Pioneer 8G 9G Kuro Reset Guide - Page 82 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 105Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2431 of 2438 Old 10-13-2017, 11:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,789
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 514 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozymandis View Post
Can anyone post the factory voltages for a PDP-5020FD? I have the service manual but I don't see them. My serial cable and USB adapter should be waiting for me when I get off of work. Is there a definitive guide to tweaking these? I read through most of this thread and there's a TON of information. I was going to start with the guide in the OP and go from there. My 5020 has slight elevation of blacks (still better than my VA-based LCD TVs but worse than factory) and a bit of reddish tint on the top and bottom, though the center of the screen still has pure blacks. I'd like to rid myself of the red tint at least, and maybe get blacks a bit better than a new panel would have had.
Here you go:

Vsus adjustment value 128
Vysnofs adjustment value 140
Vyprst adjustment value Varies
Vxpofs1 adjustment value 85
Vxpofs2 adjustment value 47
Vyknofs1,2 adjustment value 143
Vyknofs3 adjustment value 128
Vyknofs4 adjustment value 172
Vyknofs1,2/3/4 adjustment value 128

I would first set RSTP to 1 and VYKNOFSAD to 108. If that doesn't work, then I would reset the pulse meter. I've had a very high success rate resetting 50 inch sets and dramatically improving their black levels. Keep in mind that your factory grayscale will get thrown off with a reset, so a calibration will be required, unless you offset the grayscale changes.

JVC DLA-RS4810
Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-141FD
Pioneer Kuro PRO-151FD
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020
makaveddie81 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2432 of 2438 Old 10-13-2017, 11:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ozymandis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 973
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
Here you go:

Vsus adjustment value 128
Vysnofs adjustment value 140
Vyprst adjustment value Varies
Vxpofs1 adjustment value 85
Vxpofs2 adjustment value 47
Vyknofs1,2 adjustment value 143
Vyknofs3 adjustment value 128
Vyknofs4 adjustment value 172
Vyknofs1,2/3/4 adjustment value 128

I would first set RSTP to 1 and VYKNOFSAD to 108. If that doesn't work, then I would reset the pulse meter. I've had a very high success rate resetting 50 inch sets and dramatically improving their black levels. Keep in mind that your factory grayscale will get thrown off with a reset, so a calibration will be required, unless you offset the grayscale changes.
Awesome, thanks for these!

OLED65B7 | Yamaha v661 | Aperion 5.1 w/ SVS sub | PS4 Pro | Xbox One S | HTPC (i7-7700K, 1080 Ti, Define Nano S)
Ozymandis is offline  
post #2433 of 2438 Old 10-13-2017, 06:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ozymandis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 973
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Ahaha my 5020 has a male serial service port. The cable I ordered is female to male, and my serial-to-USB cable is male. Grrr. I even looked on the user manual and it showed a female port on the TV.

OLED65B7 | Yamaha v661 | Aperion 5.1 w/ SVS sub | PS4 Pro | Xbox One S | HTPC (i7-7700K, 1080 Ti, Define Nano S)
Ozymandis is offline  
 
post #2434 of 2438 Old 10-14-2017, 09:07 PM
Member
 
dano382's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
So I cant seem to send commands, kuro control is connected but says "sending command QST, system timed out" I have turned off all firewall settings. Why is it timed out but connected? Using a MAC with windows partition.

Pioneer KRP-600M
BDP-51FD
VSX-1014TX
SVS PB10
Proficient Audio
dano382 is offline  
post #2435 of 2438 Old 10-16-2017, 06:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ozymandis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 973
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
Here you go:

Vsus adjustment value 128
Vysnofs adjustment value 140
Vyprst adjustment value Varies
Vxpofs1 adjustment value 85
Vxpofs2 adjustment value 47
Vyknofs1,2 adjustment value 143
Vyknofs3 adjustment value 128
Vyknofs4 adjustment value 172
Vyknofs1,2/3/4 adjustment value 128

I would first set RSTP to 1 and VYKNOFSAD to 108. If that doesn't work, then I would reset the pulse meter. I've had a very high success rate resetting 50 inch sets and dramatically improving their black levels. Keep in mind that your factory grayscale will get thrown off with a reset, so a calibration will be required, unless you offset the grayscale changes.
So, just tweaking those, I see an immediate and impressive improvement! I've attached a before and after shot of a black screen (PS4 controller light bar reflecting in the after shot, oops). Very nice indeed Now the blacks are noticeably better than my Panasonic S30, better than any LCD that I've seen, and in-line with the Pioneer 500M that I bought new back in 2009. Not bad for 12k hours on this display.

For the 5020fd, in case anyone else runs into this, you only issue the "FAY" command to bring up the service menu, then use the "mute" button to get to the adjustment menu. You don't have to use the additional commands. It gave me fits at first.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20171013_012754.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	593.4 KB
ID:	2299102   Click image for larger version

Name:	20171015_220003.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	583.9 KB
ID:	2299104  

OLED65B7 | Yamaha v661 | Aperion 5.1 w/ SVS sub | PS4 Pro | Xbox One S | HTPC (i7-7700K, 1080 Ti, Define Nano S)
Ozymandis is offline  
post #2436 of 2438 Old 10-16-2017, 09:27 AM
Newbie
 
mellodos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello guys , sorry for my non native english.

1 week ago , i bought a used 5090H which has some red tint problem. Blacks may have also raised a bit , but my main concern is the red tint as it appears only in very dark scenes , really annoying. Other than that ,TV has a fabulous image.

Checked with Kurokontrol , the device has 17.5k hours and panel voltages are exactly like post 2431 , except rstp which is set at 001 . Maybe previous owner messed with it , who knows , and as you understand , i am out of headroom... I think the only solution now is a reset but i hesitate to proceed with rstp value of 001. What rstp value do you recommend to set before the reset?

EDIT : i figured default rstp - set it at 000 and turn off. Btw its 031. I set it again to 001 and played with fs 1 ,3,4 , so far impressive results . Inky blacks and red tint reduced to minimal level. No need for reset , hope it stays that way for long...

thank you guys for all this knowledge you provide.

Last edited by mellodos; 10-16-2017 at 03:19 PM.
mellodos is offline  
post #2437 of 2438 Old 10-19-2017, 07:04 PM
Member
 
dano382's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
If the sparkles occur only near black, then its definitely the v1f voltage offset.
ok so I finally got into service menu. hour meter is 15335

VOL SUS 128
VOL OFFSET 068
VOL RSTP 018
VOL XPOFS1 105
VOL XPOFS2 063
YKNOFS1D 086
YKNOFS3D 096
YKNOFS4D 143
YKNOFSAD 128
YSUS 128
XSUS 128

Pioneer KRP-600M
BDP-51FD
VSX-1014TX
SVS PB10
Proficient Audio
dano382 is offline  
post #2438 of 2438 Old 10-19-2017, 07:11 PM
Member
 
dano382's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
Sparkles near black on 60 inch sets is common.

To remove them, issue the below command sequence:

fay
v1f068
fan

Then issue:

qaj

And provide the output of the command so I can inspect your current voltage offsets.

I would not recommend resetting the pulse meter on a 60 inch set, as it will make the sparkles near black worse and it takes approximately 1000 hours of use for the sparkles to go away.


After commands this is settings

QAJ1280688018105063068096143128******1281281281281 28128128128128128128128128128128*****1*****61

Pioneer KRP-600M
BDP-51FD
VSX-1014TX
SVS PB10
Proficient Audio
dano382 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer Elite Kuro Pro 1150hd 50 Inch Plasma Hdtv

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off