Plasma decision panasonic vs pioneer? - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 119 Old 10-18-2006, 07:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Dufusyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elemental1 View Post

it would be more useful if you people comparing brands at least compared the proper models.

Are you saying Panny 9uk should be compared to Pio 507cmx since they are both industrial?
Dufusyte is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 119 Old 10-18-2006, 08:14 AM
Member
 
ibhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Previous posters have said that Pioneer will not honor a warranty from non-authorized dealers.

For a fairer comparison, compare the price of the Panasonic 9UK and the Pioneer 5070 at TV Authority. Even with two HDMI blades added in to the Panasonic, there is a substantial price difference.

If anyone wants to PM me a comparable price on the Pioneer from an authorized dealer, I'd definitely consider it over the Panasonic for aesthetics.

So far, I just haven't seen that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Nice View Post

So, you're gonna compare an internet priced Panasonic to a B&M priced Pioneer???

Why don't you compare both internet prices and see what the difference is?

ibhan is offline  
post #93 of 119 Old 10-18-2006, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Elemental1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Zion
Posts: 3,315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dufusyte View Post

Are you saying Panny 9uk should be compared to Pio 507cmx since they are both industrial?

Isn't it 505cmx? Not sure if there is a 7th Gen version yet.
Anyway, comparing a monitor to a TV is not a good comparison.

My HT

In the words of English philosopher Edmund Burke, ÂAll that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.Â
Elemental1 is offline  
post #94 of 119 Old 10-18-2006, 09:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Dufusyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elemental1 View Post

Isn't it 505cmx? Not sure if there is a 7th Gen version yet.

Dude, get with the times.
Dufusyte is offline  
post #95 of 119 Old 10-18-2006, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Elemental1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Zion
Posts: 3,315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dufusyte View Post

Dude, get with the times.

Hehe....yeah, yeah....if I was still shopping I would know.

My HT

In the words of English philosopher Edmund Burke, ÂAll that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.Â
Elemental1 is offline  
post #96 of 119 Old 10-18-2006, 09:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ricky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibhan View Post

Previous posters have said that Pioneer will not honor a warranty from non-authorized dealers.

For a fairer comparison, compare the price of the Panasonic 9UK and the Pioneer 5070 at TV Authority. Even with two HDMI blades added in to the Panasonic, there is a substantial price difference.

If anyone wants to PM me a comparable price on the Pioneer from an authorized dealer, I'd definitely consider it over the Panasonic for aesthetics.

So far, I just haven't seen that.


Define "substantial"?

When shopping for best pricing for two different models, why only use ONE store for the comparison? You need to compare the best price for each model across multiple authorized dealers (even if just the 3-4 AVS sponsors).

I will PM you.
Ricky is offline  
post #97 of 119 Old 10-19-2006, 10:41 AM
Member
 
ibhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since my last post I have been "educated" by several Pioneer fans. While the 5070HD is slightly more expensive than the 9UK, it's no more than a few hundred dollars with a little searching (once you add in a couple HDMI ports, etc.). My bad.

The range of prices the 5070HD is going for is surprisingly wide.
ibhan is offline  
post #98 of 119 Old 10-19-2006, 10:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whityfrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
is projector expo an authorized dealer for pioneer? they currently have the best price on the 5070 shipped and have gold and platinum ratings on reseller ratings.
whityfrd is offline  
post #99 of 119 Old 10-19-2006, 11:01 AM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 464
Quote:
Originally Posted by whityfrd View Post

is projector expo an authorized dealer for pioneer? they currently have the best price on the 5070 shipped and have gold and platinum ratings on reseller ratings.

No, Projector Expo isn't listed on Pioneer's site so if you buy from them you will have no warranty, and will not be able to buy an aftermarket warranty either. Usually the best price isn't the best choice.

If having a warranty is important to you, buy only from one of the dealers on Pioneer's site.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #100 of 119 Old 10-19-2006, 11:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whityfrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
well i bought my aquos from ibuydigital, so ive seen the worst online buying has to offer. yet, the set arrived in perfect condition. going for a much larger plasma, i think i might go with projector expo and just evaluate the functioning of the set before signing.
whityfrd is offline  
post #101 of 119 Old 10-19-2006, 11:29 AM
Member
 
electronrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whityfrd View Post

well i bought my aquos from ibuydigital, so ive seen the worst online buying has to offer. yet, the set arrived in perfect condition. going for a much larger plasma, i think i might go with projector expo and just evaluate the functioning of the set before signing.


A little odd that they charge 1k more for a 5071 than a 5070. That extra remote must be amazing!!!!
electronrx is offline  
post #102 of 119 Old 10-19-2006, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whityfrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
if i paid a grand for a remote, it'd better be a good looking woman to get up and change the channel for me.
whityfrd is offline  
post #103 of 119 Old 10-19-2006, 06:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Joon TV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Man that is funny. The thing is a lot of people don't do research how we do. So there-for would never understand that they are the same TV.
Joon TV is offline  
post #104 of 119 Old 10-20-2006, 08:17 AM
Member
 
derrikm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am about to purchase my first Plasma HDTV and admittedly am not quite as well versed in all the technologies as I'd like to be. This being said, I am seriously leaning towards a Panne.

While looking around at the 50" models I noticed something that has me confused. There are 3 models that I am interested in:

TH-50PX6U
TH-50PX60U
TH-50PX600U

Starting with the 6U the prices escalate by $300 - $500 as you move up in model number. What are the main differences? Are any of them outdated or obsolete? Would the 600U really be worth the $800 additional cost vs the 6U?
All are in stock and available at the retailer of my choice. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

DerrikM
derrikm is offline  
post #105 of 119 Old 10-20-2006, 09:15 AM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 464
Quote:
Originally Posted by derrikm View Post

. . . . While looking around at the 50" models I noticed something that has me confused. There are 3 models that I am interested in:

TH-50PX6U
TH-50PX60U
TH-50PX600U

Starting with the 6U the prices escalate by $300 - $500 as you move up in model number. What are the main differences? Are any of them outdated or obsolete? Would the 600U really be worth the $800 additional cost vs the 6U?
All are in stock and available at the retailer of my choice. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

These are all current models, with the more expensive ones having more features. PQ should be virtually the same on all of em.

The best thing to do is use Panasonic's COMPARE feature to chart the differences:

http://www2.panasonic.com/webapp/wcs...3|96292|97744|

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #106 of 119 Old 10-20-2006, 11:01 AM
Member
 
dmcmahon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Randy, thanks for the link, that makes it pretty clear that the 6U only lacks an SD card slot and photo viewer versus the 60U, a feature that doesn't matter to me. Unfortunately there's no price on the 6U nor do I find it available anywhere in my basic web searches. What's up with the 6U?
dmcmahon is offline  
post #107 of 119 Old 10-20-2006, 11:05 AM
Member
 
electronrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmcmahon View Post

Randy, thanks for the link, that makes it pretty clear that the 6U only lacks an SD card slot and photo viewer versus the 60U, a feature that doesn't matter to me. Unfortunately there's no price on the 6U nor do I find it available anywhere in my basic web searches. What's up with the 6U?


Its at Wallmart !
electronrx is offline  
post #108 of 119 Old 10-20-2006, 12:40 PM
Member
 
rooster7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: El Dorado Hills, CA
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Plenty of Pannies PX6U at Costco also.
rooster7 is offline  
post #109 of 119 Old 10-20-2006, 12:58 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 464
Quote:
Originally Posted by rooster7 View Post

Plenty of Pannies PX6U at Costco also.

A customer of mine just came by my shop and has a TH-50PX6U on the back of his pickup truck, and says he got it at Costco. We removed the upper box and saw that it has a gray bezel, where the PX60U has a satin black bezel. The gray bezel makes it look kinda bland . . . . .

The PX6U is exclusive to the big-box stores so that the B&M stores don't have to pricematch.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #110 of 119 Old 10-24-2006, 12:53 PM
Senior Member
 
bbonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bbonds is offline  
post #111 of 119 Old 10-24-2006, 06:12 PM
Member
 
ND777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rentz is the one who started this thread, and I'm not sure if he/she is still trying to decide or not. For what its worth, I'll post my experience with both sets:

I reasearched for 3 months before buying a set, and finally decided on the Pioneer over the Panny (after deciding on plasma vs. LCD, but that is another story). The only place I could see them both side by side was at BB with a single crappy feed. Because of the poor feed, it was very hard to tell which was better. I'll be honest and say that a big part of the reason I went with the Pioneer was the bezel.

After receiving my Pioneer (from Invision Displays), all I can say is WOW! Good feeds really give the looking out the window effect. My wife and I were so blown away that we decided to purchase a plasma for my parents. Since we were on the fence between the Pio and the Panny, we decided to get them the Panny. It costed us $717 less, and that is including the sales tax on the Panny (none on the Pioneer since we got it from Invision).

I set the Panny up for them & gave the set the latest firmware updates (1.04 for the tuner and 1.25 for the PQ). The Panny is very very nice, but there is definitely a PQ difference between the two. The Pioneer has much smoother edges and looks more lifelike. The Panny looks great, but it doesn't touch the Pioneer for 'Life-like-ness'. After getting such a great deal on the Panny, I was fully expecting some buyer's remorse for spending the extra $$$ on the Pioneer, but after hooking it up, I see the extra $$$ was well spent.

If you can swing the extra bling for the Pioneer, go for it. You will not be disappointed. OTOH, I'm certain you will be very happy with either set.












3
ND777 is offline  
post #112 of 119 Old 11-28-2006, 02:44 PM
Member
 
sportwarrior14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm gonna resurrect this thread mainly because I'm now super curious about 4270 pricing... Invision doesn't list prices online, so I'd have to call them to obtain a quote... are there any other authorized dealers online with competitive prices I should check out? I know I should check other AVS sponsors above, but a little more direction could help a lot
sportwarrior14 is offline  
post #113 of 119 Old 12-29-2006, 12:46 AM
Newbie
 
RadnorGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello All !

I have been trying to decide on a Panel for far too long, I have been reading posts here (and other places) about every kind of panel till I am about dizzy.

I want to get a Plasma, The most important part of my final decision is what panel will display my PC the best?

We have all our DVD's on our network so the kids can watch them from their PC's anytime they want (we use the 23 inch HP 2335 flat panels running at 1920 X 1200)

Of course we use the DVI out on the ATI Cards and the DVI input on the HP's at 1920 X 1200 (the movies look great this way)

I was thinking of getting a Panasonic TH-50PX600U and using the analog PC input at 1280 by 768 (if the Panny does that)

I was also thinking of spending more money for a Plasma with 1920 X 1080 for a better connection to our PC

I have seen a few Video cards that have a HDMI output, and there is always the DVI to HDMI cables BUT I hear there are all kinds of problems with these methods

Are there any Plasma's that have a DVI input that would work well with a PC DVI output ?

Any thoughts or recommendations would be Greatly Appreciated !!

Thanks

Joe
RadnorGuy is offline  
post #114 of 119 Old 12-29-2006, 04:27 AM
Senior Member
 
videolover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: ariz
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Joe,

You might want to consider the Pioneer PDP 507cmx from Invision Displays, a sponser at the top of this page.
videolover is offline  
post #115 of 119 Old 12-29-2006, 06:34 AM
Senior Member
 
The Canuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RadnorGuy View Post

Hello All !

I was thinking of getting a Panasonic TH-50PX600U and using the analog PC input at 1280 by 768 (if the Panny does that)

I was agonizing over the PC input as well. But found out that the Panasonic's do work great with DVI-HDMI. I'm now running a TH-50PX60U at 1280x720 (actually 1256x704 adjusted for overscan) through HDMI and couldn't be happier. Text is much crisper / easier to read than I thought it would be (i.e. it's awesome)-- much better than my 32" Monivision CRT monitor (that I fed with VGA btw).

For me, the price difference between the 60U and 600U just isn't worth it to have a VGA input when I can do everything through HDMI.
The Canuck is offline  
post #116 of 119 Old 12-29-2006, 02:53 PM
Newbie
 
RadnorGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I may have enough money for a 1920 X 1080 Panel, would that work better with a PC ? (meaning better looking text ?)

I noticed that 1920 X 1080 is one of the settings on my ATI card, Would I still have to adjust it to something else because of overscan?

At this point I am stuck between a Pioneer and Panasonic

Is one or the other more susceptible to IR ?

Thanks again everyone

Joe
RadnorGuy is offline  
post #117 of 119 Old 12-30-2006, 03:13 PM
Senior Member
 
The Canuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did have a 60" SXRD a few weeks ago (it died pretty quick) that I ran at 1920x1080 and the only way to really have readable text was to increase the font size to large / extra large. If you're going to go any less than 60" then 1080p text will just be too small to read.

1280x720 still works great with a PC and I don't have to adjust the text size with a 50" screen. 1280x720 with a 60" screen just looks too big though.
The Canuck is offline  
post #118 of 119 Old 01-01-2007, 01:47 AM
Newbie
 
RadnorGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Canuck View Post

I was agonizing over the PC input as well. But found out that the Panasonic's do work great with DVI-HDMI. I'm now running a TH-50PX60U at 1280x720 (actually 1256x704 adjusted for overscan) through HDMI and couldn't be happier. Text is much crisper / easier to read than I thought it would be (i.e. it's awesome)-- much better than my 32" Monivision CRT monitor (that I fed with VGA btw).

BTW: What video card you using in the PC ?

Thanks

Joe
RadnorGuy is offline  
post #119 of 119 Old 01-01-2007, 12:42 PM
Senior Member
 
The Canuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RadnorGuy View Post

BTW: What video card you using in the PC ?

Thanks

Joe

Just an Nvidia 6200 AGP w/128MB memory. Of course I'm not gaming with it, but it is great for DVDs / HD / desktop graphics at 720p / 1080p.
The Canuck is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off