Broken...Pioneer Kuro PRO-110FD...worth fixing? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 06-10-2014, 09:58 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
willpowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi Folks - new member here with a quick question.

 

I have a ~2007 model year Pioneer plasma 50" PRO-110FD.  It has been a wonderful display.  I recently moved to a new home and need to upgrade to a larger display size given the room it will be used in.  During the move, the bloody movers somehow damaged my Pioneer.  TV repair guy (supposedly ethical) has told me its an issue related to the power supply and will cost ~$400 including labor to repair it.  Given that I don't need the TV anymore, I'm trying to decide what to do with it.  Should I repair it and try to re-sell it given the following this display has in the home theater community or should I simply say goodbye? 

 

I live in San Francisco and am likely going to replace with the Samsung F8500.

 

Thanks in advance for any guidance.

willpowers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 06-10-2014, 10:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by willpowers View Post

Hi Folks - new member here with a quick question.

I have a ~2007 model year Pioneer plasma 50" PRO-110FD.  It has been a wonderful display.  I recently moved to a new home and need to upgrade to a larger display size given the room it will be used in.  During the move, the bloody movers somehow damaged my Pioneer.  TV repair guy (supposedly ethical) has told me its an issue related to the power supply and will cost ~$400 including labor to repair it.  Given that I don't need the TV anymore, I'm trying to decide what to do with it.  Should I repair it and try to re-sell it given the following this display has in the home theater community or should I simply say goodbye? 

I live in San Francisco and am likely going to replace with the Samsung F8500.

Thanks in advance for any guidance.

If it only costs $400 to fix, I would fix it and then sell it for a profit. Since you live in a large metro area, I'm sure there would be plenty of buyers for a Pioneer. Just go to EBAY and look at the prices people are asking for their working Pioneers.

RIP Robin Williams. Thanks for the laughter.
wxman is online now  
post #3 of 22 Old 06-12-2014, 05:23 AM
Member
 
tt08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This TV is totally worth it $400 to fix it. It look so much better than the 65VT60 that I currently also have (I am not sure if I have the optimal settings on the 65VT60 or not).
tt08 is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 06-12-2014, 08:12 AM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
^I doubt you do...shouldn't be such a wide gap in how they look.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 06-12-2014, 01:03 PM
Senior Member
 
ShockFett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by willpowers View Post
Hi Folks - new member here with a quick question.
 
I have a ~2007 model year Pioneer plasma 50" PRO-110FD.  It has been a wonderful display.  I recently moved to a new home and need to upgrade to a larger display size given the room it will be used in.  During the move, the bloody movers somehow damaged my Pioneer.  TV repair guy (supposedly ethical) has told me its an issue related to the power supply and will cost ~$400 including labor to repair it.  Given that I don't need the TV anymore, I'm trying to decide what to do with it.  Should I repair it and try to re-sell it given the following this display has in the home theater community or should I simply say goodbye? 
 
I live in San Francisco and am likely going to replace with the Samsung F8500.
 
Thanks in advance for any guidance.

First can you shed some light on what is going on? What happens when you turn it on? Is there a red light when you plug in?
ShockFett is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 06-12-2014, 01:12 PM
Member
 
tt08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post
^I doubt you do...shouldn't be such a wide gap in how they look.
I would appreciate that you could point me to the correct settings. I have been using the CNET setting. Somehow, my 101FD look way much better.
tt08 is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 06-12-2014, 01:40 PM
Senior Member
 
ShockFett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by tt08 View Post
I would appreciate that you could point me to the correct settings. I have been using the CNET setting. Somehow, my 101FD look way much better.
Those setting won't get your vt where it needs to be. You shouldn't see much deference at all just preference. But please stay on topic.
ShockFett is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 06-12-2014, 02:08 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tt08 View Post
I would appreciate that you could point me to the correct settings. I have been using the CNET setting. Somehow, my 101FD look way much better.
Cnet, D-Nice, and SillySally (from this forum) settings are all you can give a try (Googling would be my recommendation so as to not take this further OT). If you're watching in a pith black room and your dissatisfaction is mainly with the black levels of the VT in comparison to the 101FD, that is expected.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 06-12-2014, 02:20 PM
Member
 
CherokeeMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dark Side of Blue Ridge Mtns
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I know where you are coming from willpowers.
Looks like im going to end up trashing my 111FD because one simple
audio board no longer available.
CherokeeMan is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 06-15-2014, 07:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 107
If your Pioneer Kuros are giving 8 BLUE blink of death errors I've repaired one of these before. I put it on my wall after fixing it. (PDP-LX5090, European 9th Gen I think?) The repair is easily done and costs less than $5, but does require good soldering skill. Just need to replace one voltage regulator on the audio IO board.
tom669 is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 06-15-2014, 09:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ou8thisSN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 2,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by tt08 View Post
(I am not sure if I have the optimal settings on the 65VT60 or not).
you dont.
Ou8thisSN is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 06-15-2014, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CHASLS2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 1,270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
My 60vt60 is very close to my old 5020 Kuro.

Panny 60VT60 Acurus 200x3
Pioneer Elite 05FD &51FD
2 Oppo 83's Pioneer Elite DV 59AVI
Paradigm SIg2 v3's & 490cc
Pioneer Elite SC61 SVS SB12NSD
2 S-VHS VCR's
CHASLS2 is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 06-15-2014, 03:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,620
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 425 Post(s)
Liked: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by CherokeeMan View Post
I know where you are coming from willpowers.
Looks like im going to end up trashing my 111FD because one simple
audio board no longer available.
audio? that's be super brutal if an audio problem was the only reason you couldn't use such a high end display. that's like trashing it because the remote got lost, haha
fierce_gt is online now  
post #14 of 22 Old 06-15-2014, 04:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 116
If nothing else list it for free or a low price on Craigslist for local pickup. Somebody will find it worth repairing or at least useful for parting out.

Vizio VP322 Plasma / Vizio GV42LF LCD / Denon 2200 Silicon Image DVD / Panasonic S97 Faroudja Genesis DVD / Oppo 970HD Mediatek DVD / Oppo 983H Anchor Bay DVD / Panasonic LX-600 Laserdisc / Aiwa MX100 Multi-region VCR / JVC S7600 S-VHS / PS2 / Sega Genesis / Nintendo SNES / Roku 2 XS & HD-XR / Realistic STA-90 Reciever / Realistic Minimus 7 / Antennacraft G1483 Hoverman / Belden 7915A RG6 / Channel Master 7777 Titan 2 UHF/VHF / Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
EscapeVelocity is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 06-15-2014, 04:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by CherokeeMan View Post
I know where you are coming from willpowers.
Looks like im going to end up trashing my 111FD because one simple
audio board no longer available.
audio? that's be super brutal if an audio problem was the only reason you couldn't use such a high end display. that's like trashing it because the remote got lost, haha
The AUDIO IO board is the board with the speaker connectors and component, SCART (or additional AV/Component in North American case), optical audio etc.
The fault with it causes a software power down to occur shortly after the TV powers up. In many cases the TV will power up now and then, although some TVs will fail to power up at all.
Unfortunately, the fault does need to be fixed, you can't just live with only HDMI on the digital input board although the fix is very easy to do if you can find someone to solder the part, and the part is very cheap.
stillvip187 likes this.
tom669 is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 06-15-2014, 09:41 PM
Member
 
CherokeeMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dark Side of Blue Ridge Mtns
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
[quote=tom669;24993098]
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by CherokeeMan View Post
I know where you are coming from willpowers.
Looks like im going to end up trashing my 111FD because one simple
audio board no longer available.
audio? that's be super brutal if an audio problem was the only reason you couldn't use such a high end display. that's like trashing it because the remote got lost, haha
This board stops tv from powering on when it goes bad. Local shop said my board unrepairable, so no easy fix for me. My only hope was a replacement AWW1353 board & they are unobtanium now...Also didnt mean to hijack your thread willpowers.

Last edited by CherokeeMan; 06-15-2014 at 09:45 PM. Reason: Spelling
CherokeeMan is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 06-15-2014, 11:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fierce_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,620
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 425 Post(s)
Liked: 753
[quote=CherokeeMan;24998290]
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom669 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by fierce_gt View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by CherokeeMan View Post
I know where you are coming from willpowers.
Looks like im going to end up trashing my 111FD because one simple
audio board no longer available.
audio? that's be super brutal if an audio problem was the only reason you couldn't use such a high end display. that's like trashing it because the remote got lost, haha
This board stops tv from powering on when it goes bad. Local shop said my board unrepairable, so no easy fix for me. My only hope was a replacement AWW1353 board & they are unobtanium now...Also didnt mean to hijack your thread willpowers.
man I feel for ya. that's just sucks
fierce_gt is online now  
post #18 of 22 Old 06-16-2014, 04:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 921
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 107
At the very least guys please stick the faulty TV on eBay or craigslist or AVS classifieds and sell it to someone who can repair one of these epic TVs. Since Pioneer don't make them any more, and Panasonic have pulled out (and Samsung probably won't last much longer?) I think we should make an effort to preserve every one. They are so, so well made. Better than any Panny or Sammy; especially better than any modern set.

Don't throw it out! They CAN be fixed... the 9G on my wall is proof of that, the guy I bought it off was in the same situation, he did not want to solder the new part, well, that is his loss, and my big gain. I got my 50" Kuro (after lots and lots of searching) for 1/4th normal used price.
tom669 is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 07-16-2014, 02:52 AM
Senior Member
 
keithhr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Daly City, California
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by willpowers View Post
<p>Hi Folks - new member here with a quick question.</p>
<p> </p>
<p>I have a ~2007 model year Pioneer plasma 50" PRO-110FD.  It has been a wonderful display.  I recently moved to a new home and need to upgrade to a larger display size given the room it will be used in.  During the move, the bloody movers somehow damaged my Pioneer.  TV repair guy (supposedly ethical) has told me its an issue related to the power supply and will cost ~$400 including labor to repair it.  Given that I don't need the TV anymore, I'm trying to decide what to do with it.  Should I repair it and try to re-sell it given the following this display has in the home theater community or should I simply say goodbye? </p>
<p> </p>
<p>I live in San Francisco and am likely going to replace with the Samsung F8500.</p>
<p> </p>
<p>Thanks in advance for any guidance.</p>
I have the 60" elite pro-151 and not too long after I bought it I found an add on ebay for the complete power supply for my set, I don't know if they are the
same, I'm just curious. Its why I wind up with backups for everything

when you always do what you've alway done, you always get what you always got.
keithhr is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 07-16-2014, 09:03 AM
Senior Member
 
jerrolds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHASLS2 View Post
My 60vt60 is very close to my old 5020 Kuro.
Hold up - You mean the 5020 is still superior to a VT60? Both calibrated? Impressive. And i thought my ST50 already had an amazing pq. I bought my brother a 5080HD (8g Kuro) from the locals and I'm stoked to see how it performs.
jerrolds is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 07-16-2014, 10:30 AM
Senior Member
 
TahoeDust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 20
This guy may be worth giving a shot....

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Repair-Servi...item19ec02f2fa

Samsung PN60E7000
Sony HT-CT770
Custom HTPC - 3.2GHz/8TB/8GB/HD5670
TahoeDust is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 07-20-2014, 01:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CHASLS2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 1,270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerrolds View Post
Hold up - You mean the 5020 is still superior to a VT60? Both calibrated? Impressive. And i thought my ST50 already had an amazing pq. I bought my brother a 5080HD (8g Kuro) from the locals and I'm stoked to see how it performs.
Dnice thinks so.

He has my 5020 and said it was one of the best he had worked on.

Panny 60VT60 Acurus 200x3
Pioneer Elite 05FD &51FD
2 Oppo 83's Pioneer Elite DV 59AVI
Paradigm SIg2 v3's & 490cc
Pioneer Elite SC61 SVS SB12NSD
2 S-VHS VCR's
CHASLS2 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off