The OFFICIAL Panasonic 9UK Owner's Thread - Page 170 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5071 of 5075 Old 08-29-2016, 07:30 PM
Senior Member
 
TopShelf17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by KC7EGF View Post
Does anyone own a TH-50PH9UK?

I purchased one for $25.00, not a thing wrong with it except no remote. Beautiful!
You got a steal.
I am selling mine now but want more than $25 for it.
TopShelf17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5072 of 5075 Old 08-29-2016, 07:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Techniwizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Keansburg, NJ
Posts: 1,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool Series 9UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by TopShelf17 View Post
You got a steal.
I am selling mine now but want more than $25 for it.
The original remote for that model is

EUR7636070R

Panasonic no longer has these but eBay will have them once in awhile.

Techniwizard posts as an Independent Servicer
Techniwizard is offline  
post #5073 of 5075 Old 12-02-2016, 02:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I got a chance to pickup a TH-PF9UK for $100 on craigslist - should I go for it?

It does have a remote - it does not have a stand. So mounting this could be a pain.

Common problems and what kind of lifespan can I expect with this thing?

I plan to check the on/off cycles and the total hours
kawasakiguy37 is offline  
 
post #5074 of 5075 Old 12-03-2016, 07:33 PM
Senior Member
 
meli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by kawasakiguy37 View Post
I got a chance to pickup a TH-PF9UK for $100 on craigslist - should I go for it?
I don't think I'd do it. These sets are pretty old now, regardless of how many hours it's been turned on. Mine died after about 7 years. Not a terrible lifespan, but I'm the type of person who only turns on the TV when watching a movie. I never have the TV on as background noise. So I probably logged around 15 hours per week, less than 6,000 hours after 7 years.

When my Panny died, I bought a larger Samsung plasma for $500. I think the blacks were slightly better on my Panny (especially when it was new), but otherwise the Samsung has a as good as, or better, picture.

The biggest difference was the weight. Being accustomed to the weight of my 42-inch 2006 plasma, I couldn't believe how much lighter my 51-inch 2013 plasma was. To hang the old 42-inch plasma required 2 people because of the weight. I hung the 51-inch plasma easily by myself.

Last edited by meli; 12-04-2016 at 11:02 PM.
meli is offline  
post #5075 of 5075 Old 01-07-2017, 12:02 AM
Senior Member
 
GnatGoSplat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I wanted a smart TV in a spare bedroom. Nothing fancy, I really just want Youtube app, Plex, Crackle, etc. Stuff that comes on a typical smart TV. Then I had the big idea to repurpose my old TH-50PH9UK which has not been used for over a year now, converting it to a smart TV seemed like the more economical choice considering they're apparently only worth $25 on CL. So I picked up a Roku Premiere for $20 which I just got today. I have an HDMI2HDMI+Audio box coming to take care of the sound part of things, but thought I'd test it out by connecting it to the PH9UK using an HDMI to DVI-D adapter (my PH9UK has the TY-42TM6D DVI board in it). Well, this didn't work. The Roku boot screen shows up, but with a pink background and it kept bootlooping (Roku boot screen is supposed to have a black background). I assumed it was trying to autodetect the TV and failing, causing the bootloop, so I plugged it into an old 2009 Sony 1080p LCD and that worked. I got through setup and made sure it's 720p, a resolution the PH9UK should support. Plugged it back into the PH9UK and boot screen still pink, and when it gets to the home screen, it's just solid pink with nothing visible. To test the HDMI-to-DVI adapter, I plugged it into a PC monitor and that worked fine. The Roku detects both the PC monitor and Sony TV as supporting HDCP 1.4. According to Google, the TY-42TM6D only supports HDCP 1.1. Is this pink screen an HDCP issue? Can I get this Roku to work on the PH9UK if I buy one of those $12 HDCP stripping splitter boxes?

UPDATE: Was not an HDCP issue. I got one of those splitters that strips HDCP and it didn't make any difference. TH-50PH9UK w/TY-42TM6D is simply not compatible with Roku Premiere. Roku Streaming Stick works just fine with it, using HDMI2HDMI+Audio box to get sound out of the Roku.

Shawn

Last edited by GnatGoSplat; 01-27-2017 at 10:53 AM.
GnatGoSplat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Th 50ph9uk 50 Plasma Display
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off