Used Panasonic ST50 or wait for a S64? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 07-06-2016, 01:55 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chewysc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Used Panasonic ST50 or wait for a S64?

Hi All:

I'm looking to upgrade my old 42" S1 (which is still going strong!) and there's a lightly used 50" ST50 available through Craigslist in my area for $500 CDN (so $385 US) that also includes soundbar & sub and 3 tier glass TV stand.

Considering 3D isn't important, I'm wondering if that's a good deal or should I wait for a used S64? I also don't need the soundbar or stand so perhaps I could talk the seller down to $400 CDN (or $308 US)? Is the PQ of the S64 that much better than the ST50?

Any thoughts or insight would be much appreciated!
chewysc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 07-07-2016, 07:47 AM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 18,752
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 442 Post(s)
Liked: 741
I went from a 46G10 (same panel as the S1) to a 50GT50 (same panel as the ST50) and for the first several days i had them side-by-side with my sources feeding both via an HDMI splitter. The GT50 had much better black levels, but the image was a lot softer than the G10. This softness was the single biggest complaint on that generation (ST50/GT50/VT50). I later upgraded from the 50GT50 to a 55ST60 (same panel and filter as the S64) and even with the screen being larger, the image is a LOT sharper and much more crisp than the GT50. Huge improvement. Now to be fair this softness issue with the 50 series is not as apparent if the TV is being fed a 1080p signal, but my 1080i and especially a 720p signal made the issue a lot more obvious. I still have all three TVs, but the GT50 is eventually going to my step-son's house. I don't like that softness.

Personally i'd much rather have an S64 or ST60 than any ST50/GT50/VT50, FWIW.

Randy
Sony 55W800B, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, TiVo Series3 & Premiere, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333 AVR, URC MX-890, MX-780, R40, MX-450, MX-500 Remotes.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 07-07-2016, 08:42 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chewysc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks so much Randy! It's good to still see you rocking on the Plasma forums, heh.

You've pretty much confirmed what I thought in waiting for a used S64. Especially since I'm not in a rush to upgrade just yet... the TV is in the family room where the kids mainly watch shows on Netflix and Kodi with the occasional family movie night.

I read about the softness complaints as well and it's good to that you gave some comparison between the 50 series and 60 series. Very helpful!
chewysc is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 07-07-2016, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 3,738
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Liked: 171
I think Randy is mistaken. The S64 has the same panel used in the S60 model -- not the ST60. None the less, I agree the S64 is better than the ST50. Though the ST50 is still very good set, IMO.


The S64 is basically the exact same TV as the S60, but has the anti-glare filter which is on the ST60. The S60 is just a bare sheet of glass, which is reflective but is also more transparent in dimly lit or dark viewing conditions.

Last edited by RWetmore; 07-07-2016 at 01:43 PM.
RWetmore is online now  
post #5 of 12 Old 07-07-2016, 02:52 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chewysc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RWetmore View Post
I think Randy is mistaken. The S64 has the same panel used in the S60 model -- not the ST60. None the less, I agree the S64 is better than the ST50. Though the ST50 is still very good set, IMO.


The S64 is basically the exact same TV as the S60, but has the anti-glare filter which is on the ST60. The S60 is just a bare sheet of glass, which is reflective but is also more transparent in dimly lit or dark viewing conditions.
Actually I think Randy is correct in his explanation as my newbie understanding is that the panels used in the model line up (S60, S64, ST/GT/VT60) of the same generation are actually the same. What differentiates them is hardware, software and panel treatment (like A/R coating).

I do understand that S60 and S64 are the same TV other than A/R treatment but it is a good reminder for me to keep my eyes peeled for S60's as well.

I agree that the ST50 is a great TV and the price I saw was actually quite good, especially if it is indeed lightly used and a price could be negotiated lower on top of that.

Thanks again for confirming I should wait for a 60 series TV.
chewysc is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 07-07-2016, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 3,738
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Well, I thought only the ST60, VT60 and ZT60 shared the same raw panel, and the S60 was actually a different panel of its own (non-3D for one thing).
RWetmore is online now  
post #7 of 12 Old 07-07-2016, 08:38 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 18,752
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 442 Post(s)
Liked: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by chewysc View Post
Actually I think Randy is correct in his explanation as my newbie understanding is that the panels used in the model line up (S60, S64, ST/GT/VT60) of the same generation are actually the same. What differentiates them is hardware, software and panel treatment (like A/R coating).
Quote:
Originally Posted by RWetmore View Post
Well, I thought only the ST60, VT60 and ZT60 shared the same raw panel, and the S60 was actually a different panel of its own (non-3D for one thing).
Actually RWetmore is totally correct, and i was wrong. I completely forgot that the S60/S64 panel was different than the core panel that was used on the 3D models (faster phosphors or sumthing like that). The S64 is an S60 but adds the AR Filter from the ST60, but as he pointed out they don't share the panel.

But even still, the S60/S64 would still be an upgrade over an S1


.

Randy
Sony 55W800B, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, TiVo Series3 & Premiere, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333 AVR, URC MX-890, MX-780, R40, MX-450, MX-500 Remotes.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 07-07-2016, 09:34 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chewysc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post
Actually RWetmore is totally correct, and i was wrong. I completely forgot that the S60/S64 panel was different than the core panel that was used on the 3D models (faster phosphors or sumthing like that). The S64 is an S60 but adds the AR Filter from the ST60, but as he pointed out they don't share the panel.

But even still, the S60/S64 would still be an upgrade over an S1
I stand corrected RWetmore.

Now all I have to do is be patient for a S60 or S64 to show up locally on CL, lol.

Thanks to both of you for your replies and efforts to help me out here!
chewysc is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 07-08-2016, 09:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Superman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Pinckney, Michigan
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by chewysc View Post
I stand corrected RWetmore.

Now all I have to do is be patient for a S60 or S64 to show up locally on CL, lol.

Thanks to both of you for your replies and efforts to help me out here!
Check the Plasma section of the AVS Classifieds...............a 50ST60 & a 65PS64 just went up for sale!

Panasonic Viera TC-P65ZT60 (Calibrated by Chad B)
Panasonic Viera TC-P65VT30
PlayStation 4 - PlayStation 3 - Nintendo WiiU
Superman23 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 07-08-2016, 10:26 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chewysc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman23 View Post
Check the Plasma section of the AVS Classifieds...............a 50ST60 & a 65PS64 just went up for sale!
Hah, thanks Super! Both are a bit out of the way for me to drive and pick up though.

Maybe I should just bite the bullet on this TH-85VX200U for $35,000 CDN... at least it's local.

http://vancouver.craigslist.ca/van/ele/5658139368.html
chewysc is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 07-08-2016, 10:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Superman23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Pinckney, Michigan
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by chewysc View Post
Hah, thanks Super! Both are a bit out of the way for me to drive and pick up though.

Maybe I should just bite the bullet on this TH-85VX200U for $35,000 CDN... at least it's local.

http://vancouver.craigslist.ca/van/ele/5658139368.html
Hell's Yeah!!!! Could you imagine an 85" Plasma display?! Now that's my dream come true for sure! A few months back a there were a couple of 103" Panasonic Plasmas for sale at around $5,000. But they had pretty bad burn in due to the Vegas Casinos using them as signs. What a waste.

Panasonic Viera TC-P65ZT60 (Calibrated by Chad B)
Panasonic Viera TC-P65VT30
PlayStation 4 - PlayStation 3 - Nintendo WiiU
Superman23 is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old Today, 12:23 PM
Member
 
thesharkman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: city by the bay
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 18
not sure if you made a purchase yet. I have both the st50 and a s60. both are great sets, but if I had to choose between the two now, I'd probably go for the s64. the s60 I have has a great pic (awesome bedroom set) that is "sharper" than that of the st50. for the price you posted, the st50 is still a great buy; check out the viewing hours and make sure to see if there are any yellow blobs on a white viewing screen. lol...speaking of the st50, I'm just about to bring it over to mom's house for her to upgrade from a 32" tv that is screaming to be upgraded.


good luck!


thesharkman
thesharkman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off