The OFFICIAL Panasonic 9UK Owner's Thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 5067 Old 09-25-2006, 07:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JWhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wayne, PA
Posts: 3,996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Sorry Cheese, I do not own a HTPC and do not care to at this point and frankly know little about it. IJeez, was not even knocking your pics. My entire point was to get a baseline for a comparison of the two sets. Pure and simple. I frankly don't have the time to worry about taking pics of my tvs. I just want to enjoy them. The point about calibration was SIMPLY to point out that it helped me get a much better picture put of my 7UY. No point in getting all worked up.
JWhip is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 5067 Old 09-25-2006, 08:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
c627627's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
People be sometimes hatin' on IamAnoobieCheez and then they get what's coming to them, is that right?

Let's talk Plasmas man, thanks for taking the pics.

I took some pics myself to compare cable connections and although it can be difficult to replicate some differences using a camera, that 9UK vs 7UY screen shot I took of your pics does show differences.

I think a 9UK is an overall better Plasma of course, given the choice between the two.


If you wanted to do calibration, just for the information of anyone who needs it again, the HDNET channel airs calibration signal at 5:50 AM central time on Tuesdays, that's tomorrow morning. It lasts for 10 minutes.


I believe even when calibrated, that picture of that dinosaur's face would still show 9UK looking better. I'm personally having trouble seeing where 7UY outshines the 9UK but again, overall speaking, it really doesn't matter because 9UK is a better buy.


I wish more people took comparison pictures.
c627627 is offline  
post #273 of 5067 Old 09-25-2006, 09:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
PerryU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

You cannot stretch HD on the 9UKs.

I thought the 9th-gen pannys had a new stretch mode called h-fill or some such that works on 720p/1080i signals? Is that not what it's for, or is it just on the consumer models and not on the commercials?

"I'm more of an idea rat..."
PerryU is offline  
post #274 of 5067 Old 09-25-2006, 10:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
c627627's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's not on commercials.
c627627 is offline  
post #275 of 5067 Old 09-27-2006, 10:55 AM
Newbie
 
bcowan12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've now passed the 100 hours, so last night tried to calibrate the TV with Avia (although it looked great out of the box). I didn't get very far.

On the white level setting, the moving white bars were never visible. I tried from the highest picture setting to the lowest. The screen got lighter and darker, but there was never a hint of a moving bar. On the black level test, it was easy to see and adjust the moving black bars.

This was on HDMI input. If I change to component input, the moving white bars are plainly visibile and easy to adjust.

Any idea why I can't see them on HDMI. If it matters, my DVD player (an older JVC model) is run via component to a JVC RX-D702B receiver. I have both component and HDMI cables running to the TV from the receiver. (I only put component to the TV so I could see the receiver's on-screen setup menus. I usually just leave the TV input on HDMI because the DirectTV HR20-700 is hooked to the receiver with HDMI, so that is the only output choice from the receiver.)

Any thoughts?

Thanks,
Bruce
bcowan12 is offline  
post #276 of 5067 Old 09-27-2006, 11:55 AM
Member
 
Frayed.Knot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bruce,
I use component for my DVD player and it worked fine with AVIA.
I wrote down those settings and applied it to the HDMI input (from Moto digital cable box). It was too dark, so I ended up adjusting it by eye from there.

I was surprised at how big of a difference there was between the two inputs.
Frayed.Knot is offline  
post #277 of 5067 Old 09-27-2006, 12:17 PM
Member
 
TallGuyXP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Bruce,
I have the same D702B receiver that you have and also connect my old Panasonic DVD to it using component cables. I only have the HDMI cable going to the TV though - no component cables... The D702B's on screen menus will appear on the TV as long as you are switched to the DVD (not to DBS) input. That's 3 fewer cables running up the wall to the TV!
-Mike-
TallGuyXP is offline  
post #278 of 5067 Old 09-27-2006, 12:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
jawatkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frayed.Knot View Post

I was surprised at how big of a difference there was between the two inputs.

Why? It's not necessarily a difference between the inputs.... It could be a difference in the output from the DVD players, as well.

Justin
jawatkin is offline  
post #279 of 5067 Old 09-27-2006, 02:48 PM
Newbie
 
bcowan12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was wondering if there's something wrong with my HDMI input. If I can't see the moving white bars at all when using that input, does that mean something is improperly installed or defective?

The picture looks OK to me, but the only thing I have to compare to is my 8-year old standard CRT. The 9UK is so new to me right now that even a miscalibrated HD might look good.

Bruce
bcowan12 is offline  
post #280 of 5067 Old 09-27-2006, 03:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
jawatkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcowan12 View Post

I was wondering if there's something wrong with my HDMI input. If I can't see the moving white bars at all when using that input, does that mean something is improperly installed or defective?

The picture looks OK to me, but the only thing I have to compare to is my 8-year old standard CRT. The 9UK is so new to me right now that even a miscalibrated HD might look good.

Bruce

Check your DVD player and see if there is a setting that has to do with "PC" or "TV" output. If it is set to PC, this could be why you are having trouble with it.

Actually, with the moving white bars (I'm not familiar with the pattern), what are you trying to set, black levels or white levels? (Brightness or "picture")? What I think you might be running into is the dynamic contrast or black level extension or whatever it is called these days. Increasing the contrast won't show you those "slightly brighter than black" bars. If you can see them with the low APL pattern (average picture level) and they disappear when going to a high APL pattern, there is something at work "floating" your blacks. If you adjust the "brightness" control up, you should be able to see the "slightly lighter" bars again, but contrast/picture won't do it.

If this is the case, try the "black level extension" menu and see what settings are in there. Disabling something in there may stop the blacks from "floating".

Justin
jawatkin is offline  
post #281 of 5067 Old 09-27-2006, 04:53 PM
Member
 
xp800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Troy, MI, USA
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there room in the 9UK to install 2 HDMI input boards?

Is anyone running external speakers from the built-in amp? Curious if I will get good results with some in-walls flanking the set. No need for fancy 5.1 in my case.

Thanks!
xp800 is offline  
post #282 of 5067 Old 09-27-2006, 05:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
jawatkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xp800 View Post

Is there room in the 9UK to install 2 HDMI input boards?

Yep, you'll have to get rid of one of the built in boards, though. HDMI will go in slot 1 & slot 2. If you want to keep the original boards, just get an HDMI switch from monoprice. It's quite a bit cheaper than a second HDMI blade

Justin
jawatkin is offline  
post #283 of 5067 Old 09-27-2006, 06:16 PM
Newbie
 
bcowan12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just in case anyone else ever has the same problem, I figured out how to make the moving white bars on the Avia White Level screen appear while on HDMI input. Adjusting the "picture" level through the entire range had no affect, but decreasing the "input level" on the advanced menu worked perfectly. Leaving picture at 0, and dropping input level to -6 resulted in a perfect setting.

Cheers,
Bruce
bcowan12 is offline  
post #284 of 5067 Old 09-27-2006, 06:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
ColdCase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by xp800 View Post

Is there room in the 9UK to install 2 HDMI input boards?

Is anyone running external speakers from the built-in amp? Curious if I will get good results with some in-walls flanking the set. No need for fancy 5.1 in my case.

Thanks!


The internal amp is rated at 15 watts I think and drives my external speakers just fine. The quality of the sound is more of a function of the quality of the speakers. Use efficient speakers, not ones that need 10 watts to get any sound out of them. The Panny has a number of tone adjustments and a surround mode to play with, so it should work fine for you with decent speakers.

PDP-6010FD, VSX1123K, HW-150PVR, Snell E111 Mains, Polk Center, VTF3Mk4 Sub, DIY surrounds, HD XA2, DMR HS2, DV F27, HR21-200, TH-50PH9UK, VSP-1100, PSW200... some other stuff.
ColdCase is offline  
post #285 of 5067 Old 10-02-2006, 02:41 PM
Member
 
rdb001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know whether it is possible to order a new bezel from B&O (Bang and Olufsen) and slip it on a 9UK or similar Panny plasma? They have simple brushed aluminum frames in silver, dark silver, red and blue. Seeing that B&O uses (or used) Panny plasmas, a switch should be possible. I've heard that the B&O's even accept panny cards, so it may be an easy swap.
rdb001 is offline  
post #286 of 5067 Old 10-02-2006, 10:18 PM
Member
 
rukawa11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey im a total noob to this, whenever i check out the specs for this tv, it never says hdmi ports. This tv does have them right? thx
rukawa11 is offline  
post #287 of 5067 Old 10-02-2006, 10:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
c627627's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
9UK is a commercial display with no tuner, speakers, stand, HDMI etc.

There are blades with HDMI inputs that can be installed like PCI cards can be added to a computer. Theortically, you could install HDMI 1.3 but there is no word of HDMI 1.3 blade yet...
c627627 is offline  
post #288 of 5067 Old 10-02-2006, 10:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
c627627's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdb001 View Post

Does anyone know whether it is possible to order a new bezel...

Yes, before 9UKs came out, I looked into this but found they were too expensive. There are links around to web sites that specialize in this...
c627627 is offline  
post #289 of 5067 Old 10-02-2006, 11:36 PM
Member
 
rukawa11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by c627627 View Post

9UK is a commercial display with no tuner, speakers, stand, HDMI etc.

There are blades with HDMI inputs that can be installed like PCI cards can be added to a computer. Theortically, you could install HDMI 1.3 but there is no word of HDMI 1.3 blade yet...

wait, so if i get a TH-42PH9UK, theres no hd tuner? how much are hdmi blades and what is hdmi 1.3? thanks a lot.
rukawa11 is offline  
post #290 of 5067 Old 10-03-2006, 05:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
jawatkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rukawa11 View Post

wait, so if i get a TH-42PH9UK, theres no hd tuner? how much are hdmi blades and what is hdmi 1.3? thanks a lot.

That's right, no tuner. It is a commercial model. An HDMI blade, which adds one HDMI port to the 9UK has an MSRP of $145.00. Here is information about HDMI 1.3:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI#HDMI_1.3

Justin
jawatkin is offline  
post #291 of 5067 Old 10-03-2006, 08:56 AM
Member
 
Mohawk77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Everyone...

I'm new to the forum. This without a doubt is one of my favorite forums on the internet. I have spent hours reading posts.

I've decided on 50PH9UK over the 65PF9UK & PRO-1140HD. I plan to pull the trigger soon.

This is what I have now:
1. Sony DVP-NC685V
2. Yamaha RX-V995 Receiver
3. Dish Network Subscription.

This is the future:
1. 50PH9UK
2. OPPO - OPDV971H
3. ISF Calibration

I'm confused about the HDMI Blade, Cables (Monster??), type of stand for Plasma to sit on etc etc? Could someone offer guidance and recommend peripherals to achieve a superior HD picture based on my future purchase above. I have read that I need an HDMI Board or Blade?? because panny 9UK has no HDMI Inputs etc etc. What do I need to buy?

Thanks
Cheers
Mohawk
Mohawk77 is offline  
post #292 of 5067 Old 10-03-2006, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
if you like movies/dvd get the toshiba hda1 forum sponsor Value Electronics has a power buy on it for $400, or the hda2 will be out soon. instead of the oppo since the toshiba hda1 is a true hd dvd player and does great upconverting sd dvd. should really show off your 50 9uk.

dont waste money on monster cables. they are way overpriced. you can get good solid well built cables for a great price from a forum sponsor, monoprice.com

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #293 of 5067 Old 10-03-2006, 12:42 PM
Senior Member
 
goMO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so how long did you guys keep the box? I've had my 9UK well over a month now. can I get rid of the box?
goMO is offline  
post #294 of 5067 Old 10-03-2006, 12:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
c627627's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Permission granted.

Should things go wrong however while and you are within warranty, you'll be on your own to find a box to ship it in.
c627627 is offline  
post #295 of 5067 Old 10-03-2006, 01:18 PM
Member
 
jschuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Fairfax, VA USA
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All!
New owner here. Just received my TH-42PH9UK today from Visual Apex. My buying experience has been excellent, with a low price and excellent communication from VA. I definitely recommend them.

I bought my stand from provantage.com (TY-ST08-K). A very low price and fast delivery. I ordered on a Tuesday morning and received the stand first thing the next morning! (I didn't pay for speedy delivery or anything - just FedEx Ground).

I've only really had time to hook the TV up to my existing setup - video through S-Video only. I have an install scheduled for the Directv HD DVR (HR20) scheduled for the end of next week and I can't wait! For now I am going to borrow my brother in law's HD tuner and connect via component.

I will probably buy the HDMI blade soon. Anyone have tips on an inexpensive, reliable site to purchase from? Should I wait for the next generation blade since the 'latest' is the 8th generation blade? Eventually I also want to get a new audio/video receiver that can switch HDMI (or at least component at a minimum).

This site, the information found herein, and the members here were great during my research and purchasing phase. Thanks!

- Jeff
jschuman is offline  
post #296 of 5067 Old 10-03-2006, 03:06 PM
Member
 
rdb001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by c627627 View Post

Yes, before 9UKs came out, I looked into this but found they were too expensive. There are links around to web sites that specialize in this...


Are you saying that you found a B&O bezel for a Panny, or just a different bezel for a Panny? Do you have any links? Thanks.
rdb001 is offline  
post #297 of 5067 Old 10-03-2006, 05:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
c627627's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas
Posts: 888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe the issue came up when we discussed how ugly the silver consumer bezel was and that several third party sites may have been listed.

This was in the original 9UK thread that still exists, is a duplicate of this thread that imho should never have been started because instead of all the info being in one place, it's split in two places, happy hunting through the original monster thread:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=685667
c627627 is offline  
post #298 of 5067 Old 10-03-2006, 10:46 PM
Newbie
 
sparkymaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Coming off of a 20 year old 25" XBR that finally gave out and I am hoping someone can help me out.

I think I've narrowed down to the 37PH9UK or a Sharp 37D90U.

Both are about the same price, obviously the main difference being plasma vs. LCD.

WRT the panny... is there any difference between the 37PH9UK and the 37PX60U? Also, I know speakers are not included in the 37PH9UK, but I can't tell on the stand. Newegg makes it look like it comes with, but I am skeptical of that.

At any rate, can't wait to get a new TV in house!

Thanks.
sparkymaster is offline  
post #299 of 5067 Old 10-04-2006, 04:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
jawatkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkymaster View Post

Coming off of a 20 year old 25" XBR that finally gave out and I am hoping someone can help me out.

I think I've narrowed down to the 37PH9UK or a Sharp 37D90U.

Both are about the same price, obviously the main difference being plasma vs. LCD.

WRT the panny... is there any difference between the 37PH9UK and the 37PX60U? Also, I know speakers are not included in the 37PH9UK, but I can't tell on the stand. Newegg makes it look like it comes with, but I am skeptical of that.

At any rate, can't wait to get a new TV in house!

Thanks.

Check Panasonic's website for specs on the 379UK, but basically the differences are the looks, no tuner, no speakers, no stand, fewer inputs, and a great deal more picture configurability. You can add inputs with additional boards that slide into slots on the back of the 9UK.

Hope this helps.

Justin
jawatkin is offline  
post #300 of 5067 Old 10-04-2006, 06:25 AM
Member
 
jschuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Fairfax, VA USA
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkymaster View Post

Coming off of a 20 year old 25" XBR that finally gave out and I am hoping someone can help me out.

I think I've narrowed down to the 37PH9UK or a Sharp 37D90U.

Both are about the same price, obviously the main difference being plasma vs. LCD.

WRT the panny... is there any difference between the 37PH9UK and the 37PX60U? Also, I know speakers are not included in the 37PH9UK, but I can't tell on the stand. Newegg makes it look like it comes with, but I am skeptical of that.

At any rate, can't wait to get a new TV in house!

Thanks.

Bruzzi's Panasonic Plasma FAQ is an excellent resource and will answer ALL of your questions, plus more:
http://www.bruzzi.ws/plasma-faq/forumdisplay.php?f=16

In short, no speakers, no tuner, no stand, less inputs, better looks (subjective but is common perception), more configurable (regarding inputs), and more available PQ settings. I just purchased the 42" 9UK version and am really happy so far (of course it's been 1 day). I used the Bruzzi FAQ above extensively.
jschuman is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Th 50ph9uk 50 Plasma Display
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off