Samsung Plasma HP-S5053 and HP-S4253 reviews - Page 182 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5431 of 5448 Old 11-26-2010, 03:42 AM
Member
 
rbenjami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am still getting the sparkles on my 5053, and I just ordered a new one to replace it. I am VERY disappointed in Samsung (eventhough my new plasma is Samsung too). I should not have had to replace a 2500 set after only a few years.

Here's hoping that the problems with the 5053 were isolated and things are better now.

Anyone want a 5053 with specling problems? I had no idea what to do with my old set. It still works - more or less. It just takes a half hour or so to have the speckles go away.
rbenjami is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5432 of 5448 Old 12-02-2010, 01:04 PM
Newbie
 
bsuyeti29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
where are you located? Sparkles just in the upper corner or in the black and greys, whites?
bsuyeti29 is offline  
post #5433 of 5448 Old 12-05-2010, 04:07 AM
Member
 
tonyjambo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No not a new set but a new problem with this one
As well as blue sparkles alll the time - pink issues on whites I now have a new issue of severe ghosting when content switches from bright to dark .... awesome !

I really believe that this set has a life of 5 years at the most, not what i expected when i bought it for $1800 4 1/2 years ago !

Really disappointed, especially as i recommended this set to 3 others , this will cost samsung my future business for quite some time. Off to ry Sony for the replacement
tonyjambo is offline  
post #5434 of 5448 Old 12-06-2010, 09:40 AM
Member
 
rbenjami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsuyeti29 View Post

where are you located? Sparkles just in the upper corner or in the black and greys, whites?

Northern Westchester, NY (north of NYC).

My sparkles are all over the picture for the first half hour or so of use. Once the set warms up, the sparkles dissipate, but are always there. When initially turned on, the set is pretty much unwachable.

I am very disappointed in Samsung. Nevertheless I decided to buy another Samsung plasma because (1) the price cannot be beat and (2) I can only assume Samsung has improved their quality over the past five years and this is a one-off problem.
rbenjami is offline  
post #5435 of 5448 Old 03-27-2011, 06:46 PM
Member
 
tonyjambo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I'm having an issue where hdcp seems to suddenly have failed on the TV with no change to the setup, suddenly none of my hdmi devices are able to talk to the tv - is there a way to bypass hdcp ? or maybe reset the hdcp database so the tv can communicate again ? maybe if i set the outputs to dvi compatability or somethng ?

Anyone got any thoughts ?

Thx
Tony
tonyjambo is offline  
post #5436 of 5448 Old 03-27-2011, 06:54 PM
Member
 
douglee25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stratford, NJ
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you tried unplugging the tv for a few minutes and then retrying?

Doug
douglee25 is offline  
post #5437 of 5448 Old 03-27-2011, 07:12 PM
Member
 
tonyjambo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah tried that - now going to try for a bit longer - also tried a reset from the service menu. My Tivo tells me that hdmi is not permitted - all other devices are just blank screens - same setup ive been running for 2+ years just stopped randomly. Figuring the hdcp controlloer software /hardware in the tv is toast ...

off to dig out some component cables
tonyjambo is offline  
post #5438 of 5448 Old 03-29-2011, 09:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Blacklac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Your resolution didn't suddenly switch to 480i, did it? As this tv doesn't support that resolution over hdmi.
Blacklac is offline  
post #5439 of 5448 Old 03-30-2011, 04:49 PM
Member
 
tonyjambo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unfortunately not , my TiVo is at least nice enough to tell me it's an HDCP fail, the other devices (fios, ps3, DVD) all just give black screens .

It's both hdmi ports on the tv, I've basically ruled out :
All individual devices
All cables
The hdmi ports
All device settings

At this point it ha to be the HDCP controller in the tv.

Anyone know of a good cheap component video switch ?
tonyjambo is offline  
post #5440 of 5448 Old 10-04-2011, 06:50 PM
Member
 
Bruin711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by OIFVET View Post

does anyone know how to disable the blue ring light on the front of the HP-R4252. Maybe in the service mode?

Sorry to post in an old thread about an old TV but I was wondering if anyone knew the answer to the question above. Mine was recently going bad, the top part of the panel would go black for periods of time and them come back and them sometimes the top and bottom would go out, so I went and got a new TV and moved the Samsung HP-R4252 to the bedroom.

The blue ring light on the front of the TV when its off drives me crazy when I am sleeping and I have to put something in front of it. Is there any way to disable this in the service mode or something? Its not in the menu like it is on apparently newer models.
Bruin711 is offline  
post #5441 of 5448 Old 10-04-2011, 08:45 PM
Member
 
dfranch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's been a while, but I think there is a option in the regular menu options to turn off the blue ring. I don't think it was an obvious choice though.
dfranch is offline  
post #5442 of 5448 Old 10-05-2011, 07:29 PM
Member
 
Bruin711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfranch View Post

It's been a while, but I think there is a option in the regular menu options to turn off the blue ring. I don't think it was an obvious choice though.

I don't think there is on the 4252. There is a way to disable that blue eye around the power button on the 4253.
Bruin711 is offline  
post #5443 of 5448 Old 10-06-2011, 03:11 PM
Member
 
dfranch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My bad, I have the 4253.
dfranch is offline  
post #5444 of 5448 Old 01-02-2012, 10:53 AM
Member
 
fatherarden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
posting in old thread ... sorry.

I've read a decent amount of posts from this thread.

I too have the "green/red" sparkles on my plasma. I had a independent tech come out and look at it. He saw the picture and stated that some boards would need to be replaced, but i insisted he mess with the voltage adjustments and the picture did get better, but the sparkles never truly went away.

From what i've read the main culprits for this symptom is the Y main or the power supply board.

cant afford to buy both so i'm hoping someone who has made this choice before can chime in with that board they replaced and if it fixed their problem.

Thanks.
fatherarden is offline  
post #5445 of 5448 Old 01-10-2012, 07:51 PM
Member
 
ksigdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherarden View Post

posting in old thread ... sorry.

I've read a decent amount of posts from this thread.

I too have the "green/red" sparkles on my plasma. I had a independent tech come out and look at it. He saw the picture and stated that some boards would need to be replaced, but i insisted he mess with the voltage adjustments and the picture did get better, but the sparkles never truly went away.

From what i've read the main culprits for this symptom is the Y main or the power supply board.

cant afford to buy both so i'm hoping someone who has made this choice before can chime in with that board they replaced and if it fixed their problem.

Thanks.

I feel your pain... I had my 5053 for a little over 4 years and had the same issue. I had the voltages adjusted and it helped but only to an extent. My tech said the Y board was the thing to replace, but gave me the honest advice that the tv had outlived its best years and recommended going with a new set. The picture is just going to continue getting worse.

Good luck, it was an awesome set!! But I can't say enough good things about my new Samsung 64 D8000 plasma... :-)
ksigdawg is offline  
post #5446 of 5448 Old 02-14-2012, 06:00 PM
Newbie
 
smohereight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I just got a Samsung hp-s4253 from my cousin. It was fine the last time I watched it at his house, but now there are several thin lines running vertically on the screen. They are on the right hand side and nowhere else. They start about an inch from the right edge, and stop about 6 inches in. They are red most of the time but change to black and blue sometimes. I've tried all the obvious fixes (unplug and reconnect, different source modes, etc.) Nothing changes no matter what I do. Anyone know what the problem might be? Thanks much for any help!
smohereight is offline  
post #5447 of 5448 Old 02-15-2012, 07:59 AM
Member
 
douglee25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stratford, NJ
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Search this thread for some adjustment screws located inside the back panel. Search keywords 'blue lines, spots, etc'. Something along those lines should turn up something.

Doug
douglee25 is offline  
post #5448 of 5448 Old 02-29-2012, 07:20 AM
Member
 
fatherarden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've sort of fixed my issue ...

I've outlined what took place here.

http://myinjuredfingers.blogspot.com...arkle-fix.html

just throwing that out there in case it does actually help anyone.
fatherarden is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung 42 Inch Plasma Hdtv Hp S4253 , Samsung Hp S5053 50 Inch Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread - S5053 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off