Official D-Nice Pioneer 6th/7th Generation Settings Thread!!!! - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 1976 Old 10-07-2006, 05:58 PM
Member
 
sabre223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Pioneer 4340 plasma with a Denon 2900 DVD player connected via component, and a Motorola 6200 HD cable box via DVI-HDMI conversion cable to the plasma.

sorry....should have been a little more clear.
sabre223 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 1976 Old 10-08-2006, 06:19 AM
Member
 
jrstech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

Turn off the 4:3 auto size feature in the options menu of the 5070.

If I turn off 4:3 auto size, how would the 5070 automatically stretch SD to wide? When I had auto size turned on I was only able to get the 5070 to take it out of stretch and automatically bring it back to Full when switching to a HD channel. When switching back to a SD channel it just stays in Full mode. On the 8300 should 480i & 480p be selected, and which 480's should I be selecting, Widescreen or Standard?
jrstech is offline  
post #93 of 1976 Old 10-08-2006, 06:41 AM
Member
 
TVstudyguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes. To clarify, I want to have all SD fill the screen (no bars). Want to keep it simple for everyone using it.
It seems that some people are having difficulty setting up the 8300 with their panel to work in this fashion.

Thanks
TVstudyguru is offline  
post #94 of 1976 Old 10-08-2006, 08:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,949
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrstech View Post

If I turn off 4:3 auto size, how would the 5070 automatically stretch SD to wide? When I had auto size turned on I was only able to get the 5070 to take it out of stretch and automatically bring it back to Full when switching to a HD channel. When switching back to a SD channel it just stays in Full mode. On the 8300 should 480i & 480p be selected, and which 480's should I be selecting, Widescreen or Standard?


The Pioneer will remember what format you set for SD (480i).

Set the SA8300 to output only 480i standard, 720p, and 1080i.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

D-Nice is offline  
post #95 of 1976 Old 10-08-2006, 10:09 AM
Member
 
EvilManatee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

Power off your SA8300. Press and hold the Guide and Info buttons on the SA8300 (not the remote) until you see a setup menu. Follow the directions.

Thanks D-Nice. I tried this today and the only output set was 1080i. I set my box to output 1080i, 720p, and 480i....however, the 480i setting made my SD channels look like total garbage. So I de-selected 480i and my SD channels are being output at 1080i which looks much much better. Do you know why this would be the case?

Also with the channels in 720p, I can't really see any difference in PQ between the box outputting 720p or 1080i. Am I missing something here? I wonder if I should just leave my box set to output everything at 1080i?
EvilManatee is offline  
post #96 of 1976 Old 10-08-2006, 10:13 AM
Member
 
jrstech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

The Pioneer will remember what format you set for SD (480i).

Set the SA8300 to output only 480i standard, 720p, and 1080i.

Thanks for all your help. It finally works. I had the 480i on the 8300 set to Widescreen, setting it to Standard made it work. However I had to set the 5070 to 4:3 Auto Wide for it to work. Turning it off would not resize it automatically.
jrstech is offline  
post #97 of 1976 Old 10-08-2006, 11:07 AM
Member
 
sabre223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sabre223 View Post

I have a Pioneer 4340 plasma with a Denon 2900 DVD player connected via component, and a Motorola 6200 HD cable box via DVI-HDMI conversion cable to the plasma.

sorry....should have been a little more clear.

D-nice, I know this is a older model, what I was asking is do you have any setting in your notes for this model, assuming that you had an opportunity to experiment with it back then.
sabre223 is offline  
post #98 of 1976 Old 10-09-2006, 09:13 AM
Newbie
 
Reynolds94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know what the best 5071 settings are for playing games (xbox 360, ps2)?

Also is it only a matter of time before i get burn in from playing games?

What about using the 5071 as a computer monitor?
Reynolds94 is offline  
post #99 of 1976 Old 10-09-2006, 09:28 AM
Member
 
gtthndr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you play video games all the time and don't view normal tv shows, dvd's etc. then yes. Same as a computer monitor, but I think acting as a computer monitor is worse then gaming. I say this because there is so much static information. There is not a lot of color variation, etc. At least with video games the whole screen is refreshing and colors are changing.

I have a 1140 and was playing XBOX this weekend. I've got all my burn in settings still as I've only had the tv for a week, but when I play the xbox I do turn the brightness up a little. I can't see anything otherwise. I run the break-in dvd at least 4 hours a day and the rest of the time is normal HD tv or SD (wide screen) viewing.
gtthndr is offline  
post #100 of 1976 Old 10-09-2006, 07:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jacksonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Summerfield, NC
Posts: 4,595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

[size=2][b]
Pioneer 427(0,1,2)/507(0,1,2)/607(0,1,2) with SA8300/3250 Cable Box (may work with other cable and DishTV/DirecTV satellite boxes)

Main Menu
AV Selection: User
Contrast: 32
Brightness: 0
Color: -6
Tint: 0
Sharpness: -5

Pro Adjust
Pure Cinema: ADV

Color Detail
Color Temp: Low

CTI: Off

NR
DNR: Off
MPEG NR: Off

Power Save Mode: Standard
H/V Position Adjust (HDMI Only): Verical +2

D-Nice, I'm using this setting with my TiVo S3 and it looks great. My wife loves the warm tone of the picture. Thank you so much for putting this together. We owe you a big one.
jacksonian is offline  
post #101 of 1976 Old 10-12-2006, 01:26 PM
Member
 
holeshot14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lakeville MN
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What do you recomend as far as settings for a PS2? Do you use the GAME setting or a custom setting? Thanks.

My 5070 has over 200 hrs on it now.
holeshot14 is offline  
post #102 of 1976 Old 10-12-2006, 03:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Schteevie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by holeshot14 View Post

What do you recomend as far as settings for a PS2? Do you use the GAME setting or a custom setting? Thanks.

My 5070 has over 200 hrs on it now.

You should baby it until 500 hours, and then still be conservative with static images until over 1000 hours.

I wouldn't ever use any of the default settings, especially for something like gaming that has static images (score/life bars etc)

I say stick with low contrast and brightness for gaming.
Schteevie is offline  
post #103 of 1976 Old 10-12-2006, 03:57 PM
Member
 
holeshot14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lakeville MN
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schteevie View Post

You should baby it until 500 hours, and then still be conservative with static images until over 1000 hours.

I wouldn't ever use any of the default settings, especially for something like gaming that has static images (score/life bars etc)

I say stick with low contrast and brightness for gaming.

I dont play games very often so I dont think it will be much of an issue. You should check the settings of the GAME mode, they are very close to the after break in settings that D-Nice suggested.
holeshot14 is offline  
post #104 of 1976 Old 10-12-2006, 06:51 PM
Newbie
 
Tylenol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D-Nice,

Thank you for all your input. I have lurked these forums for well over a year and I finally purchased a 5071 two months ago. I applied your break in settings and I am totally happy with the PQ. I have a Sony DVP-NC85H Upconvert DVD payer connected through HDMI. Any suggestions for the settings?

Also, this may not be suitable for this thread but its a simple question? How do you clean your frames? The black bezel gets dusty rather quickly and I'm scared to scratch it. I have had devices with this glossy finish before and its almost impossible not to scratch while taking the dust off. Thanks in advance for your input.
Tylenol is offline  
post #105 of 1976 Old 10-12-2006, 08:23 PM
Member
 
TwinsPoppa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tylenol View Post

How do you clean your frames? The black bezel gets dusty rather quickly and I'm scared to scratch it. I have had devices with this glossy finish before and its almost impossible not to scratch while taking the dust off. Thanks in advance for your input.

You could try a lens cleaning cloth. The kind that's microfiber. It's very cheap and designed not to scratch eye glasses. That's what I would use if I was really concerned about scratches.
TwinsPoppa is offline  
post #106 of 1976 Old 10-12-2006, 08:27 PM
Member
 
holeshot14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lakeville MN
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwinsPoppa View Post

You could try a lens cleaning cloth. The kind that's microfiber. It's very cheap and designed not to scratch eye glasses. That's what I would use if I was really concerned about scratches.

Yes, anything microfiber should be good. My 5070 came with a cloth that works good for both the screen and the frame.
holeshot14 is offline  
post #107 of 1976 Old 10-12-2006, 08:44 PM
Newbie
 
Tylenol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for your replies. The reason I asked about this is because in the past, I've had devices with this type of gloss finish and regardless of what I clean them with, I got miniature scratches on them. I don't refer to deep visible scratches but to the type you see on a car's clear coat when the sun hits directly. I suppose dust scratches as its taken off. Oh well, I guess I'll be brave enough and clean it sometime in the weekend. As long as the screen doesn't scratch, its fine.
Tylenol is offline  
post #108 of 1976 Old 10-13-2006, 05:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jacksonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Summerfield, NC
Posts: 4,595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I tried wiping my 6070 with a microfiber cloth and got some of those miniature scratches you're talking about. I think they're probably impossible to avoid, like you said, the dust causes microscopic scratches.
jacksonian is offline  
post #109 of 1976 Old 10-15-2006, 11:55 AM
Member
 
PanchoVilla67's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've seen all of D-Nice's "BREAK-IN" settings for the different models of plasma and dvd players, but have not seen "POST" break-in settings for the 5070. I am using an Oppo 971 and wanted to know recommended settings for both devices to use after the 200-hour break-in period.

Thanks for any help in advance.
PanchoVilla67 is offline  
post #110 of 1976 Old 10-15-2006, 07:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,949
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by PanchoVilla67 View Post

I've seen all of D-Nice's "BREAK-IN" settings for the different models of plasma and dvd players, but have not seen "POST" break-in settings for the 5070. I am using an Oppo 971 and wanted to know recommended settings for both devices to use after the 200-hour break-in period.

Thanks for any help in advance.

I think you need to re-read post #4 again


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

D-Nice is offline  
post #111 of 1976 Old 10-15-2006, 07:31 PM
Member
 
theueck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Marietta, Ga
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just passed 200 plus hours on the 5070 and this dude is "pure" with D Nice's post break in settings.

Auburn/Fla and NFL in HD superb!! Nothing like U Miami brawling in high def.

Color's and shadow detail are great, even on NBC prime time drama's.

I'm bowing to D Nice.....

Thanks again for enhancing our enjoyment.
theueck is offline  
post #112 of 1976 Old 10-15-2006, 07:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Jugdish69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: N.E. Wisconsin
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a stupid question as I am considering the 1140. Are most stretching DVD movies that have black bars on top/bottom of the screen even after the 200 hour mark, or is it a non-issue past the break in period? Reason for my question is I owned a 4th gen pioneer panel that scared the hell out of me with IR and returned it for a Panasonic, but the 1140 has one hell of a picture, and I am wondering how Pioneer has handled IR and Burn-in on the newer gen panels. I have bought and returned the Sony XBR2 and the Sharp D62U LCD's as the PQ is not up to par. Insight is appreciated.

Who's your daddy?
Jugdish69 is offline  
post #113 of 1976 Old 10-16-2006, 09:20 AM
Newbie
 
Targa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacksonian View Post

Well, I tried wiping my 6070 with a microfiber cloth and got some of those miniature scratches you're talking about. I think they're probably impossible to avoid, like you said, the dust causes microscopic scratches.

This isnt really a burn-in issue, but would be of interest to new owners.

Speaking of cleaning, I couldnt find much on this in my (940) manual. It warns against allowing "water droplets" to get inside (for obvious reason), but what type of solution if any is recommended for the glass/bezel?

(Like eyeglasses, it is not recommended to clean them dry, even with a "soft" cloth because of abrasive properties of dust on the unit, not necessarily on the cloth.)

I haven't had my unit long enough to require cleaning -yet.
Targa is offline  
post #114 of 1976 Old 10-16-2006, 09:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Joon TV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My break-in period is over now. The TV with D-Nice's settings are unreal. It is truely a treat to watch TV like this. I also played well over 15 hours of xbox over the past 4 days(godfather for 360) and no IR or burn in the least.

I have never used liquid on my 4341 ever. What I did, is I used a feather duster to get the laying dust off of the screen. Then I would use the cloth that came with the TV to clean it off. My 4341 still looks like it just came out of the box and not a single scratch on it. I am obviously going to do the same thing with my 5071 now.
Joon TV is offline  
post #115 of 1976 Old 10-16-2006, 09:28 AM
Member
 
theueck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Marietta, Ga
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Others more tech savvy than I may be of more help, but having owned 3 plasma's, the IR issue seems to be about equalizing pixel wear consistently.

If you vary viewing material IR should not be an issue, as long as you are filling the screen most of the time. The side bars should really not be a concern after 200/500/1000 hours.

I am not a gamer so can't comment on their impact.

These things are like tanks once you get past 500 hours; just be a bit cautious with the side bars at 1st and you should have few, if any, IR issues.
theueck is offline  
post #116 of 1976 Old 10-17-2006, 02:26 AM
Member
 
Starred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

Dynamic Contrast brings out dark area detail. It does not increase the chance of IR.

Strange, this completely contrasts with the opinion on this forum: http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=323983

Here they say:
Quote:


Dynamic Contrast = OFF (very important)

Starred is offline  
post #117 of 1976 Old 10-17-2006, 05:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richard korsgren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starred View Post

Strange, this completely contrasts with the opinion on this forum: http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=323983

Here they say:



'





Not to be confused as everyone 'sees' things differently. Afterall, that is why there is such a range of controls on a tv these days. You are the one who counts and you must adjust the controls to suit your eyes. If you do not want to go thru all of this, there is usually a factory default that will probably get you 'close'. From there you can make minor adjustments. Enjoy!
richard korsgren is offline  
post #118 of 1976 Old 10-17-2006, 06:02 AM
Member
 
Starred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This Dynamic Contrast setting is not about like vs not like, but about good vs not good
Starred is offline  
post #119 of 1976 Old 10-17-2006, 06:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CDLehner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dark Side of the Moon-Right Side of the Bay, MD
Posts: 9,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Forgive me, as I am noo to the wonderful world of Pioneer (just got my 4270 yesterday, after languishing with a Hitachi 42HDS69 for a few months), but I have a couple of questions about the D-Nice settings. Obviously D-Nice is D-a man in these parts of the Forum, so I am following his break-in settings for my SA8300, but why are these specific settings so good for break-in? With my Hitachi I just dialed everything wayyy down and ran the break-in DVD for a 100 hours or so before I even started seriously watching. Are these break-in settings meant to be the best balance for actually watching the set during the break-in period? Also, just out of curiosity...why is D-Nice da man?

More NooB to come,
CD

Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything. -Plato
CDLehner is offline  
post #120 of 1976 Old 10-17-2006, 08:36 AM
Member
 
holeshot14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lakeville MN
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

More settings coming soon

Anything new as far as the settings go?
holeshot14 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off