TH50PHD7UY and TH50PH9UK - Japanese HDs & Blu-Ray HD Movies PICS - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 981 Old 02-23-2007, 11:20 AM
Member
 
sigteacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Omicron Persei 8
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

There should be no difference with the OPPO. Other devices like the Toshiba HD DVD players will negotiate and can use YCbCr color space (10 bit) over HDMI and this has the potential of having less banding. Also, some devices may deliver blacker than blank and clip whites in RGB or YCBcr color spaces so the option is best.

I got both for my 509UK and connected the Oppo to the HDMI and left the DVI for the PC.

- Rich

So you are saying the HDMI has the potential to be slightly better even for regular hd or blue ray players right? Do you have to use a DVI to HDMI adapter for the Oppo or does it come with a separate hdmi cable?
sigteacher is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 981 Old 02-23-2007, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BruZZi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 5,868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sigteacher View Post

So you are saying the HDMI has the potential to be slightly better even for regular hd or blue ray players right? Do you have to use a DVI to HDMI adapter for the Oppo or does it come with a separate hdmi cable?

The 971H Players come with DVI (No HDMI). Oppo usually supply a DVI/HDMI and HDMI/HDMI cables for free.

The 970HD and 981HD Players come with HDMI (no DVI). Oppo usually supply HDMI/HDMI cables for both free.
BruZZi is offline  
post #363 of 981 Old 02-23-2007, 12:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by sigteacher View Post

So you are saying the HDMI has the potential to be slightly better even for regular hd or blue ray players right? Do you have to use a DVI to HDMI adapter for the Oppo or does it come with a separate hdmi cable?

Potentially. But I would not say that with any certaintly. It turns out the HD-A1 HD DVD player did not pass blacker than black or whiter than white using RGB/DVI but if you connected it to the HDMI of the Panny it would do YCBCR and therefore work properly.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is offline  
post #364 of 981 Old 02-23-2007, 01:52 PM
Member
 
sigteacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Omicron Persei 8
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

Potentially. But I would not say that with any certaintly. It turns out the HD-A1 HD DVD player did not pass blacker than black or whiter than white using RGB/DVI but if you connected it to the HDMI of the Panny it would do YCBCR and therefore work properly.

- Rich

Sorry, I'm a bit of a novice. What does YCBCR mean?

Bruzzi, I dont think the oppo 971 has an hdmi input. am I missing something? Check the link and scroll down a bit.

http://www.dvdtalk.com/features/004343.html

Also, do any of you have a better suggestion for an upconverting dvd player other than the Oppo? Everything I've seems to say its the best.
sigteacher is offline  
post #365 of 981 Old 02-23-2007, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by sigteacher View Post

Sorry, I'm a bit of a novice. What does YCBCR mean?

Bruzzi, I dont think the oppo 971 has an hdmi input. am I missing something? Check the link and scroll down a bit.

http://www.dvdtalk.com/features/004343.html

Also, do any of you have a better suggestion for an upconverting dvd player other than the Oppo? Everything I've seems to say its the best.

In simple terms, it is another way of delivering the video singal that can use 10 bit information instead of converting it to 8 bit RGB. It gets converted somewhere along the way it, but there may be advantages based on the source and display.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is offline  
post #366 of 981 Old 02-23-2007, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BruZZi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 5,868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sigteacher View Post


Bruzzi, I dont think the oppo 971 has an hdmi input. am I missing something???

I wrote :

"The 971H Players come with DVI (No HDMI)..."


BruZZi is offline  
post #367 of 981 Old 02-23-2007, 04:17 PM - Thread Starter
 
IamAnoobieCheez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: I come from a distant space where no one has gone before. The temperature is aight. The planet has a purple sky tho and the gravity is slightly less than that of earth. Oh yeah I got plenty of gas.....
Posts: 2,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The DVI supports end-to-end 10-bit-per-color component (R,G,B) display, which is a 10-bit processing, in a color space of 1.07 billion colors from PC output. It may even go higher, who knows. Keep in mind that this is with the use of PCs.

For external players like DVD upconverting players, it may or may not support 10bit processing not due to DVI, but it maybe the limitation of the player itself.


The HDMI is generally "best suited" for external media devices like DVD/HD-DVD/Blu-ray players.


From my experience the DVI is best suited for "PC", a PC output to TV, getting xx results.


I don't think it's the limitation of the DVI. It is rather the limitation of compatibility, or the external player not utilizing in such a way to get max out of the DVI connection. The video processing chips also must provide with such feature.
IamAnoobieCheez is offline  
post #368 of 981 Old 02-23-2007, 04:43 PM
Member
 
sigteacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Omicron Persei 8
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Opps...sorry bout that bruzzi

Hey Cheez would you mind checking out this link and telling me which would be best out of the 3 players?

http://www.oppodigital.com/

Thanks again buddy
sigteacher is offline  
post #369 of 981 Old 02-23-2007, 05:05 PM
slb
AVS Special Member
 
slb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Francisco North Bay
Posts: 1,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey Cheez, no pictures this week? What's up? Broken camera?
slb is offline  
post #370 of 981 Old 02-23-2007, 05:17 PM - Thread Starter
 
IamAnoobieCheez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: I come from a distant space where no one has gone before. The temperature is aight. The planet has a purple sky tho and the gravity is slightly less than that of earth. Oh yeah I got plenty of gas.....
Posts: 2,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sigteacher View Post

Opps...sorry bout that bruzzi

Hey Cheez would you mind checking out this link and telling me which would be best out of the 3 players?

http://www.oppodigital.com/

Thanks again buddy

hey sigteacher,

From the three choices, I would go with the DV-981HD. It has the ability to output to 1080P. The 1080p upscaling is best compare to the 1080i and 720p.

But I do not know if it requires HDMI 1.3 to accept 1080P signal from the upconverting DVD player. It could vary depending on the model? I don't know. You might want to ask people around.
IamAnoobieCheez is offline  
post #371 of 981 Old 02-23-2007, 05:20 PM - Thread Starter
 
IamAnoobieCheez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: I come from a distant space where no one has gone before. The temperature is aight. The planet has a purple sky tho and the gravity is slightly less than that of earth. Oh yeah I got plenty of gas.....
Posts: 2,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slb View Post

Hey Cheez, no pictures this week? What's up? Broken camera?

hey slb!

I got tired. It takes my energy and soul from my body.

ya know it's not easy taking pics... I get exhausted after taking hundreds of pics lol!!!

There are some pics updated in the previous pages. Look back and see some more goodies. I will try post some more....




Also I am debating myself whether I should order the Japanese Porn Blu-Ray(pic posted in previous page) or not. Ya know... I'm a christian, and even though I'm single, watching porn is still a sin........ that's what's keeping me from buying it. I'm like *THIS* close to buying it.


Oh..... you just wait. The movie James Bond: Casino Royale on Blu-Ray is coming on Mar. 13, 2007. I've been waiting for that movie since it was released in theaters. Oh you bet I will be posting screenies for that.
IamAnoobieCheez is offline  
post #372 of 981 Old 02-23-2007, 05:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Cheez,

I am trying out my BD player from Sony and the picture is zoomed about 4x playing X-Men. Is there a way to fix this?

Thanks,

Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is offline  
post #373 of 981 Old 02-23-2007, 05:49 PM - Thread Starter
 
IamAnoobieCheez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: I come from a distant space where no one has gone before. The temperature is aight. The planet has a purple sky tho and the gravity is slightly less than that of earth. Oh yeah I got plenty of gas.....
Posts: 2,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rich,

Sounds like it's your video card display setting. What display resolution is the desktop set to? What connection type are you using? DVI or VGA?

Also what software are you using? The one that came with the Sony drive?


Right click on the movie screen when playing PowerDVD and point to CLPV and make sure it's set to OFF.


It's a bit difficult for me to try to replicate the problem because I'm on Windows Server 2003 with ATI Control Center I'm using for the ATi card. I think I remember seeing the problem you're having, which happened a long ago. It had to do with the refresh rate setting for the desktop resolution I was using via VGA, plus that was with my ATi x800XT video card, not my current one. Have you tried the latest video card driver?

If you are running through HDQ like you said, have you tried connecting the PC directly to the TV instead? Let me know what computer connection you are using too.
IamAnoobieCheez is offline  
post #374 of 981 Old 02-23-2007, 08:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamAnoobieCheez View Post

Rich,

Sounds like it's your video card display setting. Sounds definitely like it. What display resolution is the desktop set to? What connection type are you using? DVI or VGA?

Also what software are you using? The one that came with the Sony drive?


Right click on the movie screen when playing PowerDVD and point to CLPV and make sure it's set to OFF.


It's a bit difficult for me to try to replicate the problem because I'm on Windows Server 2003 with ATI Control Center I'm using for the ATi card. I think I remember seeing the problem you're having, which happened a long ago. It had to do with the refresh rate setting for the desktop resolution I was using via VGA, plus that was with my ATi x800XT video card, not my current one. Have you tried the latest video card driver?

I am using PowerDVD 6.6 downloaded from the Sony site. I got it to work by uninstalling and re-installing the drivers. Don't ask me why that worked.

I still see a bit of a stutter here and there playing X-Men 3.
Overall the picture looks very good. It does seem to be diving into black a bit more abruptly that I am used to. I guess I will see if there are some Gamma options somewhere.

Thanks for the help,

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is offline  
post #375 of 981 Old 02-23-2007, 08:47 PM - Thread Starter
 
IamAnoobieCheez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: I come from a distant space where no one has gone before. The temperature is aight. The planet has a purple sky tho and the gravity is slightly less than that of earth. Oh yeah I got plenty of gas.....
Posts: 2,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just curious, what video card are you running? Are you using the blu-ray with all new hardware? i.e. new video card 8800GT? Are you using VGA or not? I'm just trying to keep track of what is being used right now. Anyways, glad you got the main problem resolved.

Is X-Men 3 really good movie? I haven't watched those series.

I can't wait to see Casino Royale... ohh weeeeeeeee.


Rich, I am not 100% positive on this but.... I noticed playing High Def movies like Blu-Ray seem to really put the hard drives to work. I can see the hard drive activities like mad doggie. I'm using triple Sata 10k rpm raptor drives in raid0. I have zero stuttering what-so-ever. I wonder if the hard drive plays important role as well not only the CPU power.
IamAnoobieCheez is offline  
post #376 of 981 Old 02-23-2007, 09:26 PM
Member
 
sigteacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Omicron Persei 8
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamAnoobieCheez View Post

I'm using triple Sata 10k rpm raptor drives in raid0. I have zero stuttering what-so-ever. I wonder if the hard drive plays important role as well not only the CPU power.

3 10k raptors in raid 0 ? You make me sick Cheeze

Next thing you will tell us is that you are running a quad 512mb SLI setup
sigteacher is offline  
post #377 of 981 Old 02-23-2007, 09:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BruZZi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 5,868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamAnoobieCheez View Post


Is X-Men 3 really good movie?

Didn't like it.
BruZZi is offline  
post #378 of 981 Old 02-24-2007, 06:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamAnoobieCheez View Post

Just curious, what video card are you running? Are you using the blu-ray with all new hardware? i.e. new video card 8800GT? Are you using VGA or not? I'm just trying to keep track of what is being used right now. Anyways, glad you got the main problem resolved.

Is X-Men 3 really good movie? I haven't watched those series.

I can't wait to see Casino Royale... ohh weeeeeeeee.


Rich, I am not 100% positive on this but.... I noticed playing High Def movies like Blu-Ray seem to really put the hard drives to work. I can see the hard drive activities like mad doggie. I'm using triple Sata 10k rpm raptor drives in raid0. I have zero stuttering what-so-ever. I wonder if the hard drive plays important role as well not only the CPU power.

I am running an EVGA 8800GTS 640MB via DVI through the Lumagen HDQ which is in pass through mode. I have to disable my HDQ to go directly but I will try that tonight - after the kids goto bed How do you run your Graphics VGA or DVI?

I am not sure about the hard drive. I see the BD drive and the HD light, but that is just the controller activity. Is there a software monitor to check this?

I will know more tonight. I am still trying to pull out more shadow detail. I ended up dialing down the contrast to about -10 and that seemed to help. I suspect the title has some black crush in it because even if I raise the black level there does not appear to much detail there. Also, there is more noise than I am used to in HD DVD, but again I think that is the X-MEN title. Lots of fun though.

I have spent a lot of effort quieting my HTPC and this toaster required me to put a front fan back in my case. When the new 8600 comes out in a few months or so, I will definitely Ebay this card and downgrade providing the HD support is the same.

Casiino Royale is on my short list too

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is offline  
post #379 of 981 Old 02-24-2007, 06:30 AM - Thread Starter
 
IamAnoobieCheez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: I come from a distant space where no one has gone before. The temperature is aight. The planet has a purple sky tho and the gravity is slightly less than that of earth. Oh yeah I got plenty of gas.....
Posts: 2,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sigteacher View Post

Hey Cheez, will you lose any PQ by using a DVI-HDMI adapter?

I would try to avoid conversions. Even though they both are digital the way of sending signals are a little different. I would try to stick with either DVI-DVI or HDMI-HDMI.
IamAnoobieCheez is offline  
post #380 of 981 Old 02-24-2007, 06:31 AM
Member
 
sigteacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Omicron Persei 8
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Cheez, will you lose any PQ by using a DVI-HDMI adapter?
sigteacher is offline  
post #381 of 981 Old 02-24-2007, 06:35 AM - Thread Starter
 
IamAnoobieCheez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: I come from a distant space where no one has gone before. The temperature is aight. The planet has a purple sky tho and the gravity is slightly less than that of earth. Oh yeah I got plenty of gas.....
Posts: 2,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Standard DVD: Pirates of the Caribbean


some pics





























IamAnoobieCheez is offline  
post #382 of 981 Old 02-24-2007, 06:46 AM - Thread Starter
 
IamAnoobieCheez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: I come from a distant space where no one has gone before. The temperature is aight. The planet has a purple sky tho and the gravity is slightly less than that of earth. Oh yeah I got plenty of gas.....
Posts: 2,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

I am running an EVGA 8800GTS 640MB via DVI through the Lumagen HDQ which is in pass through mode. I have to disable my HDQ to go directly but I will try that tonight - after the kids goto bed How do you run your Graphics VGA or DVI?

Ah c'mon, you know I'm using DVI.

Quote:


I am not sure about the hard drive. I see the BD drive and the HD light, but that is just the controller activity. Is there a software monitor to check this?

The light indicator for the HDD is what describes that the hard drive is being accessed. If it's blinking rigorously that means that the hard drive is being used heavily. There are some software out there that will monitor but I don't really use them. I think some windows operating system may even have it, like the server one I'm using.

Quote:


I suspect the title has some black crush in it because even if I raise the black level there does not appear to much detail there. Also, there is more noise than I am used to in HD DVD, but again I think that is the X-MEN title. Lots of fun though.

Yes that's correct, it may be the title. It varies from title to title. Some do have tendency to have blacks come to dark and crush a little bit of details. And there are quite a lot of titles that are almost picture noise-free.


Some high-end video cards run hot and loud don't they. My 1950XTX model is suppose to be quieter, compare to the 1900 series.
IamAnoobieCheez is offline  
post #383 of 981 Old 02-24-2007, 06:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamAnoobieCheez View Post

Ah c'mon, you know I'm using DVI.

Yep. Just checking.
Quote:


The light indicator for the HDD is what describes that the hard drive is being accessed. If it's blinking rigorously that means that the hard drive is being used heavily. There are some software out there that will monitor but I don't really use them. I think some windows operating system may even have it, like the server one I'm using.

On most systems, this light is the activity on the hard drive controller which also is active when accessing the BD/CD/DVD drive on the controller, so it is not a good indicator.

Quote:


Yes that's correct, it may be the title. It varies from title to title. Some do have tendency to have blacks come to dark and crush a little bit of details.

Some high-end video cards run hot and loud don't they. My 1950XTX model is suppose to be quieter, compare to the 1900 series.

The card is not that loud, but boy is it hot. Everything was getting toasty, even the BD drive, so I broke down and put the front fan in. That did the trick.

Any recommendations for BD titles that really show off the format?

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is offline  
post #384 of 981 Old 02-24-2007, 07:23 AM - Thread Starter
 
IamAnoobieCheez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: I come from a distant space where no one has gone before. The temperature is aight. The planet has a purple sky tho and the gravity is slightly less than that of earth. Oh yeah I got plenty of gas.....
Posts: 2,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

On most systems, this light is the activity on the hard drive controller which also is active when accessing the BD/CD/DVD drive on the controller, so it is not a good indicator.

The hard drive light is connected to the HDD header on the motherboard, which just about all systems do. The aftermarket HDD monitor devices use the same HDD header on the board. I'm just saying this in general. I am heavily experienced in computer hardware since 1997, for repairing, integrations, etc. I used to be a senior certified technician.



Quote:


The card is not that loud, but boy is it hot. Everything was getting toasty, even the BD drive, so I broke down and put the front fan in. That did the trick.

Any recommendations for BD titles that really show off the format?

- Rich

Yea I would recommend:

- Crank (MPEG2 BD-50)
- The Phantom of the Opera (VC-1 BD-25)
- The Last Samurai (MPEG2 BD-50)
- Chicago (AVC/MPEG4 BD-50)
- The Kingdom of the Heaven (MPEG2 BD-50)
- Click (MPEG2 BD-50)
- and the list goes on.. Pearl Harbor is pretty descent, but I feel this movie is getting old... it's one of those movies you watch it few times and don't want to watch it again. The movie Kingdom of Heaven has been very addicting for me. I watched it like 35 times now. That's just me, though.

The movie Click, has the strongest and deepest color depth, to a point where it's overly done. Dialing down the color saturation will do the trick.

Yea, the Casino Royale is going to be one hell of PQ performance. It's in BD-50 AVC MPEG-4, with high transfer.
IamAnoobieCheez is offline  
post #385 of 981 Old 02-24-2007, 07:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Whoady4Shoady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamAnoobieCheez View Post

The hard drive light is connected to the HDD header on the motherboard, which just about all systems do. The aftermarket HDD monitor devices use the same HDD header on the board. I'm just saying this in general. I am heavily experienced in computer hardware since 1997, for repairing, integrations, etc. I used to be a senior certified technician.




Yea I would recommend:

- Crank (MPEG2 BD-50)
- The Phantom of the Opera (VC-1 BD-25)
- The Last Samurai (MPEG2 BD-50)
- Chicago
- The Kingdom of the Heaven (MPEG2 BD-50)
- Click (MPEG2 BD-50)
- and the list goes on..


Yea, the Casino Royale is going to be one hell of PQ performance. It's in BD-50 VC-1, with high transfer.

Click?
Whoady4Shoady is offline  
post #386 of 981 Old 02-24-2007, 02:40 PM - Thread Starter
 
IamAnoobieCheez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: I come from a distant space where no one has gone before. The temperature is aight. The planet has a purple sky tho and the gravity is slightly less than that of earth. Oh yeah I got plenty of gas.....
Posts: 2,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

Yep. Just checking.


On most systems, this light is the activity on the hard drive controller which also is active when accessing the BD/CD/DVD drive on the controller, so it is not a good indicator.
- Rich

Rich, I apologize.

You are right. The hard drive process is hardly being used when running BD HD.

Pearl Harbor




I'm using Windows Server 2003 Performance Management tool. The log shows that the hard drive is being used at very minimal. It is hardly being used. The green line is the indicator for actual HDD activities. The red indicates CPU usage and the blue is for the memory.











IamAnoobieCheez is offline  
post #387 of 981 Old 02-24-2007, 03:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamAnoobieCheez View Post


I'm using Windows Server 2003 Performance Management tool. The log shows that the hard drive is being used at very minimal. It is hardly being used. The green line is the indicator for actual HDD activities. The red indicates CPU usage and the blue is for the memory.

Still, I can find no reason for the stuttering. I tried directly to the monitor and it was not better. I can make it a bit better with the HDQ in the chain. Weird huh?

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is offline  
post #388 of 981 Old 02-24-2007, 05:25 PM
Member
 
sigteacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Omicron Persei 8
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A few things you might consider if you havent already Rich:

1-The card may be overheating too much

2-The amount of RAM you have might not be enough.

3-The drivers for your card may be buggy

4-You may have a conflict with your motherboard and the chipset drivers.
sigteacher is offline  
post #389 of 981 Old 02-24-2007, 07:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by sigteacher View Post

A few things you might consider if you havent already Rich:

1-The card may be overheating too much

2-The amount of RAM you have might not be enough.

3-The drivers for your card may be buggy

4-You may have a conflict with your motherboard and the chipset drivers.

Thanks for the suggestions. I just bought PowerDVD Ultra. Uninstalled 6.6 OEM, reinstalled and it works great now.

I guess you get what you pay for

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is offline  
post #390 of 981 Old 02-24-2007, 09:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
B Leisle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After trying several LCDs, including the very nice Sharp LC-60C46U with blacks as good as any current plasma, I hopped aboard the PH9UK plasma train. Should be arriving from PC next week.

I'd like to thank and curse cheez for making my purchase decision so dang difficult over the last month or so. I kept trying various LCDs only to feel short-changed in one way or another, the whole time thinking the 5070 or 9UK were right for me. The $550 price difference finally sold my soul to the Panny, plus it's dark gray bezel matches my Infinity speakers perfectly.

You could say the odd, yet provocative, Japanese broadcasts won me over. Some of that Japanese stuff reminds me of the very strange Spanish programming we have in central California.....now that stuff's bizarre.

I think Panasonic definitely needs to comp you.
B Leisle is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off