Any more info on LG PB6600 (or other 2014 model) plasma? - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 1124 Old 06-05-2014, 07:19 PM
Member
 
J-e-L-L-o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: California
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where are the solid color test slides? What menu is that located under?
J-e-L-L-o is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 1124 Old 06-05-2014, 07:23 PM
Newbie
 
TheSybarite's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I downloaded mine years ago, but try googling "plasma color slides avsforum"

TheSybarite is offline  
post #363 of 1124 Old 06-06-2014, 02:23 AM
Member
 
vlatko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone say how this TV fairs for games? I'm a real casual gamer. Only play single player games like God Of War, Devil May Cry, etc. on my PS3. Also, football games like FIFA or PES with my friends, but not online. Can any of you guys with this TV share some info for these type of games?

Thanks
vlatko is offline  
post #364 of 1124 Old 06-06-2014, 05:16 AM
Member
 
Shaoran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15

Oh boy, the TV has no BT709 color space anymore? Only standard and wide?

what the f**k

 

Edit: for gaming it's okay with HDMI Input labeled as PC ;)

Shaoran is offline  
post #365 of 1124 Old 06-06-2014, 05:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 554
My guess is standard is REC709 just not labeled as such. That is still the video mastering color standard I don't see LG not following that.

65VT60(Calibrated by Chad B)
55ST60(Calibrated by Chunon)
Darbee DVP5000
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast/I1Pro/I1D3
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
post #366 of 1124 Old 06-06-2014, 06:58 AM
Member
 
showsjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 17
How's the antiglare on this TV? Can it take a bit of ambient light OK, or does it lack a filter like the F5300?
showsjohn is offline  
post #367 of 1124 Old 06-06-2014, 08:29 AM
Newbie
 
Vapi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Anyone with over 500 hours of use with this plasma? How are the black levels after 500 hours of use? Does this tv have light sensor?

 

Thanks!

Vapi is offline  
post #368 of 1124 Old 06-06-2014, 10:47 AM
Member
 
TangoAlphaLima's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by vlatko View Post

Can anyone say how this TV fairs for games? I'm a real casual gamer. Only play single player games like God Of War, Devil May Cry, etc. on my PS3. Also, football games like FIFA or PES with my friends, but not online. Can any of you guys with this TV share some info for these type of games?

Thanks

 

I'm a heavy gamer, and it's been great for me.  Some people complain about the input lag, but it definitely seems to be quite minimal, and is nothing I've had a problem with.  Just put it on Game mode, use HDMI 2 (PC), and change the name of that input to "PC".  (The latter of these two suggestions are for piece of mind only, I've got no confirmation yet that they reduce input lag at all.)

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by showsjohn View Post

How's the antiglare on this TV? Can it take a bit of ambient light OK, or does it lack a filter like the F5300?

 

In my opinion, the antiglare is not very good.  This TV is great for a dark room, but I wouldn't put it in a room with a decent amount of ambient light myself.

TangoAlphaLima is offline  
post #369 of 1124 Old 06-06-2014, 10:50 AM
Member
 
dmtaub's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by showsjohn View Post

How's the antiglare on this TV? Can it take a bit of ambient light OK, or does it lack a filter like the F5300?

 

There is no filter.  Only the F8500 at this point has a filter.  As for glare, only tough on off angle viewing.  I have it above a fireplace with a slider and window to the right.  Only bad if I am standing well off angle to the left.  Otherwise, no problems.

dmtaub is offline  
post #370 of 1124 Old 06-06-2014, 10:56 AM
Member
 
showsjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Would the F5300 perform about the same when it comes to glare? I saw the LG at BB and honestly the glare wasn't any worse than the other TVs in the store. Wasn't bad at all really, should be better in my living room.
showsjohn is offline  
post #371 of 1124 Old 06-06-2014, 02:40 PM
Member
 
J-e-L-L-o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: California
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vlatko View Post

Can anyone say how this TV fairs for games? I'm a real casual gamer. Only play single player games like God Of War, Devil May Cry, etc. on my PS3. Also, football games like FIFA or PES with my friends, but not online. Can any of you guys with this TV share some info for these type of games?

Thanks

I downloaded a pinball game on my PS4. Had a really low score then changed to Game input. Got a high score of 13 million. Someone tested early on in the thread and was getting about 50ms input lag I believe. Not the best, but perfectly acceptable.
Samsungs you have to rename the source to PC, but its not necessary on the LG. I did plug it into the HDMI( PC ) slot though.

Good news is picture settings get saved so you can switch inputs and keep settings. I was doing that last night testing it between the game mode and the ISF calibration posted earlier. You def want to keep it in Game mode for any precise button pushes. Visuals still look great. I boosted my brightness to 70 because I didn't like the black blob look in the dark areas. Much better IMO.

Still haven't played Call of Duty on it though. Might try that later tonight after I hook back up my Xbox 360.
J-e-L-L-o is offline  
post #372 of 1124 Old 06-06-2014, 02:44 PM
Member
 
Taheer19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by showsjohn View Post

Would the F5300 perform about the same when it comes to glare? I saw the LG at BB and honestly the glare wasn't any worse than the other TVs in the store. Wasn't bad at all really, should be better in my living room.

They all perform about the same in bright brooms at this price range. There is no difference in bright room performance between my PB6600 and my F5300.

Taheer19 is offline  
post #373 of 1124 Old 06-06-2014, 02:51 PM
Member
 
derore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13

Am I correct that there is no headphone jack on the PB6600?  And other than the optical audio output there is no other audio output?

 

Here's my issue.  I have lots of movies on usb drives.  I have been plugging the usb drive into one of the usb ports on the back of the PB6600.  The MKV, AVI videos play fine...in fact better than fine!  

 

However the audio track from the videos plays only through the speakers on the PB6600.  

 

For any other source the audio signal is fed through my Kenwood AV receiver.  

 

So I can get audio from my dvd player, from my WOW cable receiver etc.  Once it is fed into the Kenwood AV receiver it can be distributed to my 5.1 speaker system.  

 

But I can't seem to figure out how to get the audio on the usb drive to the receiver.  I thought if there was a headphone jack or another audio output that I could send that to the receiver.  I have plenty of audio inputs on the Kenwood that I could utilize but no audio outputs from the PB6600.  The Kenwood has only one optical input and I am using that to feed the signal from the cable box to the receiver.  

 

I would be happy with just an RCA feed out of the PB6600 but, unless I am missing something, I can't find another audio out.  Got lots of audio inputs on the set.

derore is offline  
post #374 of 1124 Old 06-06-2014, 03:06 PM
Member
 
TangoAlphaLima's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by derore View Post
 

Am I correct that there is no headphone jack on the PB6600?  And other than the optical audio output there is no other audio output?

 

Here's my issue.  I have lots of movies on usb drives.  I have been plugging the usb drive into one of the usb ports on the back of the PB6600.  The MKV, AVI videos play fine...in fact better than fine!  

 

However the audio track from the videos plays only through the speakers on the PB6600.  

 

For any other source the audio signal is fed through my Kenwood AV receiver.  

 

So I can get audio from my dvd player, from my WOW cable receiver etc.  Once it is fed into the Kenwood AV receiver it can be distributed to my 5.1 speaker system.  

 

But I can't seem to figure out how to get the audio on the usb drive to the receiver.  I thought if there was a headphone jack or another audio output that I could send that to the receiver.  I have plenty of audio inputs on the Kenwood that I could utilize but no audio outputs from the PB6600.  The Kenwood has only one optical input and I am using that to feed the signal from the cable box to the receiver.  

 

I would be happy with just an RCA feed out of the PB6600 but, unless I am missing something, I can't find another audio out.  Got lots of audio inputs on the set.

 

Does your receiver have ARC functionality?  If you hook the receiver up to HDMI 1 on the LG, then make sure the audio output from the LG is set to "External (ARC)" instead of "Optical," then it should work for you.

 

If your receiver doesn't have ARC, you could always run an optical cable switch to the receiver to give you more inputs to it.

derore likes this.
TangoAlphaLima is offline  
post #375 of 1124 Old 06-06-2014, 04:12 PM
Newbie
 
TheSybarite's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Here is what my screen is looking like after about 100 hours of breaking in.

I think it is more noticeable in person, because my camera keeps trying to focus over the colored screen, so the shots are kind of blurry.

Do you think the spots are too much? I will keep breaking it in, but I haven't noticed any changes with 100 hours in.

 

 

 

TheSybarite is offline  
post #376 of 1124 Old 06-06-2014, 04:21 PM
Newbie
 
jacjunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Kudos to P.C. Richard!!

 

They have the best current pricing (that I can find) for getting one of these in NC.  I ordered online Monday evening after applying for PC Richard card (6 mo no interest), order processed on Tuesday, shipped (via Pilot freight) on Wednesday from NY(Farmingdale?) and delivered in Durham today (Friday).  They shipped the WiFi dongle by mail- probably be here tomorrow or Monday.

 

Now... to go open the box... :-)

jacjunk is offline  
post #377 of 1124 Old 06-06-2014, 06:06 PM
Member
 
derore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13

Thanks TangoAlphaLima.  

 

Nope my Kenwood does not have ARC.  

 

So it looks like your suggestion regarding a toslink switcher might be the best route to go.  

 

Am also thinking that I may want to get a toslink switcher with a remote control.  

 

Primarily because I currently don't have enough remote controls.  

 

One for the LG plasma, one for the WOW cable box, one for the Kenwood receiver, one for the Samsung dvd player, one for the ROKU.   I have a flow chart with a manual so that my wife can use the set up.

 

Or maybe it would be safer to go with a manually switched Toslink hub.

derore is offline  
post #378 of 1124 Old 06-06-2014, 06:15 PM
Member
 
showsjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Any reviews of the 60PB6900? How does it compare to the 6600?
showsjohn is offline  
post #379 of 1124 Old 06-06-2014, 08:38 PM
Newbie
 
jacjunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacjunk View Post
 

Kudos to P.C. Richard!!

 

They have the best current pricing (that I can find) for getting one of these in NC.  I ordered online Monday evening after applying for PC Richard card (6 mo no interest), order processed on Tuesday, shipped (via Pilot freight) on Wednesday from NY(Farmingdale?) and delivered in Durham today (Friday).  They shipped the WiFi dongle by mail- probably be here tomorrow or Monday.

 

Now... to go open the box... :-)

Too bad it's broken. :-/

jacjunk is offline  
post #380 of 1124 Old 06-06-2014, 10:07 PM
Senior Member
 
ehgz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Albany, Ohio
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacjunk View Post

Too bad it's broken. :-/

Aww that is awful....what happened? Cracked screen?
ehgz1 is offline  
post #381 of 1124 Old 06-06-2014, 10:47 PM
Newbie
 
jacjunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ehgz1 View Post


Aww that is awful....what happened? Cracked screen?

Yup- but more than cracked.  The box didn't look that bad, but it had a noticeable accordion on the bottom-right corner- and that's the corner the breakage is on.  The front glass is fine, but internal is broken- with tiny slivers falling out of the external gap in the back.  Gonna have to vacuum the carpet before I walk in bare feet again.  One step forward, two steps back.

jacjunk is offline  
post #382 of 1124 Old 06-07-2014, 07:16 AM
Member
 
higrpwdd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Anyone else having a problem getting the wireless dongle from LG? I ordered it day 1.. they said no problem.. I called back about 8 days later..they said they didnt have the purchase date so its stalled.. I gave it to them AGAIN, eventho I also registered it and applied and was accepted for the free Netflix, called them back again day 13 they said they weren't sure what the problem was and submitted it again. I was like "Seriously"!!??? Not that great for customer service as far as I'm concerned. We'll see if I really get one!
higrpwdd is offline  
post #383 of 1124 Old 06-07-2014, 09:49 AM
Member
 
derore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13

Bummer, mine came very very quickly. 

derore is offline  
post #384 of 1124 Old 06-07-2014, 05:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,927
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 169
With the Pentile display on the Samsung 60" F5300, this LG 60" PB6600 should be a big seller.

Samsung 51F8500 Plasma / Vizio M422i / Vizio VP322 Plasma / Vizio GV42LF LCD / Denon 2200 Silicon Image DVD / Panasonic S97 Faroudja Genesis DVD / Oppo 970HD Mediatek DVD / Oppo 983H Anchor Bay DVD / Panasonic LX-600 Laserdisc / Aiwa MX100 Multi-region VCR / JVC S7600 S-VHS / PS2 / Roku 2 XS & HD-XR / Realistic STA-90 Reciever / Realistic Minimus 7 / Antennacraft G1483 Hoverman / Belden 7915A RG6 / Channel Master 7777 Titan 2 UHF/VHF / Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
EscapeVelocity is offline  
post #385 of 1124 Old 06-08-2014, 06:34 AM
Newbie
 
melting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Just purchased the 60PB6600 and have to say I'm loving it.  Used  Best Buy and they matched the Frys online price of $688 down from their price of $799. Plus free delivery, haul away of my old Toshiba behemoth. Add in the Netflix promo, and the Best Buy rewards that I earned and this was one heck of a deal for a 60" plasma.  I've got @ 50 hours or so on it and it's been performing really well and seems to be getting better as the hours tick on.

melting is offline  
post #386 of 1124 Old 06-08-2014, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,599
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by melting View Post

Just purchased the 60PB6600 and have to say I'm loving it.  Used  Best Buy and they matched the Frys online price of $688 down from their price of $799. Plus free delivery, haul away of my old Toshiba behemoth. Add in the Netflix promo, and the Best Buy rewards that I earned and this was one heck of a deal for a 60" plasma.  I've got @ 50 hours or so on it and it's been performing really well and seems to be getting better as the hours tick on.

Hi melting, if you have a Microcenter store in your area, the 60PB6600 (item #205815) is $599. Might be able to get Best Buy to price match for a refund wink.gif.
melting likes this.
JChin is offline  
post #387 of 1124 Old 06-08-2014, 10:04 AM
Newbie
 
melting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post


Hi melting, if you have a Microcenter store in your area, the 60PB6600 (item #205815) is $599. Might be able to get Best Buy to price match for a refund wink.gif.

 

No unfortunately no Microcenter. Wish I could have saved another 100+ bucks. ;)  And now if you look on their website, Frys is no longer listed as an online competitor that they will match.

Quote:
 At the time of sale, we price match all local retail competitors (including their online prices) and we price match products shipped from and sold by these major online retailers: Amazon.com, Bhphotovideo.com, Crutchfield.com, Dell.com, HP.com, Newegg.com, and TigerDirect.com.
melting is offline  
post #388 of 1124 Old 06-08-2014, 02:21 PM
Newbie
 
Vapi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Can someone measure black levels in cd/m2 please? I'm wondering how deep the blacks are.

Vapi is offline  
post #389 of 1124 Old 06-08-2014, 04:47 PM
Member
 
Shaoran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15

I have my plasma returned, the pink spots/hue were just extremely annoying, even after 200 hours

I'll buy a new model in the autumn again and hope that I can then catch a better model then

Shaoran is offline  
post #390 of 1124 Old 06-08-2014, 09:32 PM
Member
 
seikon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13

so i am planning on buying this tv in the very near future 9the 60pb5600 to be exact) and my plan is to do it up right and break it in with the colour slides.

 

i do have questions/concerns about such activity though...

 

so basically i am supposed to leave my tv on running through the slides for like 8-10 (or more) hours a day until the 100-150 hour mark? i'm a bit of a worry wart...there's no issues leaving the tv on for that many hours straight on a given day? there's no heat issues? my tv won't explode or be damaged?!

 

any information would be great. this would be my first plasma and though i am very excited i also have some nerves about the whole situation!

 

thank you.

seikon is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
pb6600
Gear in this thread - pb6600 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off