Full 5.1 output from Panny TC-P50 GT30? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 06-16-2015, 01:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Noonin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Full 5.1 output from Panny TC-P50 GT30?

Tried posting this on the Official GT30 thread, but not much action...
Sorry if this has been asked before, but can I get the optical Digital Audio Out on my Panasonic GT30 to output full 5.1 channel PCM? I just picked up a Roku 3, but it only has HDMI out to the TV and my old Yamaha RX-V3000 has no HDMI inputs, only old style digital audio inputs ( RCA Coax and Toslink Optical). When I listen to something from the TV's Optical output via my Yamaha receiver (like movies from my Xfinity X1 box or the Roku), the receiver shows it's defaulting to Dolby Pro Logic, not Dolby Digital, and of course I can tell it's definitely not in 5.1, like my DVD player which streams directly to the receiver instead of through the TV. Any way to get the TV to output 5.1?? I can't afford to upgrade my receiver to newer HDMI capable unit :-(.
Thanks!
Noonin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 06-16-2015, 01:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 6,607
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 930 Post(s)
Liked: 1001
The only thing that will be 5.1 is either internal apps or ota. Any external source will be 2.1.
chunon is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 06-16-2015, 02:17 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Noonin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
The only thing that will be 5.1 is either internal apps or ota. Any external source will be 2.1.
So any HDMI input source (originally from a 5.1 device) to the TV will output from the TV's Digital Out as 2.1? Ugh! Is there a decent, reliable 3 input HDMI splitter/5.1 channel audio extractor someone can recommend?

Last edited by Noonin; 06-16-2015 at 03:29 PM.
Noonin is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 06-16-2015, 03:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 6,607
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 930 Post(s)
Liked: 1001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noonin View Post
So any HDMI input source (originally from a 5.1 device) to the TV will output from the TV's Digital Out as 2.1? Ugh! Is there a splitter that can take the 5.1 signal out of the HDMI so I can send it to my receiver?

http://www.amazon.com/Panlong-Converter-Extractor-Splitter-De-embedder/dp/B00ISQ8VB8
chunon is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 06-16-2015, 03:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Noonin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
http://www.amazon.com/Panlong-Converter-Extractor-Splitter-De-embedder/dp/B00ISQ8VB8
Thanks chunon,
Saw a couple brands on Amazon, but most had at least 10% neg. feedback due to reliability/audio problems, but maybe that's not too bad? Have you tried the Panlong brand before?
Noonin is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 06-16-2015, 04:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 6,607
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 930 Post(s)
Liked: 1001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noonin View Post
Thanks chunon,
Saw a couple brands on Amazon, but most had at least 10% neg. feedback due to reliability/audio problems, but maybe that's not too bad? Have you tried the Panlong brand before?
No experience sorry but Amazon is great about accepting returns no questions asked
chunon is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 06-17-2015, 05:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Noonin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
No experience sorry but Amazon is great about accepting returns no questions asked
Yeah, Amazon is really good if it's "Sold and Shipped" from Amazon.

Just realized my Xfinity X1 box was set to Stereo instead of Surround, so I rechecked my receiver, and it's getting a 5.1 signal for cable TV, and should on any movies we rent from Comcast. Now it's only the Roku 3 that needs the 5.1 audio signal captured from HDMI, which is good since that won't require the more expensive 3 port HDMI splitter/extractor that would drive my wife NUTS to add yet another different remote step to think about to watch a movie.
Thanks!
Noonin is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 06-17-2015, 07:51 AM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 18,716
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 425 Post(s)
Liked: 722
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noonin View Post
Thanks chunon,
Saw a couple brands on Amazon, but most had at least 10% neg. feedback due to reliability/audio problems, but maybe that's not too bad? Have you tried the Panlong brand before?
I have this exact unit and it worked perfectly when i was using it on two different Panny Plasmas last year. I was getting 5.1 audio from my Tivo to my Onkyo receiver using this extractor.

And yes, the TV's optical out only outputs 2 channel stereo from external sources (such as a cable box or Roku etc) plugged into the TV's HDMI inputs.

_______________________

Randy
Sony 55W800B, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, TiVo Series3 & Premiere, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333 AVR, URC MX-890, MX-780, R40, MX-450, MX-500 Remotes.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 06-17-2015, 09:56 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Noonin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post
I have this exact unit and it worked perfectly when i was using it on two different Panny Plasmas last year. I was getting 5.1 audio from my Tivo to my Onkyo receiver using this extractor.

And yes, the TV's optical out only outputs 2 channel stereo from external sources (such as a cable box or Roku etc) plugged into the TV's HDMI inputs.

_______________________
Thanks Randy,
I'll give it a shot. Really disappointing TVs can't just pass the 5.1 signal, especially since it's a digital output and figured that meant it would be 5.1. Guess the DRM won't allow it .
Noonin is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 01-11-2016, 08:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
eddieras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Deerfield, IL USA
Posts: 566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noonin View Post
Thanks Randy,
I'll give it a shot. Really disappointing TVs can't just pass the 5.1 signal, especially since it's a digital output and figured that meant it would be 5.1. Guess the DRM won't allow it .
i'm in the same boat with a sammy - i have a firestick and would love 5.1. i see this item is no longer available. any other recommendations?

eddieras
eddieras is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 01-11-2016, 01:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Noonin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Try this...

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddieras View Post
i'm in the same boat with a sammy - i have a firestick and would love 5.1. i see this item is no longer available. any other recommendations?
eddieras,
there is hope :-).I ended up with this...

http://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B...ilpage_o08_s00

It works with any source that streams Dolby Digital 5.1, like Amazon Prime. I ran the HDMI from my Roku through it, and plugged the J-Tech extractor Optical Out into my receiver, and I get full Dolby Digital 5.1 surround. The only caveat is with a Dolby Digital+ signal, the one used by Netflix, you will still only get Dolby Pro Logic 2.1. The Dolby Digital+ codec signal can not be separated from the digital bitstream (or decoded by my receiver), apparently, so anything streamed from Netflix to an older, non-HDMI equipped HT receiver like mine, will only get Dolby Pro Logic 2.1 sound :-(.
Noonin is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 01-11-2016, 03:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
eddieras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Deerfield, IL USA
Posts: 566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noonin View Post
eddieras,
there is hope :-).I ended up with this...

http://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B...ilpage_o08_s00

It works with any source that streams Dolby Digital 5.1, like Amazon Prime. I ran the HDMI from my Roku through it, and plugged the J-Tech extractor Optical Out into my receiver, and I get full Dolby Digital 5.1 surround. The only caveat is with a Dolby Digital+ signal, the one used by Netflix, you will still only get Dolby Pro Logic 2.1. The Dolby Digital+ codec signal can not be separated from the digital bitstream (or decoded by my receiver), apparently, so anything streamed from Netflix to an older, non-HDMI equipped HT receiver like mine, will only get Dolby Pro Logic 2.1 sound :-(.
thanks so much - i'm going to pick one up!

eddieras
eddieras is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

taboola here
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off