Samsung xx34, xx44, xx54, xx64 Series Plasma Thread - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 8389 Old 05-02-2007, 05:20 PM
 
ZippyBongHits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: White Mountains NH
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1restarter View Post

Well, after looking at various artifacts and noise on my Sammy 4253 AND the slight pink hue on white background, i decided to upgrade to the 4254. Just recieved it a few hours ago and im watching various channels that don't have a constant logo, like the HBO and Discovery HD channels. I've noticed that the SD channels are now much clearer than they were on the 4253. BTW, thanks to another member (greeno) here who suggested switching to MOVIE mode in order to see better shadow detail. That really worked!

The only problem is that i wish i didn't need to watch 100 hours of logo-free channels to prevent burn-in or IR, even though i have disabled all the processors like DNIe etc. Also i've lowered contrast and brightness levels alongwith pixel-shift setting to 4-4-1, but im still anxious to fire up my new PS3 which i purchased today. Is it ok to play games right now or do i still need to wait for the 100 hours or so to complete? thx

PS3 is fine. Do this, for every hour you use your PS3, make sure you use the scrolling burn protection pattern for an hour afterwards. Play it safe and be rewarded down the road.
ZippyBongHits is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 8389 Old 05-02-2007, 05:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Bengbeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Rotterdam -NL-
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There was an article on the net some while ago where they investigated 1080i de-interlacing on plasma. Conclusion was that lots af sets didn't do a proper job, but produced some strange 540p endresult instead of proper 720p. (i think only the Pioneers, Fujitsus and some Pannies did it properly).
Maybe some guys know what article i mean, i don't have a link.

Do the new Sammies do it properly?
Bengbeng is offline  
post #543 of 8389 Old 05-02-2007, 05:32 PM
 
ZippyBongHits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: White Mountains NH
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bengbeng View Post

There was an article on the net some while ago where they investigated 1080i de-interlacing on plasma. Conclusion was that lots af sets didn't do a proper job, but produced some strange 540p endresult instead of proper 720p. (i think only the Pioneers, Fujitsus and some Pannies did it properly).
Maybe some guys know what article i mean, i don't have a link.

Do the new Sammies do it properly?

How would you test interlacing capabilites? The 1080i HD channels I get from cable are very sharp and detailed without a question. Something is being done right........
ZippyBongHits is offline  
post #544 of 8389 Old 05-02-2007, 05:35 PM
Newbie
 
redrob2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone, rookie poster here. I've been in the market for a 50" plasma or a 46" LCD and have done a decent amount of reading and research, but I admit I don't know much about settings on HDTVs. I came across the Samsung 5064 and heard a lot of people raving about it and was close to pulling the trigger on it. I went to BB today and they had the 5054 next to a Pioneer 5070. I expected a pretty similar picture, some differences but at least comparable. They were playing the same old video of flowers and landscapes. Whenever they would pan in/out, side-to-side, or even fade out, the Samsung seemed like it had noise. It was almost like static. The image when there wasn't much motion in the picture they were very comparable, but those panning landscapes just bothered me. I was really surprised there was such a difference after reading all the positive things on here.

I'll stop droning and get to my point. Is this the image processor or a simple setting I could change to make them a bit more comparable? Hopefully this can be changed and I don't have to go back to the drawing board (Panny vs Sammy vs Pio ... decisions ... ugh!)

Thanks ahead of time for the help and feedback!

-Rob
redrob2 is offline  
post #545 of 8389 Old 05-02-2007, 05:42 PM
 
ZippyBongHits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: White Mountains NH
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by redrob2 View Post

Hi everyone, rookie poster here. I've been in the market for a 50" plasma or a 46" LCD and have done a decent amount of reading and research, but I admit I don't know much about settings on HDTVs. I came across the Samsung 5064 and heard a lot of people raving about it and was close to pulling the trigger on it. I went to BB today and they had the 5054 next to a Pioneer 5070. I expected a pretty similar picture, some differences but at least comparable. They were playing the same old video of flowers and landscapes. Whenever they would pan in/out, side-to-side, or even fade out, the Samsung seemed like it had noise. It was almost like static. The image when there wasn't much motion in the picture they were very comparable, but those panning landscapes just bothered me. I was really surprised there was such a difference after reading all the positive things on here.

I'll stop droning and get to my point. Is this the image processor or a simple setting I could change to make them a bit more comparable? Hopefully this can be changed and I don't have to go back to the drawing board (Panny vs Sammy vs Pio ... decisions ... ugh!)

Thanks ahead of time for the help and feedback!

-Rob

Shut off all the processing under "settings" and "picture", this includes DNIe, Noise reduction, dynamic contrast, black level, edge enhancement etc. Make sure set is set to "Movie mode" and color temp to "warm2". Set color to around 48-50. Tint to G 54/46 R. Contrast to around 60-64 and brightness to around 36-40. This will allow for an average ballpark.

BTW how close were you to the screen when viewing the "noise"? Make sure your standing back the CORRECT distance you would normally view at home. If your right up face close to the TV, Im sure you can see some noise off a split feed coax feed, but it could be a number of things including a simple poor connection cable feed.

If you want to be smart about it. Buy the set, bring it home and "demo" it there in your house. You have 30 days no question asked return policy you know. You will learn more about a TV in your house once its been properly broken in than you ever will at a brightly lit store.
ZippyBongHits is offline  
post #546 of 8389 Old 05-02-2007, 05:43 PM
 
ZippyBongHits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: White Mountains NH
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by redrob2 View Post

Hi everyone, rookie poster here. I've been in the market for a 50" plasma or a 46" LCD and have done a decent amount of reading and research, but I admit I don't know much about settings on HDTVs. I came across the Samsung 5064 and heard a lot of people raving about it and was close to pulling the trigger on it. I went to BB today and they had the 5054 next to a Pioneer 5070. I expected a pretty similar picture, some differences but at least comparable. They were playing the same old video of flowers and landscapes. Whenever they would pan in/out, side-to-side, or even fade out, the Samsung seemed like it had noise. It was almost like static. The image when there wasn't much motion in the picture they were very comparable, but those panning landscapes just bothered me. I was really surprised there was such a difference after reading all the positive things on here.

I'll stop droning and get to my point. Is this the image processor or a simple setting I could change to make them a bit more comparable? Hopefully this can be changed and I don't have to go back to the drawing board (Panny vs Sammy vs Pio ... decisions ... ugh!)

Thanks ahead of time for the help and feedback!

-Rob

And btw, be sure to check out the new review on the 4254 as well. it was nothing but thumbs up.
ZippyBongHits is offline  
post #547 of 8389 Old 05-02-2007, 05:54 PM
Newbie
 
redrob2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Zippy, thanks for the help on those settings. I was sorta hoping you'd be the one to reply since you've been rocking this thread for a while! I'm going to run back tonight and check out the set again with those settings. I'm assuming that'll help a ton. Thanks again!
redrob2 is offline  
post #548 of 8389 Old 05-02-2007, 05:59 PM
 
ZippyBongHits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: White Mountains NH
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by redrob2 View Post

Zippy, thanks for the help on those settings. I was sorta hoping you'd be the one to reply since you've been rocking this thread for a while! I'm going to run back tonight and check out the set again with those settings. I'm assuming that'll help a ton. Thanks again!

Its still going to be through a split coax feed. Not the best way to do an honest demo.........
ZippyBongHits is offline  
post #549 of 8389 Old 05-02-2007, 06:02 PM
 
ZippyBongHits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: White Mountains NH
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by redrob2 View Post

Zippy, thanks for the help on those settings. I was sorta hoping you'd be the one to reply since you've been rocking this thread for a while! I'm going to run back tonight and check out the set again with those settings. I'm assuming that'll help a ton. Thanks again!

BTW how close were you to the TV when you detected "noise"? If you were right up against the set, that really means nothing and is no indication of performance and ability. Thats why you need to be at normal viewing distances as you would sit at the house. If that means 10 feet, then stand 10 feet back, if its 15, then thats where you view from.
ZippyBongHits is offline  
post #550 of 8389 Old 05-02-2007, 06:03 PM
Newbie
 
redrob2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was easily 10' back, probably more, and it was very noticeable.
redrob2 is offline  
post #551 of 8389 Old 05-02-2007, 06:23 PM
 
ZippyBongHits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: White Mountains NH
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by redrob2 View Post

I was easily 10' back, probably more, and it was very noticeable.

Then there was definetly something wrong with the TV or the feed.
ZippyBongHits is offline  
post #552 of 8389 Old 05-02-2007, 06:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tower101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bengbeng View Post

There was an article on the net some while ago where they investigated 1080i de-interlacing on plasma. Conclusion was that lots af sets didn't do a proper job, but produced some strange 540p endresult instead of proper 720p. (i think only the Pioneers, Fujitsus and some Pannies did it properly).
Maybe some guys know what article i mean, i don't have a link.

Do the new Sammies do it properly?

You mean this one?

http://www.hometheatermag.com/hookmeup/1106hook/

I have not seen one for this years TVs.
tower101 is offline  
post #553 of 8389 Old 05-02-2007, 06:38 PM
 
ZippyBongHits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: White Mountains NH
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tower101 View Post

You mean this one?

http://www.hometheatermag.com/hookmeup/1106hook/

I have not seen one for this years TVs.

I actually have the 1080i SMPTE 133 test pattern on a disc somewhere.......Ill go find it.
ZippyBongHits is offline  
post #554 of 8389 Old 05-02-2007, 06:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tower101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do not have the HD version of the test. DVE HD is only in HD-DVD no BD
tower101 is offline  
post #555 of 8389 Old 05-02-2007, 07:31 PM
Member
 
trek2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Zippy ( or others),
I'm looking for a definitive answer to the following question on the T4264:

Should "Just Scan" work for HD programming either received over-the-air or via the QAM tuner (Verizon FIOS) ?

The owners manual indicates that it should work for DTV (720p and 1080i) as well as HDMI.
On my set it only works for HDMI.
I have received conflicting answers for the Samsung reps.


Thanks!
trek2004 is offline  
post #556 of 8389 Old 05-02-2007, 07:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tower101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by trek2004 View Post

Zippy ( or others),
I'm looking for a definitive answer to the following question on the T4264:

Should "Just Scan" work for HD programming either received over-the-air or via the QAM tuner (Verizon FIOS) ?

The owners manual indicates that it should work for DTV (720p and 1080i) as well as HDMI.
On my set it only works for HDMI.
I have received conflicting answers for the Samsung reps.


Thanks!

The one I have does not work with QAM at any res.
tower101 is offline  
post #557 of 8389 Old 05-02-2007, 09:10 PM
Newbie
 
hightechonly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Brand new poster. After prowling the forum for several weeks I've decided to pull the trigger on the 4254. My question; any issues with the PS3 connected to the sammy via HDMI? I've seen a few posts about audio drop-out. I'm at 1.6 on the PS3, should I be concerned?

HTO
hightechonly is offline  
post #558 of 8389 Old 05-02-2007, 10:12 PM
 
ZippyBongHits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: White Mountains NH
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hightechonly View Post

Brand new poster. After prowling the forum for several weeks I've decided to pull the trigger on the 4254. My question; any issues with the PS3 connected to the sammy via HDMI? I've seen a few posts about audio drop-out. I'm at 1.6 on the PS3, should I be concerned?

HTO

You'll be fine.
ZippyBongHits is offline  
post #559 of 8389 Old 05-02-2007, 10:24 PM
Newbie
 
redrob2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Zippy, those settings were nice! I went over to CC instead of BB this time and they let me play around on it and the signal looked way better! Thanks again!!!
redrob2 is offline  
post #560 of 8389 Old 05-02-2007, 11:00 PM
 
ZippyBongHits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: White Mountains NH
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its an amazing set.
ZippyBongHits is offline  
post #561 of 8389 Old 05-03-2007, 04:00 AM
s4b
Member
 
s4b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZippyBongHits View Post

There are going to be a number of new settings in my thread. One of my plasma displays just past the 100 hour mark last night on the loop feed. This morning I found that color saturation had to be moved up a full 10 clicks. Contrast went up a few clicks too, and brightness went down a click. The image displayed got REAL DEEP. Very "3D". I'll be making alot of notes and updates on my settings as soon as I check out all the inputs again for you folks.

Where in the menu do you go to find the number of hours? For some reason I can't find it in the manual. Am I totally blind?
s4b is offline  
post #562 of 8389 Old 05-03-2007, 04:16 AM
Senior Member
 
HT-Naimee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My wall mount just arrived, so I can now safely order a screen as soon as it's available
HT-Naimee is offline  
post #563 of 8389 Old 05-03-2007, 04:40 AM
 
ZippyBongHits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: White Mountains NH
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by s4b View Post

Where in the menu do you go to find the number of hours? For some reason I can't find it in the manual. Am I totally blind?

Its in the service menu.
ZippyBongHits is offline  
post #564 of 8389 Old 05-03-2007, 04:41 AM
 
ZippyBongHits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: White Mountains NH
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by redrob2 View Post

Zippy, those settings were nice! I went over to CC instead of BB this time and they let me play around on it and the signal looked way better! Thanks again!!!

Coax doesnt do this plasma justice. Stick an HD-DVD or Blu-ray disc in and see the real magic.
ZippyBongHits is offline  
post #565 of 8389 Old 05-03-2007, 05:04 AM
s4b
Member
 
s4b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZippyBongHits View Post

Its in the service menu.

Ok, now I know I'm blind. How do you get to the service menu? The owner's manual doesn't seem to mention it.
s4b is offline  
post #566 of 8389 Old 05-03-2007, 05:06 AM
s4b
Member
 
s4b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can the scrolling white screen also serve the same purpose as a repeating video as far as break-in time is concerned for the 5054?
s4b is offline  
post #567 of 8389 Old 05-03-2007, 05:29 AM
 
ZippyBongHits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: White Mountains NH
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by s4b View Post

Can the scrolling white screen also serve the same purpose as a repeating video as far as break-in time is concerned for the 5054?

I use it towards the counted hours. wipes away burn and image retention, helps to break in the screen as well. Thats why I advocate people to use it extensively during breakin.
ZippyBongHits is offline  
post #568 of 8389 Old 05-03-2007, 06:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Bengbeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Rotterdam -NL-
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tower101 View Post

You mean this one?

http://www.hometheatermag.com/hookmeup/1106hook/

I have not seen one for this years TVs.

Yep, thnx!

Last year's 5053 failed while the 4253 passed. Strange...
Bengbeng is offline  
post #569 of 8389 Old 05-03-2007, 06:30 AM
 
ZippyBongHits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: White Mountains NH
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bengbeng View Post

Yep, thnx!

Last year's 5053 failed while the 4253 passed. Strange...

The 5054 and 4254 both pass the SMPTE 133 test pattern. I tried it this morning off the DVE calibration disc.
ZippyBongHits is offline  
post #570 of 8389 Old 05-03-2007, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tower101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZippyBongHits View Post

The 5054 and 4254 both pass the SMPTE 133 test pattern. I tried it this morning off the DVE calibration disc.

You have the HD Disc?
tower101 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off