Question on plasma install with STB...WHERE? - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 11-28-2006, 06:17 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Enigma869's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Good Evening All...

I'm getting ready to move into a new house in the next couple of months and will have flat panels on the walls in most of the rooms in the house. DirecTV is going to be my source of programming. My question is this...Where the heck can I put the satellite boxes and still hang my tv's? Sorry if this seems like an elementary question, but I'm honestly perplexed. I know many people have cabinets beneath their plasmas and store their components in these cabinets. This simply isn't going to be an option in some of the rooms. If anyone has any experience with this and an easy solution, I would be most appreciative! Thanks for any and all feedback offered.

John from Boston
Enigma869 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 11-29-2006, 07:16 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Enigma869's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Bump
Enigma869 is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 11-29-2006, 12:07 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Enigma869's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Anyone???
Enigma869 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 11-29-2006, 02:18 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Enigma869's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Guess I'm asking too complicated of a question!


John from Boston
Enigma869 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 11-29-2006, 02:41 PM
Newbie
 
mgreenwell23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Being a new house and I assume that it isn't completed yet since you are not moving in for a few months, there still might be time to have the builder put in some built-in shelves below the area where the plasmas will be mounted. You could probably do that yourself if the builder won't or would overcharge for that job. You could then put the STB, dvd, center channel speaker, etc. on those shelves.
mgreenwell23 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 11-29-2006, 04:30 PM
Senior Member
 
HDTVsportsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Between Richmond, VA. and Washington D.C.
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it your desire to have your cables (HDMI, component, etc.) inside the wall or do you care if they are just hanging down the wall?

Is the sheetrock already up?

If your only two months from moving in it probably is. (Thinking out loud)

btw, Why won't a small cabinet work for you?

Always smell it first.
HDTVsportsfan is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 11-29-2006, 04:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
ThomasV555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Get an HDMI and upconverting receiver. Run everything to a closet w/ one HDMI cable and control it w/ different RF Remotes.
You will have to get up to change movies, cds and games or VHS tapes etc.

This bloody Redcoat said I was a terrorist.

Somewhere along the way I become an Elitist who looks down on the
cheap bastards who call themselves my AV Hobbyist peers.
I am not prepared.
ThomasV555 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 11-29-2006, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Enigma869's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks for all the replies, guys. To address a few questions. The house is not new construction, and sheetrock is already in place. My issue with having a cabinet is that all I really need to house is a DirecTV receiver, as the main room in the house (the family room, if you will) will not have any surround sound. I have a separate home theater in the house for serious movie watching and surround sound. I just thought perhaps some people had a "trick" for hiding just one STB. I didn't really want to hide in a closet for just one component, but, perhaps that may be my only option. Not that it's important to my question, but I already own the house. I'm not moving for a couple of months, because I'm still trying to sell the house I presently live in (housing market getting pretty ugly up here in the northeast)!


John from Boston
Enigma869 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 11-29-2006, 05:39 PM
Senior Member
 
HDTVsportsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Between Richmond, VA. and Washington D.C.
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WIthout performing surgey on your walls and not really wanting cabinets, then V555 suggestion may be you rbest solution. There isn't a whole lot to work with here.
Enjoy your new house btw.

Always smell it first.
HDTVsportsfan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off