Kuro Command Program - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By makaveddie81
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 06-23-2014, 10:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Kuro Command Program



After developing Kuro Kapture (http://www.avsforum.com/forum/167-pl...1522255?page=1), I have now created a program that allows the user to run commands on any of the below Kuro models:

101fd
141fd
500m
600m
111fd
151fd
5020
6020
Non-US model equivalents to the above

What does this mean? For starters, service menu access (by executing the proper commands) on any of the above models in one simple program.

Below are links to the required hardware.

? USB to RS232 Adapter

http://www.amazon.com/TRENDnet-RS-23...2+serial+cable

? Straight through RS232 Serial Cable (not a null modem cable). Make sure to get the right gender.

Male to Female
http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-1...2+serial+cable

Female to Female
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I will be issuing this program after a $25 paypal donation is made to edwardrafii@gmail.com and PLEASE INCLUDE YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS IN THE PAYPAL NOTES SECTION.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	kuro_command_icon.png
Views:	85
Size:	16.6 KB
ID:	498777  
tubby497 likes this.

Last edited by makaveddie81; 02-01-2015 at 08:47 AM.
makaveddie81 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 06-24-2014, 05:51 AM
Senior Member
 
ShockFett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 122
I really like this one. Super fast, easy to use, doesn't crash and doesn't mess up the display button like the other one lol! Also great its works on all displays. This is definitely my go to for services menu access!

Thanks Ed!
ShockFett is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 06-24-2014, 01:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShockFett View Post
I really like this one. Super fast, easy to use, doesn't crash and doesn't mess up the display button like the other one lol! Also great its works on all displays. This is definitely my go to for services menu access!

Thanks Ed!
The program was your idea though... not sure why I didnt listen the first time you proposed it.
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 08-08-2014, 08:16 PM
Member
 
CherokeeMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dark Side of Blue Ridge Mtns
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just wanted to say a big thanks to makaveddie81 for this program!
Had to replace the main assy in my 111FD & couldn't access the service menu
to run the auto adjust & final setup process per Pioneer Manual.

With the Kuro Command program it took me about 5 minutes to be up &
running. Now I've got my Kuro back!!
CherokeeMan is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-27-2014, 01:33 PM
Member
 
buttonsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hi Ed,

Does this program work in the same way that controlcal does?

Can I unlock the ISF modes and calibrate through the SM?

Cheers

Steve

Pioneer KRP-500A | Sony STR-DH810 Receiver | Tannoy HTS101 Speakers
buttonsw is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 08-28-2014, 01:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 159
The program sends commands to the TV, so it can be used to unlock the ISF modes and adjust picture settings. Problem is, I dont know what the required commands are to accomplish this. If you do, simply issue the appropriate commands.
makaveddie81 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off