Any more info on LG PB6600 (or other 2014 model) plasma? - Page 37 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 1133 Old 12-05-2014, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fbov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bushnell's Basin, NY
Posts: 1,146
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by lambdafun View Post
These may seem like very basic questions, but I'm new at this...
Is there a recommended step-by-step procedure for adjusting the settings? ...
Which model do you have? I now have a 6900 and a 5600, and while they share a plasma panel, their electronics and SW are miles apart.

The 6900 (and I presume the 6600 as they're both "Smart," as in web-enabled, TVs) has a wizard that runs you through the basic controls, providing apprpriate test patterns at each step. The settings are saved in Expert1. The wizard presents various PLUGE test images, appropriate to the control being adjusted, and tell you what to look for in each. I think it's very well done. I've run mine a dozen times over the first 500 hours, to see how long the panel will take to stablize, indicating the end of break-in. It's just now getting back to the nominal values for color and tint...

The 5600 has no such capability. Although the adjustments are present, without the appropriate test image, you're flying blind. I'm thinking a thumb drive with the right patterns would be an easy alternative, at least until I have a disc player attached and can use a set-up DVD/BD, and assuming they'll work properly, no small thing here.

Have fun,
Frank
gregoryperkins likes this.
fbov is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 1133 Old 12-05-2014, 12:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Wow, good to know. I haven't delved into the set much yet as it is so new.

The only thing that's bugging me is the grey bars on 2.35:1 content... I'm wondering about masking it. It's easier on a 60" than my 106" projector.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #1083 of 1133 Old 12-05-2014, 01:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hi,

I just bought the 50BP690V model here in Poland, and I have just one question. How do you get the subtitles to work? I have some movies in different formats on my d-link network dysk, and when I play the movies and go to options all the option for subtitles are geyed out. I tried a variety of formats, like txt, srt etc and nothing works. When I plug in a usb drive subtitles work perfectly. Does anyone have any idea how to resolve this problem?

I have the newest firmware installed.
aleksej3 is offline  
post #1084 of 1133 Old 12-05-2014, 02:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
davehancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hamburg, NY (near Buffalo)
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by aleksej3 View Post
Hi,

I just bought the 50BP690V model here in Poland, and I have just one question. How do you get the subtitles to work? I have some movies in different formats on my d-link network dysk, and when I play the movies and go to options all the option for subtitles are geyed out. I tried a variety of formats, like txt, srt etc and nothing works. When I plug in a usb drive subtitles work perfectly. Does anyone have any idea how to resolve this problem?

I have the newest firmware installed.
Are the subtitles enabled on the source?

Dave Hancock
davehancock is offline  
post #1085 of 1133 Old 12-05-2014, 02:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
No, they are seperate files, with the same name as the video file, like leon.the.professional.avi and subtitle file leon.the.professional.srt - with the usb pluged in the subtitles work, via the dlna web serwer they do not work.
aleksej3 is offline  
post #1086 of 1133 Old 12-05-2014, 02:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I think I misunderstood, I thought davehancock wrote enbeded not enabled - the problem is I don't know how to enable subtitles in the dlna, no seting menu with subtitle option is available, and when I use settings while playing the wideo the subtitles are grayed out.
aleksej3 is offline  
post #1087 of 1133 Old 12-05-2014, 06:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I'm looking at getting the 5600 for $550. I was going to get the Samsung 5300 for 750 but this just seems like a better value. I was worried about glare but some people on here said it wasn't bad if you don't put direct light on it. Is there any reason not to pull the trigger?
mrgardoki is offline  
post #1088 of 1133 Old 12-05-2014, 06:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by davehancock View Post
Right.

One thing: I'd strongly suggest NOT fiddling with the 20pt white balance controls. If not done carefully, one can get odd behavior between the 5% adjustment points.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fbov View Post
Which model do you have? I now have a 6900 and a 5600, and while they share a plasma panel, their electronics and SW are miles apart.

The 6900 (and I presume the 6600 as they're both "Smart," as in web-enabled, TVs) has a wizard that runs you through the basic controls, providing apprpriate test patterns at each step. The settings are saved in Expert1. The wizard presents various PLUGE test images, appropriate to the control being adjusted, and tell you what to look for in each. I think it's very well done. I've run mine a dozen times over the first 500 hours, to see how long the panel will take to stablize, indicating the end of break-in. It's just now getting back to the nominal values for color and tint...

The 5600 has no such capability. Although the adjustments are present, without the appropriate test image, you're flying blind. I'm thinking a thumb drive with the right patterns would be an easy alternative, at least until I have a disc player attached and can use a set-up DVD/BD, and assuming they'll work properly, no small thing here.

Have fun,
Frank
Thanks Dave and Frank. I have the 60PB6650. It has the picture wizard which I used only once to adjust the settings. As you mentioned, the changes are saved to Expert1. The reason I asked about how to adjust the picture is because I see other owners posting detailed white balance and color management settings. I'm not sure what approach they used to fine tune these settings. I don't feel prepared to explore the mysteries of these fine tuning settings yet.

However, I did change the Gamma from 2.2 to 2.4. I displayed the pattern with the various shades of grey. Switching Gamma to 2.4 reduced the speckled appearance of some of the darkest black levels.
lambdafun is offline  
post #1089 of 1133 Old 12-05-2014, 06:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
davehancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hamburg, NY (near Buffalo)
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by lambdafun View Post
The reason I asked about how to adjust the picture is because I see other owners posting detailed white balance and color management settings. I'm not sure what approach they used to fine tune these settings.
I don't know how the other owners determined the "correct" settings, but I know that accurate instrumentation is needed to do this accurately. I also know that due to manufacturing variations and variations in aging (the first 200 hours) that the correct settings for one particular set will yield completely different results on a different set (even different samples of the same model number).

Dave Hancock
davehancock is offline  
post #1090 of 1133 Old 12-06-2014, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I'm impressed with the tuner on the 6900. I put a tiny antenna on and it found all the locals and did it quickly. This antenna never worked this well on any other tv.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #1091 of 1133 Old 12-07-2014, 02:40 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Haha, 6 months later and I finally got my set(6600) up and running. The only thing is in my old house the damn thing in it's box looked like a monster. In my new house, the box didn't look quite as big and the TV out of the box looks smaller than I was hoping lol.

I have to say, I'm actually pretty happy with the picture. Even with the out of box enviro(forget exact name) low settings I enabled off of the set up screen.

The dongle works brilliantly. I'll admit I was a little worried about it not holding a signal.

Personally I'm not even going to bother with break in with this set. Just make sure everything is full screen and no gaming for the first 200+.
JKB0076 is offline  
post #1092 of 1133 Old 12-10-2014, 11:13 AM
Newbie
 
K1ngV1per's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I setup some 6500k fluorescent bulbs behind my TV last night. Here's a pic. I'm quite liking it so far.

Bias Lighting
K1ngV1per is offline  
post #1093 of 1133 Old 12-11-2014, 04:42 AM
Newbie
 
PaulKemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi folks!

Coming from the european side, witch model is this? I can get UK model 60PB660V and 60PB560V pretty cheap here in Norway. And I'm fearing that we are closing in on the last plasmas delivered in Europe before they are all out of sale.

Replacing a 2009 42" Panasonic 720p X series plasma.

http://www.lg.com/uk/tvs/lg-60PB660V
PaulKemp is offline  
post #1094 of 1133 Old 12-11-2014, 06:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulKemp View Post
Hi folks!

Coming from the european side, witch model is this? I can get UK model 60PB660V and 60PB560V pretty cheap here in Norway. And I'm fearing that we are closing in on the last plasmas delivered in Europe before they are all out of sale.

Replacing a 2009 42" Panasonic 720p X series plasma.

http://www.lg.com/uk/tvs/lg-60PB660V
hello 60pb660v it is European version ( US version 60pb6600) Smart TV 1080p 2d plasma panel, which is great. If you are concerned with 3d then 60pb690v is Euro version ( US version 60pb6900). 60pb560v is not smart TV has only 1 HDMI output, no picture wizard software, no true motion support adjustment and maybe even much more functions are missing + smart tv functions. What I have to mention there is similar price for Euro version 60pb690v compared to 60pb660v( 660v is only 100USD cheaper in Slovakia like 690v)and you are not getting only 3D but in Euro model also Magic Remote which I have as well as out of box package, and it is joy to use even without 3d using it is worthy to consier + installed in TV wifi module , in pb660v/ you need to puchase in Europe cheap but extra LG wifi dongle... Enjoy your choice and small tip audio output on this TV is optical so if your speakers are coaxial or analog you need to buy adapter as I`ve did (working superb now with synchronized audio/video through HDMI sound signals from all machines connected to TV).

p.s. funny point, Norway is little bit colder like Slovakia and this TV is not so hot like Panasonic or Samsung plasma joke ! so it won`t come handy to you in colder North winter My 2008 Samsung plasma was many times more hot, and I`ve heard even current ones are more hot like LG, yes this is LG good point.

Last edited by MK1980; 12-11-2014 at 06:13 AM.
MK1980 is offline  
post #1095 of 1133 Old 12-11-2014, 07:03 AM
Newbie
 
PaulKemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MK1980 View Post
hello 60pb660v it is European version ( US version 60pb6600) Smart TV 1080p 2d plasma panel, which is great. If you are concerned with 3d then 60pb690v is Euro version ( US version 60pb6900). 6
Thanks for your reply! Is easier to find reviews with the US model number.

Smart TV, one HDMI and wifi is not a concern. But picture quality and black levels are. The TV will be placed in the attic, with only one small window. The 560 is about 142$ cheaper than the 660. But they are ridiculously cheap for a 60" anyway.

Warmth is a bonus!

edit: For gaming purposes, how is the inputlag?
PaulKemp is offline  
post #1096 of 1133 Old 12-11-2014, 07:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulKemp View Post
Thanks for your reply! Is easier to find reviews with the US model number.

Smart TV, one HDMI and wifi is not a concern. But picture quality and black levels are. The TV will be placed in the attic, with only one small window. The 560 is about 142$ cheaper than the 660. But they are ridiculously cheap for a 60" anyway.

Warmth is a bonus!

edit: For gaming purposes, how is the inputlag?

for plasma picture then winner is 560v but as Fbov pointed out, on 660v aka 6600 US which has additional feature like picture wizard you can check correct brightness, contrast, colour amount adjusted, which I did and to my surprise my Expert settings used from this forum except of little bit brightness contrast change has been near expected image quality(but colour balance need profi adjustment of exact set with measuring tools! ). Anyhow panel of 560v is OK. Black level you have to consider, it is passable on this plasma not that deep black like 2013 Samsung not even close to Panasonic 2013 models, but in most of movie scenes the picture is stunning, great colours - I`ve compared with High end Samsung F8500(faulty unit) not too much different regarding colours. You have to be not that picky in this price point regarding blacks, they are most of times in higher end plasmas improved. Blacks on this plasma looks very good in pictures containing light even in night scenes which are not completelly ONLY dark pictures without any light ( filmmakers intention) , in bright- medium bright pictures blacks pop from image, in these situation they look INKY.
However for midrange class plasmas from 2008-2010 even from Panasonic and Samsung blacks can be compared, which is from this point of view not worst situation. Shadow details in dark scenes and overally are superb you will see improvement a lot over older plasmas. I think in Norway you can try and return TV in first few days after purchase so test it and consider by yourself, in Slovakia we can return up to 14 days ( only ) without extra feee, compared to more long "consumer return safety period" in more unmatchably better developed markets :P US.
Input lag when you will use HDMI adjusted with name "PC" and in Game Mode is possible to accept, however is over 50ms, as I only read many users are OK in Game mode, I didn`t tested myself but I am not best game movement hunter I think for me it will be no issue.

p.s. 60" is different story of movies watching compared to 42" or even my previous 50" plasma Check movies for picture quality Transformers 4 and for picture and story as well Edge of tomorrow, and The Great Gatsby, these movies on modern TV show some kind of a picture! Picture totally ruined my old plasma 2008 Samsung performance in these titles.

Last edited by MK1980; 12-11-2014 at 08:26 AM.
MK1980 is offline  
post #1097 of 1133 Old 12-11-2014, 08:36 AM
Member
 
torsteinvh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MK1980 View Post
60pb560v is not smart TV has only 1 HDMI output, no picture wizard software, no true motion support adjustment and maybe even much more functions are missing + smart tv functions.
My Norwegian 60PB560V has the Picture Wizard, so maybe this varies from country to country?
MK1980 likes this.
torsteinvh is offline  
post #1098 of 1133 Old 12-11-2014, 10:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by torsteinvh View Post
My Norwegian 60PB560V has the Picture Wizard, so maybe this varies from country to country?
then clear 560v european version should be in all countries "probably" with picture wizard, our friend I think is not deciding based on this, in case we want to be sure there are LG customer services for confirmation online or by phone best . There is more reason with picture wizard to try on his place 60pb560v . After few days weeks of usage, I hope he`ll share his impression compared to old 2009 panasonic set.

Last edited by MK1980; 12-12-2014 at 02:33 AM.
MK1980 is offline  
post #1099 of 1133 Old 12-11-2014, 12:33 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
As to my subtitles problem, I've installed debian and minidlna on my dLink DNS 320 a now the subtitles work perfectly via DLNA on my LG 50PB690V.

I think I'll buy the 60 inch set for my living room.

Aleksej3
MK1980 likes this.
aleksej3 is offline  
post #1100 of 1133 Old 12-12-2014, 03:37 PM
Member
 
spiroh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unfortunately, today I returned my set. I really LOVED the picture quality but even though initially the glare did not bother me it really got to us after a couple of weeks.
spiroh is offline  
post #1101 of 1133 Old 12-14-2014, 02:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
60PB6650 WiFi

I'm considering upgrading my wireless router.
Has anyone successfully connected their LG Plasma TV to a wireless router using 802.11n?
Has anyone successfully connected their LG Plasma TV using the 5 GHz frequency bands?

Lastly, has anyone found a way to adjust wifi settings to improve download speeds. I am getting intermittent results. Sometimes downloads as high as 19Mbps, but often only 1 Mbps.
lambdafun is offline  
post #1102 of 1133 Old 12-14-2014, 11:14 PM
Member
 
dmtaub's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by lambdafun View Post
I'm considering upgrading my wireless router.
Has anyone successfully connected their LG Plasma TV to a wireless router using 802.11n?
Has anyone successfully connected their LG Plasma TV using the 5 GHz frequency bands?

Lastly, has anyone found a way to adjust wifi settings to improve download speeds. I am getting intermittent results. Sometimes downloads as high as 19Mbps, but often only 1 Mbps.


Yes, it will connect to 5ghz spectrum. And the low speeds are probably your ISP. What are you using?
dmtaub is offline  
post #1103 of 1133 Old 12-15-2014, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fbov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bushnell's Basin, NY
Posts: 1,146
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Concerns over download speeds are one reason I hardwired mine... that and I only needed a 15' cable.
Frank
fbov is offline  
post #1104 of 1133 Old 12-15-2014, 06:00 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmtaub View Post
Yes, it will connect to 5ghz spectrum. And the low speeds are probably your ISP. What are you using?
Thanks dmtaub. I have a workhorse WRT54GL wireless router, which has served me well over the years. It is one of the most reliable products I have ever used, but it only supports 802.11g and 2.4ghz. I am testing the TV download speeds with the built-in internet browser by surfing to http://www.speedtest.net. I also measured the WiFi signal strength with the Android app called WiFi Analyzer. My signal at the TV is around -60dbm. My PC in the next room has similar signal strength and has consistently good download speeds, usually 16Mbps or better. The TV can also sometimes download at these speeds, but usually only 1Mbps.
lambdafun is offline  
post #1105 of 1133 Old 12-15-2014, 06:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by fbov View Post
Concerns over download speeds are one reason I hardwired mine... that and I only needed a 15' cable.
Frank
Nice. Would love to have a hardwired Ethernet connection, but that would involve some tricky cable fishing through floors and walls. I don't have the confidence for that job without experienced help.
lambdafun is offline  
post #1106 of 1133 Old 12-15-2014, 10:31 PM
Member
 
LINDW4LL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Picked up my 5600 during the HHGregg online sale during Thanksgiving weekend. It was too good to pass up at $480 IMO.

We have a late-model 2013 Panasonic Viera in our basement/media area which is excellent, and wasn't sure what to expect from this. It is for our kitchen/living room area so mostly just used for watching news and the occasional football/hockey games, but I am very impressed with the picture quality after watching some movies.
LINDW4LL is offline  
post #1107 of 1133 Old 12-16-2014, 03:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 0
To your attention, I found settings on Amazon that somebody posted with comment they have payed actually to get them but they will share,
as I was surprised small changes from standard adjustment and what great result by my opinion, all settings before has been adjusted on my set based on Medium white level balance with gamma 2,4 which are still little on colder side, now these simple tweaks below with White balance Warm1 and gamma 2,2 are looking like more universal and for me in previously weak picture result sources/or not that great(on old settings) they were great, dark black details on gamma 2,2 are as have been said of course better, picture is now overally better and not better by small margin . Pls try maybe you will like them as well. I`m now even more shure what have been stated that too big tweaks without proper profi adjustment are against our visual experience, these small tweaks below show that not big changes can make very big difference, contrast colour richness is very full with these, and more close to what I remember on my old Samsung 2008 samsung plasma(rich colour but not oversaturated) with added benefit of 2014 plasma model which is in most cases better panel.
p.s. I am not fun of Warm 2 settings as it is very dull for me these readjusted settings based on Warm 1 are maybe little bit more off specs like warm2 after measurement but, I definitelly like it like it is (missing colour of Warm2 they have tried to catch with red tint2 and increased color to 61, make sense, but white stayed on more vibrant side with warm1)

PICTURE SETTINGS.
Picture Mode: Expert1
Contrast (Picture): 100
Brightness: 50 (I use brightness 46 , you need to find sweet spot for blu ray player, PC it is little different each equipment )
Color: 61
Tint: R2
Sharpness: H = 5, V = 5 ( I use sharpness H = 10, V = 10)
Color Temperature: Warm1
Backlight: NA (Panel Light = 100)
Aspect Ratio: Just Scan
Miscellaneous: Color Gamut = Standard, Gamma = 2.2, Black Level = Low (All remaining settings set to OFF, or 0)
My comment > for PC graphic card adjusted on RGB 4:4:4 and HDMI for computer adjusted as PC you need to adjust Black level = High ( with brightness 46 it is working for me excellent) .

Last edited by MK1980; 12-16-2014 at 03:44 AM.
MK1980 is offline  
post #1108 of 1133 Old 12-16-2014, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
davehancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hamburg, NY (near Buffalo)
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by MK1980 View Post
To your attention, I found settings on Amazon that somebody posted with comment they have payed actually to get them but they will share.
I've commented before that using settings from one particular set on another can take you further away from ideal settings due to set to set (let alone model to model) variations. Here is a post from a well respected calibrator (Chad B) on this subject.

That being said, the settings that you did post, appear fairly correct for the majority of sets. It is the detailed white balance settings, as well as color management settings that should not be copied (and you didn't post) from one set to another. Brightness settings also vary some, but most all users can easily set those without instrumentation by using the LG picture wizard patterns and/or one of the various "set up" DVDs or BDs available.

Dave Hancock
davehancock is offline  
post #1109 of 1133 Old 12-17-2014, 12:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by davehancock View Post
I've commented before that using settings from one particular set on another can take you further away from ideal settings due to set to set (let alone model to model) variations. Here is a post from a well respected calibrator (Chad B) on this subject.

That being said, the settings that you did post, appear fairly correct for the majority of sets. It is the detailed white balance settings, as well as color management settings that should not be copied (and you didn't post) from one set to another. Brightness settings also vary some, but most all users can easily set those without instrumentation by using the LG picture wizard patterns and/or one of the various "set up" DVDs or BDs available.
Thanks for great support as adjustments can so greatly improve sets experience, I am so tempted to get full calibration, actually in our conditions (Slovakia / Central Europe) there is so far 1 option and probably very busy but calibrate 2d/3d for better colour balance results it should be awesome to have I understood ONLY safest bet with new set is to do proper calibration when you are serious with TV experience Over 46 brightness is possible with my previous settings, but on these settings posted yesterday above 46 colours start to look washed and white balance is looking ugly, on 46 it is however looking better like other settings tried... no pro calibration = not easy satisfaction from picture for picky persons like me

p.s. by your experience - the picture wizard in LG tv is shows me that with current settings I need to add green tint 8 for instance from what is adjusted now, it should be correct? So far I think result is not looking neutral colour balance, I think it is not matching even slightly proper calibration of colour results, I think LG picture wizard is very roughly good for colour calibration very very roughly and good for contrast and brightness, even this depends on each persons condition and preference and calibrator eye and advice on real set is necessary to achieve expected adjustments .
If you can recommend somebody free in time for calibration possibility in Central Europe I should be glad, I am still searching .

Last edited by MK1980; 12-17-2014 at 05:08 AM.
MK1980 is offline  
post #1110 of 1133 Old 12-18-2014, 06:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by davehancock View Post
That being said, the settings that you did post, appear fairly correct for the majority of sets.
short question , for colour management do you believe it`s more safe to believe Warm2 setting change with standard colours and not changed colour management , compared to TINT recommendations of Picture Wizard? Cannot be picture wizard little useless for accurate colours judging ? For instance I think Warm1 , tint red2 and colour 61 / standard management can be more accurate like picture wizard reccomendation, which reccmend from this setting to change tint to green 8 and colour 54. Which one is more to be trusted ?
MK1980 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
pb6600
Gear in this thread - pb6600 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off