Official Pioneer 5070/71 Flashing Blue Light Shut-Down Thread - Page 25 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 10Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 727 Old 02-07-2015, 04:00 PM
Member
 
Cetrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys! Very pleased to say that piecing things together in this forum I found the solution! And it cost me $0!!! Thanks so much to everyone here. For those who have arrived here (like I did) after a google search:

1. If you have a 8th gen (8G) 50" Elite (model PRO-1150HD) and your problem is 12 blinking blue LEDs and NOTHING ELSE, then this is 99% also your problem.
2. The issue is with the digital tuner. The main OS shuts the TV down when it has an issue getting its guide info over the air. Remember this set was built during the transition between analog and digital broadcast TV, and has some quirks because of it. You need to do TWO THINGS to prevent this from happening again:
2a. Disable the TV Guide subsystem from running at all. To do that, you need to bring up the "Integrator Menu" or other engineering menus and do the reset. Mine said "reset aborted" but it still worked. Then, you power the TV back on, be patient (it should show up at analog channel 1, then after ~30 sec) it should display a "Welcome your TV has this awesome TV guide feature!" You want to select the last one: never remind me again.
2b. You need to set the clock manually. Hit the home menu, then tuner setup. Arrow over to Clock and set up your time manually.
3. The problem is a lot of these services are simply not broadcast in the same way that the tuner in our TV's was designed to receive it. Turning these off prevents the power-off-12 blink cycle. It had nothing to do with mainboards, power, etc. It was all because I decided to "cut the cord" and plug in an antenna after years of just using this TV as a monitor for my HTPC.

Thank goodness for you great people here at AVSForum. As always, I find the best, most reliable info here. Check out Page 20 for a ton of good 1150HD info on this thread.


Edit: Here are the instructions from earlier in this thread:
Factory Reset Procedure (Integrator Menu)

1 With tv off/in standby....press home menu.
2 Within 3 sec turn tv on , Integrated Menu will appear.
3 Hold Display button until Final Setup appears in the top menu.
4 Arrow left or right until yes appears in lower menu.
5 Hold enter until menu disappears.
6 Wait 1 min.
7 Power tv off and unplug from the wall for 5 or more min.

Pioneer lover: Elite TV and AVR | HTPC Masochist | Bit-perfect Audiophile | Networking Guru |

Last edited by Cetrian; 02-09-2015 at 02:45 PM. Reason: Added Integrator menu & Reset Info
Cetrian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 727 Old 02-08-2015, 07:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jkasanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,304
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 80
@Cetrian : I was just about to post the tuner fix when I saw your reply. Glad it worked out!
jkasanic is offline  
post #723 of 727 Old 02-08-2015, 08:55 AM
Senior Member
 
sjm817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I had the same issue with my 5070. Had it upstairs for about 7 years with never a single glitch. Moved it to the basement and had the flashing blue light. WTF? With the move I didnt hook up a cable box, just local channels connected. I turned on that TV Guide thing which never worked anyway. Turned that back off and all is well.
sjm817 is online now  
post #724 of 727 Old 02-08-2015, 06:56 PM
Senior Member
 
pbenjamin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ 85003 (METRO: Encanto)
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cetrian View Post
Guys! Very pleased to say that piecing things together in this forum I found the solution! And it cost me $0!!! Thanks so much to everyone here. For those who have arrived here (like I did) after a google search:

1. If you have a 8th gen (8G) 50" Elite (model PRO-1150HD) and your problem is 12 blinking blue LEDs and NOTHING ELSE, then this is 99% also your problem.
2. The issue is with the digital tuner. The main OS shuts the TV down when it has an issue getting its guide info over the air. Remember this set was built during the transition between analog and digital broadcast TV, and has some quirks because of it. You need to do TWO THINGS to prevent this from happening again:
2a. Disable the TV Guide subsystem from running at all. To do that, you need to bring up the "Integrator Menu" or other engineering menus and do the reset. Mine said "reset aborted" but it still worked. Then, you power the TV back on, be patient (it should show up at analog channel 1, then after ~30 sec) it should display a "Welcome your TV has this awesome TV guide feature!" You want to select the last one: never remind me again.
2b. You need to set the clock manually. Hit the home menu, then tuner setup. Arrow over to Clock and set up your time manually.
3. The problem is a lot of these services are simply not broadcast in the same way that the tuner in our TV's was designed to receive it. Turning these off prevents the power-off-12 blink cycle. It had nothing to do with mainboards, power, etc. It was all because I decided to "cut the cord" and plug in an antenna after years of just using this TV as a monitor for my HTPC.

Thank goodness for you great people here at AVSForum. As always, I find the best, most reliable info here. Check out Page 20 for a ton of good 1150HD info on this thread.
And how does one do that?

Paul
pbenjamin is offline  
post #725 of 727 Old 02-09-2015, 02:46 PM
Member
 
Cetrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Edited my original post so it's all in one place.

Factory Reset Procedure

1 With tv off/in standby....press home menu.
2 Within 3 sec turn tv on , Integrated Menu will appear.
3 Hold Display button until Final Setup appears in the top menu.
4 Arrow left or right until yes appears in lower menu.
5 Hold enter until menu disappears.
6 Wait 1 min.
7 Power tv off and unplug from the wall for 5 or more min.

Pioneer lover: Elite TV and AVR | HTPC Masochist | Bit-perfect Audiophile | Networking Guru |
Cetrian is offline  
post #726 of 727 Old 02-14-2015, 06:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cetrian View Post
Guys! Very pleased to say that piecing things together in this forum I found the solution! And it cost me $0!!! Thanks so much to everyone here. For those who have arrived here (like I did) after a google search:

1. If you have a 8th gen (8G) 50" Elite (model PRO-1150HD) and your problem is 12 blinking blue LEDs and NOTHING ELSE, then this is 99% also your problem.
2. The issue is with the digital tuner. The main OS shuts the TV down when it has an issue getting its guide info over the air. Remember this set was built during the transition between analog and digital broadcast TV, and has some quirks because of it. You need to do TWO THINGS to prevent this from happening again:
2a. Disable the TV Guide subsystem from running at all. To do that, you need to bring up the "Integrator Menu" or other engineering menus and do the reset. Mine said "reset aborted" but it still worked. Then, you power the TV back on, be patient (it should show up at analog channel 1, then after ~30 sec) it should display a "Welcome your TV has this awesome TV guide feature!" You want to select the last one: never remind me again.
2b. You need to set the clock manually. Hit the home menu, then tuner setup. Arrow over to Clock and set up your time manually.
3. The problem is a lot of these services are simply not broadcast in the same way that the tuner in our TV's was designed to receive it. Turning these off prevents the power-off-12 blink cycle. It had nothing to do with mainboards, power, etc. It was all because I decided to "cut the cord" and plug in an antenna after years of just using this TV as a monitor for my HTPC.

Thank goodness for you great people here at AVSForum. As always, I find the best, most reliable info here. Check out Page 20 for a ton of good 1150HD info on this thread.


Edit: Here are the instructions from earlier in this thread:
Factory Reset Procedure (Integrator Menu)

1 With tv off/in standby....press home menu.
2 Within 3 sec turn tv on , Integrated Menu will appear.
3 Hold Display button until Final Setup appears in the top menu.
4 Arrow left or right until yes appears in lower menu.
5 Hold enter until menu disappears.
6 Wait 1 min.
7 Power tv off and unplug from the wall for 5 or more min.
Hi
I have a Kuro 5090.
I followed your instructions got to Integrator menu but don't have a display button on my remote.
Could you tell me which button it is please.
Rob
Rob Jones 2 is offline  
post #727 of 727 Old Today, 10:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks so much for making this awesome thread. I have been battling with this problem for 2 days and this has been hands down the most informative and helpful link I have found, as it has taken me from "time to get a new TV" to "Ok let's fix this!" and I finally have. Either way I'll document my 40 hours of banging my head against a wall here in case anyone else has this problem. Or in case I haven't actually fixed mine yet and I still need more help Here's the breakdown

Set: Pro-1130HD
MR: Pioneer Pro-R06U
TV: Pioneer Pro-506PU
Application: I have one HDMI cable plugged into the MR going to my windows PC, nothing else.
Issue: 2 days ago the TV turned off, and the MR flashed BLUE LED 12 times. When I turn it back on, it says "Starting Up..." and either turns itself back off, or starts back up and then turns itself back off. Either way, 12 blue led blinks follow.
Research: Google and this forum has led me to believe i need to take the 'TV Guide' feature of this TV out back and shoot it. Hopefully that just means a factory reset.

Solution: First you will need to get into the Factory Service Menu (steps 1-2), and then you need to factory reset the TV (steps 3-5). Some of these sequences seem retarded,
1. Turn the MR to standy with the TV on so that the LED on the TV and the MR are both red.
2. With the Remote Control pointed at the bottom right corner of the TV (where the IR sensor is), Press and release the DISPLAY button, and then wait 3 Seconds. Then press LEFT, UP, LEFT, RIGHT, POWER all within 10 Sec. (took me a few tries, go slow)
3. Press the MUTING button until it says "INITIALIZE" in the top right corner of the screen.
4. Press the UP ARROW until FINAL SETUP appears at the bottom of the screen and then press the ENTER button.
5. Press the LEFT ARROW until the bottom reads "DATA RESET <=> :YES" and then press and HOLD the ENTER button until the TV TURNS OFF.
6. The TV will power cycle, and turn itself back on. Once this happens, turn it back off and on again one more time. A TV GUIDE screen will appear. Select the "never mention this again" option.

Well that's been my experience, hopefully it helps someone out there. My TV is now going on 3 hours without a reset. Hopefully I can get a few more years out of it. I'll be back if it starts acting up again!
snake27517 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off