Official Panasonic PX60/600 Tweaking, Settings, Issues, Technical Thread! - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 7216 Old 05-04-2006, 07:15 AM
Member
 
jkratze1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by futurepannyowner View Post

The HDMI signal is reset when the resolution of the source changes. It does not really bother me, I don't know what the big deal is.

This is my first experience with HDMI and I'm not used to seeing the screen blip with every resolution change. It occurs on first power-on on or whenever I make a change from SD to HD or HD to SD. It is quite annoying and seems like this may be a bug in the HDMI protocol.
jkratze1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 7216 Old 05-04-2006, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scherer326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just set all my HD channels to 1080i on the STB and for SD channels I set it to 480p. It only has to change once then.
scherer326 is offline  
post #543 of 7216 Old 05-04-2006, 09:13 AM
Member
 
GeorgeRam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: sf bay area
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i would like to thank everyone in this forum. because of this forum i bought the 50" 60u, xbox360, directv hd dvr,and a toshiba hd dvd player. everything looks sweet on my 50" 60u. thanks again
LL
GeorgeRam is offline  
post #544 of 7216 Old 05-04-2006, 10:53 AM
Newbie
 
emailmeif911's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice!
Thanks for sharing.
emailmeif911 is offline  
post #545 of 7216 Old 05-04-2006, 12:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wtfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by scherer326 View Post

PLEASE ADVISE:

I have the 42px60u and love the picture but for some reason on dark shows or movies (expecially HBO-HD), I see rainbow colors on occasion. What is causing this. Should I adjust something in the settings, i.e. picture?, brightness?, color?, tint?

Need help.

Damn is anybody else but Scherer326 & me noticing this??
I tested a few videogames & the rainbow like after-image is horrible.
It's literally worse then ghosting I seen on any LCD panel.

I mean it's seriously looks EXACTLY like ghosting except, as hard to believe, much worse since the color is always a yellowish blur.

Is there any settings or adjustments, anything in the service menu to lessen this?

I mean one of the few advantages plasma panels had over LCD was no ghosting, seems like all that was a bunch of lies.
wtfer is offline  
post #546 of 7216 Old 05-04-2006, 12:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Elemental1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Zion
Posts: 3,315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wtfer View Post

Damn is anybody else but Scherer326 & me noticing this??
I tested a few videogames & the rainbow like after-image is horrible.
It's literally worse then ghosting I seen on any LCD panel.

I mean it's seriously looks EXACTLY like ghosting except, as hard to believe, much worse since the color is always a yellowish blur.

Is there any settings or adjustments, anything in the service menu to lessen this?

I mean one of the few advantages plasma panels had over LCD was no ghosting, seems like all that was a bunch of lies.

Hmm..did it do this before you hooked up the PC/Game unit?

My HT

In the words of English philosopher Edmund Burke, ÂAll that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.Â
Elemental1 is offline  
post #547 of 7216 Old 05-04-2006, 12:32 PM
Senior Member
 
SchwettyBalz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tampa
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnamertz View Post

I won't be getting an HD STB box from DirecTV with the cost around $500, at least not for a while. I might switch to Comcast HD if they ever get Tivo service.

My DirecTv box does in fact have an s-video out on it, so it looks like I'll be able to run an s-video cable from the box to the TV and then plug the antenna into the TV via the coaxial input?

I love tivo as much as anyone but I went ahead and got a Motorola 6416 from my cable company (Cox). Directv offered me $150 or $300 (i dont remember) off the box and free HD service for 3 months, but I still told them no. My mom has Comcast and I don't really like the software on their box, the Cox software isn't that bad, but its no Tivo. Still, if recording shows is important to you, Comcast software is better than no HD DVR at all.

Xbox: SchwedyBalz (Microsoft made me change it, again)
PS3: SchwettyBalz

Go Jackets!
Go Bolts!
SchwettyBalz is offline  
post #548 of 7216 Old 05-04-2006, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scherer326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wtfer, what are your settings:

Mine are
Standard
Picture: +12
Brightness: +5
Color: -2
Tinti: -5
Sharpness: -5
Color Temp: Warm
Black LeveL: Light
Other settings: Off

This seemed to less the rainbow effect. I thought the effect is suppose to lessen over time, is this correct?
scherer326 is offline  
post #549 of 7216 Old 05-04-2006, 05:12 PM
Member
 
megeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update: I can't wait, my replacement should be here tomorrow. Sears was pretty nice about it. The most annoy thing was repackaging the TV and loading it into the car. I hope the new doesn't have any issue. I can deal with the buzzing, but the turning off/over heating thing was a major flaw. What are the chances that I get two lemons?

I now debating ordering the VIP622 from dishnetwork. They want $299. I was going to order it today, but at the last minute I realized that the second tuner was on SD, and you can't watch another program on TV1 when an HD program was recording. Any opinions on the VIP622

I also order a mount from Tigerdirect.com. It is only .98 inches off the wall. Hopefully I will have everything done and post a picture.

Quote:
Originally Posted by megeed View Post

Thanks,
I called Sears, and they said I have to bring it in and then wait for another one to be delivered. Should be two days maybe three. I hope the new one doesn't have the buzzing.
I also bought a monster power conditioner.

megeed is offline  
post #550 of 7216 Old 05-04-2006, 06:03 PM
Member
 
Docism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeorgeRam View Post

i would like to thank everyone in this forum. because of this forum i bought the 50" 60u, xbox360, directv hd dvr,and a toshiba hd dvd player. everything looks sweet on my 50" 60u. thanks again

All very good choices! That's awesome George... aren't new toys the best?!

megeed - how in the heck did you get a packaged 50" in a car??? I has an SUV and after I saw the size of the box I wouldn't even attempt to load my 42" set.

Some folks just choose alternate realities, and there's nothing that can be put into words here that will co·ax them out of that.
Docism is offline  
post #551 of 7216 Old 05-04-2006, 07:40 PM
Member
 
dnamertz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnamertz View Post

C. a Panasonic DVD-CV50 DVD player (its 5 years old and I don't even think it has progressive scan...at least its not mentioned in the manual. It also has optical & coaxial digital outputs as well as component and s-video).

Would I be likely to get better PQ from DVDs if I move the cheap $25 Nexxtech DP3222 DVD player from my bedroom and hook it up to my new 50PX60U? Its a cheap model with fewer features than the 5-disc 5 year old Panasonic CV50 DVD player I mainly use now, but the Nexxtech does have progressive scan while it doesn't appear that the Panasonic does. Is the progressive scan important enough that it will creat better PQ from a $25 player than an older Panasonic that cost over $250 at the time?
dnamertz is offline  
post #552 of 7216 Old 05-04-2006, 10:36 PM
Member
 
jamescam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently picked up the TH50PX60 and loves it! I do however seem to have an issue I was hoping I could get some help with. My DVD player is connected via Composite cable however when I switch over to watch a DVD movie at first the picture is pretty bad with diagnol lines running through the image however after a few minutes they fade away and the picture is crystal clear. I am thinking this is a problem with the Composite cable that I am using (it was a free cable I got with my ComCast box that I don't use since I am using HDMI) but not sure. The DVD player is about 5 years old so it could be that as well. I tried both Composite inputs and the same thing happens on either input. Any advice is appreciated, thank you!
jamescam is offline  
post #553 of 7216 Old 05-04-2006, 10:54 PM
Senior Member
 
soncomet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamescam View Post

I recently picked up the TH50PX60 and loves it! I do however seem to have an issue I was hoping I could get some help with. My DVD player is connected via Composite cable however when I switch over to watch a DVD movie at first the picture is pretty bad with diagnol lines running through the image however after a few minutes they fade away and the picture is crystal clear. I am thinking this is a problem with the Composite cable that I am using (it was a free cable I got with my ComCast box that I don't use since I am using HDMI) but not sure. The DVD player is about 5 years old so it could be that as well. I tried both Composite inputs and the same thing happens on either input. Any advice is appreciated, thank you!

Buy a new dvd player.
soncomet is offline  
post #554 of 7216 Old 05-04-2006, 11:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Artwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hoover, Alabama
Posts: 4,824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Composite cable by definition is the worst connection possible.

Is it just me or does every product discussed here at the forum acused of having rainbows? I bet some of the people that post in could see rainbows on an etch-a-sketch!
Artwood is offline  
post #555 of 7216 Old 05-05-2006, 12:14 AM
 
NathanC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wtfer View Post

I mean it's seriously looks EXACTLY like ghosting except, as hard to believe, much worse since the color is always a yellowish blur.

Is there any settings or adjustments, anything in the service menu to lessen this?

I mean one of the few advantages plasma panels had over LCD was no ghosting, seems like all that was a bunch of lies.

Some people see that effect on plasmas. See this thread: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=603995 . I've noticed it some while playing GR:AW on my 360, usually on Rocky Cove. Way better than LCDs blurring and bad blacks, though. The world of HDTVs seems to be filled with compromises at this point. I think i've heard it improves over time, though, so i'll be interested in seeing how it looks after a month or so.
NathanC is offline  
post #556 of 7216 Old 05-05-2006, 01:13 AM
Member
 
flossy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice setup GeorgeRam, damn you make that panel look so sexy
flossy is offline  
post #557 of 7216 Old 05-05-2006, 04:38 AM
Member
 
megeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Docism View Post

All very good choices! That's awesome George... aren't new toys the best?!

megeed - how in the heck did you get a packaged 50" in a car??? I has an SUV and after I saw the size of the box I wouldn't even attempt to load my 42" set.

I meant SUV. I have a Honda Pilot. It fits perfectly.
megeed is offline  
post #558 of 7216 Old 05-05-2006, 05:47 AM
Senior Member
 
High Gear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this can help us all.
High Gear is offline  
post #559 of 7216 Old 05-05-2006, 07:00 AM
Member
 
Beaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South FL - Palm Beach
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I should be getting mine this weekend and will report later.
I like the idea of having a thread dedicated to settings...saves us from having to sort through the hundreds of other posts.

Looks like you have an "o" in your title instead of a zero.
Might wanna change it so it's not confusing for newcomer looking for this model.
Beaner is offline  
post #560 of 7216 Old 05-05-2006, 07:42 AM
Member
 
ISF_Fred_Md's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm trying to perform a service menu-level calibration and have a few questions that I'm hoping can be answered here. My setup is a Directv HD Tivo and a DVD player, both with HDMI connections. I use an HDMI 2x1 switcher to feed the set one 720p signal. I could use Avia or DVE through my DVD player for calibration, but I prefer to use my Sencor VP300 signal generator.

My questions are:

1) Are the service menu settings specific to each INPUT or each SCAN Rate? My VP300 doesn't have HDMI out, so I was hoping to hook it up using component cables and a 720p signal. If the sm settings are specific to the component input on the tv that I use, this obviously won't work.
2) I noticed that when I enter the service mode, the set goes into torch mode. Is it switching to Vivid?
3) Assuming that the answer to #2 is yes, should I be utilizing Vivid mode all the time, since that is the mode I will be calibrating in the service menu? Currently, I have the tv set to Standard mode, so it creates a problem for calibrating b/c the tv is apparently not staying in Standard mode when I enter the service menu.

And I really do need to calibrate in service mode b/c I want to tweak grayscale.

This is my first panny plasma calibration. I have done a couple panny CRT rear-projectors and I recall similar issues. I'm much more experienced with Mitsubishi, so I appreciate any help. Thanks.
ISF_Fred_Md is offline  
post #561 of 7216 Old 05-05-2006, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scherer326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Highgear, what is your color temp set to?
scherer326 is offline  
post #562 of 7216 Old 05-05-2006, 08:20 AM
Member
 
DNero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would these same settings translate to other models in the 60U line? For example, would these TH-42PX6OU settings look the same on a TH-50PX6OU? Anyone know?
DNero is offline  
post #563 of 7216 Old 05-05-2006, 08:26 AM
Newbie
 
Torr90503's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

I am browsing this particular thread since few days now and its very informative. Thanks to all the members who are contributing good info on new panasonic plasmas.

I've got 50PX60U for a month now and its been great since. Keeping my settings on Standard, Picture on +9 and Brightness on +5 and others on zero, works for me.

This week I noticed "stream of colors" during NBA Playoff game on TNT, I am still in SD mode. It was appearing on the blazer wore by PHX Suns Coach which had little square design on it and then I notice it on the Tie of the reporter which again had thin lines on it. Sometime seems like a glittering effect. Has anybody else notice it ? I do notice it now during news cast or other programs with similar clothing designs.

Its like a Rainbow, I have read threads about rainbow effect and not sure thats what im experiencing but I see this effect only on certain designs (like small sqaures, close thin lines) where it seems PDP color manager is unable to identify which color to show

Again Thanks to all members.


Cheers
Torr90503 is offline  
post #564 of 7216 Old 05-05-2006, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scherer326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
probably the same settings would be good for the 37in and 50in I believe.
scherer326 is offline  
post #565 of 7216 Old 05-05-2006, 08:55 AM
Member
 
svgtom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Last night I watched the DVE calibration disc and plan to do the calibration later today. One thing mentioned on the disc is that the most ideal color temp setting is Warm. Why is this as I thought Normal was the best setting?
svgtom is offline  
post #566 of 7216 Old 05-05-2006, 09:50 AM
Senior Member
 
High Gear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it is set at normal. I'll add that. Thanks!
High Gear is offline  
post #567 of 7216 Old 05-05-2006, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scherer326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I talked to the guy who did the review on cnet.com for the 42px60u and he said that the "Warm" temperature is the standard temperature.

I had mine set to normal and changed it to warm recently. I think it looks alot better.
scherer326 is offline  
post #568 of 7216 Old 05-05-2006, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scherer326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
quick question, with the 60u tv what should you set the STB resolution to for HD:
720? 1080?
scherer326 is offline  
post #569 of 7216 Old 05-05-2006, 10:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 28
My settings for Panny Plasma are as follows:

Cinema
Pic. +11
Brightness +15
Color +5
Tint +2
Sharpness +12
Color Temp - Warm
mbroadus is online now  
post #570 of 7216 Old 05-05-2006, 10:57 AM
Newbie
 
AbyRai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have searched the forums alot, where can I find the picture settings for my 42PD60U ...or Can I apply the above settings for PD60U also?

Any help is appreciated...
AbyRai is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Th 58px60u 58 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Th 42px600u 42 Plasma Hdtv Television , Panasonic Th50px600u 50 Inch Plasma Flat Panel Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off