Samsung PN64F8500AFXZA Issues with turning on - Page 10 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 145Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 357 Old 03-28-2017, 10:30 AM
939
Member
 
939's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 20
24/7 on = quick death

Samsung PS64F8580, Panasonic BDT310, Marantz AV8802A 5.1.2, Rotel RMB1555, Cambridge Audio Azur 651W, KEF XQ50c, B&W DB1, B&W PM1, Mirage OMD5, Sonance VP48R, Popcorn A500Pro, Little Dot mk9, Grado GS1000e+SR225i, Beyerdynamic T1
Mark Levinson ML-7A + L-3A + L-3, Swiss Physics 6A, Roksan Xerxes + SME IV + FD-IV damper + Lyra Clavis DC, Dynaudio Compound 4, B&W ASW-610
939 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 357 Old 03-28-2017, 11:32 AM
Member
 
achebee4you's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
anyone in the Tampa FL area that can help me?

Hi Guys
my 60" pn60F8500 has died, to what i believe is the same issue. anyone in the Tampa. Riverview Brandon FL area near me who has conducted this fix before and could help me? Beers and dinner are included of course.
achebee4you is offline  
post #273 of 357 Old 03-28-2017, 12:29 PM
Member
 
jubei951's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danonano View Post
Has anyone replaced the 3 caps on a 51" F8500? I have the replacement caps but the Y-board looks different than the one on the 64", and it's not clear which ones to replace. Thanks for any advice.

Dan
The caps aren't the same from my knowledge. I got some from Mouser before I took off the back of my tv and when I did it's not the same layout. I took my power supply board off and sent it to a guy on eBay for repair. Including shipping to him and back to me was about $70 (only 2 day turn around as he was in same state).
jubei951 is offline  
 
post #274 of 357 Old 03-28-2017, 12:41 PM
Senior Member
 
WVZR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by rambonea4d View Post
I have this problem with my set too. After about 6hrs it finally powered up. Does anyone know if I just leave it on 24/7 will it be ok?
Quote:
Originally Posted by 939 View Post
24/7 on = quick death
I'd certainly avoid the 24/7. Have you actually "pulled the plug" between uses?
WVZR1 is offline  
post #275 of 357 Old 03-28-2017, 01:00 PM
Member
 
rambonea4d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well mine started having this trouble about 6 months ago turning on would take 4-5 mins of on/off. Then it became about a 10 min wait for the last month. Yesterday it wouldn't turn on and finally it randomly did after about 6 hrs. I've tried pulling the plug and it works sometimes but it seems random. I think once it shuts off I'll try one of those ebay guys that do the work and ship your board back. Thanks for the tips I felt like it bought me some time.
rambonea4d is offline  
post #276 of 357 Old 03-31-2017, 10:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jubei951 View Post
The caps aren't the same from my knowledge. I got some from Mouser before I took off the back of my tv and when I did it's not the same layout. I took my power supply board off and sent it to a guy on eBay for repair. Including shipping to him and back to me was about $70 (only 2 day turn around as he was in same state).
Do you have the info of the ebay person who did this for you?
looz887 is offline  
post #277 of 357 Old 03-31-2017, 10:43 AM
Member
 
jubei951's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by looz887 View Post
Do you have the info of the ebay person who did this for you?
Yes, I will pm you.
jubei951 is offline  
post #278 of 357 Old 03-31-2017, 05:22 PM
Member
 
rambonea4d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
could you send me the info also pls.
rambonea4d is offline  
post #279 of 357 Old 04-04-2017, 06:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rickardl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 2,143
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Last week, my 64" set didn't want to turn on anymore...
I borrowed some tools and yesterday, I put the new capacitors in place and the set now works again!!
Hopefully, it will still work today.
jubei951 and mikehawkes like this.
rickardl is offline  
post #280 of 357 Old 04-13-2017, 09:28 AM
Senior Member
 
WVZR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 30
My 64" F8500 has finally "NOT STARTED" for 3 days. I do have the LED etc. It's on the wall and has never been on a stand. I ran it for 2 days in the Styrofoam supports to verify operation and then directly to the wall. I had to construct a platform to use for service, I'm not looking forward to this. 3700 hours - I didn't realize the TV was on that frequently.

I stopped by a service shop 35 or so miles away and they won't do "house calls" - carry in the board and they'll do the capacitors for $66 (labor and caps) - there's still the Voltage adjustments that needs done. I did that on my 58" Plasma but not interested in doing this repair. 18+ months of service still left.

It looks to me that with the brackets attached to the base the display will just drop over them and stand for service. Is that correct? It looks to me like that even if it were on brackets/stand you would need to remove the 8 screws (4 each side) to remove the rear panel for service.

I have an extended service. I was offered the warranty in lieu of a lower sale price in a take it or pass.

Last edited by WVZR1; 05-16-2017 at 02:37 PM.
WVZR1 is offline  
post #281 of 357 Old 04-13-2017, 08:11 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: S.F.
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Liked: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickardl View Post
Last week, my 64" set didn't want to turn on anymore...
I borrowed some tools and yesterday, I put the new capacitors in place and the set now works again!!
Hopefully, it will still work today.
Great to hear, any further updates?
paranoyd androyd is offline  
post #282 of 357 Old 04-13-2017, 09:40 PM
Member
 
achebee4you's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by looz887 View Post
Do you have the info of the ebay person who did this for you?
can you also send me a pm of the ebay seller that did your board repairs. except i have the 60" not sure if that makes a difference. i took the panel off and there is this oil greesy residue on the board above the evolution kit that dripped down the back of the panel. Mine intermittently shut off and now it won't power up at all. from visual inspection there are no clown caps just the greasy/oil residue
achebee4you is offline  
post #283 of 357 Old 04-13-2017, 10:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rickardl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 2,143
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by paranoyd androyd View Post
Great to hear, any further updates?
Still works fine...
paranoyd androyd likes this.
rickardl is offline  
post #284 of 357 Old 04-14-2017, 12:24 PM
n23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by achebee4you View Post
Hi Guys
my 60" pn60F8500 has died, to what i believe is the same issue. anyone in the Tampa. Riverview Brandon FL area near me who has conducted this fix before and could help me? Beers and dinner are included of course.
So, this is a funny coincidence. I live in Riverview and have an 8500 and it's started to fail in the same predictable manner as described in this thread. Over the last few weeks, if it's on for several hours, once turned off it won't turn back on. The red light blinks and I eventually get audio, but no video. Last night it was very annoying, the 'cool down' took over 20 minutes.

I called Samsung, got a clueless support agent, who told me the motherboard was overheating and they have never heard of this problem before. He told me to call "A Dutch Oven Electronics" for repair. Instead I did research and found this thread.

I visited Mouser, ordered 10 of the caps, and am awaiting their arrival. If I can install them and it fixes my plasma without catching fire or electrocuting my cat, I would be happy to help you as well. I bought plenty of caps. Send me a PM and I'll give you my contact details.

Thanks AVSForumites!
achebee4you and mikehawkes like this.
n23 is offline  
post #285 of 357 Old 04-14-2017, 01:09 PM
Member
 
achebee4you's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by n23 View Post
So, this is a funny coincidence. I live in Riverview and have an 8500 and it's started to fail in the same predictable manner as described in this thread. Over the last few weeks, if it's on for several hours, once turned off it won't turn back on. The red light blinks and I eventually get audio, but no video. Last night it was very annoying, the 'cool down' took over 20 minutes.

I called Samsung, got a clueless support agent, who told me the motherboard was overheating and they have never heard of this problem before. He told me to call "A Dutch Oven Electronics" for repair. Instead I did research and found this thread.

I visited Mouser, ordered 10 of the caps, and am awaiting their arrival. If I can install them and it fixes my plasma without catching fire or electrocuting my cat, I would be happy to help you as well. I bought plenty of caps. Send me a PM and I'll give you my contact details.

Thanks AVSForumites!
small world, were you able to repair it yet? I have the panel off but i'm scared to mess with it.
achebee4you is offline  
post #286 of 357 Old 04-17-2017, 06:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 20
So I have a similar model (f5300) and I replaced the y board and now it turns on and off fine so I fixed that but now the screen looks like this:


Maybe I didn't put a ribbon back in all the way? Sure hope I didn't damage the screen jostling it around.
AaronY is offline  
post #287 of 357 Old 04-17-2017, 07:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 3,899
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by AaronY View Post
So I have a similar model (f5300) and I replaced the y board and now it turns on and off fine so I fixed that but now the screen looks like this:

Maybe I didn't put a ribbon back in all the way? Sure hope I didn't damage the screen jostling it around.

I can't tell what I'm looking at there, but yes, I'd try re-seating the ribbon.
RWetmore is offline  
post #288 of 357 Old 04-17-2017, 09:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by RWetmore View Post
I can't tell what I'm looking at there, but yes, I'd try re-seating the ribbon.
The music is in the other room. That's just trying to display the floating Samsung screensaver thing you get when there's no input. Then at the end I hit the input button so that screen came up. It stretches smeared lines over the whole screen now whereas the picture was fine before but I had the turning off and on issue from this thread.
AaronY is offline  
post #289 of 357 Old 04-22-2017, 01:34 PM
Member
 
scientifix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
My F8500 64 inch died last week

Mine had a similar problem to what others mentioned here - used to not turn on for 5-20 minutes after switching it off and then wouldn't turn on at all.
Have Squaretrade warranty and they replaced some parts but it didn't help.They are offering a replacement but an edge-lit LED 4K model, but I am negotiating at least a direct/full-array/OLED, let's see how it goes.
AaronY likes this.
scientifix is offline  
post #290 of 357 Old 04-22-2017, 02:53 PM
Senior Member
 
WVZR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by scientifix View Post
Mine had a similar problem to what others mentioned here - used to not turn on for 5-20 minutes after switching it off and then wouldn't turn on at all.
Have Squaretrade warranty and they replaced some parts but it didn't help.They are offering a replacement but an edge-lit LED 4K model, but I am negotiating at least a direct/full-array/OLED, let's see how it goes.
Post back with the results of your "negotiations" - was your F8500 a 64" or smaller OR maybe not even an F8500?
WVZR1 is offline  
post #291 of 357 Old 04-22-2017, 05:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Going to try taking my TV apart again next weekend. If anyone else can watch that video above and help with diagnosing it would be appreciated. Maybe I even got a bad y board since I bought it off eBay
AaronY is offline  
post #292 of 357 Old 04-22-2017, 05:38 PM
Member
 
rambonea4d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well just to let you know I have kept mine on 24/7 since last time I posted about a month and its been great so far...
rambonea4d is offline  
post #293 of 357 Old 04-22-2017, 06:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by rambonea4d View Post
well just to let you know I have kept mine on 24/7 since last time I posted about a month and its been great so far...
Wow 24/7. Send that board in and get it fixed
Test Ickles is online now  
post #294 of 357 Old 04-22-2017, 10:07 PM
Member
 
scientifix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by WVZR1 View Post
Post back with the results of your "negotiations" - was your F8500 a 64" or smaller OR maybe not even an F8500?
It's the 64 inch F8500.
scientifix is offline  
post #295 of 357 Old 04-23-2017, 04:15 AM
Senior Member
 
WVZR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by scientifix View Post
It's the 64 inch F8500.
Thanks for mentioning it's the 64" and is an F8500. They've made 1, 2 or more visits?
WVZR1 is offline  
post #296 of 357 Old 04-23-2017, 07:33 AM
Senior Member
 
tsax6010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsax6010 View Post
3 and a half year old PN64F8500. Started having issues the last month or so where I could not turn the set on shortly after it had been turned off (like when the Xbox powered everything off after an hour of unsensed activity). I would get the blinking red light for maybe 15 minutes before the set would power back on. Now in the last week the set started turning itself off randomly and would refuse for some time to power back on. During this time there was no red light. Tonight it turned itself off and I fear it is for good as it has been 2 hours and no luck.

From reading though this thread it sounds like I have both issues - those being the Y board caps and the power supply board. I see places on eBay offering to send in boards for repair. How easy are the boards to remove? My set is wall mounted currently so I do not have access to the back panel without finding the stand in storage and setting this up on a table.

The comment about Samsung offering some form of restitution out of warranty is promising. I may try to call tomorrow - what is there to loose at this point?
I have been without a TV now for almost 2 months as the service center has been unable to fix everything - although they are still trying. Samsung did not lift a finger to help other than starting the conversation for me with the local authorized service center. The original quote was $500, but after multiple issues found they are guessing at least $800 now. The main board was toast, which they tried replacing 3 times and the replacements kept blowing. They pinpointed that issue to being the power supply board was periodically sending 20v+ out over the 5v rail and frying the main. Now they think a wiring harness is bad that does not have a part number. They have supposedly reached out to Samsung Korea for info on how to get this harness replaced. Everything in my setup runs through a Panamax power conditioner to protect against over/under voltages - never thought that my TV would go the suicide route instead.

Never Samsung ever again...
tsax6010 is offline  
post #297 of 357 Old 04-26-2017, 03:06 AM
Senior Member
 
WVZR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I've checked all of the snapshots posted in this thread and I see none that actually display the PBA information that's mentioned to be required for service parts, none with a bar code either.

Does anyone have correct PBA information and bar code images of the Y-sustain for a PN64F8500AFXZA (US01)? Could you post them or PM me and I'll contact you. It would be appreciated.


REGARDING 24/7 - The past 5 days I've not turned my set OFF using either the remote or rear panel toggle BUT have just unplugged it while running (simulating a power outage). In every situation where it was an "overnight" disconnect the display when plugged in has gone to ON with no need for remote or toggle-on.

It did fail to do this once after maybe a 2 hour unplug but for every "overnight" event it hasn't failed. I removed mine from all power-strips, clean power devices etc. It's plugged into it's own outlet until the display is serviced hopefully next week.

*****It's finally failed to start two days in a row so I wait now for the warranty visit!

*** LOL 5/5 Power went out early this AM and when power was restored the damn TV was on!! I've not heard from the warranty group for a few days. I've tried to be patient and just wait. They mentioned finding a part but that can't easily be confirmed. I've not wanted to "shove" but it's maybe time to do something.

Sure was good to see the display - I didn't realize I missed the picture quality quite as badly as I did.

Last edited by WVZR1; 05-05-2017 at 05:00 AM.
WVZR1 is offline  
post #298 of 357 Old 04-27-2017, 09:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Brookshire View Post
I bought an LG OLED TV to replace my Samsung plasma. I am more hopeful of the customer support from LG.

I have several of the boards for the Samsung model PN64F8500AFXZA if anyone is interested. I have three X boards, two Y boards, three main boards, three power supplies and two sets of Y-board upper and lower buffer boards and two sets of X-board buffer boards.
I will sell cheap. Let me know if interested.
Hi--I know that a good deal of time has passed since you posted your message, but is there any chance that you still have a Y board? Please let me know as soon as you can. Thanks!
William Kaufman is offline  
post #299 of 357 Old 05-01-2017, 08:53 PM
Member
 
snyper99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Houston,Tx.
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by AaronY View Post
So I have a similar model (f5300) and I replaced the y board and now it turns on and off fine so I fixed that but now the screen looks like this:

https://youtu.be/YddbHGQjD4A

Maybe I didn't put a ribbon back in all the way? Sure hope I didn't damage the screen jostling it around.




Did the issue begin as a blown fuse? I ask cause I also have a 5300 series as well and it blew a fuse and I never did get it fixed so its just sitting there.
snyper99 is offline  
post #300 of 357 Old 05-02-2017, 03:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by snyper99 View Post
Did the issue begin as a blown fuse? I ask cause I also have a 5300 series as well and it blew a fuse and I never did get it fixed so its just sitting there.
It had the issue of not wanting to turn on again after you turn it off. If I waited like a day it would turn back on but not if I tried right away after turning it off. Eventually it wouldn't turn on at all.
AaronY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
PN64F8500AFXZA

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off