Pioneer MR, lockout, fans, and tuner - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 06-12-2014, 11:41 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
sat_uplinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pioneer MR, lockout, fans, and tuner

I could not fix my 503 CMX power supply, thanks to Pioneer refusing to give me a schematic for it, so I found a PDP 505 for $250 on Craigslist, and I'm happy with it. Its the one with the external media receiver, which I discovered is loud and read about that issue here too. I removed the cover and cleaned it out, and went to plug it back in before putting the lid back on to test it, I did not realize there is an interlock switch. I depressed the switch with my finger and it still would not come out of standby. I bypassed the switch all together thinking it may have been malfunctioning, and still nothing! I came to find out through Googling it has a "LOCK OUT" mode when the power is applied with the interlock open. Holy heck. Luckily I happened to stumble across the hidden procedure of 8 remote button presses for entering the service menu and resetting it. I ever meet the engineer who designed that "feature" I would like to punch him in the face. I thought I broke it. I've never seen something so absurd. Even the transmitters at work, which actually have lethal voltages, don't do that when the interlock is open.


Anyway, I was wondering if, since most of the heat seems to be generated in that tuner section, and I'm only using a single HDMI input on it, can I disconnect the power to the tuner section so I can then turn the fan to low speed without worrying about frying something? I could ask Pioneer but it seems hard to actually get a hold of a engineer over there, just people who answer emails without any real information.

bob z

Ramblings of a TV News Chaser:
www.tvuplink.net/
sat_uplinker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 06-13-2014, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stu03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kingdom of Fife, Scotland.
Posts: 1,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Can you access the service menu, i am wondering if there is a way to disable the tuner in there firstly - even temporarily as an experiment.

I did it on a my 500A as an experiment but it was only disabled until it was powered off (plug out) at the wall. It was disabled until then though even after going to standby. Don't have to worry now about that as i have a Pioneer monitor nowadays. But if i had worked out a way to disable it permanently i would have done as i had an external broadcast recorder and didn't want anything "extra" that i didn't require if i remember rightly. Anything that unnecessarily attracts and spreads RFI and 'especially' EMI in and out of the system is a nono in my book if it can be possibly helped.

:EDIT:

Don't know if you have already... But i'm going to see if i can get hold of a service manual for that model and see what the score is

Last edited by Stu03; 06-13-2014 at 08:51 AM.
Stu03 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off