Philips 42PF9631D HD Plasma - Page 56 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1651 of 1672 Old 09-19-2014, 05:31 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
phillips 50 PF9631D/37

does anyone know where to get the owners manual or tech manual (prefered) for this Phillips tv 50PF9631D/37
this tv shuts off then red flashing light comes on has anyone figured out what the problem is & how to repair? I can't afford a new tv right now & I'm sure repair is going to be costly hoping this will be easy fix cause I will admit I am not a technically savvy female. Thanks
dolphin@bluemarble.net is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1652 of 1672 Old 09-19-2014, 09:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,775
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by dolphin@bluemarble.net View Post
does anyone know where to get the owners manual or tech manual (prefered) for this Phillips tv 50PF9631D/37 this tv shuts off then red flashing light comes on has anyone figured out what the problem is & how to repair? I can't afford a new tv right now & I'm sure repair is going to be costly hoping this will be easy fix cause I will admit I am not a technically savvy female. Thanks
Hi Dolphin....does the TV shut OFF or not turn on ?

If you are getting 7 blinking red LEDs, then you have a very simple problem to fix the TV. It's explained in this thread....go back to pages 25-35 or thereabouts and you'll see detailed explanations and pics and everything.

Basically, if it's the 7-Blinking LEDs, you need to replace capacitors which takes 45 minutes and $10 worth of parts.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1653 of 1672 Old 09-19-2014, 09:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,775
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Dolphin....if you can't get the TV turned on normally because it's the 7-Blinking Red LED problem, you CAN get it to work if you do the Plug-Unplug thing, also explained in this thread.

It won't last forever...probably a few weeks at most before you get tired of doing it, but it's a short-term solution until you get someone to help you replace the capacitors.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1654 of 1672 Old 11-02-2014, 07:40 AM
Newbie
 
djantj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,


I have a similar set 42pf9831d (LCD)


I have noticed than via HDMI (ps3) that the image is partially over to the right, so could do with minor horizontal adjustment


I can get into the service menu, but no where to adjust the horizontal display.


Any ideas?
many thanks
djantj is offline  
post #1655 of 1672 Old 03-13-2015, 07:48 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
7 blinks

replaced the capactors. no luck. i do have a small LED on the power supply that is blinking 11 times in succession.
i have looked on this thread for the service manual but no luck. jerdanmogley @ gmail com

Thank You in advance for the help
jerdanmogley is offline  
post #1656 of 1672 Old 05-09-2015, 09:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,775
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerdanmogley View Post
replaced the capactors. no luck. i do have a small LED on the power supply that is blinking 11 times in succession. i have looked on this thread for the service manual but no luck. jerdanmogley @ gmail com
Thank You in advance for the help
Here is the Service Manual for the 9630, it should pretty much mimic the 9631 doubt there are any substantive differences:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/l3z5sgpmhm...anual.pdf?dl=0
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1657 of 1672 Old 05-26-2015, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,775
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by djantj View Post
Hi, I have a similar set 42pf9831d (LCD)I have noticed than via HDMI (ps3) that the image is partially over to the right, so could do with minor horizontal adjustmentI can get into the service menu, but no where to adjust the horizontal display.Any ideas?many thanks
I believe you can move it with the Philips Remote directional controls. No need to enter the SM.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1658 of 1672 Old 10-20-2015, 01:33 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Capacitors ok, but...

hello friends, greetings from Argentina, the land of Pope Francisco !! First I want to thank all the members of this forum for the rapid solution to this common problem found, the 7 flashes, by the failed capacitors.
I had all the symptoms, 6 and 3 blinks first, and then 7 flashes, until the TV would not turn over.
I just changed the two capacitors, and came back to life!
However, there is a problem. The top half of the screen looks like problems, errors in color. The bottom half looks perfect. Ambilight works perfect. Everything else perfect.
I guess that was a bad connector back with a contact, so I'm going to disarm again.
I wonder if anyone had the same problem, because it might not be a connector, but one of the 2 new capacitors may be faulty or bad soldier.
I thank you from and you can give me suggestions.
crlos2002 is offline  
post #1659 of 1672 Old 10-20-2015, 02:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Ok folks, it was my error, of course.... I forgot reconnect one plug on the PS.
Thank you very much, my plasma works OK, thank you!
crlos2002 is offline  
post #1660 of 1672 Old 10-20-2015, 03:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,775
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Great news, Crlos...now tell Kristina to stop screwing up the economy down there and let the free enterprise system work.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1661 of 1672 Old 10-20-2015, 04:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
jua juaaaa!! Yesss Phil!!, Kristina is the number one moth... fuc...r, she goes in 45 days, then we will breat!!!
crlos2002 is offline  
post #1662 of 1672 Old 10-21-2015, 11:22 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
New caps are thin.

What struck me is that the new capacitors are thinner than I took. In the photo, you can see to the left that brought the TV, in the middle 1 Sanyo (which put), and another right 1 Jackcon, I chose to not use to have a reputation for being shoddy.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0294.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	251.9 KB
ID:	1008129  
crlos2002 is offline  
post #1663 of 1672 Old 10-21-2015, 11:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,775
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by crlos2002 View Post
What struck me is that the new capacitors are thinner than I took. In the photo, you can see to the left that brought the TV, in the middle 1 Sanyo (which put), and another right 1 Jackcon, I chose to not use to have a reputation for being shoddy.
You should buy the ones we discussed a few years back in these pages from Digikey. They are almost identical to the originals.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1664 of 1672 Old 10-21-2015, 11:55 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
well, they are the ONLY ones in Argentina, and yes, I'm looking now that their life is 2000 to 4000hrs., I hope more... Now it is working perfect, going to look for Digikey for the next change, I'll tell you.
PhilipsPhanatic likes this.
crlos2002 is offline  
post #1665 of 1672 Old 10-21-2015, 01:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,775
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by crlos2002 View Post
well, they are the ONLY ones in Argentina, and yes, I'm looking now that their life is 2000 to 4000hrs., I hope more... Now it is working perfect, going to look for Digikey for the next change, I'll tell you.
The Digikey model number and parts number is listed in this thread, go back to pages 25-35 (approximately), I think.

They are rated 7,000 hours.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1666 of 1672 Old 08-19-2016, 05:22 PM
Newbie
 
cmorsanutto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilipsPhanatic View Post
The Digikey model number and parts number is listed in this thread, go back to pages 25-35 (approximately), I think.

They are rated 7,000 hours.
I saw this thread of yours of two years ago and I am in need of the Service Manual for my 50PF9631D/37 in order to identify a part. I have an image of the part but I can't upload it yet.... it is the strip with the buttons. My son (5 yo) broke the power button...

Any help is greatly appreciated. I would be happy if I could at least access the PDF of the manual you mention in the thread.

Thanks,

Christian M.
cmorsanutto is offline  
post #1667 of 1672 Old 08-19-2016, 08:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,775
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmorsanutto View Post
I saw this thread of yours of two years ago and I am in need of the Service Manual for my 50PF9631D/37 in order to identify a part. I have an image of the part but I can't upload it yet.... it is the strip with the buttons. My son (5 yo) broke the power button... Any help is greatly appreciated. I would be happy if I could at least access the PDF of the manual you mention in the thread. Thanks,
Christian M.
Here you go:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/x5od55elo7...anual.pdf?dl=0
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1668 of 1672 Old 08-22-2016, 08:44 AM
Newbie
 
cmorsanutto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Thank you!!
PhilipsPhanatic likes this.
cmorsanutto is offline  
post #1669 of 1672 Old 09-03-2016, 05:19 PM
Member
 
retexan599's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just wanted to post that I replaced my faithful old Phillips 50 PF9631D/37 in June of this year 2016. I got 10 years out of it and it had a good run with me. It was starting to have more and more frequent problems with the sound cutting out or getting garbled. Also, occasionally after startup the screen would be some vivid off color requiring turn off and on.

I replaced it with a 2016 Sony Bravia XBR - 55X850D UHD. The picture does not have the quality of the plasma, but it was time. As I have gotten used to the Sony, the picture looks fine with it, as the Philips fades from my memory. I do miss the Ambilight though.

In the Houston summer, the old plasma gave off a lot of heat, which is not there with the new set and that is a plus.

I like the increase of screen area going from 50" to 55". I would have gone 60" but do not have the physical space available.

"All good things...."
PhilipsPhanatic likes this.

John Hanley
Sugar Land, TX
SONY Bravia XBR -55X850D. 55”. UHD. Purchased June 2016 from Best Buy
DISH Satellite ViP622 receiver.
BOSE Quiet Comfort® 25 Acoustic Noise Cancelling® headphones.
Samsung progressive up-converting DVD player (DVP1080P9)
retexan599 is offline  
post #1670 of 1672 Old 09-23-2016, 12:17 PM
Member
 
scrybigtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Paging the Phanatic

Hey, PhilipsPhanatic: It's been like seven years since I've visited the forum. Just thought I'd check to see if you're still around (notice you posted in August).

My 42-inch Philips Ambilight is still in service, by the way. I have it in a bedroom and it's still showing a great picture – better than the 60-inch Smart TV in my den. I've never had any problems with it since replacing the two capacitors in 2009.

Anyhow, I'd certainly enjoy hearing from you again – we must have exchanged about a thousand posts back in the day.
PhilipsPhanatic likes this.
scrybigtv is offline  
post #1671 of 1672 Old Yesterday, 10:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,775
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Hey Scry and Retax....good to hear from you guys. Yup, 10 years ago I got my 9631.....about the same time as most of the others on this thread, give or take a few months. I guess the 9630's were closer to a year earlier.

As for my situation: I mentioned that I bought a 50" 9631 used on Ebay with 1,800 hours on it (very low for 3 years of use) back in late-2009. It became my main TV as I worked from home and in the nxt 5 1/2 years I basically put on about 20,000 hours on the TV . The caps went (as they did on my 42" purchased in Sept. 2006) but both TVs got new ones and kept on ticking. Unfortunately, the 50" has a loose something-or-other that was fixed by a good-old knock to a certain part of the back of the TV, which confirmed the loose connection problem involving some connectors. I think it has been diagnosed on this thread or another at AVS Forum but my electrical engineer friend was away so when the 50" went dark (still had sound) in May 2015 I bought a new Samsung 60" 5300 which is great (not a Smart TV but 10" extra size is nice and besides the Philips weren't Smart, either).

My 42" got relegated to bedroom duty, which is very low-usage except when I have guests. So after about 3 years of heavy-duty and an hourly count of about 6,800....it's only put on about 1,200 hours in the last 7 years. It may last me until 2030 !!!

It's good to hear from you guys. It's funny, despite a reputation for problems, many of us got great use out of our Philips sets. I really wish Philips would just make a few electrical changes to their top-of-the-line European sets and sell them over here. I think they have OLEDs and 4-sides Ambilight or glows or something all overe the wall. My Samsung is nice but I never got an after-market LED kit so dark-room viewing sees me just adjust the light sensors down low.

The 4Ks and OLEDs look great -- at least in a Best Buy or PC Richard. How they'd look showing basic HD cable I am not as convinced.

Keep in touch, fellas !
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1672 of 1672 Old Today, 05:07 PM
Member
 
scrybigtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes, and it's great to talk to you again, Phi-Phan, after all the years I've been away from the board. Like you, I purchased my 9631 in 2006, started having the capacitor issue in 2008 and finally got it resolved in 2009 (thanks to the information I learned, mostly from you and others on this board). After my Philips was repaired, I became busier than ever at work, and the time I spent on the board became less frequent, then eventually stopped altogether. But I thought about you guys often and just the other day decided, what the heck, it's time to renew some old acquaintances.

I agree that the performance of the 9631 was phenomenal after we finally got the problems resolved. Mine still has a great picture (on DirecTV). And the Ambilight panels are still going strong. The only issue I have is a few sparklies when the plasma is warming up. After five minutes or so, it looks as good as when it was new. I have a 60-inch Vizio Smart TV in my den that gives me a great picture, bunches of extras (Netflix, YouTube, etc.) and a Surround Sound system. But nothing beats a plasma when it comes to providing accurate blacks, and for having a great picture even when viewing from a ridiculous angle.

Anyway, I probably won't be here every day, but I promise to check the board at least once a week. So if you or any of the other guys want to talk, I will be available.
scrybigtv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Philips 37pf9631d 37 Inch Lcd Hdtv With Ambilight , Philips Consumer Electronic , Philips Consumer Electronics
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off