Philips 42PF9631D HD Plasma - Page 56 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1651 of 1665 Old 09-19-2014, 05:31 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
phillips 50 PF9631D/37

does anyone know where to get the owners manual or tech manual (prefered) for this Phillips tv 50PF9631D/37
this tv shuts off then red flashing light comes on has anyone figured out what the problem is & how to repair? I can't afford a new tv right now & I'm sure repair is going to be costly hoping this will be easy fix cause I will admit I am not a technically savvy female. Thanks
dolphin@bluemarble.net is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1652 of 1665 Old 09-19-2014, 09:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,738
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by dolphin@bluemarble.net View Post
does anyone know where to get the owners manual or tech manual (prefered) for this Phillips tv 50PF9631D/37 this tv shuts off then red flashing light comes on has anyone figured out what the problem is & how to repair? I can't afford a new tv right now & I'm sure repair is going to be costly hoping this will be easy fix cause I will admit I am not a technically savvy female. Thanks
Hi Dolphin....does the TV shut OFF or not turn on ?

If you are getting 7 blinking red LEDs, then you have a very simple problem to fix the TV. It's explained in this thread....go back to pages 25-35 or thereabouts and you'll see detailed explanations and pics and everything.

Basically, if it's the 7-Blinking LEDs, you need to replace capacitors which takes 45 minutes and $10 worth of parts.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1653 of 1665 Old 09-19-2014, 09:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,738
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Dolphin....if you can't get the TV turned on normally because it's the 7-Blinking Red LED problem, you CAN get it to work if you do the Plug-Unplug thing, also explained in this thread.

It won't last forever...probably a few weeks at most before you get tired of doing it, but it's a short-term solution until you get someone to help you replace the capacitors.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1654 of 1665 Old 11-02-2014, 07:40 AM
Newbie
 
djantj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,


I have a similar set 42pf9831d (LCD)


I have noticed than via HDMI (ps3) that the image is partially over to the right, so could do with minor horizontal adjustment


I can get into the service menu, but no where to adjust the horizontal display.


Any ideas?
many thanks
djantj is offline  
post #1655 of 1665 Old 03-13-2015, 07:48 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
7 blinks

replaced the capactors. no luck. i do have a small LED on the power supply that is blinking 11 times in succession.
i have looked on this thread for the service manual but no luck. jerdanmogley @ gmail com

Thank You in advance for the help
jerdanmogley is offline  
post #1656 of 1665 Old 05-09-2015, 09:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,738
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerdanmogley View Post
replaced the capactors. no luck. i do have a small LED on the power supply that is blinking 11 times in succession. i have looked on this thread for the service manual but no luck. jerdanmogley @ gmail com
Thank You in advance for the help
Here is the Service Manual for the 9630, it should pretty much mimic the 9631 doubt there are any substantive differences:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/l3z5sgpmhm...anual.pdf?dl=0
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1657 of 1665 Old 05-26-2015, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,738
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by djantj View Post
Hi, I have a similar set 42pf9831d (LCD)I have noticed than via HDMI (ps3) that the image is partially over to the right, so could do with minor horizontal adjustmentI can get into the service menu, but no where to adjust the horizontal display.Any ideas?many thanks
I believe you can move it with the Philips Remote directional controls. No need to enter the SM.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1658 of 1665 Old 10-20-2015, 01:33 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Capacitors ok, but...

hello friends, greetings from Argentina, the land of Pope Francisco !! First I want to thank all the members of this forum for the rapid solution to this common problem found, the 7 flashes, by the failed capacitors.
I had all the symptoms, 6 and 3 blinks first, and then 7 flashes, until the TV would not turn over.
I just changed the two capacitors, and came back to life!
However, there is a problem. The top half of the screen looks like problems, errors in color. The bottom half looks perfect. Ambilight works perfect. Everything else perfect.
I guess that was a bad connector back with a contact, so I'm going to disarm again.
I wonder if anyone had the same problem, because it might not be a connector, but one of the 2 new capacitors may be faulty or bad soldier.
I thank you from and you can give me suggestions.
crlos2002 is offline  
post #1659 of 1665 Old 10-20-2015, 02:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Ok folks, it was my error, of course.... I forgot reconnect one plug on the PS.
Thank you very much, my plasma works OK, thank you!
crlos2002 is offline  
post #1660 of 1665 Old 10-20-2015, 03:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,738
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Great news, Crlos...now tell Kristina to stop screwing up the economy down there and let the free enterprise system work.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1661 of 1665 Old 10-20-2015, 04:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
jua juaaaa!! Yesss Phil!!, Kristina is the number one moth... fuc...r, she goes in 45 days, then we will breat!!!
crlos2002 is offline  
post #1662 of 1665 Old 10-21-2015, 11:22 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
New caps are thin.

What struck me is that the new capacitors are thinner than I took. In the photo, you can see to the left that brought the TV, in the middle 1 Sanyo (which put), and another right 1 Jackcon, I chose to not use to have a reputation for being shoddy.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0294.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	251.9 KB
ID:	1008129  
crlos2002 is offline  
post #1663 of 1665 Old 10-21-2015, 11:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,738
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by crlos2002 View Post
What struck me is that the new capacitors are thinner than I took. In the photo, you can see to the left that brought the TV, in the middle 1 Sanyo (which put), and another right 1 Jackcon, I chose to not use to have a reputation for being shoddy.
You should buy the ones we discussed a few years back in these pages from Digikey. They are almost identical to the originals.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
post #1664 of 1665 Old 10-21-2015, 11:55 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
well, they are the ONLY ones in Argentina, and yes, I'm looking now that their life is 2000 to 4000hrs., I hope more... Now it is working perfect, going to look for Digikey for the next change, I'll tell you.
crlos2002 is offline  
post #1665 of 1665 Old 10-21-2015, 01:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,738
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by crlos2002 View Post
well, they are the ONLY ones in Argentina, and yes, I'm looking now that their life is 2000 to 4000hrs., I hope more... Now it is working perfect, going to look for Digikey for the next change, I'll tell you.
The Digikey model number and parts number is listed in this thread, go back to pages 25-35 (approximately), I think.

They are rated 7,000 hours.
PhilipsPhanatic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Philips 37pf9631d 37 Inch Lcd Hdtv With Ambilight , Philips Consumer Electronic , Philips Consumer Electronics
Gear in this thread

taboola here
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off