Samsung Plasma PN60E550D1FXZA no picture - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 06-28-2014, 08:15 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Samsung Plasma PN60E550D1FXZA no picture

So, tonight I was watching the news and everything ws playing grey on my Samsung, 60" Plasma, 3D TV, model PN60E550D1FXZA, TS02
Went to take a shower and when I came out, the picture was black but I still had the news voice. I tried to re-boot the TV and then the picture and sound was gone and has not come back.
Can someone please help???

Thank you very much

Dennis
dgignac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 06-29-2014, 12:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 955
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgignac View Post
So, tonight I was watching the news and everything ws playing grey on my Samsung, 60" Plasma, 3D TV, model PN60E550D1FXZA, TS02
Went to take a shower and when I came out, the picture was black but I still had the news voice. I tried to re-boot the TV and then the picture and sound was gone and has not come back.
Can someone please help???

Thank you very much

Dennis
Check the panel very carefully around the edges for cracks. (Samsung plasma panels are known to spontaneously crack.)

Block out all light in the room and turn it on. Confirm if you see a brief flash from the screen or a slight glow from it while it is running.
tom669 is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 06-29-2014, 01:51 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom669 View Post
Check the panel very carefully around the edges for cracks. (Samsung plasma panels are known to spontaneously crack.)

Block out all light in the room and turn it on. Confirm if you see a brief flash from the screen or a slight glow from it while it is running.
I did what you have suggested and saw no light at all. Here is a little more info...

Samsung PN60E550D1FXZA
No picture, black screen
Replaced the Y-Main and buffers, X-Main and SMPS board with no luck.I measured the voltage on the Va, Vs, Vsc, and the Ve test pins. Upon startup of the TV, the voltage spikes to the required TV label voltage but very quickly degrades to 0 volts.
The Vs and Va test pins were measured on the SMPS board. The Vsc was measured on the Y-main board, the Ve was measured on the X-main.

Any thoughts?
dgignac is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 07-22-2014, 09:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Any luck from here?
DiscoSteve is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 07-23-2014, 10:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I had this happen four times under warranty and all 4 times the technician replaced the "A" board. This seemed to work for awhile, but eventually the same problem came back. I recently replaced the "A" board myself(no warranty) and it didn't correct the issue. As a work- around, I now turn the TV on until the sound is heard(no Picture). Once I hear it, I cycle power. When it turns back on, I have video and sound. I'm not sure if it's a "lazy" cap in a power supply or something else. When I see the brief flash, it comes on 100% of the time.
mprowland is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 07-23-2014, 10:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 955
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Do you have a digital multimeter available?
tom669 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 07-23-2014, 11:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm not sure about the (OP) dgignac, but I have everything from a voltmeter to a spectrum analyzer. I'm guessing the troubleshooting steps will apply to both of us.
mprowland is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 07-23-2014, 04:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 955
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by mprowland View Post
I'm not sure about the (OP) dgignac, but I have everything from a voltmeter to a spectrum analyzer. I'm guessing the troubleshooting steps will apply to both of us.
Here is one thing you can try to see if it is a main board issue:
tom669 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 07-24-2014, 03:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks a bunch! I'll try this in the next few days, seems fairly straight forward. I'm already guessing it's a SMPS but we'll see soon enough, Thanks again!!
mprowland is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
black screen , no picture , plasma , Samsung

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off