Official Pioneer 5070/71 Flashing Blue Light Shut-Down Thread - Page 26 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 13Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #751 of 763 Old 03-19-2016, 05:25 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I di all this and now have no Picture! Any ideas why?
Dr4kds is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #752 of 763 Old 03-19-2016, 05:28 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Exclamation No Picture

I did all the steps and now have no picture!
Any ideas?
Dr4kds is offline  
post #753 of 763 Old 04-22-2016, 06:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rod#S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 50
My Kuro starting exhibiting some disturbing behaviour today out of the blue and I was wondering if anyone has encountered something similar before. It's unplugged right now but when I get it up and running again, if the problem returns which I suspect it will I'll count the number of flashes and if it's 12 I'll see if I can do the system restore that I read about in this thread. My model is the PRO-150FD though, form 2008 and I don't really see much mention of this model in this thread. Unless I skimmed over it I don't think I came across a situation exactly like mine.

So here's my situation and story.

After I got home and powered up the system all seemed well. I was busy doing stuff for a while and when I came back to the tv I noticed there was no picture, a completely black screen and the blue power LED was blinking. I hard power cycled the tv and the picture came back and all seemed well. Sometime after the issue happened again. I cycled through the HDMI inputs but the picture was black on all inputs. I even checked my composite input, same thing. Like the 1st time the blue LED was flashing. I hard power cycled it again and the picture was back.

It happened a 3rd time, this time I powered it down and changed power cables. It powered up normally. The problem returned. This time instead of hard power cycling the unit I simply hit the standby button and the picture came back and the LED went back to the proper solid blue from flashing. It was interesting that hitting the standby button didn't turn the LED red and put the tv into standby mode. Instead it acted more like a reset for whatever was going on.

The problem continues, at 1st I thought roughly every 30 to 45 minutes but it's more like between 20 and 30. Going in behind the tv the mid to upper left side seems quite warm but of course these TV's get warm anyways so I'm not sure if what I'm feeling is elevated heat or not. Could be just paranoia.

I've now got the tv unplugged, it's been over an hour, I'll plug it back in shortly to see if anything has changed. I suspect it'll continue to do the same thing.

I've checked my power options and standby options and everything is disabled so it 's not one of those features kicking in.

In reading the manual it indicates a flashing power or standby light can indicate the protective circuits activating which I have seen mentioned earlier in the thread.

Has anyone experienced my exact situation?

Rod#S is offline  
post #754 of 763 Old 04-22-2016, 07:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rod#S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 50
So after 35 minutes the screen shut off and there is 12 flashes of the blue LED followed by about 2 or 3 seconds with no light then it repeats. I had a coax plugged in which only had a feed of my apartment building's lobby camera so I unplugged that before I plugged the tv back in and powered it up just in case that had somehow started causing the issue.

I wanted to ask before I try the reset will this blow away my locked ISF calibration settings? If so I'll have to dig around to see if I can find the ControlCal files that were saved at the time of calibration.

Rod#S is offline  
post #755 of 763 Old 04-22-2016, 07:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rod#S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 50
It just occurred to me, are the instructions to do the reset earlier in the thread applicable for the Elite models like my PRO-150FD? I'm was thinking they may not work at all, there could be a completely different set of steps to accomplish this.

Rod#S is offline  
post #756 of 763 Old 04-23-2016, 12:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jed1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Frackville, PA
Posts: 929
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod#S View Post
So after 35 minutes the screen shut off and there is 12 flashes of the blue LED followed by about 2 or 3 seconds with no light then it repeats. I had a coax plugged in which only had a feed of my apartment building's lobby camera so I unplugged that before I plugged the tv back in and powered it up just in case that had somehow started causing the issue.

I wanted to ask before I try the reset will this blow away my locked ISF calibration settings? If so I'll have to dig around to see if I can find the ControlCal files that were saved at the time of calibration.

The 12 flashing blue lights is a problem with the digital tuner which is the main assembly board. All inputs on the TV are connected to the main board so if you are not getting video and audio on any input then the board may need to be replaced. One of the issues that would cause the 12 blue lights on the 8G models would have been the TV Guide On Screen feature so if that is activated you can go into the TV Guide setup and enter all zeros for the zip code. But most likely the main board is going out.
Fro your TV it will be $785 for the part.
http://parts.pioneerelectronics.com/...elNum=PRO150FD

"You lose it in here you're in a world of hurt"
Jed1 is offline  
post #757 of 763 Old 04-23-2016, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rod#S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Thanks for the response and link to the parts page. I'm surprised there are still so many parts available.

So far so good after the factory reset. The tv has been up and running correctly all day so far. I'm hoping that was all that was needed. Fingers very tightly crossed.

Rod#S is offline  
post #758 of 763 Old 04-23-2016, 02:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jed1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Frackville, PA
Posts: 929
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod#S View Post
Thanks for the response and link to the parts page. I'm surprised there are still so many parts available.

So far so good after the factory reset. The tv has been up and running correctly all day so far. I'm hoping that was all that was needed. Fingers very tightly crossed.

No problem! If your TV has the TV Guide feature it was that what was causing your issue. Mine got to the point where it would restart and never get past the TV is starting up screen so I could not even get to do the factory reset.
You main assembly board is much cheaper than the one for my 5010. Mine is currently around $1200. I paid $900 two years ago for one.

"You lose it in here you're in a world of hurt"
Jed1 is offline  
post #759 of 763 Old 06-07-2016, 06:27 PM
Senior Member
 
timatraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Berwyn. Pa
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Rod#S,
Tim here with the same Kuro (150FD) and similar problem.
Is your Kuro still working ok?
Thanks.
timatraw is offline  
post #760 of 763 Old 06-07-2016, 06:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rod#S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Yep, so far so good. The factory reset did the trick.

Rod#S is offline  
post #761 of 763 Old 06-07-2016, 06:55 PM
Senior Member
 
timatraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Berwyn. Pa
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rod#S
I can get to the "Final Setup Menu" but can't the "YES" to display- only the three dashes "---".
Do I go left or right?
How many times do I press to get to YES?
Do you remember?
Thanks!
timatraw is offline  
post #762 of 763 Old 06-08-2016, 04:45 AM
Senior Member
 
timatraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Berwyn. Pa
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking for help from anybody on how to do a successful factory reset.
I have a Pioneer Pro 150FD plasma tv with the blinking lights and am trying to do the factory reset

I can get to the "Final Setup Menu" for the reset on the tv but can't get the "YES" to display in the lower menu.
No matter how many times I press left or right-- "YES" never appears in the lower menu.

Is there something else I should be doing? Any suggestions?
Thanks!
timatraw is offline  
post #763 of 763 Old 06-10-2016, 02:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rod#S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 50
It's odd that you can't navigate to confirm the reboot. I believe there may have been a couple different reboot procedures posted and it's possible there were slight differences between. I thought I had saved off the instructions I used but I can't seem to find anything so it looks like I didn't. Search back through the thread to find the postings of the instructions. There must be something simple that's being missed since you are almost complete.

Rod#S is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off