Philips 42PF9631D HD Plasma - Page 55 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1621 of 1646 Old 08-18-2013, 08:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 2,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TravelRN View Post

What was the cost on your paper? I'm having that problem now, and I doubt that it is under warrantee. Could you please email me the price per capacitor if possible?

What do you mean the cost on paper ? The capacitors are very cheap, like $3/each....whole thing with S&H should cost about $10.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1622 of 1646 Old 08-21-2013, 05:01 PM
Member
 
advil_yum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
If anyone in Ontario, or Canada for that matter is interested in parts for their 42pf9631, I have about half of mine disassembled right now. I had intentions of repairing the Y-board, but lost interest in doing so and now just want it gone. Well, actually, my wife wants it gone. rolleyes.gif
So, if you're seeing this in the next day or two, please contact me ASAP as it's heading to the dump soon.

Disclaimer: I have repaired the main board's two problem capacitors and after that fix, it lasted about 1.5 years before the Y-board went - well, I assume that it is the Y-board. I had difficulty getting access to remove the Y-board in order to replace it and don't have the room or the time to keep it in the state that it's in right now, so it's going.

It's essentially in pieces right now. I live in Kitchener-Waterloo, and it's free. I'd rather someone repair and enjoy it rather than dump it, to be honest.
advil_yum is offline  
post #1623 of 1646 Old 10-18-2013, 12:25 PM
Newbie
 
kamdog211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PhilpsPhanatic,

I know this post is really, really late. But I wanted to make sure I posted so that it could help others (this likely won't). I ordered the caps and attempted to find them but could not locate them at all. I looked all over the place, even using a magnifying glass and 200 lumen flashlight. After I while, I just gave up and gave it to someone who thought they could fix it but they could not. I'm not sure what happened but I just couldn't locate those two caps!!!

Anyway, after not being to fix the issue I decided to by the Vizio M series 55" and am very happy with it.

Sorry for the really late reply but I have been busy and just got around to this.
kamdog211 is offline  
post #1624 of 1646 Old 10-30-2013, 09:13 AM
Newbie
 
philipsphubar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

*BUMP*

 

Greetings, All!

 

I just acquired a 42PF9431D/37 (man. 09/2006) whose red LED blinks 8x when powered. No picture. No sound. Error code 8 apparently is a 1v2 error. I thought it could be remedied with a new power supply, but when I connected and powered up, same result. I've struggled to keep my eyes open through the whole thread, but I can't seem to find the answer to what ails this set. If anyone has the answer, please do tell.

philipsphubar is offline  
post #1625 of 1646 Old 11-12-2013, 12:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 2,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Kam.....the specific model number for the 2 caps that solve the 7-Blinking LED problem are listed in the 30's Pages on this thread. They are available from Digikey.

Sorry you somehow missed it but tell whoever has the TV it is fixable for about $7 in parts and 45 minutes of time.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1626 of 1646 Old 11-12-2013, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 2,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipsphubar View Post

*BUMP*
Greetings, All! I just acquired a 42PF9431D/37 (man. 09/2006) whose red LED blinks 8x when powered. No picture. No sound. Error code 8 apparently is a 1v2 error. I thought it could be remedied with a new power supply, but when I connected and powered up, same result. I've struggled to keep my eyes open through the whole thread, but I can't seem to find the answer to what ails this set. If anyone has the answer, please do tell.
P

Hi Phil.....are you SURE it's 8-Blinks ?

There was a manual posted somewhere on this thread -- I'll look to see if I have it -- which ID'd all the ERROR or Service Manual (SM) problems. That might narrow the problem.

I don't know what a 1v2 error is....tried Googling it to see if similar panels/TVs had that problem ??
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1627 of 1646 Old 11-12-2013, 10:09 PM
Newbie
 
philipsphubar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks for your reply, Phan!

 

8 blinks is confirmed. When I plug it in, a relay clicks like it wants to turn on, but apparently a power source is missing and it goes into safe mode whereupon the red LED blinks 8x. I have a copy of the service manual, and as far as I can tell, what's missing is a 1.2v jolt that tells the whole system to light up. It says to check fuse 1U01, resistor 3U22, etc., and I have no idea which board to find those components on, except maybe the main video board. I've already blown $50 unnecessarily on a power supply. I could probably risk another $20 on the main video board, but I want to be sure I'm chasing the right target. BTW, the service manual is a fairly sizable pdf, so if you have a way to send it to you, I'll send it.

 

I've seen where many of these flat panels were fixed by replacing 2 caps on an internal board, which board I don't know. I have as yet to find another of this model with a similar issue.

 

What should be my next move?

philipsphubar is offline  
post #1628 of 1646 Old 11-13-2013, 05:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 2,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipsphubar View Post

Thanks for your reply, Phan! 8 blinks is confirmed. When I plug it in, a relay clicks like it wants to turn on, but apparently a power source is missing and it goes into safe mode whereupon the red LED blinks 8x. I have a copy of the service manual, and as far as I can tell, what's missing is a 1.2v jolt that tells the whole system to light up. It says to check fuse 1U01, resistor 3U22, etc., and I have no idea which board to find those components on, except maybe the main video board. I've already blown $50 unnecessarily on a power supply. I could probably risk another $20 on the main video board, but I want to be sure I'm chasing the right target. BTW, the service manual is a fairly sizable pdf, so if you have a way to send it to you, I'll send it.I've seen where many of these flat panels were fixed by replacing 2 caps on an internal board, which board I don't know. I have as yet to find another of this model with a similar issue.
What should be my next move?


(1) Go back and read FORWARD from about Page 30 or so on this thread...that seemed to be the time period where we solved alot of the problems.

(2) Yes, the 2 capacitors for the 7 (not 8 !!!) Blinking LED problem fixed the problem....do you see 2 smaller-sized caps with blown 'tops' that might be showing some black ooze ? If so, then maybe they should be replaced.

(3) Can you get the TV turned on using PLUG/UNPLUG (I gave a detailed method for this procedure somewhere in the 30's or 40's).

Report back.....
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1629 of 1646 Old 11-13-2013, 06:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 2,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Weirdsville Dept: I had to change the 3300uf/10v. caps on the 50" 9631 after about a year of having it (bought used with 1,800 hours) and total hours at about 5500....but after replacing them, I have gone OVER 10,000 HOURS with the replacement capacitors and they are only rated for 7,000 hours (the originals on my sister 42" lasted about 6,800 hours).

Having typed this, now watch....they'll go on me in the next 2 weeks.........biggrin.gif
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1630 of 1646 Old 11-14-2013, 07:11 AM
Newbie
 
philipsphubar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilipsPhanatic View Post


(1) Go back and read FORWARD from about Page 30 or so on this thread...that seemed to be the time period where we solved alot of the problems.

(2) Yes, the 2 capacitors for the 7 (not 8 !!!) Blinking LED problem fixed the problem....do you see 2 smaller-sized caps with blown 'tops' that might be showing some black ooze ? If so, then maybe they should be replaced.

(3) Can you get the TV turned on using PLUG/UNPLUG (I gave a detailed method for this procedure somewhere in the 30's or 40's).

Report back.....

 

(3) Finally found a listing of PLUG/UNPLUG at post #1271 on page 43 and gave it a whirl. I found it helpful to plug the TV power cord into a switch-equipped power strip for more accurate timing of PLUG/UNPLUG. Here's what happens: PLUG...RED and GREEN LED light up and relay clicks simultaneously...LEDs turn off then RED LED blinks 8 times. It seems that whether I PLUG/UNPLUG in the blink of an eye or not, it would make no difference. The system seems to build up enough capacitive energy to power 3 sets of 8 blinks before it sputters out. Pressing the power switch only dissipates the capacitive energy faster by spreading electricity thru the circuits. So in essence, no, the TV does not turn on.

 

(2) Surprisingly, the original power supply didn't have the 2 3300uf capacitors, and none of the capacitors was bulging. The refurb power supply has the 3300uf caps, but they look like brand new Nichicons, so either way, I might assume (you know where that leads) that both power supplies should be 100% and I should be looking for my problem circuit elsewhere.

 

(1) What I've read so far mostly pertains to 7 blinks and it seems like you get pretty good results. I seem to be the only one with this problem.

 

I feel confident I can desolder/solder any component in this device, or I could replace just about any board for a reasonable cost, but I would much rather not trod around blindly. I made a mistake replacing an apparently good power supply, and I'm hoping my next purchase will be the right one. Your assistance is most appreciated.

philipsphubar is offline  
post #1631 of 1646 Old 11-15-2013, 09:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 2,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Philips, what's your next move ? It seems like cap replacement is a waste, the only thing I can think of is a Y-Board problem or that 6-3 blinking problem that 1 or 2 people (but not all) solved by removing a bad fuse. I think this was in Pages 35-45 or so.

Main power OR video board, it seems like it's likely 1 stray part that has gone bad. The question is, which part ? Does the Service Manual say specifically which ?

I do not recall any 8-Blinking LED problem ever on this or any other forum......eek.gif
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1632 of 1646 Old 11-16-2013, 10:02 AM
Newbie
 
philipsphubar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Crap.

 

I will now have to print the service manual and pick it apart to see if I can trace the open circuit to the source of the problem. Maybe if I familiarize myself with the terminology of the problem, I might be able to cross-reference it to another brand of plasma TV that may have this as a common occurrence. I may have to shelve this project for lack of space and time, though.

 

Something I'm finding odd, though, is that from most descriptions here, POWER ON or PLUG lights RED LED and GREEN LED separately, whereas when I power this TV, both LEDs fire simultaneously. Am I observing this correctly?

philipsphubar is offline  
post #1633 of 1646 Old 11-18-2013, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 2,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipsphubar View Post

Something I'm finding odd, though, is that from most descriptions here, POWER ON or PLUG lights RED LED and GREEN LED separately, whereas when I power this TV, both LEDs fire simultaneously. Am I observing this correctly?

No, it should be just one or the other.

Are you sure you can see both LEDs simultaneously ?
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1634 of 1646 Old 11-18-2013, 02:02 PM
Newbie
 
philipsphubar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Both RED and GREEN fire simultaneously, like it's doing a system diagnostic. Then they turn off and the 8 RED blinks start. I even unscrewed the LED panel so that I could observe it better during PLUG/UNPLUG. I haven't been able to make any progress tracing the 1.2vdc circuit.

 

:confused:

philipsphubar is offline  
post #1635 of 1646 Old 11-20-2013, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 2,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't have any recollection of ANY red-green LED firing at the same time. It seems like an impossibility.

I Googled your problem, nothing. And I don't recall anybody else having it on AVS Forum.

No bad caps....no bad fuses ? If PLUG/UNPLUG won't get the TV on, I don't know what to try next. mad.gif

Does it make any SOUNDS when you try and power it on ????
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1636 of 1646 Old 12-11-2013, 08:24 AM
Newbie
 
aclark20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 50PF9631D started giving me the 6 long 3 short error a few weeks ago. It started off slow, one unplug fixed it, maybe it worked for a few days after, etc. Then it started getting worse and worse, to the point where it would take 10 minutes of plug/unplug to get it on. I inspected the PS board and found the two bulging Cap's. Replacement seems to have made the problem go away. Currently at 3 days without a sign of the problem anymore.

Interesting that the 7 blinks isn't the only fault code thrown with the same faulty part.

Anyhow, thanks to all who put in their time on figuring this one out, My tv went from broken to fixed in about half an hour, and for less than $10!
aclark20 is offline  
post #1637 of 1646 Old 12-19-2013, 07:29 AM
Newbie
 
djrobbaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

removed due to a week with no response on thread

djrobbaron is offline  
post #1638 of 1646 Old 12-29-2013, 09:53 AM
Newbie
 
philipsphubar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilipsPhanatic View Post

I don't have any recollection of ANY red-green LED firing at the same time. It seems like an impossibility.

I Googled your problem, nothing. And I don't recall anybody else having it on AVS Forum.

No bad caps....no bad fuses ? If PLUG/UNPLUG won't get the TV on, I don't know what to try next. mad.gif

Does it make any SOUNDS when you try and power it on ????

 

It clicks relays like it wants to power up, but then RED and GREEN LEDs fire simultaneously, then 8 RED blinks. I haven't as yet tested any fuses, but I have found a slightly bulging cap at C5060 on the YSUS board. Will replace cap and see what it does.

 

In the meantime, I've had a flat panel computer monitor fail and I just acquired a Panasonic TC-P50S30 that reportedly has 7 blinks. The monitor is repaired but not tested, and I have to reassemble the new (old) plasma TV to diagnose the problem. TV components shouldn't fail, but since they do, it seems like Panasonic made it easier to diagnose.

 

Holler back if you find any new clues to bringing this TV back to life.

philipsphubar is offline  
post #1639 of 1646 Old 01-07-2014, 09:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 2,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by djrobbaron View Post

removed due to a week with no response on thread

You have to allow for more time, these threads are largely inactive and you posted around the Holiday season !!!
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1640 of 1646 Old 01-21-2014, 09:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 2,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aclark20 View Post

My 50PF9631D started giving me the 6 long 3 short error a few weeks ago. It started off slow, one unplug fixed it, maybe it worked for a few days after, etc. Then it started getting worse and worse, to the point where it would take 10 minutes of plug/unplug to get it on. I inspected the PS board and found the two bulging Cap's. Replacement seems to have made the problem go away. Currently at 3 days without a sign of the problem anymore.Interesting that the 7 blinks isn't the only fault code thrown with the same faulty part.Anyhow, thanks to all who put in their time on figuring this one out, My tv went from broken to fixed in about half an hour, and for less than $10!

Congrats, AC.......yes, it is strange that the 6L-3S Blinking Problem sometimes is fixed with the cap replacement just like the 7-Blink syndrome. Maybe it's different Y-Boards or panels or something in certain models.

What is VERY STRANGE is that after having to replace the capacitors on both my 42" and 50" (at 6,800 and 5,200 hours, respectively)....the 50" has tacked on an incredible 10,000 hours without any problems !!!! Yet as I recall, the caps from Digikey were the same as the original parts, only rated for 7,000 hours.

Oh well, no complaints.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1641 of 1646 Old 01-25-2014, 06:53 AM
Newbie
 
wildrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10

 

Brothers Philips 42PF9631D has had issue for a while not all ways switching on.

 

If he cycles switch a few times then would start now will not power on at all just blue led and flashing red.

 

But no code just constant flashing on the red

 

Have removed back and had good look and no visible blown caps any guidance?

 

Thanks john

wildrat is offline  
post #1642 of 1646 Old 01-29-2014, 05:51 PM
Newbie
 
Ham Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I also have a 42PF9631D/37 with the red light blinking 7 times however my power board is not like the one in the earlier posts and I have no bulged caps so what would my next move be? here is a pick of what my board looks like.

LEAD Technologies Inc. V1.01

Ham Bone is offline  
post #1643 of 1646 Old 07-12-2014, 08:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 2,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildrat View Post
 Brothers Philips 42PF9631D has had issue for a while not all ways switching on.If he cycles switch a few times then would start now will not power on at all just blue led and flashing red.But no code just constant flashing on the red Have removed back and had good look and no visible blown caps any guidance?Thanks john
Wild, I'm not sure but as a last resort you should try and replace the 3300 caps because they seem to be the main problem, even when the LED is flashing a different code than the 7-Blinking LEDs.

Blue LED ? I'm not aware that there is a blue LED...just GREEN or RED. Are you in the U.S. or Europe ???
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1644 of 1646 Old 07-12-2014, 08:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 2,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ham Bone View Post
I also have a 42PF9631D/37 with the red light blinking 7 times however my power board is not like the one in the earlier posts and I have no bulged caps so what would my next move be? here is a pick of what my board looks like.
Ham, I would do the cap replacement, they might be fried on the inside. If you are getting the 7-Blinking LEDs it's 99.9% certitude that you need to replace the 3300's. Is the TV powering on with PLUG-UNPLUG...if so, that confirms it even if the caps look OK to you (sometimes they are clearly 'popped' other times not so).

There are different circuit boards -- go back and check pages 25-45 or so for pictures and stuff -- but as I recall the solution for any board with 7-Blinks is to do the 2 cap replacements.

Report back !
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1645 of 1646 Old 07-12-2014, 08:14 PM
Newbie
 
Ham Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Old post, never fixed it and ended junking it.
Ham Bone is offline  
post #1646 of 1646 Old 07-13-2014, 10:30 AM
Senior Member
 
homerging's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Capacitors don't always bulge or burst when they have failed. The Samwha 3300uf 10v capacitors are extremely failure prone and when they are present their replacement should be the first move even if they look good. Panasonic FR 3300uf 16v are good substitutes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilipsPhanatic View Post

What is VERY STRANGE is that after having to replace the capacitors on both my 42" and 50" (at 6,800 and 5,200 hours, respectively)....the 50" has tacked on an incredible 10,000 hours without any problems !!!! Yet as I recall, the caps from Digikey were the same as the original parts, only rated for 7,000 hours.
Rated for 7,000 hours at 105 degrees celsius means they should last 14,000 hours at 95 degrees, 28,000 at 85 degrees...
homerging is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Philips 37pf9631d 37 Inch Lcd Hdtv With Ambilight , Philips Consumer Electronic , Philips Consumer Electronics
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off