Samsung freezes when changing HDMI Port - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 06-29-2014, 02:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dzrbenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Samsung freezes when changing HDMI Port

Hi,

Added 2 more pieces to the home setup, Apple TV and Wii U and not sure my TV likes them, Occasionally, well 4 times over the weekend, when switching HDMI channels my TV will lockup, become unresponsive for around 1-2mins then restart itself and all is good.

Wondering if anyone has seen this? checked for updated firmware but none out, will do a full reset tonight, If I can figure out how.

Samsung PS64F5500
HDMI 1 – Apple TV
HDMI 2 – ARC to Sound bar (Wii u connected to sound bar HDMI)
Hdmi 3 – Xbox One

So If im using the Wii U and switch to Xbox One it has the potential to lock up,

Thanks for any replies
dzrbenson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 06-29-2014, 02:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Major issue is the Samsung display is not HDMI certified...
Without being certified Samsung components typically have major interoperability issues with other brands of HDMI products. Best workaround is to just use Samsung brand HDMI components..
One other suggestion is to retry the power turn ON sequence..
1. Display
2. AVR
3. Source components


Just my $0.05...
M Code is online now  
post #3 of 8 Old 06-29-2014, 02:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dzrbenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the reply,

A little confused, Il give you my power up process,

Also where you say I should use samsung certified only, does that mean Samsung HDMI cables, as xbox and wii u cant really do much? I am using a Samsung soundbar.

1. TV Turns on
2. Soundbar turns on with TV
3. Turn on Xbox, Wii u or Apple TV etc.

Should I book a call with Samsung, or is this something I need to live with? It did not occur before, however I only had the Xbox to begin with.
dzrbenson is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 06-29-2014, 08:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Straybeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dzrbenson View Post
Hi,

Added 2 more pieces to the home setup, Apple TV and Wii U and not sure my TV likes them, Occasionally, well 4 times over the weekend, when switching HDMI channels my TV will lockup, become unresponsive for around 1-2mins then restart itself and all is good.

Wondering if anyone has seen this? checked for updated firmware but none out, will do a full reset tonight, If I can figure out how.

Samsung PS64F5500
HDMI 1 – Apple TV
HDMI 2 – ARC to Sound bar (Wii u connected to sound bar HDMI)
Hdmi 3 – Xbox One

So If im using the Wii U and switch to Xbox One it has the potential to lock up,

Thanks for any replies
I have had 1 Samsung TV (out of a bunch of them) seem to get it's logic chip scrambled if you press too many buttons at once, requiring a reboot to reset everything, then it's fine. My old 58B650 would do this once in awhile, none of my others have though. I would put a call in just to see what you get from it? If anything, there will be a record of the call, so if something else happens in a year you might be covered.
Straybeat is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 06-29-2014, 08:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dzrbenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Straybeat View Post
I have had 1 Samsung TV (out of a bunch of them) seem to get it's logic chip scrambled if you press too many buttons at once, requiring a reboot to reset everything, then it's fine. My old 58B650 would do this once in awhile, none of my others have though. I would put a call in just to see what you get from it? If anything, there will be a record of the call, so if something else happens in a year you might be covered.
Thanks

Got a tech coming Thursday, happy for them to come as wanted to enquire about something else, when the TV was off the other day, and off at the wall, I got a small amount of static charge from it.

Guessing its just dust + carpet but worth a shot

Thanks
Straybeat likes this.
dzrbenson is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 07-03-2014, 04:13 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dzrbenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well tech came today and was able to replicate.

He went to check the TV and all of a sudden a vertical lines appeared!!! Wtf talk about timing.

So he will be back next week to replace the panel and main board.

Now to pray I get no dead pixels.
dzrbenson is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 08-24-2014, 06:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Straybeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dzrbenson View Post
Well tech came today and was able to replicate.

He went to check the TV and all of a sudden a vertical lines appeared!!! Wtf talk about timing.

So he will be back next week to replace the panel and main board.

Now to pray I get no dead pixels.
Hey DZR,

Whatever happened with this? Did you get the panel replaced okay and everything work?
Straybeat is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 08-24-2014, 07:17 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dzrbenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi,

Yeah Samsung came out and replaced the panel and mainboard, All been running fine since then
dzrbenson is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off