Official Panasonic 37", 42", 50", 58" & 65" (60, 600, etc)- Questions, Sightings, Etc - Page 76 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2251 of 5782 Old 04-06-2006, 12:53 PM
Member
 
brazilmma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cubanismo,

Thanks for the words of encouragement. Sadly, I currently have non-HD DirecTV with a DirecTV Tivo.. I am litereally NEVER at home when any shows are on, so the tivo is essential. However, I am glad that the Panasonic has the receiver so I can at least use some rabbit ears to pick up OTA HD stuff.. maybe I'll get a signal or two and get to enjoy a little HD action before comcast gets more of the DVR boxes in..

I'm putting the strong arm on the sales guy to deliver the TV early. Fingers crossed.

-=Brazil=-
brazilmma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2252 of 5782 Old 04-06-2006, 02:07 PM
Member
 
cubanismo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Coral Springs, FL
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazilmma View Post

Cubanismo,

Thanks for the words of encouragement. Sadly, I currently have non-HD DirecTV with a DirecTV Tivo.. I am litereally NEVER at home when any shows are on, so the tivo is essential. However, I am glad that the Panasonic has the receiver so I can at least use some rabbit ears to pick up OTA HD stuff.. maybe I'll get a signal or two and get to enjoy a little HD action before comcast gets more of the DVR boxes in..

I'm putting the strong arm on the sales guy to deliver the TV early. Fingers crossed.

-=Brazil=-

Oh well, Hope you get your box before the World Cup! Need to see Ronaldinho take Brazil all the way in HD!
cubanismo is offline  
post #2253 of 5782 Old 04-06-2006, 02:08 PM
Member
 
cubanismo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Coral Springs, FL
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
double post
cubanismo is offline  
post #2254 of 5782 Old 04-06-2006, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RandyL712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: 5280
Posts: 6,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got the 50PX60U coming, I can plug an antenna right into the coax input and get HD, right? This TV doesn't require an external HDTV box, correct?
RandyL712 is offline  
post #2255 of 5782 Old 04-06-2006, 02:38 PM
Senior Member
 
cheer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Gurnee, IL
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyL712 View Post

I've got the 50PX60U coming, I can plug an antenna right into the coax input and get HD, right? This TV doesn't require an external HDTV box, correct?

Correct!

--
Christopher D. Heer
Disclaimer: I neither speak for nor represent my employer or its views.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oscar Wilde
Work is the curse of the drinking classes.
cheer is offline  
post #2256 of 5782 Old 04-06-2006, 02:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RandyL712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: 5280
Posts: 6,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
whew
RandyL712 is offline  
post #2257 of 5782 Old 04-06-2006, 03:15 PM
Member
 
johnmiddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi, i just got my new panny 50PX60U, i have one big Q now, i use it with my PC, and i cannot set the resolution to anything higher than 1280*720. i am using ATI RADEON 7000 series, it does not have the exact 1366*768, but have many others all the way to 2048*1536.
so does anyone know how i can use higher resolution? isn't it suppose to be better to feed in 1280*768 other than 1280*720, since the panel itself is 768? i am also interested in the 1920*1080, since the manual said it supports 1080p signal....

or does anyone know where is the better place/thread to ask about this?
Thanks!
johnmiddle is offline  
post #2258 of 5782 Old 04-06-2006, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RandyL712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: 5280
Posts: 6,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Use powerstrip :download - how to
RandyL712 is offline  
post #2259 of 5782 Old 04-06-2006, 03:43 PM
Member
 
Sounddelux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cubanismo View Post

Turn that frown upside down Brazilmma I have regular ole' standard Comcast and am picking up the majority of HD channels through coax cable! Discovery HD, ESPN, ABC, WB, TNT. The QAM tuner in the px60u's will pick up unencrypted digital signals through your standard cable. Just run a scan to pick up "All" channels (analog + digital) when you get your set and Voila!


Do you think that would work with Dishnetwork too ??
Sounddelux is offline  
post #2260 of 5782 Old 04-06-2006, 03:54 PM
Member
 
strzelec4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no Sounddelux it will not work because each channel on dishnetwork uses a tier which is stored on your Dishnetwork card. If you don't subscribe to a specific channel you don't have the tier on your card therefore you don't get that channel.
strzelec4 is offline  
post #2261 of 5782 Old 04-06-2006, 04:15 PM
Newbie
 
Captnzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: The OC
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well i tried Sears in SoCal today to no avail. I've "pre-ordered" from three different vendors with no satisifaction. Either there is no price available or the date of delivery keeps shifting further towards Xmas. So I tried the Sears route and got shut out even though I was trying to buy two Panny 50" 60U's. Their reasoning was other vendors did not have them in stock (including Panasonic Direct) so there was no need to price match. So I sit and wait for ONE of my preorders to hit soon. On the good news front, a local Tweeter just got their load of 50's in so maybe, just maybe, the tide is turning in our favor. Good Lord grant me patience, but I want it right now.
Captnzin is offline  
post #2262 of 5782 Old 04-06-2006, 04:15 PM
 
plazman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 6,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnmiddle View Post

hi, i just got my new panny 50PX60U, i have one big Q now, i use it with my PC, and i cannot set the resolution to anything higher than 1280*720. i am using ATI RADEON 7000 series, it does not have the exact 1366*768, but have many others all the way to 2048*1536.
so does anyone know how i can use higher resolution? isn't it suppose to be better to feed in 1280*768 other than 1280*720, since the panel itself is 768? i am also interested in the 1920*1080, since the manual said it supports 1080p signal....

or does anyone know where is the better place/thread to ask about this?
Thanks!

---------------------------
If you don't have 1366 * 768, I believe 1280 *720 (720p) is the next best thing. That's what I use. I have never tried inputting 1080p, but if I had the 60U (I have the commercial Panny 7UY) I would try 1080P and see if the picture looks better than 720p!

Enjoy your set!
plazman is offline  
post #2263 of 5782 Old 04-06-2006, 04:41 PM
Member
 
Nightwraith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Binghamton NY
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captnzin View Post

Well i tried Sears in SoCal today to no avail. I've "pre-ordered" from three different vendors with no satisifaction. Either there is no price available or the date of delivery keeps shifting further towards Xmas. So I tried the Sears route and got shut out even though I was trying to buy two Panny 50" 60U's. Their reasoning was other vendors did not have them in stock (including Panasonic Direct) so there was no need to price match. So I sit and wait for ONE of my preorders to hit soon. On the good news front, a local Tweeter just got their load of 50's in so maybe, just maybe, the tide is turning in our favor. Good Lord grant me patience, but I want it right now.


(NOT ALLOWED) He didn't check to see if they had stock. I called all the local stores in my area and NO ONE had any Panasonics in stock, and they didn't expect any for the next few weeks. Try asking for the manager, unless thats who you were dealing with.
Nightwraith is offline  
post #2264 of 5782 Old 04-06-2006, 05:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RandyL712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: 5280
Posts: 6,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cubanismo View Post

Turn that frown upside down Brazilmma I have regular ole' standard Comcast and am picking up the majority of HD channels through coax cable! Discovery HD, ESPN, ABC, WB, TNT. The QAM tuner in the px60u's will pick up unencrypted digital signals through your standard cable. Just run a scan to pick up "All" channels (analog + digital) when you get your set and Voila!

Holy crap, I will NEED to try that when I get my plasma. I just have plain jane Comcast cable right now....
RandyL712 is offline  
post #2265 of 5782 Old 04-06-2006, 05:25 PM
Newbie
 
Captnzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: The OC
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did deal with the manager. In fact I had to show him the websites and even Panasonic Direct! I've never had this much trouble trying to give somebody $7k before. Maybe I'm not holding my mouth right.....
Captnzin is offline  
post #2266 of 5782 Old 04-06-2006, 05:30 PM
Newbie
 
Captnzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: The OC
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On a side note I just want to thank all the members and guests for all of the good input, info, pictures and suggestions that make up this forum. Even though I am a new poster, I have been following this thread since inception and the AVS forum for longer. This is the best source of info, rumors and just damn lies that I have come across. Everyone keep up the good work.
Captnzin is offline  
post #2267 of 5782 Old 04-06-2006, 06:33 PM
Newbie
 
AVFAN01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks to previous posters here, I went to my local Sears store at 4:30 PM (PDT) today and ordered the Panny 50PX60U. It is in stock it the warehouse and will be delivered to my home this Saturday morning! Got a good price (I know - no rebate talk) and the free DVD. Thanks to everyone for all the great information on the TVs and the dealers.
AVFAN01 is offline  
post #2268 of 5782 Old 04-06-2006, 06:52 PM
Member
 
AUFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DTV City got them in stock as well. They seem to be reasonably priced also.
AUFan is offline  
post #2269 of 5782 Old 04-06-2006, 07:21 PM
Member
 
johnmiddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got both the 1920*1080 and 1280*768 work on my panny 50 now, but both have the overscan problem. But why is there such a problem? even with 1920*1080, since panasonic said the new 60U panel can accept 1080p.
As for the pic, so far i tried only with AVI files, looks like the pic is not as good as what i expect, no matter what resolution i try. So i figure out it is the problem of avi files itself. Since avi is mostly at best DVD rip, its quality must be at best same as DVD, which means 480p. So it sure will look bad on a 720p panel. Am i right in this?
johnmiddle is offline  
post #2270 of 5782 Old 04-06-2006, 07:27 PM
Senior Member
 
reverse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnmiddle View Post

I got both the 1920*1080 and 1280*768 work on my panny 50 now, but both have the overscan problem. But why is there such a problem? even with 1920*1080, since panasonic said the new 60U panel can accept 1080p.
As for the pic, so far i tried only with AVI files, looks like the pic is not as good as what i expect, no matter what resolution i try. So i figure out it is the problem of avi files itself. Since avi is mostly at best DVD rip, its quality must be at best same as DVD, which means 480p. So it sure will look bad on a 720p panel. Am i right in this?

Try downloading a Quicktime HD trailer.
reverse is offline  
post #2271 of 5782 Old 04-06-2006, 07:57 PM
Member
 
DBZ33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Des Plaines, IL.
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everybody I just spoke with my Panasonic rep at work today and he said the 58" models should be in our store June 06. Also the new EDTV PD60U's will be here end of this month or early May. Just thought I would give an update of what I found out so far.
DBZ33 is offline  
post #2272 of 5782 Old 04-06-2006, 08:40 PM
Senior Member
 
howe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DBZ33 View Post

Hey everybody I just spoke with my Panasonic rep at work today and he said the 58" models should be in our store June 06. Also the new EDTV PD60U's will be here end of this month or early May. Just thought I would give an update of what I found out so far.

Yo! How 'bout the 42" and 50" 600Us!!!!!!
howe is offline  
post #2273 of 5782 Old 04-06-2006, 09:50 PM
Senior Member
 
hollywood53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: North Shore Long Island
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try going to Mom & Pop store your local B&M they may be getting it B/4 your local Big box, they deal with Nat'l buying houses that order more than Nat'l chains, just a suggestion
hollywood53 is offline  
post #2274 of 5782 Old 04-06-2006, 10:16 PM
 
plazman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 6,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnmiddle View Post

I got both the 1920*1080 and 1280*768 work on my panny 50 now, but both have the overscan problem. But why is there such a problem? even with 1920*1080, since panasonic said the new 60U panel can accept 1080p.
As for the pic, so far i tried only with AVI files, looks like the pic is not as good as what i expect, no matter what resolution i try. So i figure out it is the problem of avi files itself. Since avi is mostly at best DVD rip, its quality must be at best same as DVD, which means 480p. So it sure will look bad on a 720p panel. Am i right in this?

---------------

Check and see if there are any posts on correcting the overscan problem. I would also try calling Panny tech support....give it a shot.

I've watched movies from my Vaio media PC on my Panny without any problems. OTOH I have a commercial Panny. But the electronics should be very similar....
plazman is offline  
post #2275 of 5782 Old 04-06-2006, 10:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bushman4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Quote:
Originally Posted by DBZ33
Hey everybody I just spoke with my Panasonic rep at work today and he said the 58" models should be in our store June 06. Also the new EDTV PD60U's will be here end of this month or early May. Just thought I would give an update of what I found out so far.



Unfortunately the Panny Reps have unreliable info,
We've already seen this by the delays in the 42" & 50" 60U and 600U why would I believe that they know anything about the 58"
Bushman4 is offline  
post #2276 of 5782 Old 04-07-2006, 01:37 AM
Member
 
DBZ33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Des Plaines, IL.
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bushman4 View Post

Unfortunately the Panny Reps have unreliable info,
We've already seen this by the delays in the 42" & 50" 60U and 600U why would I believe that they know anything about the 58"


Why would my panasonic rep know anything about the 58'??? Because we are a vary large store in the midwest that have many people who order items like this before they are out. We need to know info like this to give to the paying customers. My rep was right on with the ETA of the PX60U's. I was on pre order for 2 months before they came in, and the rep told me early April 3 months ago. What do you know I am getting my new 50PX60U today.

Who do you belive if you cant trust the Panasonic rep that sells to your store? If he doesn't deliver he would not be a rep to our store for so many years. They are not the same people that you would call at the 1800 # at Panasonic.com
DBZ33 is offline  
post #2277 of 5782 Old 04-07-2006, 01:41 AM
Member
 
Holydoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DBZ33 View Post

Why would my panasonic rep know anything about the 58'??? Because we are a vary large store in the midwest that have many people who order items like this before they are out. We need to know info like this to give to the paying customers. My rep was right on with the ETA of the PX60U's. I was on pre order for 2 months before they came in, and the rep told me early April 3 months ago. What do you know I am getting my new 50PX60U today.

Who do you belive if you cant trust the Panasonic rep that sells to your store? If he doesn't deliver he would not be a rep to our store for so many years. They are not the same people that you would call at the 1800 # at Panasonic.com

That is good to hear that he is reliable. What does he say about the delivery date of the 50" 600U series?
Holydoc is offline  
post #2278 of 5782 Old 04-07-2006, 05:37 AM
 
optivity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bushman4 View Post

Unfortunately the Panny Reps have unreliable info,
We've already seen this by the delays in the 42" & 50" 60U and 600U why would I believe that they know anything about the 58"

Perhaps a history lesson is required:



My local CC has both the 42PX60U and 50PX60U on their display wall... and it is Spring 06.

The last day of Spring is 6/20/06.



The first day of Summer is 6/21/06
optivity is offline  
post #2279 of 5782 Old 04-07-2006, 06:25 AM
Member
 
pors968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DBZ33 View Post

Hey everybody I just spoke with my Panasonic rep at work today and he said the 58" models should be in our store June 06. Also the new EDTV PD60U's will be here end of this month or early May. Just thought I would give an update of what I found out so far.


DBZ33,

Do you know the ETA for 600U's (37", 42" and 50")

Thanks !
pors968 is offline  
post #2280 of 5782 Old 04-07-2006, 08:45 AM
Member
 
flyjar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just a heads up 37", 42" & 50" 60u are available for purchase through the EPP website. The "add to cart" button is back. Still waiting for the the 600u though.

I think if the 50" 60u was closer in price to the 42" 600u it would be a much tougher decision for me. Thankfully their not.
flyjar is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off