HELP! Red/Laser Line going down my Panasonic 50" Plasma - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 07-10-2006, 09:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
djrobsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think I'm going to cry. I have fallen in love with my Panasonic TH50-PX50 TV, and today after only about 7 weeks of ownership, I notice this red line going down from the top of the TV, it looks like someone is pointing a laser line down from the top of my TV. This only seems to show up on face tone colors, and does not show up on blacks, whites, or blues.

This happens on all sources, regular standard def TV, a 480p DVD via component video, and a HDTV cable box with an HDMI cable connected.

Does anyone know why this is happening? I did not buy the extended warranty, so how good is Panasonic about fixing my TV? It's heavy, and it's wall mounted, so it's not going to be fun if I have to take it down.

I've uploaded 2 photos. The P1030732 is ZOOMED IN so you can see the red line going right down the middle of Matthew's face (if you maximize your browser window when the photo opens). In the second photo, it's harder to see the line because it's a birds eye view of the entire tv, so you can get an idea of where in the TV the line is coming from.
LL
LL
djrobsd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 07-10-2006, 09:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chris_006's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bring it to a well oiled service center and you're fine.

A lot of time companies will reimburse said service centers to pick up and once the work is done under warranty, will deliver TV back.

I know my A/V shop does not only sell the products, but is one of the only service centers in the area, covering all makes and models. If you find a good repairman, like the one we have, you'll be in good hands.

If you're in the mid-Minnesota area, shoot me a message, I'll see what we can do for you.
Chris_006 is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 07-10-2006, 10:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Schteevie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I didn't know panny did black bezels - that TV looks pretty good.

sorry to see the problem - it looks screwed - I see the line from top to bottom on your screen - all colurs - it just seems the skin tones show it more...
Schteevie is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 07-11-2006, 10:04 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
djrobsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the responses... I've got them scheduling an in-home service call visit right now. Let's hope it's a drama-free experience.
djrobsd is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 07-12-2006, 10:50 PM
Newbie
 
thu650's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I feel for you. Turned on the tv this evening and discovered I have a red vertical line as well TH50PX600U. I'd be interested to hear what the problem was diagnosed as.
thu650 is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 07-13-2006, 01:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
djrobsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will keep you all posted, they now say they can't come out until Monday...
djrobsd is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 07-13-2006, 03:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
robert123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In my experience with other brands, a vertical line running the entire height of the screen is normally indicative of a defective PDP panel. Most companies do not replace the PDP but only the entire set.

Robert


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
robert123 is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 07-13-2006, 04:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
djrobsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Excellent news, Robert. Maybe I'll get the new 2006 model! Or do they usually replace it with a refurb/repaired set?
djrobsd is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 07-28-2006, 11:24 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
djrobsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my TV back today!!! They took it back to the repair shop, and replaced the PDP Display. It took them about 2 weeks all in all to get the part and do the repair.

The TV looks beautiful!!!

They replaced the MD50H08A2J PDP display. Not sure what that is... I wonder if that's the exact same one they pulled out, or if they put a newer model in there? Probably not since the electronic guts would have to be changed too, right?

Is my TV now going to be reset? I.e. if I check the service menu will it now show 0 hours instead of the 4000 that it had on it?
djrobsd is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 07-28-2006, 11:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BruZZi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 5,868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by djrobsd View Post

I got my TV back today!!! They took it back to the repair shop, and replaced the PDP Display. It took them about 2 weeks all in all to get the part and do the repair.
The TV looks beautiful!!!

Great.

Quote:


They replaced the MD50H08A2J PDP display. Not sure what that is...

That's the Plasma Display Panel - The Plasma Element - The Glass

Quote:


I wonder if that's the exact same one they pulled out, or if they put a newer model in there? Probably not since the electronic guts would have to be changed too, right?

Same Generation Panel.

Quote:


Is my TV now going to be reset? I.e. if I check the service menu will it now show 0 hours instead of the 4000 that it had on it?

They usually reset the hours.
BruZZi is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 04-04-2007, 08:55 AM
Newbie
 
gun2head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thu650 View Post

I feel for you. Turned on the tv this evening and discovered I have a red vertical line as well TH50PX600U. I'd be interested to hear what the problem was diagnosed as.

Thu,

Did you ever get your's fixed? If so, what was the problem?

thanks
gun2head is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 04-04-2007, 09:04 AM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by gun2head View Post

Thu,

Did you ever get your's fixed? If so, what was the problem?

He said they replaced the PDP itself in post #9. Now that new Plasmas are half the price compared to last year, it's probably cheaper to replace the whole TV

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Gallery -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
RandyWalters is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 04-04-2007, 09:31 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
djrobsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyWalters View Post

He said they replaced the PDP itself in post #9. Now that new Plasmas are half the price compared to last year, it's probably cheaper to replace the whole TV

Hahaha, yeah I did and haven't had any trouble yet, although I did notice when looking at my tv from above last week while cleaning that the bezel is slightly warped on the bottom of the display panel. Should I call Panny and have them replace the plastic frame around the plasma display panel?

Also, I got a warranty renewal reminder from Panny, I didn't buy the extended warranty. Is it worth it? I think for $500 bucks, for 3 years, I don't feel it's worth it, since this TV will probably only be $1000 bucks in another year or so, but ??? Are there cheaper options out there for extending the warranty that I can still get, or were those options only available when I first bought the TV?
djrobsd is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 05-05-2007, 08:35 PM
Newbie
 
gun2head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine was blown after 2 years, and out of warranty. Fortunately for me, I spend a small fortune at a high-end retailer. He sold me a new one at cost with a new warranty of 3 years...The cost was more than the warranty, so you out to think about doing it. I've had warranty issues in all the HDTV's I've owned so far (panasonic and mitsubishi). Both have been repaired to satisfaction solely because of the outstanding retailer I deal with. That's why I will buy only from him.
gun2head is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 03-20-2009, 01:55 PM
Newbie
 
uniqui01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any ideas if this issue can be fixed?
LL
uniqui01 is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 03-20-2009, 02:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
djrobsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by uniqui01 View Post

Any ideas if this issue can be fixed?

That's a pretty substantial line there. The PDP needs to be replaced, that's the only way to fix it. Shop around for the parts and the labor. You might be able to get a killer deal on the replacement panel and just take it into your repair shop and have them replace it.
djrobsd is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 03-20-2009, 02:20 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by uniqui01 View Post

Any ideas if this issue can be fixed?



Usually when a bar only extends to the halfway point, it's an indication that one of the video boards that drive the lower (or upper) half of the screen has failed, but sometimes it is a board that's integral to the panel in which case the whole PDP module needs to be replaced. I can't tell what brand of TV that is but if parts are available it should be repairable. If it's out of warranty then the cost of repair might not be worth it.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Gallery -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
RandyWalters is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 04-13-2011, 09:55 AM
Newbie
 
SFDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Sony Plasma TV circa 2006 (kdl-50xbr950) just began displaying a thin red vertical line, about 3" from the left side, from the top to middle of the screen. It's definitely out of waranty. The previous post mentioned that this is likely caused by the video board driving the left side of the screen. Would that be in the PDP itself, or in the separate "media receiver" (mdb-xbr950)that drives the PDP? Would it be worth my while trying to replace or repair just the "media receiver"? I've seen these on eBay for around $100.

BTW, I've noticed that if I leave the TV on for 20 minutes or so, and then power it off/on, the line temporarily goes away but returns when I power on the TV the next day.
SFDave is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 04-13-2011, 10:03 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 358
I doubt the media box is the problem

as in the previous post, likely a bad video board or connector to the glass
markrubin is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 09-24-2011, 09:04 AM
Newbie
 
cerib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had the same problem with my Plasma. Red line down the middle that would sometimes change to green and sometimes widen to 2 or 3 inches wide. My tv was out of warranty but I called Panasonic anyway to see if they knew what the problem might be. They had me reset the tv (by their instructions) and it fixed it. No more problems. You don't need a repair guy just call Panasonic and they'll help you reset it.
cerib is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 09-24-2011, 02:19 PM
Senior Member
 
FadedMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cerib View Post

I had the same problem with my Plasma. Red line down the middle that would sometimes change to green and sometimes widen to 2 or 3 inches wide. My tv was out of warranty but I called Panasonic anyway to see if they knew what the problem might be. They had me reset the tv (by their instructions) and it fixed it. No more problems. You don't need a repair guy just call Panasonic and they'll help you reset it.

You are extremely lucky. Bars like that and lines are generally caused by a buffer board or the panel itself. It's unlikely that it would be fixed through a reset.

Smile. :)
FadedMaster is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 08-08-2014, 07:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by FadedMaster View Post
Quote:Originally Posted by cerib

I had the same problem with my Plasma. Red line down the middle that would sometimes change to green and sometimes widen to 2 or 3 inches wide. My tv was out of warranty but I called Panasonic anyway to see if they knew what the problem might be. They had me reset the tv (by their instructions) and it fixed it. No more problems. You don't need a repair guy just call Panasonic and they'll help you reset it.


You are extremely lucky. Bars like that and lines are generally caused by a buffer board or the panel itself. It's unlikely that it would be fixed through a reset.
I'll be damned! The reset worked for me, too. I had a red vertical bar about 2.5" wide running top to bottom on my Pana 42" plasma. Turned the set on and off a few times to no avail. I then did the reset and magically... the bar disappeared. Thanks for sharing!
interceptor1 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off