Shouldn't 720p look better than 1080i on Panny? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 07-09-2006, 06:23 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mariachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orange County, Ca
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I wonder if someone could provide some info regarding this. I have last year's 37" hd Panny. I've been very happy with it except for a few things. One of them being the fact that, shouldn't 720p look better than 1080i, as it matches the display's resolution more closely? 1080i looks amazing, specially from Discover HD, but swith the cable box to 720p and it doesn't look as detailed or sharp. Using the tv's internal tuner and comparing a 1080i channel with ABC which broadcasts at 720p, the 1080i channels look better. Same story with my upconverting player and xbox 360. What's going on?

-Vic
mariachi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 07-09-2006, 07:24 PM
Member
 
johnsojs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Natchitoches, Louisiana
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The px50 series panasonics have a problem with 720p signals.
johnsojs is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 07-09-2006, 07:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
gdog2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 45" Sharp Aquos 720p and I thought the exact same thing. 1080i looks better than 720p . I dont know why but it just does...of course this lcd has 6ms refresh rate so lag is not an issue in either setting.
gdog2004 is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 07-09-2006, 07:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
westa6969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: From Michigan now Retired to Naples, FL
Posts: 7,050
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 223
My Sharp 45" displays 1080i much better than 720P with dot-to-dot it can be amazing when viewing CSI Miami as close to 1080P I think you'll get IMO. Of course the Sharp panel is native 1080 so it makes sense I guess. :)

Samsung 65F8000, 60D8000, 40HU6350, Panasonic 50E60 LCD's
westa6969 is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 07-09-2006, 09:52 PM
Member
 
kentgbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a TH42XP60U with a Motorola HD cable box set to output 1080i. Assuming that the Panny's scaler is better than that of the cable box, doesn't it make sense to send more picture information (1080 lines>720 lines) to the PDP and let it downconvert the signal to its native resolution? I've tried both and also think 1080i gives the best picture.
kentgbr is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 07-09-2006, 10:05 PM
Newbie
 
wlorcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a TH50PX60 with a SA8300HD STB passing component video through a Yamaha RXV559B a/v receiver. I have the STB set to pass through whatever signals it receives. I have flipped between Discovery HD in 1080i, the world cup on ABCHD in 720p, and the Canadian feed for the world cup in 1080i, and the Senior US Open golf in 1080i, and frankly they all look great.
I think the US gov't did a great disservice to everyone in the TV industry, from the production side to the local broadcast side when they allowed the change over to slide from the end of 06 to the end of 09.
We need more stuff in HD, whether it is 720p or 1080i, now!
wlorcb is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 07-10-2006, 07:14 AM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 501
Quote:
Originally Posted by wlorcb
I have a TH50PX60 with a SA8300HD STB passing component video through a Yamaha RXV559B a/v receiver. I have the STB set to pass through whatever signals it receives. I have flipped between Discovery HD in 1080i, the world cup on ABCHD in 720p, and the Canadian feed for the world cup in 1080i, and the Senior US Open golf in 1080i, and frankly they all look great.
All the HD channels on my 42PX50U looks much sharper and more detailed with my 8300HD set to 1080i with 720p disabled.

Quote:
I think the US gov't did a great disservice to everyone in the TV industry, from the production side to the local broadcast side when they allowed the change over to slide from the end of 06 to the end of 09. We need more stuff in HD, whether it is 720p or 1080i, now!
There won't be any more HD after the big changeover than there is already on the digital OTA channels. They're simply switching the analog transmitters off, and most of the stuff they broadcast will still be 4:3 SD just like it is right now.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 07-10-2006, 05:50 PM
Member
 
PatrickPanny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kentgbr
I have a TH42XP60U with a Motorola HD cable box set to output 1080i. Assuming that the Panny's scaler is better than that of the cable box, doesn't it make sense to send more picture information (1080 lines>720 lines) to the PDP and let it downconvert the signal to its native resolution? I've tried both and also think 1080i gives the best picture.
At least for Comcast here in Seattle - I am not sure but I think they send all of their HD signals to the STB in 1080i. If you change the box to 720p, then you are asking the DVR to do the conversion and then send it to your screen. Speaking as a 42x60u owner, I think the Panny does a better job with that raw 1080i signal coming to it than the STB can do in trying to convert it.

Comparing 720p OTA to 720p coming out of the box would be a good test though.

Patrick
PatrickPanny is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 07-10-2006, 06:40 PM
Senior Member
 
elwood58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Orange County California
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an 854 X 480 Plasma, and 1080i is its favorite feed. It does not matter what source. Sometimes I think the scaler in the panel does the best job of any, and the more data, the better.
elwood58 is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 07-10-2006, 06:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Raistlin_HT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Buffalo, NY area
Posts: 2,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Being 'nearer' to a panels native resolution isn't necessarily better. In fact, it can add more round-off errors.

It doesn't help that your scenario also adds in extrapolation (going from a lower resolution to a higher one) versus interpolation (higher to lower).
Raistlin_HT is online now  
post #11 of 15 Old 07-10-2006, 06:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mike777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Olevia 42" 720P LCD looks better with 1080i feed. It just looks sharper to me, regardless if the original is 1080i or 720P. In my opinion, down converting almost always looks good, whatever display you are using. This is one reason my lowly Infocus X1 with SVGA resolution, 800 X 600, looks so good with HD.
Mike777 is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 07-10-2006, 06:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
mterzich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PatrickPanny
At least for Comcast here in Seattle - I am not sure but I think they send all of their HD signals to the STB in 1080i. If you change the box to 720p, then you are asking the DVR to do the conversion and then send it to your screen. Speaking as a 42x60u owner, I think the Panny does a better job with that raw 1080i signal coming to it than the STB can do in trying to convert it.

Comparing 720p OTA to 720p coming out of the box would be a good test though.

Patrick
Comcast is usually feed directly from the local stations with the encoded stream and just sends it through the QAM formatter and places it on the cable network. So if a local station is broadcasting at 720p, that usually is what the cable system will also transmit.
mterzich is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 07-10-2006, 07:12 PM
Member
 
jhlwas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Washington dc, chevy chase
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
pio 4360.
moto 6412 lll hdmi set to 1080i.

Analog, sd digital, hd all looks better to my eyeballs
than 720p. It could be that the set top box can handle
1080i better than 720p. Maybe a real tech genius will
jump in and explain it all.

jl
jhlwas is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 07-10-2006, 07:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Raistlin_HT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Buffalo, NY area
Posts: 2,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike777
My Olevia 42" 720P LCD looks better with 1080i feed. It just looks sharper to me, regardless if the original is 1080i or 720P.
Except that your Olevia 42" isn't 720p, it's 1366 x 768 and therefore must also deal with the issues I mentioned.
Raistlin_HT is online now  
post #15 of 15 Old 07-10-2006, 07:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hothersale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsojs
The px50 series panasonics have a problem with 720p signals.
This is the salient point. At least a couple of different reviewers independently observed that 50u series only displays about half of a 720p signal, which is effectively worse than SD. Stick to 1080i and you'll be fine.
Hothersale is offline  
Closed Thread Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off