Input on possible acquisition of Pioneer Elite PRO-150-FD Plasma TV?! - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 01-07-2015, 06:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
azcatsfan15's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Input on possible acquisition of Pioneer Elite PRO-150-FD Plasma TV?!

So there's a couple here in town, selling their 60" Pioneer Elite PRO-150-FD Plasma TV and so I inquired about it and went to their home to check it out today in the afternoon. After moving it around from one bedroom (damn that TV is super duper HEAVY!) we managed to move it to the living room area and I was able to hook it up with the HDMI cable and granted it was day light the picture quality is amazing!!!! I had never seen one in person. Everything is flawless and the guy was very nice and upfront with me by letting me know that about 4 years ago under warranty that Pioneer sent out a Tech and they replaced one of the mother boards and it runs very smooth! He is selling the TV because they moved from a really big home to a much smaller home and the wife doesn't want him to wall mount it as it would take most of the space in the living room wall! He did say to make an offer and they have it listed at $1,500 but no one has even bothered to show up at their home to check it out as they are skeptical as to why he's selling it? I'm tempted to buy this TV and make it the center piece to my living room area but I'm a little worried because it is a TV that is more than 6-7 years old and it's heavier than you know what trying to move it! To any owners of this particular Pioneer model? What sort of problems have you had since owning it?


Thank you for your time.
azcatsfan15 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 01-08-2015, 04:49 PM
Senior Member
 
avfanatic1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 27
$1500 is definitely way too much for a 7 year old 8G set. Parts are hard to come by and it becomes a $1500 paperweight if something goes wrong. Pioneers were built with exceptional quality so could easily last another 7 years, but you just have to think of the alternatives for that much. I'd offer at most $1000-$1200.
avfanatic1 is online now  
post #3 of 15 Old 01-08-2015, 05:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
azcatsfan15's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by avfanatic1 View Post
$1500 is definitely way too much for a 7 year old 8G set. Parts are hard to come by and it becomes a $1500 paperweight if something goes wrong. Pioneers were built with exceptional quality so could easily last another 7 years, but you just have to think of the alternatives for that much. I'd offer at most $1000-$1200.
Yeah I thought about that too! I'm inclined to pass on it as I just don't know if it will last much longer without anything breaking down soon?! I'm going to let him know to sell it if he gets an offer from someone else? I did offer him $1,000 and he said he would take that so it just make me wonder what else is wrong with it as he did tell me that Pioneer did replace the mother board?! I'm more likely to buy a newer model and then get a warranty on it to protect me if it breaks down?!

Thanks for your input.
azcatsfan15 is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 01-08-2015, 05:41 PM
Senior Member
 
avfanatic1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 27
The only issue is that plasmas are definitely hard to come by, so a newer model may not be an option. I certainly would be firm at $1000 at this point and don't go higher. Have you checked the hours, if there are any dead pixels, uneven screen wear, etc? Even $1000 you may want to reconsider. If you have a lot of money and won't notice $1000 then sure, go for it. Other options would be projectors, remaining F5300 or H5000 plasmas, or used Panasonics that are newer (ST50 or ST60).
avfanatic1 is online now  
post #5 of 15 Old 01-08-2015, 08:08 PM
Senior Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 61
i purchased a 150-fd a few month ago for $750 on ebay it was in perfect shape with about 9000 on it. I know it's a gamble but the kuro is a great tv and the PQ on this tv is great
rcapprotti is online now  
post #6 of 15 Old 01-08-2015, 08:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
azcatsfan15's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcapprotti View Post
i purchased a 150-fd a few month ago for $750 on ebay it was in perfect shape with about 9000 on it. I know it's a gamble but the kuro is a great tv and the PQ on this tv is great
How do you find out how many hours it has? That's the thing I didn't know how to check?

Thank you
azcatsfan15 is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 01-08-2015, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AMartin56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 94
You need to get into the service menu which requires a PC and some serial cables.

I just paid $750 for a 5020FD with 10k hours.
AMartin56 is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 01-08-2015, 10:43 PM
Senior Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by azcatsfan15 View Post
How do you find out how many hours it has? That's the thing I didn't know how to check?

Thank you
i have a service remote
rcapprotti is online now  
post #9 of 15 Old 01-10-2015, 10:41 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
azcatsfan15's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcapprotti View Post
i have a service remote
Can you expand on that? What do you mean? I thought you needed a pc hooked up to the back of the TV to check out the hours?
azcatsfan15 is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 01-10-2015, 10:54 AM
Senior Member
 
rcapprotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ocala fl
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by azcatsfan15 View Post
Can you expand on that? What do you mean? I thought you needed a pc hooked up to the back of the TV to check out the hours?
a service remote looks similar to the remote that came with your tv.you can look the remote up part #GGF1589

Last edited by rcapprotti; 01-10-2015 at 12:33 PM.
rcapprotti is online now  
post #11 of 15 Old 01-23-2015, 04:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just bought a 60" Elite Pro-150fd on Craigslist for $750. It's got over 9k hours and still, the picture quality is amazing.
Although I don't recall how, the hours can be checked with the regular remote. I found out how to do this right here on this AV forum . . .search other threads. It's a combo on the directional pad, while the TV is OFF, that will get you into the service menu. It will show you the numbers of hours plugged-in and the number of hours of viewing.
span51 is offline  
post #12 of 15 Unread Today, 02:57 PM
Senior Member
 
gb33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm feeling better about my $550 gamble of a 150fd locally on CL. It really is amazing how good the picture is considering its age.
Replacing an LG50PZ950, which I felt looked really good despite all of the "LG black levels blah blah blah".
I just got it two days ago so haven't checked the hours.
rcapprotti likes this.
gb33 is online now  
post #13 of 15 Unread Today, 05:58 PM
Senior Member
 
gb33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just checked and it has 12,500 hours! My calculations are about 4 hours per day over its life. Yikes, now I'm kind of scared.
gb33 is online now  
post #14 of 15 Unread Today, 06:01 PM
Senior Member
 
avfanatic1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by gb33 View Post
Just checked and it has 12,500 hours! My calculations are about 4 hours per day over its life. Yikes, now I'm kind of scared.
Not sure how the 150fd compares to the 151 and newer offerings, but still not a bad price for that set, and could easily have another 10k hours or more. Wouldn't worry if it's ok right now.
avfanatic1 is online now  
post #15 of 15 Unread Today, 10:29 PM
Senior Member
 
gb33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by avfanatic1 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by gb33 View Post
Just checked and it has 12,500 hours! My calculations are about 4 hours per day over its life. Yikes, now I'm kind of scared.
Not sure how the 150fd compares to the 151 and newer offerings, but still not a bad price for that set, and could easily have another 10k hours or more. Wouldn't worry if it's ok right now.
Thanks for the reassurance! I felt it was a pretty good grab. Hoping it will tide me over until OLED and 4K are more consistent and affordable.
gb33 is online now  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays
Gear in this thread - PRO-150-FD by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off