connecting laptop to Plasma tv - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 07-06-2006, 09:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
geem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Milwaukee, WI and Chicago, IL
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a dell 9300, and i'd like to connect it to my Pioneer PDP-5071HD.
this are the connections I have on the laptop http://www.notebookreview.com/assets/3936.jpg

I know before I connected the laptop through the S-video, but I'd like to use the DVI if possible. if i get a DVI to HDMI cable, would that work? also that should take care of the video AND audio right?
geem is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 07-06-2006, 09:59 AM
Member
 
coastalb55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Central Coast, CA
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HDMI carries an audio signal and DVI does not. So you'll need to figure out another way to get your audio if you have to use DVI.

[EDIT] Brain not communicating properly with hands - fixed my mistake
coastalb55 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 07-06-2006, 10:08 AM
Member
 
thegurujim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by coastalb55
DVI carries an audio signal and HDMI does not. So you'll need to figure out another way to get your audio if you have to use HDMI.

Reverse what ^ he ^ said.

As far as the audio is concerned you'll have to use the laptop speakers, headphones, or hook up some external speakers to it.
thegurujim is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 07-06-2006, 10:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
geem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Milwaukee, WI and Chicago, IL
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by coastalb55
DVI carries an audio signal and HDMI does not. So you'll need to figure out another way to get your audio if you have to use HDMI.
I am pretty sure HDMI carries audio.
geem is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 07-06-2006, 10:13 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
geem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Milwaukee, WI and Chicago, IL
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegurujim
Reverse what ^ he ^ said.

As far as the audio is concerned you'll have to use the laptop speakers, headphones, or hook up some external speakers to it.
ok cool. will the video be better if i use the DVI rather than the VGA or S-video then?
and I could use this to connect the laptop to my receiver right? http://www.cablestogo.com/product.as...2033&sku=40236
geem is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 07-06-2006, 10:14 AM
Senior Member
 
malaugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You need :

1) A DVI to HDMI cable to route the video to the TV
2) A 3.5mm to RCA audio cable to route the headphone audio from the PC to the audio input on the TV

Set your the video in your laptop to 1280 x 768
malaugh is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 07-06-2006, 10:17 AM
Member
 
Pdogg320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have a simalar question but if i have a laptop that supports only a vga out and i get a vga to component (since the tv dosent have a vga in - 50px60) would that work?? Cause from what i know u cant do vga to hdmi cause u cant do analog to digital, u can only do dvi to hdmi correct?
Pdogg320 is offline  
Closed Thread Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off