Can Someone Explain What Each of the Parts in a Plasma TV Do? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
  • 1 Post By PlasmaPZ80U
  • 4 Post By tom669
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 08-19-2014, 01:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Can Someone Explain What Each of the Parts in a Plasma TV Do?

I just got the service manual for my Samsung PN51F5300AFXZA Plasma TV. I've included a link to the wiring diagram, which labels all the parts on the back panel. Can someone explain what each part does and whether, for example, this layout is consistent with other plasma TVs like recent Panasonics, recent LGs, and other recent Samsungs.

http://api.viglink.com/api/click?for...Fusp%3Dsharing
RyanHomsey likes this.
PlasmaPZ80U is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 08-19-2014, 04:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 962
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post
I just got the service manual for my Samsung PN51F5300AFXZA Plasma TV. I've included a link to the wiring diagram, which labels all the parts on the back panel. Can someone explain what each part does and whether, for example, this layout is consistent with other plasma TVs like recent Panasonics, recent LGs, and other recent Samsungs.

http://api.viglink.com/api/click?for...Fusp%3Dsharing
Y-buffer: scans the rows of the panel to select which line to program with pixel data, also passes sustain current from Y-drive during sustaining period (making the panel light up in each subfield ~600Hz) If failed = No image or brief flash when panel turned on (can also be a cracked panel.)

Y-drive: develops the complex Y-drive sustain waveform including line selection and panel drive. If failed = Mal-discharge or no image.

X-drive/X-buffer: provides opposite sustain waveform and erase/initialisation periods. If failed = Pink image or no image.

Logic/Main Board: control of plasma panel, and conversion of video inputs to acceptable panel format.

SMPS: provides power for it all at approx 205V & 55V

E-buffer/F-buffer: connects to panel address drivers to pass data signals to panel, as part of addressing phase.

Layout is more or less identical to modern panels. LG & older Samsungs separate the panel control onto a different board.
tom669 is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 08-20-2014, 12:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 203
thanks, that's very helpful

would it be correct to assume the logic board and main board on this set are on the same PCB?
PlasmaPZ80U is online now  
post #4 of 17 Old 08-20-2014, 02:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 962
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post
thanks, that's very helpful

would it be correct to assume the logic board and main board on this set are on the same PCB?
Yes.
tom669 is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 08-21-2014, 02:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 203
I have another question. Is the firmware and service menu settings/data values stored on a single PCB like the main/logic board or is it spread among other PCBs and the panel too? Also, what is the link between the firmware version and settings/data values in the service menu?
PlasmaPZ80U is online now  
post #6 of 17 Old 08-21-2014, 02:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 203
For example, I noticed after a main board swap on this model that the MRT value (total hours on panel) did not reset to zero.
PlasmaPZ80U is online now  
post #7 of 17 Old 08-22-2014, 05:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 962
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Usually, it's stored in the control board. Your set combines the two into one board, which makes it awkward for swapping boards, as it means potentially the hour count could get out of sync with the panel. Not sure how or if this is easily correctable.
tom669 is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 08-22-2014, 07:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom669 View Post
Usually, it's stored in the control board. Your set combines the two into one board, which makes it awkward for swapping boards, as it means potentially the hour count could get out of sync with the panel. Not sure how or if this is easily correctable.
So, the control board on a set that has separate logic and main boards would be the logic board or main board? And would that board need to be part of the panel for it to know how many hours are on the panel? I'm a bit confused.
PlasmaPZ80U is online now  
post #9 of 17 Old 08-23-2014, 10:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 962
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post
So, the control board on a set that has separate logic and main boards would be the logic board or main board? And would that board need to be part of the panel for it to know how many hours are on the panel? I'm a bit confused.

Control board == Logic board. Different names for the same things. The board just keeps track of hours in its internal memory, adjusting drive waveforms as the panel ages.
tom669 is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 08-23-2014, 10:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom669 View Post
Control board == Logic board. Different names for the same things. The board just keeps track of hours in its internal memory, adjusting drive waveforms as the panel ages.
so the "PDP Option" screen that shows the MRT value and panel temp is basically the stuff related to the logic board?

(https://drive.google.com/file/d/1cLb...it?usp=sharing)



And where does the firmware/service menu reside on? the main board, logic board, both, or is not localized to any PCB and rather is scattered across various parts (including panel)?

Last edited by PlasmaPZ80U; 08-23-2014 at 12:52 PM.
PlasmaPZ80U is online now  
post #11 of 17 Old 08-23-2014, 12:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 203
One more question is when a panel is swapped, which boards are considered the driver boards and part of the panel? I heard Samsung makes the panel/driver boards (panel assembly) as one unit to reduce manufacturing costs.

Are the following part of the panel assembly: X-Buffer, Y Buffer, X/Y Drive/Main, and two E Buffers? Leaving behind just logic, main, and SMPS?

And is the 'function' (http://www.shopjimmy.com/samsung-bn9...tion-board.htm) merely what allows you to control the TV from the jogstick or does it do more than that as well?
PlasmaPZ80U is online now  
post #12 of 17 Old 08-23-2014, 02:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 203
I want to say thanks in advance for any responses plus the ones you've given so far, since it's hard to get this info from Samsung or even online with a simple search. I like to understand how these things work, which is why I've obtained the service manual for my set plus looked at part listings for my model. It also seems the BFXZA (2014) version of this set is different in terms of the panel and PCBs (logic board might be separate from main board and part of panel, I think).
PlasmaPZ80U is online now  
post #13 of 17 Old 08-24-2014, 05:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 962
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Those values will be stored on the control board, read back by the service menu, which is executed on the main board.

The control board, X-main, Y-main, E-buffer, F-buffer and Y-buffer are all part of the panel. In some cases, the SMPS is included with the panel module.
tom669 is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 08-28-2014, 01:10 AM
Newbie
 
ivan2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post
For example, I noticed after a main board swap on this model that the MRT value (total hours on panel) did not reset to zero.
I would like to ask if i may, what adjustments are required after a main board swap as far as adc, wb, etc?
ivan2011 is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 08-28-2014, 03:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 962
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivan2011 View Post
I would like to ask if i may, what adjustments are required after a main board swap as far as adc, wb, etc?
Usually none unless you had the TV calibrated in which case it may need to be recalibrated or you might just be able to use the last values the calibrator used, if he wrote them down.
tom669 is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 08-28-2014, 04:28 AM
Newbie
 
ivan2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom669 View Post
Usually none unless you had the TV calibrated in which case it may need to be recalibrated or you might just be able to use the last values the calibrator used, if he wrote them down.
Thanks for the reply, does the white balance need to be adjusted at all in the sm?
ivan2011 is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 08-28-2014, 04:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
tom669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 962
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivan2011 View Post
Thanks for the reply, does the white balance need to be adjusted at all in the sm?
No, the factory values are good enough for most people. If you just adjust the Brightness/Contrast/Colour/Sharpness/etc in the user menu then they will be adequate.
tom669 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off