Samsung PN51F5300 – What a little gem! - i1Pro Calibration results inside - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 1330 Old 07-05-2014, 10:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Plasma5300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADU View Post
A couple articles to explore...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Telecine#2:3_pulldown (inclps4udes a brief section on telecine judder)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Three-two_pull_down

In the "old days" before digital cinema, motion picture projectors would actually display every frame of film twice using a steady 2:2:2:2:2:2... cadence, to reduce the sensation of flicker on the screen. So the projected frame rate was actually 48 fps, or double the 24 fps at which the film was shot, since each frame was displayed twice.

To match the 60 Hz (ie 60 frames or fields per second) rate of video though, those original 24 fps of recorded film footage have to be stretched out even a bit further. The "odd" frames are displayed twice, and the "even" frames are displayed three times, in a continuous "asymmetric" 2:3:2:3:2:3... cadence. The asymmetrical nature of this cadence gives the motion a slight "jerkiness" or unevenness, which is most noticeable on smooth camera pans. That uneveness is what people refer to as telecine judder.

My understanding is that the Cinema Smooth feature switches the frame rate of the F5300 to 96 Hz, which allows each frame of film to be displayed 4 times, in a steady 4:4:4:4:4:4... cadence (instead of the usual 2:3:2:3... pattern), thus removing the judder from the motion. I believe it only works with 24p inputs though.

Some prefer the more steady 4:4:4:4:4:4... cadence, while others (who are more used to judder) may prefer the standard 60 Hz 2:3:2:3:2:3... cadence.
Thank you very much! Very helpful indeed. So basically what im seeing is normal! Thats good to know. Ive noticed while playing games at 60fps this tv is buttery smooth. Really awesome quality for the price!
Plasma5300 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 1330 Old 07-06-2014, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caloyzki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 2,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 45
does this TV has the ISF Day and ISF Night when get ISF Pro. Calibrated?

Panasonic 60VT60
Energy RC 70 fronts
Energy RC LCR center
Energy RC LCR surrounds
Rythmik LV12R and Mirage Omni 12 subwoofers
Denon 2112CI
caloyzki is offline  
post #633 of 1330 Old 07-06-2014, 08:34 PM
ADU
AVS Special Member
 
ADU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 6,461
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plasma5300 View Post
Thank you very much! Very helpful indeed. So basically what im seeing is normal! Thats good to know. Ive noticed while playing games at 60fps this tv is buttery smooth. Really awesome quality for the price!
Just to be clear on something... I think what xericmx really objects to (in addition to judder) is the general "stop-frame" quality of lower frame-rate content on these and other displays.

The Cinema Smooth feature should remove the 3:2 judder, but it may also enhance the stop-frame quality of 24 fps film-based content to a degree, giving the actors a more "animated" look, because each individual film frame is repeated 4 times on the screen.

The asymmetric nature of 3:2 judder may break that animated or stop-motion quality up a bit more, which could be one reason some people still prefer it to the more steady 4:4:4:4... cadence produced by the Cinema Smooth option. I'd recommend trying them both though, to see which you personally prefer.

As I told xericmx before, to the best of my knowledge, there is no dedicated frame interpolation feature that can actually smooth out the "in-between" frames to give film-based content the "soap opera" look on the F5300.

Some other related articles that may be worth a look...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stop_motion
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pixilation (the art of animating human actors using stop-motion techniques)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Persistence_of_vision
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Motion_interpolation

ADU

Last edited by ADU; 07-06-2014 at 08:40 PM.
ADU is offline  
post #634 of 1330 Old 07-07-2014, 01:30 AM
Newbie
 
Jman47's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How can I zoom the screen in when watching letterbox movies on my pn60f5300?
Jman47 is offline  
post #635 of 1330 Old 07-07-2014, 11:20 PM
ADU
AVS Special Member
 
ADU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 6,461
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Reply here.

ADU
ADU is offline  
post #636 of 1330 Old 07-08-2014, 12:18 AM
Newbie
 
Jman47's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADU View Post
Reply here.
Ya I figured there was a zoom option I couldn't find. The screen fit option still leaves the black bars on the screen
Jman47 is offline  
post #637 of 1330 Old 07-08-2014, 06:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,767
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Liked: 280
It will do that with cinemascope (2.xx : 1) images, assuming your black bars are on the top and bottom. If the source is 16:9 (widescreen), it should fill the screen all around.
Of course, 4:3 will have black bars on the sides.

Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #638 of 1330 Old 07-08-2014, 10:52 AM
Newbie
 
Terp03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I'm basically torn between this model or the 55" Vizio LED E550i-B2 for my finished basement. It has a built-in shelf that can accommodate up to a 55" TV. However, I'm torn if I should put in a 51" plasma instead since Best Buy has a terrific sale on this model ($550!) and have read that plasmas blow LEDs out of the water in terms of picture quality. The basement doesn't have any natural light and the lighting above is recessed with dimmer controls.

Thoughts?
Terp03 is offline  
post #639 of 1330 Old 07-08-2014, 12:52 PM
Member
 
cjpk248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terp03 View Post
So I'm basically torn between this model or the 55" Vizio LED E550i-B2 for my finished basement. It has a built-in shelf that can accommodate up to a 55" TV. However, I'm torn if I should put in a 51" plasma instead since Best Buy has a terrific sale on this model ($550!) and have read that plasmas blow LEDs out of the water in terms of picture quality. The basement doesn't have any natural light and the lighting above is recessed with dimmer controls.

Thoughts?
You're in a basement. Get the plasma. That is all.

But seriously, there's no question here in my my opinion that the Samsung is for sure the clear choice and wins in picture quality.
BobRiff, Terp03 and StinDaWg like this.
cjpk248 is offline  
post #640 of 1330 Old 07-08-2014, 01:12 PM
Member
 
sean33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anyone have any luck getting Best Buy or Sears to budge on the $549 sale price? I know some have reported getting the set for $500 but I'm limited because I want to pick it up from the local stores.
sean33 is offline  
post #641 of 1330 Old 07-08-2014, 01:47 PM
Member
 
djsketchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by sean33 View Post
Anyone have any luck getting Best Buy or Sears to budge on the $549 sale price? I know some have reported getting the set for $500 but I'm limited because I want to pick it up from the local stores.
I picked up one from my local HH Gregg last week for $519. It's not their advertised price on the website, so BB might not price match, but HH Gregg has a better return policy of 30 days no hassle. Sometimes it pays to actually walk in the store and see what the prices are. After I exchanged my first one because of screen uniformity issues and a twitchy blue sub pixel, I've been a happy camper with mine, and you can't beat the bang for the buck.

Now I've got my VT60 for reference viewing in the living room, and an F5300 for keeping my mind occupied while I feel the burn on my rowing machine in the back room
djsketchie is offline  
post #642 of 1330 Old 07-08-2014, 05:55 PM
Member
 
sean33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks, I'll go have a chat with BB this weekend. The cheaper this set is the less motivation I have to cough up the change for the 8500
sean33 is offline  
post #643 of 1330 Old 07-08-2014, 06:59 PM
ADU
AVS Special Member
 
ADU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 6,461
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by sean33 View Post
Anyone have any luck getting Best Buy or Sears to budge on the $549 sale price?
Nope. Somethin about Sammy price protection. Nobody seems to wanna deal at the mo'.

ADU
ADU is offline  
post #644 of 1330 Old 07-08-2014, 07:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Nikwasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Nantahala
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADU View Post
Nope. Somethin about Sammy price protection. Nobody seems to wanna deal at the mo'.
True, but all they have to do is open or damage the box and price protection no longer applies.
Nikwasi is offline  
post #645 of 1330 Old 07-09-2014, 11:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caloyzki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 2,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 45
51" is onsale at sears now. Just went there and saw it $399 for 51". How good is that deal?
caloyzki is offline  
post #646 of 1330 Old 07-09-2014, 11:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by showsjohn View Post
Not at all, I find a higher sharpness to look way too coarse on this particular set. Was watching LOTR earlier with the sharpness on 30 and the outlines on the foliage were noticeably overblown, had to take it way down to smooth out the image.
100% correct, it seem samsung sets (or atleast this model, it is my first samsung) come with WAY overenhanced sharpness. I pretty much have to set this thing to 0 if I dont want to see weird edges. The colors are way off too without a proper calibration. Samsung is probably trying to winover the buyers with untrained eyes and have i intentionally set like this for display purposes. But they arent teh only ones that do this.
nseriessaga is offline  
post #647 of 1330 Old 07-09-2014, 11:45 AM
Member
 
pimpology26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: detroit,mi
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 37
thats for the 720p 4500
pimpology26 is offline  
post #648 of 1330 Old 07-09-2014, 12:19 PM
Newbie
 
Terp03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjpk248 View Post
You're in a basement. Get the plasma. That is all.

But seriously, there's no question here in my my opinion that the Samsung is for sure the clear choice and wins in picture quality.
My major concern is the heat generated from the plasma since it will be in an enclosed space from the built-in shelf. Also, the stand is an inch too deep for the shelf. I'm curious if the stand from the PN51F4500 would be compatible with the 5300 (which can easily be purchased on eBay) as that one would definitely fit.
Terp03 is offline  
post #649 of 1330 Old 07-09-2014, 09:42 PM
Member
 
cjpk248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terp03 View Post
My major concern is the heat generated from the plasma since it will be in an enclosed space from the built-in shelf. Also, the stand is an inch too deep for the shelf. I'm curious if the stand from the PN51F4500 would be compatible with the 5300 (which can easily be purchased on eBay) as that one would definitely fit.

Go to BB with a tape measure and check the stand for yourself, if a spec sheet doesn't list it somewhere. My 5300 doesn't put off that much heat. As long as you have 4" clearance all around the set (non-scientific guesstimate) I think you're fine. The 8500 puts some heat out, but the 5300 is relatively efficient for a plasma and doesn't produce much heat. I would roll with it and get a warranty if you're concerned (do that anyway probably).
cjpk248 is offline  
post #650 of 1330 Old 07-10-2014, 07:57 AM
Newbie
 
Terp03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjpk248 View Post
Go to BB with a tape measure and check the stand for yourself, if a spec sheet doesn't list it somewhere. My 5300 doesn't put off that much heat. As long as you have 4" clearance all around the set (non-scientific guesstimate) I think you're fine. The 8500 puts some heat out, but the 5300 is relatively efficient for a plasma and doesn't produce much heat. I would roll with it and get a warranty if you're concerned (do that anyway probably).
That's the problem - the cabinet is only 49.25" wide, leaving 1.275" free on the left and right side (the TV is 46.7" wide). Ventilation would definitely be an issue as the product manual recommends 4" clearance on all sides.
Terp03 is offline  
post #651 of 1330 Old 07-10-2014, 10:51 AM
Member
 
Gratificulous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by caloyzki View Post
51" is onsale at sears now. Just went there and saw it $399 for 51". How good is that deal?
That is for the 720p 4500 model.
Gratificulous is offline  
post #652 of 1330 Old 07-10-2014, 07:21 PM
Member
 
cjpk248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terp03 View Post
That's the problem - the cabinet is only 49.25" wide, leaving 1.275" free on the left and right side (the TV is 46.7" wide). Ventilation would definitely be an issue as the product manual recommends 4" clearance on all sides.
Even with just an inch I think you'll honestly be fine. I would just take it out of the cabinet if making a warranty claim so they don't have that too fall back on in a dispute.
cjpk248 is offline  
post #653 of 1330 Old 07-10-2014, 07:23 PM
Member
 
cjpk248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Will someone check the 5300 owners thread and hit me up if you have any ideas about my set. It's really hard to capture on camera, and maybe I have super color vision, but I can see the pink push.
cjpk248 is offline  
post #654 of 1330 Old 07-11-2014, 06:39 AM
Member
 
djsketchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Got a quick question for the F5300 owners here:

Is there any way to run a slideshow from the USB port without the "Loading" graphic popping up on the top right hand side in between each slide? I'm trying to quickly get through the first 200 or so hours with worry free slides, but i think the graphic popping up constantly would actually defeat the purpose. I also tried doing it through my blu-ray player and it has its own stupid loading graphic as well!
djsketchie is offline  
post #655 of 1330 Old 07-11-2014, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,767
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjpk248 View Post
Will someone check the 5300 owners thread and hit me up if you have any ideas about my set. It's really hard to capture on camera, and maybe I have super color vision, but I can see the pink push.
If you see "pink push" and it bothers you, you need to exchange the set.
It doesn't matter what anyone else thinks or sees.
ADU likes this.

Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #656 of 1330 Old 07-11-2014, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,767
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by djsketchie View Post
I'm trying to quickly get through the first 200 or so hours with worry free slides, but i think the graphic popping up constantly would actually defeat the purpose.
Don't bother. Just minimize your 4:3 and widescreen viewing (use one of the aspect settings if you have to). Leaving the set on for 200 hours probably does more harm than good, anyway.
ADU and gus738 like this.

Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #657 of 1330 Old 07-11-2014, 08:54 AM
Member
 
djsketchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post
Don't bother. Just minimize your 4:3 and widescreen viewing (use one of the aspect settings if you have to). Leaving the set on for 200 hours probably does more harm than good, anyway.
If the TV isn't capable of handling 200 straight hours, then I'd rather find that out within the return period rather than after. Conventional wisdom says most electronics that fail do so early in their lifespan, and I think the argument can be made that putting it through its paces early on will uncover any potential failures. That being said, I still think slides are a legitimate way to age a plasma quickly to the point where the phosphors settle down and can be calibrated without significant drift. Are they necessary? No. Do they speed up the process? Absolutely.

Plenty of people fall on both sides of the fence when it comes to slides, but I'd say at the least, it doesn't hurt to run them. I'm just irritated that Samsung chose to throw up a "Loading" graphic before each slide. So I guess it's pretty moot anyway, since I won't be running slides because of that. Just wanted to see if anyone knew of any way to turn that off. Full screen content for the next 200 hours it is...
djsketchie is offline  
post #658 of 1330 Old 07-11-2014, 05:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BFJ 96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 33
New owner here. ? Has anyone gotten the Digital Audio Out from the TV to work. I wanna run an optical wire from the TV into my receiver but can't get to work. Any help is appreciated

Thanks
BFJ 96 is online now  
post #659 of 1330 Old 07-13-2014, 07:59 AM
Member
 
l8mdl87's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by BFJ 96 View Post
New owner here. ? Has anyone gotten the Digital Audio Out from the TV to work. I wanna run an optical wire from the TV into my receiver but can't get to work. Any help is appreciated

Thanks
Should just be a matter of plugging in the Optical cable. If it is not working, I would suspect the cable first. No problems on my set...
gus738 likes this.
l8mdl87 is offline  
post #660 of 1330 Old 07-13-2014, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BFJ 96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by l8mdl87 View Post
Should just be a matter of plugging in the Optical cable. If it is not working, I would suspect the cable first. No problems on my set...
I'll double check the cable. Is there any settings in the Audio Section of the TV I have to set or enable? IE: Turn off TV Speakers enable External Speakers?
BFJ 96 is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f5300 51 Inch Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off