Official Samsung PNxxF8500 "Bugs" Thread - Page 14 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #391 of 401 Old 08-02-2014, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 9,901
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 489 Post(s)
Liked: 528
I'm not using ARC with my Redmere cables so I haven't tried that. Hopefully someone else who has will chime in.
Stereodude is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 401 Old 08-02-2014, 03:55 PM
Newbie
 
Byrdman10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
F8500 3D Brightness "Pops" and Ghosting

I have a new (less than 50 hours) Samsung PN64F8500 and I have noticed two bugs.

The biggest is the first. I have the lastest firmware (ver. 1120) & I have performed a service menu factory reset since installing it.

1. In 3D Mode there are visible "pops" in brightness as the content progresses. Also there is an image doubling effect that sometimes corrects itself and sometimes does not. It's kind of a ghosting effect. This is quite annoying, especially for a videophile like myself. Is there a solution??

2. When in Movie mode, sometimes the cell light gets stuck in a dim mode. It makes the whole image darker than normal. Changing the cell light setting a click or two then back to your original setting corrects this. This is not a consistent or easily repeatable bug (fortunately).

I am more concerned with the 3D bugs. Any ideas?

Thanks!

Byrdman

Samsung PN64F8500
Denon AVR-2313CI
Oppo BDP-103

Last edited by Byrdman10; 08-02-2014 at 04:04 PM. Reason: Additional Information Added
Byrdman10 is offline  
post #393 of 401 Old 08-03-2014, 04:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rickardl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,958
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Byrdman10 View Post
I have a new (less than 50 hours) Samsung PN64F8500 and I have noticed two bugs.

The biggest is the first. I have the lastest firmware (ver. 1120) & I have performed a service menu factory reset since installing it.

1. In 3D Mode there are visible "pops" in brightness as the content progresses. Also there is an image doubling effect that sometimes corrects itself and sometimes does not. It's kind of a ghosting effect. This is quite annoying, especially for a videophile like myself. Is there a solution??

2. When in Movie mode, sometimes the cell light gets stuck in a dim mode. It makes the whole image darker than normal. Changing the cell light setting a click or two then back to your original setting corrects this. This is not a consistent or easily repeatable bug (fortunately).

I am more concerned with the 3D bugs. Any ideas?

Thanks!

Byrdman

Samsung PN64F8500
Denon AVR-2313CI
Oppo BDP-103
Try...
1. Turn Cinema Smooth On. It should get rid of the brightness pops.
2. Turn System->Eco Solution->Eco Sensor On. Then set Min Cell Light to 20 and then turn Eco Sensor Off again.
rickardl is offline  
post #394 of 401 Old 08-03-2014, 11:42 AM
Newbie
 
Byrdman10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you very much for the response.

As stated, I am a videophile and thus not a fan of the frame interpolation (Cinema Smooth) function due to the dreaded "soap opera" effect. Is there anything else I can try? Is this a firmware bug?

Thanks again,

Byrdman

Samsung PN64F8500
Denon AVR-2313CI
Oppo BDP-103

Panasonic TC-P65S60
Denon AVR-1911

Last edited by Byrdman10; 08-03-2014 at 11:42 AM. Reason: Typo
Byrdman10 is offline  
post #395 of 401 Old 08-03-2014, 12:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rickardl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,958
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Byrdman10 View Post
Thank you very much for the response.

As stated, I am a videophile and thus not a fan of the frame interpolation (Cinema Smooth) function due to the dreaded "soap opera" effect. Is there anything else I can try? Is this a firmware bug?

Thanks again,

Byrdman
I don't see any "soap opera" effect with CInema Smooth On.
It might be that you ran into the "Motion Judder Canceller"-bug. It is still "on" even though it says it is off.
You need to turn "Motion Judder Canceller" On, And the turn it Off again.


Yes, all the things I mentioned are most likely firmware bugs.
For me, the workarounds are acceptable.

Last edited by rickardl; 08-03-2014 at 12:51 PM.
rickardl is offline  
post #396 of 401 Old 08-03-2014, 12:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Byrdman10 View Post
I have a new (less than 50 hours) Samsung PN64F8500 and I have noticed two bugs.

The biggest is the first. I have the lastest firmware (ver. 1120) & I have performed a service menu factory reset since installing it.

1. In 3D Mode there are visible "pops" in brightness as the content progresses. Also there is an image doubling effect that sometimes corrects itself and sometimes does not. It's kind of a ghosting effect. This is quite annoying, especially for a videophile like myself. Is there a solution??

2. When in Movie mode, sometimes the cell light gets stuck in a dim mode. It makes the whole image darker than normal. Changing the cell light setting a click or two then back to your original setting corrects this. This is not a consistent or easily repeatable bug (fortunately).

I am more concerned with the 3D bugs. Any ideas?

Thanks!

Byrdman

Samsung PN64F8500
Denon AVR-2313CI
Oppo BDP-103
Yo...Birdman,

I had the same dimness until you move the cell value up/down.

Can't be certain that I've corrected it, but I've noticed that after doing a factory reset from within the service menu that it hasn't done it again. It's only been since Wednesday of last week so can't be certain that its corrected.

It would usually exhibit this behavior when I've been calibrating. After the factory reset on Wednesday, I recalibrated on Friday. So it should have stuck again but hasn't.

If you don't have the details on factory reset, let us know and we'll get you to them.

That might have to do with your other problem too.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #397 of 401 Old 08-03-2014, 12:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 190
You know these F8500s are like a darn sports car. You can get incredible performance but you have to baby them. sheeze.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #398 of 401 Old 08-03-2014, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
I have an odd glitch with Redmere cables. I don't think it's the F8500. My setup is DirecTV>Oppo103D>Samsung F8500>to Onyko via HDMI 3 (ARC) all with Redmere cables. When using a standard HDMI cable from tv via HDMI3 (ARC), and with Anynet CEC turned on, I have no problems and ARC works just fine. I can turn on and off the receiver with tv remote and I get sound. However, when I use a redmere cable the final leg, I can turn receiver off and on with tv remote, but get no sound. I even switch the ends of the cable, and still no sound. I know the cable work fine as I tested it with another device directly to tv. Does the redmere cable require both the video and audio to pass through, and not just the audio?I have tried with another Redmere cable and get same result. Bizarre that a $3 HDMI cable works with ARC, but the Redmere doesn't.
A quick update. I just got the Oppo 103D, so it was the first time I hooked up the DirecTV box to the OPPO, and from there to tv. Not only would ARC not work properly, but after about an hour viewing DirecTV, the audio would drop off and nothing but loud static. This was even with optical instead of ARC. Then I replaced the redmere cable from DirecTV to OPPO, with another cheapo HDMI cable, and no loss of audio. Having a redmere cable on the last leg from OPPO to TV works fine, but any others in that chain cause issues. Maybe it's the OPPO not capable of working with redmere cables properly when used to attach another device to it, and then processing the signal, and then sending it to tv.

RIP Robin Williams. Thanks for the laughter.
wxman is online now  
post #399 of 401 Old 08-03-2014, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
A quick update. I just got the Oppo 103D, so it was the first time I hooked up the DirecTV box to the OPPO, and from there to tv. Not only would ARC not work properly, but after about an hour viewing DirecTV, the audio would drop off and nothing but loud static. This was even with optical instead of ARC. Then I replaced the redmere cable from DirecTV to OPPO, with another cheapo HDMI cable, and no loss of audio. Having a redmere cable on the last leg from OPPO to TV works fine, but any others in that chain cause issues. Maybe it's the OPPO not capable of working with redmere cables properly when used to attach another device to it, and then processing the signal, and then sending it to tv.
The problem was explained to me in the OPPO 103D thread. Redmere is unidirectional and can not be daisy chained.

RIP Robin Williams. Thanks for the laughter.
wxman is online now  
post #400 of 401 Old 08-05-2014, 07:57 AM
Newbie
 
Byrdman10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
rickardl,


Thank you for the reply.

I turned on the Film Mode --> Cinema Smooth feature while watching 3D content (normally greyed out in Movie Mode). That did indeed fix the ghosting and brightness "pops" in 3D. Avator looked as good as it did when I saw it in IMAX 3D during it's theatrical run!

I was in error about Frame Interpolation. Frame Interpolation is actually Motion Judder Canceller. Turning this on resulted in lips sync issues and the dreaded "soap opera effect." As a videophile, I don't expect to ever use this feature.

Thank you again for the help!


Yours,

Byrdman

Samsung PN64F8500
Denon AVR-2313CI
Oppo BDP-103

Panasonic TC-P65S60
Denon AVR-1911

Last edited by Byrdman10; 08-05-2014 at 08:00 AM. Reason: Typo
Byrdman10 is offline  
post #401 of 401 Old 08-06-2014, 02:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rickardl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,958
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Byrdman10 View Post
rickardl,


Thank you for the reply.

I turned on the Film Mode --> Cinema Smooth feature while watching 3D content (normally greyed out in Movie Mode). That did indeed fix the ghosting and brightness "pops" in 3D. Avator looked as good as it did when I saw it in IMAX 3D during it's theatrical run!

I was in error about Frame Interpolation. Frame Interpolation is actually Motion Judder Canceller. Turning this on resulted in lips sync issues and the dreaded "soap opera effect." As a videophile, I don't expect to ever use this feature.

Thank you again for the help!


Yours,

Byrdman
Glad to hear! Any luck with the "dim" mode?
rickardl is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread - Pn51f8500 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off