Are dead pixels common on the Samsung F8500? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 34 Old 03-17-2014, 02:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NetSpiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I'm replacing my F8500 because of a dead pixel. One dead pixel on 64'' TV may not seem like much, but I expect better from a new TV that I paid $2700 for. Plus, there are some reception problems when watching free-to-air TV.

 

How likely is it that my new F8500 will also have a dead pixel? Are dead pixels more common on Samsung plasmas or Panasonic plasmas?

 

I first noticed the dead pixel after I had the TV for 2 weeks. Was the dead pixel already there from the moment I turned it or do dead pixels take time to appear?

NetSpiker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 34 Old 03-17-2014, 03:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric3316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2,948
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 732
Dead or stuck pixels can happen on any TV at any time. It is just luck of the draw and no way around it no matter the type or brand of TV you buy.
vinnie97 and gus738 like this.
eric3316 is online now  
post #3 of 34 Old 03-17-2014, 04:38 AM
Member
 
bboris77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetSpiker View Post

I'm replacing my F8500 because of a dead pixel. One dead pixel on 64'' TV may not seem like much, but I expect better from a new TV that I paid $2700 for. Plus, there are some reception problems when watching free-to-air TV.

How likely is it that my new F8500 will also have a dead pixel? Are dead pixels more common on Samsung plasmas or Panasonic plasmas?

I first noticed the dead pixel after I had the TV for 2 weeks. Was the dead pixel already there from the moment I turned it or do dead pixels take time to appear?

Hi, I exchanged my first PN60F8500 because it had a dead pixel (all three subpixels) in the middle of the screen. My second one has a dead red subpixel in the bottom left corner that only shows up fully when it is displaying red colours. It is invisible on blue and green colours and partially visible on white and grey screen. I also experienced something very interesting yesterday - another pixel in top left corner all of a sudden started flashing a few shades lighter than the colour that it was displaying - for example if it was displaying blue skies, it would ramp up to white, and then back to the normal colour. After about 5 minutes it went back to normal operation. It is almost as if it was recalibrating itself. It has been working perfectly since. I am still within my first 100 hours, so I can only assume this is part of the pixel aging process. Based on my experience, it appears that it may not be easy to get a F8500 with absolutely no dead pixels or subpixels. It may be a side effect of it using a relatively new cell technology that enables it to be way brighter than normal plasma. The tradeoff is arguably worth it.
gus738 likes this.
bboris77 is offline  
post #4 of 34 Old 03-17-2014, 04:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NetSpiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10

How do I know if I have a dead pixel or a dead subpixel?

NetSpiker is offline  
post #5 of 34 Old 03-17-2014, 06:12 AM
Member
 
bboris77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetSpiker View Post

How do I know if I have a dead pixel or a dead subpixel?

A dead pixel is always black regardless of the colour that is displayed on screen because all 3 subpixels are always black.A dead subpixel can be either red, green or black, meaning that it will only show up if showing one of those colours. In my case, I have a dead red subpixel, and it is only fully visible when displaying a red slide. It is also partially visible when it is showing white or gray screen because those colours require the red subpixel to be turned on to display properly. In either case, you are better off if you have a dead subpixel rather than a whole pixel because pixel consists of 3 subpixels. At least, that is my understanding of how it works.
bboris77 is offline  
post #6 of 34 Old 03-17-2014, 06:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gus738's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Watsonville, CA
Posts: 2,794
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Really Dont worry about it unless several stuck or dead pixels like others have said its luck of draw, either learn to accept and deal with it or you cannot watch any new modern tech (lcd will also have this issue and so as well oled .

Pioneer Elite PRO-111
Samsung 60PnF5300 af
panasonic px75u

XBL x117x831
PS4 gusx831
gus738 is offline  
post #7 of 34 Old 03-17-2014, 07:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tbird8450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 35
If you can't see it during normal content, than leave it be. You could end up with a replacement that has even more, or has other issues as well.

No brand or model is immune.
gus738 likes this.
tbird8450 is offline  
post #8 of 34 Old 03-17-2014, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NetSpiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10

The dead pixel is not the main reason I'm getting the TV replaced. The main reason is problems with reception. When I watch free-to-air TV the picture sometimes freezes and pixelates for a few seconds before returning to normal. This usually happens within the first 20 minutes of turning on the TV. Samsung customer support has suggested that it could be a problem with my antenna but that doesn't explain why all of my other TVs don't have this problem and why this problem only occurs shortly after turning the TV on. I've also heard the idea that some TVs are just more sensitive to a bad signal than others. This would be a reasonable explanation if I had bought a cheap TV but the Samsung F8500 is supposed to be top of the line. I never expected it to have problems that my old TV didn't have.

 

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/2074572

 

I've just read on another forum that unlike most TVs, the Samsung F8500 doesn't have something called an internal booster, which might explain my reception problems. Too bad I only found out about this after I already ordered a replacement F8500. Why didn't any of the professional reviews mention this problem? The new TV should arrive today. I'll let you guys know how it goes.

NetSpiker is offline  
post #9 of 34 Old 03-17-2014, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,955
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 608 Post(s)
Liked: 829
I haven't noticed any on mine, had it for nearly a year now, and no, I'm not going to look closer for any tongue.gif

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1018AH, 5.1 audio
Sources: HTPC(Mediabrowser), PS3, XBOX360, Wii, Sony DVP-CX995V
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
post #10 of 34 Old 08-12-2014, 03:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 8
I ended up with a stuck pixel on mine a little over a month into ownership. Samsung is replacing the panel.
cbas5 is offline  
post #11 of 34 Old 08-12-2014, 03:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Every tv I have owned has had a least one dead subpixel. My F8500 has 3, my pioneer 5020 has 2 and my previous Sharp LED had 3. I don't even notice them unless I go to look for them. They are hard to find as I don't remember where they are.
wxman is offline  
post #12 of 34 Old 08-12-2014, 06:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,955
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 608 Post(s)
Liked: 829
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
Every tv I have owned has had a least one dead subpixel. My F8500 has 3, my pioneer 5020 has 2 and my previous Sharp LED had 3. I don't even notice them unless I go to look for them. They are hard to find as I don't remember where they are.
I'm maintaining my ignorance as long as possible, but I have 'zero' dead pixels on any display I own

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1018AH, 5.1 audio
Sources: HTPC(Mediabrowser), PS3, XBOX360, Wii, Sony DVP-CX995V
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
post #13 of 34 Old 08-12-2014, 06:41 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
same to me,my pioneer 5020 has 2 and my previous Sharp LED had 3. I don't even notice them unless I go to look for them. They are hard to find as I don't remember where they are,[IMG]http://*******/OSI1pM[/IMG]thank you
terttalisn is offline  
post #14 of 34 Old 08-13-2014, 12:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbas5 View Post
I ended up with a stuck pixel on mine a little over a month into ownership. Samsung is replacing the panel.
That's sure nice of them. I thought most of these manufacturers had a limit where you had to have 8+ or something for them to deem it a defect?
StinDaWg is online now  
post #15 of 34 Old 08-13-2014, 02:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,955
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 608 Post(s)
Liked: 829
I've never tried to return one, but I do recall reading many complaints of ppl who were refused warranty because they had 'only' 3pixels or something and it wasn't enough to be considered defective.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1018AH, 5.1 audio
Sources: HTPC(Mediabrowser), PS3, XBOX360, Wii, Sony DVP-CX995V
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
post #16 of 34 Old 08-18-2014, 03:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbas5 View Post
I ended up with a stuck pixel on mine a little over a month into ownership. Samsung is replacing the panel.
New panel lasted me literally around a day and then the TV developed a vertical line of around two pixels in length that looks horrible. Argh.

I tried to get Samsung to just get me a new TV, but they wouldn't budge. They claimed I had to have a number of repairs before I would get a new TV.

The TV is less than two months old. Right now I am not happy with the reliability of this TV.
cbas5 is offline  
post #17 of 34 Old 08-18-2014, 03:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbas5 View Post
New panel lasted me literally around a day and then the TV developed a vertical line of around two pixels in length that looks horrible. Argh.

I tried to get Samsung to just get me a new TV, but they wouldn't budge. They claimed I had to have a number of repairs before I would get a new TV.

The TV is less than two months old. Right now I am not happy with the reliability of this TV.
Have they sent out someone to repair yet? If not, they still might declare the panel bad after a tech looks at it.
wxman is offline  
post #18 of 34 Old 08-18-2014, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 243
I know with BB extended warranty, they will repair/replace if you have 3 defective pixels during the warranty time. So you could actually own tv for 2 years, delay replacing because of a few bad pixels and then get then make a claim. BTW, I have 3 bad pixels. Even if I get BI, they will fix. That's why I don't worry about the logos.

From their Geek Squad warranty.

5. Defective pixels for those products that have a pixel-based display. Pixel repair will be based upon three defective pixels throughout the entire display area;
6. Image burn-in for all screens regardless of product category.

Last edited by wxman; 08-18-2014 at 03:36 PM.
wxman is offline  
post #19 of 34 Old 08-18-2014, 04:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
Have they sent out someone to repair yet? If not, they still might declare the panel bad after a tech looks at it.
Not for the second time. They assigned me a different repair company that was supposed to setup an appointment. I tried calling that repair company to get the repairs going quicker, but have not been able to reach them.

This would be the second replacement panel though. I wonder if the replacement was a refurbished unit or the tech screwed something up.

Last edited by cbas5; 08-19-2014 at 12:28 PM.
cbas5 is offline  
post #20 of 34 Old 08-19-2014, 12:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 8
So I got into contact with the repair company and samsung is going to replace the panel yet again. This is panel #3 if you count the original. I asked if it would be a new or refurbished panel and they said they would like to think it's new, but can't guarantee that. It's whatever samsung sends to them. They also said it's not uncommon to receive parts from samsung for repairs that are defective.
cbas5 is offline  
post #21 of 34 Old 08-20-2014, 12:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 428
Given the display has 2,073,600 pixels - one dead isn't bad especially if you cannot see it from normal seating.

My new 51F5300 has three stuck pixels, but I cannot see them past four feet and I sit about eight feet or so away.

DavidHir is offline  
post #22 of 34 Old 08-20-2014, 04:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidHir View Post
Given the display has 2,073,600 pixels - one dead isn't bad especially if you cannot see it from normal seating.

My new 51F5300 has three stuck pixels, but I cannot see them past four feet and I sit about eight feet or so away.
Shouldn't happen on a TV this expensive. I have never had a tv with stuck pixels until the F8500. If it was in the corner, then it wouldn't have mattered. However, this was a bright green (very visible) stuck pixel in prime viewing area (appeared often on faces). I was able to see it from my seating distance of 8-9 feet.
cbas5 is offline  
post #23 of 34 Old 08-20-2014, 04:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 10,000
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 561 Post(s)
Liked: 554
My 64" F8500 has 0 stuck or dead pixels.
Stereodude is offline  
post #24 of 34 Old 08-20-2014, 05:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,955
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 608 Post(s)
Liked: 829
in all honesty, the TV's not that expensive... it's just the market has been so watered down over the past 5yrs we've gotten kind of spoiled on prices. don't get me wrong, it sure felt expensive when I bought it, but if you look back in history, being able to get a top of line tv for 'only' 3grand is pretty stellar


that all being said, I still wouldn't want stuck pixels, and fortunately I don't have any. funny enough, about 3 days ago I did have a small panic as I was standing near the tv and saw what I thought was 3 dead pixels. I kind of sighed, and said, well at least I can see them from my viewing distance. then, just to be sure, I ran my finger nail over one and sure enough it was something on the screen blocking a pixel. felt kind of dumb cause I almost just left them that way without even checking. couldn't think of anything that would have got on the screen and I still have no idea what it was.

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1018AH, 5.1 audio
Sources: HTPC(Mediabrowser), PS3, XBOX360, Wii, Sony DVP-CX995V
Control: Harmony One

Last edited by fierce_gt; 08-20-2014 at 06:18 PM.
fierce_gt is offline  
post #25 of 34 Old 08-20-2014, 05:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Panel #3 if you count the original is being installed tomorrow. Unfortunately talking with both the tech and Samsung i have no idea if it's a new panel or a refurbished panel. I do have to give them credit on a good turn around time. They contacted me Tuesday and today they told me they have a panel they can install tomorrow. Hopefully this one holds and I can focus on just watching the tv.
cbas5 is offline  
post #26 of 34 Old 08-20-2014, 07:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 428
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbas5 View Post
Shouldn't happen on a TV this expensive. I have never had a tv with stuck pixels until the F8500. If it was in the corner, then it wouldn't have mattered. However, this was a bright green (very visible) stuck pixel in prime viewing area (appeared often on faces). I was able to see it from my seating distance of 8-9 feet.
If you can see it, then it can become an issue for sure.

DavidHir is offline  
post #27 of 34 Old 08-20-2014, 09:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,955
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 608 Post(s)
Liked: 829
I would say if he can see it from 8feet away, it's already an issue

Displays: Samsung PN64F8500/JVC X35
AVR: Pioneer VSX-1018AH, 5.1 audio
Sources: HTPC(Mediabrowser), PS3, XBOX360, Wii, Sony DVP-CX995V
Control: Harmony One
fierce_gt is offline  
post #28 of 34 Old 08-21-2014, 11:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
I would say if he can see it from 8feet away, it's already an issue
I think that was largely due to it's location and the fact that it was bright green and often appeared on people's faces. I may be wrong, but I think the human eye is the most sensitive to green.

Last edited by cbas5; 08-21-2014 at 11:50 AM.
cbas5 is offline  
post #29 of 34 Old 08-21-2014, 11:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 428
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbas5 View Post
I think that was largely due to it's location and the fact that it was bright green and often appeared on people's faces. I may be wrong, but I think the human eye is the most sensitive to green.
Right. I have seen a blue stuck pixel where it was noticeable under certain conditions from normal seating, but it was very hard to see and only on a completely black screen. Most people would have never noticed it.

DavidHir is offline  
post #30 of 34 Old 08-21-2014, 11:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 428
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
I would say if he can see it from 8feet away, it's already an issue
For you, but not for everyone.

DavidHir is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off