Do I need firmware upgrade? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 03-23-2007, 08:04 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pannyplasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought a Panasonic TH-50PX60...do I need a firmware upgrade?
I clicked on 'about' on the tv menu and got this info

TV 0142-0110
Status 01F100-9000
Status 0000-F0000

My tv was manufactured in Sept06 (per the sticker on back of tv)
pannyplasma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 03-23-2007, 08:31 PM
Member
 
bbiggs32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pannyplasma View Post

I just bought a Panasonic TH-50PX60...do I need a firmware upgrade?
I clicked on 'about' on the tv menu and got this info

TV 0142-0110
Status 01F100-9000
Status 0000-F0000

My tv was manufactured in Sept06 (per the sticker on back of tv)

You don't have the "Clay Face" firmware. You have 1.21, and the most recent is 1.25.

You can tell your firmware by looking at the second, fourth and sixth numbers on the "TV" line.
bbiggs32 is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 03-23-2007, 08:59 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pannyplasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks that was a big help. I downloaded and installed the update.
Are there any other upgrades etc I should be doing?
pannyplasma is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 03-23-2007, 11:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
indept's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deptford,Nj.
Posts: 779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Just curious, I'm a Philips owner Does the upgrade cure Clayface? If so, I wish Philips would do the same. I only see it occasionally but would rather not see it at all.
indept is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 03-24-2007, 05:05 AM
Member
 
DeltaOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pannyplasma View Post

I just bought a Panasonic TH-50PX60...do I need a firmware upgrade?
I clicked on 'about' on the tv menu and got this info

TV 0142-0110
Status 01F100-9000
Status 0000-F0000

My tv was manufactured in Sept06 (per the sticker on back of tv)

I believe you have firmware 1.02 (the other poster may be wrong). I was told you read the firmware backwards, disregarding the first and third digits (and the hyphen). Someone else will be able to confirm this.

I upgraded my firmware, believing that newer is usually better. The picture was great before the upgrade, it's still great after the upgrade. No harm, no foul.
DeltaOne is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 03-24-2007, 07:37 AM
Member
 
XRinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeltaOne View Post

I believe you have firmware 1.02 (the other poster may be wrong). I was told you read the firmware backwards, disregarding the first and third digits (and the hyphen). Someone else will be able to confirm this.

I upgraded my firmware, believing that newer is usually better. The picture was great before the upgrade, it's still great after the upgrade. No harm, no foul.


I have the same rev firmware and when I looked at the FW install guide,
the little arrows indicate start reading from left to right with the second digit.
And read ever-other digit. The manual shows ver 1.25 and how to read it.
XRinger is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 03-24-2007, 07:45 AM
Member
 
XRinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pannyplasma View Post

Thanks that was a big help. I downloaded and installed the update.
Are there any other upgrades etc I should be doing?


I have 1.21 (and 1.25 sitting in my PC waiting).
But, I don't want to flash it up, unless it does something good.

I have noticed that the Blacks are super black and there isn't much
in the way of 'shades of gray' to be seen..

I wonder if anyone that has seen 1.21 and 1.25,
have noticed an improvement in the black levels?

FYI, my model # is TH-42PD60U (it's an EDTV)..

Thanks,
Rich
XRinger is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 03-24-2007, 09:01 AM
 
optivity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by pannyplasma View Post

Do I need firmware upgrade?

When in doubt... check the FAQs:

Panasonic Firmware Upgrade Downloads / Check the Software Version.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xringer View Post

I have 1.21 (and 1.25 sitting in my PC waiting).

My advice is to use Panasonic's SD-Card Formatter utility first and then download the: SDDL.SEC firmware image directly to (right-click, select: Save Target As... option) the SD card, bypassing the save-to-disk step.
optivity is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 03-24-2007, 09:40 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pannyplasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hadn't noticed the 'clay face' thing til yesterday. Right after the upgrade it was gone. Before the upgrade...I could see some faint clay-looking in the shadow areas in the faces of the actors.
pannyplasma is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 03-24-2007, 09:48 AM
 
optivity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by pannyplasma View Post

I hadn't noticed the 'clay face' thing til yesterday. Right after the upgrade it was gone. Before the upgrade...I could see some faint clay-looking in the shadow areas in the faces of the actors.

PX60_GenX_V1-25.exe (467KB) DG-Board EEPROM GenX Firmware update resolves:

-Poor picture details
-Faces appear as "Clay Faces"
-Excessive brightness with no details in the black level

makes sense to me.
optivity is offline  
post #11 of 20 Old 03-24-2007, 10:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
LesMoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cayucos, CA
Posts: 588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You probably need the tuner upgrade as well. (SDDL.SEC). It fixed a problem I had getting digital channels on the scan.
LesMoss is offline  
post #12 of 20 Old 03-24-2007, 11:11 AM
 
optivity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Panasonic typically releases one or two firmware updates for each generation of PDPs they make. After that, you're PDP is as it good as it gets.
optivity is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 03-24-2007, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Elemental1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Zion
Posts: 3,315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I upgraded my fathers 60u and while I did not notice a big difference, he said thanks for fixing the picture.
So I guess it does help.

My HT

In the words of English philosopher Edmund Burke, ÂAll that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.Â
Elemental1 is offline  
post #14 of 20 Old 03-24-2007, 02:28 PM
Member
 
XRinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by optivity View Post

When in doubt... check the FAQs:

Panasonic Firmware Upgrade Downloads / Check the Software Version.

My advice is to use Panasonic's SD-Card Formatter utility first and then download the: SDDL.SEC firmware image directly to (right-click, select: Save Target As... option) the SD card, bypassing the save-to-disk step.

I already had the Panny Format program, so I plugged my wife's camera
into the PC (saved her pics) and formatted the 1GB card in the cam.
I checked all the Panny format modes, and only the default (quick format) seemed
to work okay. The other format modes hung up.

I clicked on the firmware (zipped) file and told the unzipper to place the
files on my F: (removable drive is really a Nikcon camera) and it worked fine.

Turned on the TV, plugged the SD card into the maintenance slot and it
did it's thing. (On the TH-42PD60U, the slot in on the back of the panel).

Once done, it says 'Please turn off TV'. I think you should wait about
30 seconds and then press and hold the power button for 5-10 seconds
and it will go off. Just a quick 1 second press won't do it.

Before:
TV 0142-0110 (1.21)
After:
TV 0142-0510 (1.25)

Had to redo the time and date etc. But the darker areas of a picture seem
to have a bit more texture.

My wife kept saying that the news people were wearing too much makeup.
I think it wasn't the makeup, but clay face effects. Seems to gone now.
I'll keep watching for it. Got to tweak the PQ settings a little more now.
XRinger is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 03-24-2007, 07:11 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pannyplasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How to do the SDDL.SEC upgrade. I clicked download and firefox placed it on my desktop. I dragged it to drive E: (my SD card). Do I have to open and/or unzip it or something? Or do I just plug the SD card into the tv and it'll do the rest?
pannyplasma is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 03-25-2007, 04:34 AM
 
optivity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
optivity is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 03-25-2007, 09:15 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pannyplasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mission accomplished....both updates are now installed.
pannyplasma is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 03-25-2007, 05:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Habs4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all Im a noobie to the plasma game,I just purchased a demo 37px60 with a 30 day return option and would like to find out the firware version and hours of service.I tried the volume + on remote and TV mentioned in the link to Bruzzis info but no info appeared .
Thanks for your help.
Habs4life is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 03-25-2007, 08:37 PM
Member
 
XRinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pannyplasma View Post

How to do the SDDL.SEC upgrade. I clicked download and firefox placed it on my desktop. I dragged it to drive E: (my SD card). Do I have to open and/or unzip it or something? Or do I just plug the SD card into the tv and it'll do the rest?

For the 1.25, it had to be unzipped.. But like you say, this is a plain file..

Just put it on the SD card by itself and the TV will upgrade itself??

TIA,
Rich

Edit:
That's exactly how it works. Just use the panny format for the SD card,
copy over the appropriate SDDL.SEC file to it,
turn on TV, plug in SD card, program runs, It tells you when to pull power cable out
(don't forget to remove SD card).
XRinger is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 03-25-2007, 09:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
indept's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deptford,Nj.
Posts: 779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by pannyplasma View Post

I hadn't noticed the 'clay face' thing til yesterday. Right after the upgrade it was gone. Before the upgrade...I could see some faint clay-looking in the shadow areas in the faces of the actors.

Just curious, as a Philips owner I've noticed that Jay Leno has Clay-Puss, although others on his show don't
indept is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off