 and now blacks are much more solid while maintaining a great picture.
showsjohn's Avatar showsjohn
05:18 PM Liked: 17
post #577 of 1432
06-18-2014 | Posts: 93
Joined: Jun 2010
Having big issues with this TV and my PS3. The signal keeps cutting in and out. Doesn't do this on my PC so I'm not sure what's going on. I've tried different cables and doesn't help. The ps3 works just fine on 2 other displays. Is there something I'm overlooking. If I play a bluray it seems to play uninteruppted, but as soon as I go to the PS3,homescreen it goes haywire. Any ideas?
schrock's Avatar schrock
05:19 PM Liked: 12
post #578 of 1432
06-18-2014 | Posts: 37
Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by drag0nkore View Post
Haven't tested it myself but an Amazon review states 144 kWh.
Correct and that translates to 78.9 watts which also matches the samsung website which states typical 78 watts and max 299 watts. I was hoping someone might be kind enough to post actual readings. I am having a hard time believing this tv only uses 78 watts.
gilstein21's Avatar gilstein21
07:27 PM Liked: 10
post #579 of 1432
06-18-2014 | Posts: 26
Joined: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by showsjohn View Post
Having big issues with this TV and my PS3. The signal keeps cutting in and out. Doesn't do this on my PC so I'm not sure what's going on. I've tried different cables and doesn't help. The ps3 works just fine on 2 other displays. Is there something I'm overlooking. If I play a bluray it seems to play uninteruppted, but as soon as I go to the PS3,homescreen it goes haywire. Any ideas?
something to check in the PS3 settings, though I'm not sure where it's located. I saw it in the menu the other day though. There is an option to have the PS3 detect source and match output. Bluray would be 24P, while most other things will be 60P. Maybe there is a handshake issue there. I don't know if it'll help, but it's something to check out.
showsjohn's Avatar showsjohn
08:33 PM Liked: 17
post #580 of 1432
06-18-2014 | Posts: 93
Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilstein21 View Post
something to check in the PS3 settings, though I'm not sure where it's located. I saw it in the menu the other day though. There is an option to have the PS3 detect source and match output. Bluray would be 24P, while most other things will be 60P. Maybe there is a handshake issue there. I don't know if it'll help, but it's something to check out.
Found another HDMI cable and this one works like a charm. I guess this set is just picky which one it likes. No biggie.

Can't rave enough about this set, exceeded all my expectations. It really puts my old Panny to shame.

My only gripe is the constant source input info box showing up when I launch a game or bluray, is there a way to disable that?
showsjohn's Avatar showsjohn
11:12 AM Liked: 17
post #581 of 1432
06-19-2014 | Posts: 93
Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by showsjohn View Post
Having big issues with this TV and my PS3. The signal keeps cutting in and out. Doesn't do this on my PC so I'm not sure what's going on. I've tried different cables and doesn't help. The ps3 works just fine on 2 other displays. Is there something I'm overlooking. If I play a bluray it seems to play uninteruppted, but as soon as I go to the PS3,homescreen it goes haywire. Any ideas?
Issue still happening now. Is the set most likely defective? Looks like I'll need to see if I can exchange it.
ordo's Avatar ordo
06:10 PM Liked: 10
post #582 of 1432
06-19-2014 | Posts: 299
Joined: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by showsjohn View Post
From what I understand, the 64" is also full 1080p unlike the 60" which has a pentile matrix screen. I'd say go for the 64". Im actually thinking about that myself. Just not sure if I can handle the glare. I'm pretty OCD about that kinda thing.
website (samsung) says that the pn60f5300bfxza has "1080p vertical high definition picture performance" and "delivers 1920 x 1080(blavk and white) resolution. Again under the full specs under resolution it says, "1920 x 1080 (black and white)" Whet does this mean? FWIW I checked the 51 inch 5300 series.It says is full 1080p and NO reference to black and white anywhere.Anyone?

Also, what is this pentile thing and does this set have it?
ADU's Avatar ADU
11:50 PM Liked: 179
post #583 of 1432
06-19-2014 | Posts: 6,497
Joined: Apr 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by ordo View Post
website (samsung) says that the pn60f5300bfxza has "1080p vertical high definition picture performance" and "delivers 1920 x 1080(blavk and white) resolution. Again under the full specs under resolution it says, "1920 x 1080 (black and white)" Whet does this mean? FWIW I checked the 51 inch 5300 series.It says is full 1080p and NO reference to black and white anywhere.Anyone?

Also, what is this pentile thing and does this set have it?
The short answer is that PenTile displays are somewhere between 720p and 1080p resolution. I believe they typically have 1080 rows of pixels from top to bottom, but there are fewer red and blue subpixels running across the screen in each row than on a typical 1920x1080p display. And the red and blue subpixels are staggered in every other row.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pentile

The right side is a closeup of a PenTile screen...



I believe only the 60" F5300 uses a PenTile array. Best Buy carries it, and many stores should a have a demo unit if you want to check it out. The newer 64H5000 Samsung plasma also uses a PenTile array.

I've looked at both displays, and could see a difference between the PenTile and standard 1920x1080p screens when viewing them at a relatively close distance. The pixels are a bit larger and more noticeable on the PenTiles than on other comparably sized 1920x1080p screens, which translates to more SDE ("screen door effect"). Dithering will probably also be a little coarser and more noticeable on the PenTiles.

The green subpixels have the most luminance, so that's why they can get away with saying that the B&W horizontal resolution is still "1920p".

The 51F5300 is a "true" 1920x1080p screen though. The pixel structure on the 51F5300 looks like the left image above, and is virtually invisible from a few feet away.
gary777's Avatar gary777
12:19 PM Liked: 15
post #584 of 1432
06-20-2014 | Posts: 97
Joined: May 2008
Any one know the difference between the PN60F5300BFXZA & PN60F5300AFXZA Other than the 5300A is a 2013 model & 5300B is 2014 model.
showsjohn's Avatar showsjohn
07:05 PM Liked: 17
post #585 of 1432
06-20-2014 | Posts: 93
Joined: Jun 2010
Any good settings for gaming? I'm having trouble finding a good balance. I feel my older Panasonic has noticably better color saturation, on top of being brighter. Almost like the image is slightly washed out in comparison. I get that it's a budget TV, but my Panny is 3-4 years older so I'm a tad disappointed in that.
afterlife2's Avatar afterlife2
05:03 PM Liked: 27
post #586 of 1432
06-22-2014 | Posts: 304
Joined: Feb 2012
Quick question when there is a dark scene on the TV it goes completely black then when a scene with a little light comes in it goes back to normal black. Is this something that can be disabled? Don't bother me, but like to know if it can be shut off? Hope you know what I mean. Thanks.
Plasma5300's Avatar Plasma5300
01:03 AM Liked: 18
post #587 of 1432
06-23-2014 | Posts: 225
Joined: Mar 2014
I just noticed while turning up the cell light that after 16 it doesnt seem to actually get any brighter on 17 , 18, 19 , or 20. Can anyone else confirm this is how the tv is made?
gilstein21's Avatar gilstein21
07:01 AM Liked: 10
post #588 of 1432
06-23-2014 | Posts: 26
Joined: Nov 2009
mine gets brighter as I go 16 - 17 - etc. I will say it doesn't appear to change as much as you get higher and higher, and depending on what's on screen at the time, it may seem to make more or less of a difference.
Plasma5300's Avatar Plasma5300
01:46 PM Liked: 18
post #589 of 1432
06-23-2014 | Posts: 225
Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilstein21 View Post
mine gets brighter as I go 16 - 17 - etc. I will say it doesn't appear to change as much as you get higher and higher, and depending on what's on screen at the time, it may seem to make more or less of a difference.
I could of swore mine wasnt getting any brighter after 16 then while watching netflix an hour later i turned up the cell light and I could see it getting brighter all the way up to 20. Haha. Weird.
drag0nkore
01:56 PM Liked: 0
post #590 of 1432
06-23-2014 | Posts: 3
Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by afterlife2 View Post
Quick question when there is a dark scene on the TV it goes completely black then when a scene with a little light comes in it goes back to normal black. Is this something that can be disabled? Don't bother me, but like to know if it can be shut off? Hope you know what I mean. Thanks.
Mine sometimes does this when watching a movie from USB. I was watching The Hobbit and at the beginning when there are the opening credits, it would go full black in between names, then go back to normal, then go full black. Doesn't happen during the actual movie though.
afterlife2's Avatar afterlife2
02:13 PM Liked: 27
post #591 of 1432
06-23-2014 | Posts: 304
Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by drag0nkore View Post
Mine sometimes does this when watching a movie from USB. I was watching The Hobbit and at the beginning when there are the opening credits, it would go full black in between names, then go back to normal, then go full black. Doesn't happen during the actual movie though.
Actually happens on bluray, Netflix, Amazon primes, etc.
imagic's Avatar imagic
02:15 PM Liked: 3191
post #592 of 1432
06-23-2014 | Posts: 6,556
Joined: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plasma5300 View Post
I just noticed while turning up the cell light that after 16 it doesnt seem to actually get any brighter on 17 , 18, 19 , or 20. Can anyone else confirm this is how the tv is made?
It depends on how bright the overall scene is. All plasmas use ABL (automatic brightness limiters). If you turn up the cell light on a darker scene, you will see the difference all the way up to 20.
Josh128's Avatar Josh128
03:15 PM Liked: 82
post #593 of 1432
06-23-2014 | Posts: 422
Joined: Nov 2013
I have a 51" F4500 and the cell light essentially works the same for it-- 16 seems to be the top at first, but 20 is indeed brighter for the brighter scenes, not the darker ones as mentioned in the previous post.

Maxing out the cell light actually reduces the aggressiveness of the ABL, to the point where it almost doesnt happen at all (at a setting of 20). I have verified this watching bright content from an OTA DVR. Scenes that displayed noticable ABL at a cell light of 16 were completely free of it at a cell light of 19 or 20.
ADU's Avatar ADU
09:49 PM Liked: 179
post #594 of 1432
06-23-2014 | Posts: 6,497
Joined: Apr 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by showsjohn View Post
Any good settings for gaming? I'm having trouble finding a good balance. I feel my older Panasonic has noticably better color saturation, on top of being brighter. Almost like the image is slightly washed out in comparison. I get that it's a budget TV, but my Panny is 3-4 years older so I'm a tad disappointed in that.
1. What size F5300 did you get?
2. Are you trying to plug someone else's settings into your TV (which is generally a no-no), or working from the TV's default settings?
3. Are you trying to use this in a dark room, or one which has some illumination?
4. What are your current Picture Mode, Cell Light, Brightness, Contrast, Color, Tint and Gamma (in Advanced menu) settings?

A little more info would help to point you in the right direction to get the kind of picture you want.
Yuppers5's Avatar Yuppers5
11:56 PM Liked: 20
post #595 of 1432
06-23-2014 | Posts: 62
Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by showsjohn View Post
Found another HDMI cable and this one works like a charm. I guess this set is just picky which one it likes. No biggie.

Can't rave enough about this set, exceeded all my expectations. It really puts my old Panny to shame.

My only gripe is the constant source input info box showing up when I launch a game or bluray, is there a way to disable that?
Lucky. My slim PS3 cannot get a signal to the TV for the life of it. Thankfully an HDMI switch fixed everything just fine, as I needed to get one anyway since the set only has 2 HDMI ports. It sucks that some of the PS3s have this handshake problem.
edlittle's Avatar edlittle
11:19 AM Liked: 37
post #596 of 1432
06-24-2014 | Posts: 212
Joined: Dec 2012
Hello all,

I'm looking at getting this to replace an aging Sony Z4100 (http://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-...ls#/manualsTab) which is in use in my parents main living room. There is quite a bit of lit in there, including some overheads and bleed from outside. The sun is never directly shining in.

Would this be okay in terms of brightness?

EDIT: Kinda answered my own question, I found on this website: http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...-hdtv-page-3-0 that our TV puts out around 36 ftL which is very similar to the 5300, so hopefully it will work!
LastButNotLeast's Avatar LastButNotLeast
11:38 AM Liked: 301
post #597 of 1432
06-24-2014 | Posts: 4,922
Joined: Feb 2007
The problem isn't light output, it's reflections.
The screen of these sets is almost mirror-like. Some people are bothered by it, some not. The more light in the room, the more reflects off the screen.
A store with a good return policy is your best bet.

edlittle's Avatar edlittle
12:07 PM Liked: 37
post #598 of 1432
06-24-2014 | Posts: 212
Joined: Dec 2012
Ah I see! I will most likely go with that option. Thank you
Nikwasi's Avatar Nikwasi
01:03 PM Liked: 89
post #599 of 1432
06-24-2014 | Posts: 467
Joined: Jan 2014
My 51F5300 is placed in a well lit room with one large window. I found that pivoting the screen by approximately 10° eliminates reflective glare at my primary seating position ... so be sure to experiment with screen angle.

Edit: On closer inspection, the angle of my screen might be closer to 5° than 10° but a little adjustment in angle can make a big difference with plasma displays, without degrading picture quality in the least.
bmw325's Avatar bmw325
07:50 PM Liked: 10
post #600 of 1432
06-24-2014 | Posts: 10
Joined: Apr 2007
Hello everyone.
I recently purchased the 60F5350 from Costco and have been trying to update from firmware v1003 (seems pretty old, don't you think?). I have download v1027.1 and v1027.2 extracted it to a thumb drive formatted fat32 as per Samsung instructions but the TV would update. I know the TV ca read the thumb drive because media player pops up when insert it. It says "There no new updates for you at the moment". I've contacted Samsung and have gone thru their standard procedures, reset the TV to factory blah, blah, blah default but that didnt help...Has anyone experienced this issue? Any suggestion is greatly appreciated.
Tags: Samsung Pn51f5300 51 Inch Plasma Hdtv

Gear in this thread - Pn51f5300 by PriceGrabber.com
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3