FAQ & RULES LINKS_ Plasma & Panasonic Plasma FAQ - Read First! - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 1376 Old 01-04-2005, 08:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BruZZi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 5,868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by aporter0509
After reading about some of the issues with the 42PWD7UY, I am wondering if I would be better of buying the older model 6UY.

please provide me with your advice.

I would wait until the issues could be resolved before buying any "7UY" Model. That's actually what I'm doing. Was ready to buy the TH-50PHD7UY (Upgrade from my current Th-37PWD6UY) but decided to wait until Panasonic can provide "a fix". If you're in a hurry try to find a "6UY" Model or buy another Brand like NEC.
BruZZi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 1376 Old 01-04-2005, 08:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BruZZi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 5,868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Contsi
Have the UY series been discontinued by Panasonic?
Can't seem to find them at the local stores, only the 25u.

The "UY" are Commercial Models found mostly online.
Only few local stores will carry them.

For online Sources, check out the AVS Sponsors:

Visual Apex - TV Authority - Plasma Concepts (Links at the top)
BruZZi is offline  
post #63 of 1376 Old 01-06-2005, 08:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Contsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the 25u have the same display problem as the UY series.
Contsi is offline  
post #64 of 1376 Old 01-06-2005, 03:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BruZZi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 5,868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nope.
BruZZi is offline  
post #65 of 1376 Old 01-07-2005, 02:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Contsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bruzzi,
Thanks for your help, I'm very interested in purchasing one of these 37''
25u unit. I need to learn more about the stretch mode, spacifically of only stretching the sides of the picture (and not the middle) to fit an SD signal on a wide screen. Do you know if this model have this feature and do you know a thread that addresses this issue in detail.
Thanks
Contsi is offline  
post #66 of 1376 Old 01-07-2005, 03:06 PM
Member
 
zeram1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SF
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Contsi
Bruzzi,
Thanks for your help, I'm very interested in purchasing one of these 37''
25u unit. I need to learn more about the stretch mode, spacifically of only stretching the sides of the picture (and not the middle) to fit an SD signal on a wide screen. Do you know if this model have this feature and do you know a thread that addresses this issue in detail.
Thanks

You may want to try going to the Panny website, and download to view the manual - it has great examples/diagrams/descriptions of the various picture options available on this unit. I too, was a bit confused, w/ all of the "aspects" (get it?) of this monitor, but the diagrams were the best to clear up the picture in my mind.

After reading the manual, I ordered a 25u myself!
zeram1 is offline  
post #67 of 1376 Old 01-07-2005, 03:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BruZZi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 5,868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's called "JUST" Mode. Available on both Commercial and Consumer.
Do a search for more info.
BruZZi is offline  
post #68 of 1376 Old 01-07-2005, 05:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
specgeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From what Ive been told if you hook up a 37in panny plasmaEd to The TWC SAexplorer 3250HD box the just mode on the TV will become disabled and you will have to use the box remote on settings and set at 16.9 4.3stretch. Which should give you a good picture.
specgeorge is offline  
post #69 of 1376 Old 01-10-2005, 05:21 PM
Member
 
Symform's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The comparison chart of the 42'' ED PLASMA is great. However, I didn't see any info on the half-life for either models. Are they both at 60,000 hours? Should I even care about it? Also does anyone know when the 8th generation model will come out?

AWESOME THREAD BRUZZI!
Symform is offline  
post #70 of 1376 Old 01-10-2005, 08:01 PM
Senior Member
 
mooneydriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, you should not care about half life. It's not meaningful, and besides this ED set will be obsolete long before you reach the halfway point.
mooneydriver is offline  
post #71 of 1376 Old 01-11-2005, 06:41 AM
Member
 
Duane Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just purchased the TH-42Px25 and love it. Question, what is the best long term setting for the side bars with 4:3 display? I did read in the manual "high" is not the best but don't know what is.
Duane Johnson is offline  
post #72 of 1376 Old 01-11-2005, 12:57 PM
Member
 
skatingwizard9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all,
I am a "newbie", but I have really enjoyed all the knowledge i have gained from this site. Anyway, if someone, or a hundred someones could help me ..id be grateful..i am on a budget of sorts and have decided to purchase either a Panasonic TH-42PD25UD, or a TH-PWD7UY. I'm trying to understand the differences between these two models. The 25UD costs more, but it seems like the majority are going with the 7UY. I know the t.v. stand comes with the 25UD, but what are the other differences, and how would they effect my purchase and the price Im going to pay. I watch 40% DVD, 40% sports and the rest is regualr tv veiwing with an occasional video game thrown in. Im sorry for the long windedness, but any help making a decsion would be appriciated. One more thing, do i have to buy special "boards" or "tuners" if i purchase the 7UY? Have a great day.
skatingwizard9 is offline  
post #73 of 1376 Old 01-11-2005, 01:54 PM
Senior Member
 
mike123abc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by skatingwizard9
Hello all,
I am a "newbie", but I have really enjoyed all the knowledge i have gained from this site. Anyway, if someone, or a hundred someones could help me ..id be grateful..i am on a budget of sorts and have decided to purchase either a Panasonic TH-42PD25UD, or a TH-PWD7UY. I'm trying to understand the differences between these two models. The 25UD costs more, but it seems like the majority are going with the 7UY. I know the t.v. stand comes with the 25UD, but what are the other differences, and how would they effect my purchase and the price Im going to pay. I watch 40% DVD, 40% sports and the rest is regualr tv veiwing with an occasional video game thrown in. Im sorry for the long windedness, but any help making a decsion would be appriciated. One more thing, do i have to buy special "boards" or "tuners" if i purchase the 7UY? Have a great day.

Well the main differences is that the 25U is the consumer model with stand, speakers, OTA ATSC and cable card HD Tuners. The 7UY is a commercial model just a display but a newer generation of electronics/glass that has some improvements in picture. If you can wait a few months at CES Panasonic announced their new models that will use the next generation of glass, are consumer models with all the extras mentioned above and have a lower MSRP. They come out in March, April and May (smaller models earlier).
mike123abc is offline  
post #74 of 1376 Old 01-11-2005, 02:26 PM
Member
 
skatingwizard9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mikeabc123,
thanks for the help. I am moving in to a new place Feb 1st and would like to make a purchase before march, ect. If i go with the 7UY would I have to buy add ons such as stand, speakers, OTA ATSC and cable card HD Tuners?. The stand and speakers arent a big deal because i want to incorporate surround sound/theatre sound and the stand isnt a big issue. How about the OTA ATSC and cable card HD tuners..? im not even sure what those are..thanks in advance for the advice..
skatingwizard9 is offline  
post #75 of 1376 Old 01-12-2005, 11:44 AM
Member
 
skatingwizard9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok..i kinda figured out about the OTA ATSC and cable card HD Tuners. The ota atsc card is for converting analog signals and the hd tuner is for receiving broadcast in hd..im not much of a techie obviously and kinda a moron..could i order these seperate of the 42pwd7uy and add them on myself or what..?how would i go about this..?is it worth it..whats the best way to go about this..im going to hook up theatre sound..(i assume i can hook a receiver into the tv) so i dont really need the speakers or the stand..please advise!!!! sorry im so stupid..all this stuff is so confusing..thanks for your help...
skatingwizard9 is offline  
post #76 of 1376 Old 01-12-2005, 12:18 PM
Senior Member
 
mjlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are no tuner options for the 7uy's. If you have cable or satellite service, they have their own tuners in the boxes they give you and you would only need to hook the box up to your plasma. You don't need the speakers if you are going to route all your audio into your receiver and there are speakers hooked up to the receiver.

Here's another wrinkle for you. If you are looking to buy around late Feb./early March you might want to wait and see what the new consumer panny's look like. I thought I read on this forum that they were due out in March.
mjlee is offline  
post #77 of 1376 Old 01-13-2005, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mangopony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can truthfully say I have had zero problems with my Panasonic EDTV using it for around 2 months. I will add I tried to duplicate the problem they are talking about but could not. Then, again, maybe I did not try hard enough. To my eyes the complete display is working 100 percent and I am most happy with the picture quality on the screen. I watch 80 percent HD content by the way. And, at 12 feet plus, it looks great. I would buy the set again tomorrow.
mangopony is offline  
post #78 of 1376 Old 01-14-2005, 10:48 AM
Member
 
skatingwizard9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey mangopony,
did you use a regular cable box or un upgrade hdtv box..? is there even an option if you want to upconvert some shows shown in hdtv on the edtv..?please infor and educate. thanks.
skatingwizard9 is offline  
post #79 of 1376 Old 01-14-2005, 08:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
specgeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any help would be greatly appreciated. Having a problem trying to turn off and on my new 37PD25panney with my SA explorer3250HD receiver remote. When i press my on button on the remote the red sensor light on the TV front panel doesn't light up to show picture. I have to use the TV remote or press the panel on/off button to get the picture. I'M sure there has to be a way to turn the TV on and off with the receiver.
specgeorge is offline  
post #80 of 1376 Old 01-19-2005, 12:57 PM
Senior Member
 
stephenju's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bedford, MA
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a way to show what the input format (480p, 1080i, etc) is on component and HDMI on a consumer model? The recall button on the TH-42PD25U/P brings up the banner showing the input format when using tuner and S-Video inputs. But it doesn't show the formats when using component or HDMI.
stephenju is offline  
post #81 of 1376 Old 01-20-2005, 12:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
netarc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,092
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wonder if someone can explain what the different picture modes (Cinema, Standard, etc) on these units end up doing to the picture? I've noticed that setting the same parameters for two different pic modes will end up in a completely different picture!?!
netarc is offline  
post #82 of 1376 Old 01-20-2005, 03:58 AM
Member
 
Steffche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been trying to find that same info for ages. I've been told that each mode has different gamma values...and different sharpness references. I accept this info....but why is it that the greyscale looks very green in cinema as compared to dynamic....and less so standard. My understanding is that gamma shouldn't affect coloring in the greyscale....
Steffche is offline  
post #83 of 1376 Old 01-20-2005, 07:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
specgeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my panney a couple of weeks ago the manual says the pic mode is for choosing a setting that describes your viewing situation. I chose standard because my viewing conditions are normal with subdued room lighting. Cinema mode is for watching movies in a darkened room. It all has to do with your lighting situation. The manual describes this to a T. Tip the auto mode doesn't do what it says it does. Hope this helps.
specgeorge is offline  
post #84 of 1376 Old 01-20-2005, 07:52 AM
Senior Member
 
mjlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think the auto mode uses the light sensor on the bottom of the panel near the power button to guage ambient light conditions and adjusts picture and brightness accordingly. This function appears to work correctly on my pwd7uy. Can you elaborate as to how it doesn't do that?
mjlee is offline  
post #85 of 1376 Old 01-20-2005, 02:58 PM
Member
 
Steffche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My manual doesn't describe these pic modes at all.....
Steffche is offline  
post #86 of 1376 Old 01-21-2005, 03:32 PM
Newbie
 
lexon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Panasonic dropeed MSRP on Onyx models

Price Drop - Panasonic Onyx TH-50XVS30

It seems Panasonic has dropped the MSRP by a grand to $7,999.00.

What is the average street price for this unit.

Thanks
lexon is offline  
post #87 of 1376 Old 01-21-2005, 06:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
specgeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tryd using the auto mode and switched to the standard mode which seem to work better for me. I also read somewhere that the auto mode doesn't do what it says it does. If it works for you good.
specgeorge is offline  
post #88 of 1376 Old 01-21-2005, 06:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
specgeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Steffche,
The manul for the panney 37PD25 page 26 click pic mode it gives you four choices.
specgeorge is offline  
post #89 of 1376 Old 01-21-2005, 08:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BruZZi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 5,868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by specgeorge
I tryd using the auto mode and switched to the standard mode which seem to work better for me. I also read somewhere that the auto mode doesn't do what it says it does. If it works for you good.

The "AUTO" mode never really worked (to my taste) on all three Panasonic Plasmas I had
(TH42PW5UZ - TH-37PW5UZ - TH-37PWD6UY). Picture was always too dark.
BruZZi is offline  
post #90 of 1376 Old 01-21-2005, 08:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BruZZi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 5,868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Steffche
My manual doesn't describe these pic modes at all.....

Description from the Commercial Models Manual:

STANDARD
For viewing in standard (evening lighting) environments.
This menu selects the normal levels of BRIGHTNESS
and PICTURE.

DYNAMIC (Consumer = VIVID )
For viewing in brighter environments.
This menu selects higher than normal levels of
BRIGHTNESS and PICTURE.

CINEMA
Ideal for movies. ( Softens the picture to make it appear more film-like - Too soft IMO. )

AUTO
Automatically selects the mode that best suits the brightness of the environment. (not for me )
BruZZi is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off