Pioneer 8G 9G Kuro Reset Guide - Page 37 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 93Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-12-2014, 12:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Zimbalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 320
My KRP-500A (European model) stock numbers. No red tint, no reset. Hours 3.600

VOL SUS: 128
VOL OFFSET: 113
VOL RST P: 001
VOL XPOFS1: 085
VOL XPOFS2: 063
VOL YKNOFS1: 120
VOL YKNOFS3: 110
VOL YKNOFS4: 131
VOL YKNOFSA: 128

Plasma TV: Pioneer Kuro KRP-500A - Pioneer Kuro LX-508D - Panasonic TX-P50VT30E
Sources: Oppo BDP-93 - Popcorn Hour A210 - Video Processor: TruVue eeColor
Probe: i1Display Pro profiled by JETI Specbos 1211-L - Software: Calman 5 Enthusiast
Zimbalo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-12-2014, 12:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,671
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zimbalo View Post

My KRP-500A (European model) stock numbers. No red tint, no reset. Hours 3.600

VOL SUS: 128
VOL OFFSET: 113
VOL RST P: 001
VOL XPOFS1: 085
VOL XPOFS2: 063
VOL YKNOFS1: 120
VOL YKNOFS3: 110
VOL YKNOFS4: 131
VOL YKNOFSA: 128

Your rstp, s1, s3 and s4 numbers seem low for being stock.

Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-141FD
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD x 2
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020 x 2
makaveddie81 is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 12:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Zimbalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 320
No change.

Plasma TV: Pioneer Kuro KRP-500A - Pioneer Kuro LX-508D - Panasonic TX-P50VT30E
Sources: Oppo BDP-93 - Popcorn Hour A210 - Video Processor: TruVue eeColor
Probe: i1Display Pro profiled by JETI Specbos 1211-L - Software: Calman 5 Enthusiast
Zimbalo is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 06:10 AM
Senior Member
 
ShockFett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zimbalo View Post

No change.

Are you the original owner?
ShockFett is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 06:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Zimbalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Yes

Plasma TV: Pioneer Kuro KRP-500A - Pioneer Kuro LX-508D - Panasonic TX-P50VT30E
Sources: Oppo BDP-93 - Popcorn Hour A210 - Video Processor: TruVue eeColor
Probe: i1Display Pro profiled by JETI Specbos 1211-L - Software: Calman 5 Enthusiast
Zimbalo is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 06:43 AM
Senior Member
 
ShockFett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Wow nice. Never seen a setup with those numbers that close to the min.
ShockFett is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,671
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 266
My Kuro Kapture program has been completed. Thought I'd post this here for exposure.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1522255/kuro-kapture-program

Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-141FD
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD x 2
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020 x 2
makaveddie81 is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 04:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
VidPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Revere, MA
Posts: 885
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 43
So I finally had a bit of time to check my hours. My 500M is at around 118 hours since last reset. I thought about adjusting the voltages a bit and even tested a couple of changes. I decided to put them back and wait out another couple of hundred hours. My only real issue is the black rain effect.

The television screen is the retina of the mind's eye.
VidPro is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 04:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,671
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by VidPro View Post

So I finally had a bit of time to check my hours. My 500M is at around 118 hours since last reset. I thought about adjusting the voltages a bit and even tested a couple of changes. I decided to put them back and wait out another couple of hundred hours. My only real issue is the black rain effect.

Black rain is still there after 118 hours? Has it gotten any better? It would be interesting to know the hour count when the black rain goes away. By some accounts, its around the 180 to 200 area.

Did you reset with default voltage values?

Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-141FD
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD x 2
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020 x 2
makaveddie81 is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 04:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
VidPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Revere, MA
Posts: 885
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post

Black rain is still there after 118 hours? Has it gotten any better? It would be interesting to know the hour count when the black rain goes away. By some accounts, its around the 180 to 200 area.

Did you reset with default voltage values?

Yeah it's still there but but my eye better than early on in the reset.

The television screen is the retina of the mind's eye.
VidPro is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 05:28 PM
Senior Member
 
ShockFett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by VidPro View Post

Yeah it's still there but but my eye better than early on in the reset.

This is interesting. I wish there was a way to know without a doubt. Not saying it's not better but we all know we see what we want to see sometimes. No disrespect.
ShockFett is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 05:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
VidPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Revere, MA
Posts: 885
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 43
None taken and the same thought ran through my mind.

The television screen is the retina of the mind's eye.
VidPro is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,671
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by VidPro View Post

So I finally had a bit of time to check my hours. My 500M is at around 118 hours since last reset. I thought about adjusting the voltages a bit and even tested a couple of changes. I decided to put them back and wait out another couple of hundred hours. My only real issue is the black rain effect.

Did you reset with default voltages? Are your voltages at default right now?

Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-141FD
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD x 2
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020 x 2
makaveddie81 is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 07:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
tubby497's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 394
I have some interesting news. biggrin.gif

I was able to reach pg_ice's and qwknuf6's level. No glow at 5% white window and the blacks match the bezel! eek.gif

Stock values
VOL RST P: 003
VOL YKNOFS1 D: 138
VOL YKNOFS3 D: 128
VOL YKNOFS4 D: 149

New values
VOL RSTP: same
VOL YKNOFS1 D: 60
VOL YKNOFS3 D: 50
VOL YKNOFS4 D: 71

The only issue I have is the black rain. It appears only when I'm switching content.
tubby497 is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 07:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,671
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubby497 View Post

I have some interesting news. biggrin.gif

I was able to reach pg_ice's and qwknuf6's level. No glow at 5% white window and the blacks match the bezel! eek.gif

Stock values
VOL RST P: 003
VOL YKNOFS1 D: 138
VOL YKNOFS3 D: 128
VOL YKNOFS4 D: 149

New values
VOL RSTP: same
VOL YKNOFS1 D: 60
VOL YKNOFS3 D: 50
VOL YKNOFS4 D: 71

The only issue I have is the black rain. It appears only when I'm switching content.

Wow. Thats way below factory range.

Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-141FD
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD x 2
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020 x 2
makaveddie81 is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 08:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
tubby497's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post

Wow. Thats way below factory range.

Yeah, I raised the numbers back to near stock levels.

Black levels are back to normal and it's not impressive anymore... lol

That no glow blacks surprised me! I miss it already...
tubby497 is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 08:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
qwknuf6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubby497 View Post

I have some interesting news. biggrin.gif

I was able to reach pg_ice's and qwknuf6's level. No glow at 5% white window and the blacks match the bezel! eek.gif

Stock values
VOL RST P: 003
VOL YKNOFS1 D: 138
VOL YKNOFS3 D: 128
VOL YKNOFS4 D: 149

New values
VOL RSTP: same
VOL YKNOFS1 D: 60
VOL YKNOFS3 D: 50
VOL YKNOFS4 D: 71

The only issue I have is the black rain. It appears only when I'm switching content.

While not ZERO black on a blank screen , it is Zero black with even the smallest dim content on the screen .

I have done a lot viewing with test patters and real video content , I cannot see black crush , on the WOW test disc I can see the 2 % black star clearly on both the D-Nice settings and my lowered S1 S3 and S4 settings , 1% star is harder to see with my settings so there is a difference.

I did see black rain when watching Catching Fire . That movie changes screen ratio after 1 hour , from 2.35 ratio to to 1.85 ratio .

So what do I do ? Keep my display set to D-Nice settings with .0002 MLL and a reference PQ display or use my out of spec setting with MUCH lower black levels?
qwknuf6 is online now  
Old 03-12-2014, 08:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,671
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubby497 View Post

Yeah, I raised the numbers back to near stock levels.

Black levels are back to normal and it's not impressive anymore... lol

That no glow blacks surprised me! I miss it already...

Its your panel. I wouldnt go below minimim though.

Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-141FD
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD x 2
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020 x 2
makaveddie81 is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 08:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
tubby497's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwknuf6 View Post

While not ZERO black on a blank screen , it is Zero black with even the smallest dim content on the screen .

I have done a lot viewing with test patters and real video content , I cannot see black crush , on the WOW test disc I can see the 2 % black star clearly on both the D-Nice settings and my lowered S1 S3 and S4 settings , 1% star is harder to see with my settings so there is a difference.

I did see black rain when watching Catching Fire . That movie changes screen ratio after 1 hour , from 2.35 ratio to to 1.85 ratio .

So what do I do ? Keep my display set to D-Nice settings with .0002 MLL and a reference PQ display or use my out of spec setting with MUCH lower black levels?

I would just leave it at D-nice settings. What did you end up doing?
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post

Its your panel. I wouldnt go below minimim though.

I agree. I don't want to damage it.
ShockFett likes this.
tubby497 is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 08:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,671
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwknuf6 View Post

While not ZERO black on a blank screen , it is Zero black with even the smallest dim content on the screen .

I have done a lot viewing with test patters and real video content , I cannot see black crush , on the WOW test disc I can see the 2 % black star clearly on both the D-Nice settings and my lowered S1 S3 and S4 settings , 1% star is harder to see with my settings so there is a difference.

I did see black rain when watching Catching Fire . That movie changes screen ratio after 1 hour , from 2.35 ratio to to 1.85 ratio .

So what do I do ? Keep my display set to D-Nice settings with .0002 MLL and a reference PQ display or use my out of spec setting with MUCH lower black levels?

How are blacks / black rain when you set s1, s3 and s4 to minimum and rstp to 1?

Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-141FD
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD x 2
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020 x 2
makaveddie81 is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 08:48 PM
Senior Member
 
ShockFett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Guys if plasma could reach no glow it would be that way from the factory. If it was so easy to create low blacks why is the kuro still king of blacks? Can you drop the blacks to abyss. Yes! Will you have image issues Yes! Will it be reference absolutely Not! Why destroy detailed PQ for "fake" blacks?

IMO keep Dnice's setting or got to factory min if you have no artifacts. Then check your setting.
makaveddie81 and tubby497 like this.
ShockFett is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 09:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
qwknuf6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post

How are blacks / black rain when you set s1, s3 and s4 to minimum and rstp to 1?

No black rain

Blacks are the same(as the D-Nice settings) or maybe slightly better with minimum settings , keep in mind my set was tweaked by D-Nice so the difference between factory settings and minimum settings may no be as great .

If I drop below factory specs I have Major Black level improvement , no Black rain on normal viewing , no artifacts on normal viewing,

The Black level is amazing
qwknuf6 is online now  
Old 03-12-2014, 09:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,671
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwknuf6 View Post

No black rain

Blacks are the same or maybe slightly better with minimum settings , keep in mind my set was tweaked by D-Nice so the difference between factory settings and minimum settings may no be as great .

If I drop below factory specs I have Major Black level improvement , no Black rain on normal viewing , no artifacts on normal viewing,

The Black level is amazing

What were your volatgaes before you started tweaking? More specifically, rstp, s1, s3 and s4.

Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-141FD
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD x 2
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020 x 2
makaveddie81 is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 09:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
qwknuf6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post

What were your volatgaes before you started tweaking? More specifically, rstp, s1, s3 and s4.

RSTP 002

S1 126

S3 116

S4 137

SA 128
qwknuf6 is online now  
Old 03-12-2014, 09:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
qwknuf6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShockFett View Post

Guys if plasma could reach no glow it would be that way from the factory. If it was so easy to create low blacks why is the kuro still king of blacks? Can you drop the blacks to abyss. Yes! Will you have image issues Yes! Will it be reference absolutely Not! Why destroy detailed PQ for "fake" blacks?

IMO keep Dnice's setting or got to factory min if you have no artifacts. Then check if your setting.

Its really not that bad , I NEVER get the feeling the blacks are fake when viewing , just a real sense of depth , I am thinking of having Chad B come by to evaluate the PQ with the lowered blacks .
qwknuf6 is online now  
Old 03-12-2014, 09:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
qwknuf6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubby497 View Post

I would just leave it at D-nice settings. What did you end up doing?
I agree. I don't want to damage it.

Well i can go back and forth in about 10 seconds , so nothing . I just wonder if there is any chance of panel damage with the lowered settings .
qwknuf6 is online now  
Old 03-12-2014, 09:33 PM
Senior Member
 
ShockFett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 128
What I meant by fake blacks is dropping volts to the point of artifacts. And sacrificing PQ reference. Only the owner can decided if it's worth it.

As far as damage none of us really know what will happen beyond minimum. But most of us know what under volting electronics can and will do. Does this apply to panels. I won't be the one that discovers that one lol!
makaveddie81 likes this.
ShockFett is offline  
Old 03-13-2014, 01:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
VidPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Revere, MA
Posts: 885
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post

Did you reset with default voltages? Are your voltages at default right now?

Except for SUS which is at 150. All other settings at default.

The television screen is the retina of the mind's eye.
VidPro is offline  
Old 03-13-2014, 03:51 AM
 
Stu03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kingdom of Fife, Scotland.
Posts: 1,425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 169
I would like to make a couple of points regarding the reset (vs) non reset arguments...

There is absolutely no proof after three years that re-setting damages the display in the long run.

The only people who had issues post reset are...

People who did not reset properly initially.

People who reset properly but carried out no post reset adjustments and the tint comes back after X amount of hours.

People who reset and didn't take into account properly the absolute facts of the phosphors needing to be driven harder in some voltage values whilst at the same time lowering perhaps at least one other.

These are the three main areas and are the reasons people have post reset artefacts/misfiring.

In fact it's the people who don't perform the reset and who only adjust voltages who have strange artefacts and who will be constantly adjusting over the panels lifespan.

Voltage adjustment only artefacts are many:

Stuck/lazy pixels... Bad IR and after image ghosting... Inconsistent/blotchy full black signal... Magenta misfiring... No headroom to adjust any further eventually - whom then have no option but to put voltages back to "stock" and then perform the reset anyway.

A lot of the people i helped over the last few years certainly believe this to be the case eventually.

This is the case 99% of the time and the 0.5 percent who say they don't are telling fibs or got extremely lucky... And the other 0.5 percent perhaps had someone like D-Nice help them who has big time experience/skill and whom is privy to info others are perhaps not.

I can't find one person who did anything correct and set up post reset voltages even remotely correctly have any problems in the three years since it all started.

My ex/sold KRP500A a prime example of this which is getting on for 1500 hours now since it's sixth and final reset/re-adjustment - and which is now getting on for five years in total which is approximately 14,000 hours in total.

I used to worry that this new 500M (1.1K hours) would get the same illness eventually (hazards of reading such threads for years lol) but i am past worrying about it although it's warranty is up about a month from now. I have plenty experience to fully fix it after that if it does go down the same red road
Stu03 is offline  
Old 03-13-2014, 04:12 AM
Senior Member
 
matthewa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I can't find the original thread, and lots of knowledgable folks here, my 8G has reverted back to grey bars for 4:3 rather than black and it drives me nuts. Can someone post the command to change this or send me a link to where to find the info, thanks
matthewa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Pioneer Elite Kuro Pro 1150hd 50 Inch Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off