Samsung xx34, xx44, xx54, xx64 Series Plasma Thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 8389 Old 04-17-2007, 10:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
tomanystraydogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Defcon718 View Post

Heres my sad setup in my apartment in brooklyn ny.
Notice how the Samsung makes everything look so much better?

Thx 4 the pics!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- read it, learn it, live it.
tomanystraydogs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 8389 Old 04-17-2007, 10:46 AM
Senior Member
 
tomjc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Palos Heights, IL (Suburban Chicago)
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by royalkilla408 View Post

Hi i'm new to buying plasma tvs. I've had a mitsubishi rear projector HDTV for like 3+ year but its dead now. I'm looking to buy a SAMSUNG HPT4254, but before I buy it I need to be sure if its the best tv I can purchace at that price (1200-1500). The reason is because I wont be buying an HDTV for a long time I hope. I like all the features of this tv exept 1024x768 resolution, Does it really matter? Thanks

I have an HP-T4254 set in my family room. The PQ at 8 foot viewing distance on HD is excellent. Unless you intend to sit very close the difference between 768P and 1080P in real life is not noticeable. I base this on having a 1080P LCD to compare with the 4254.
tomjc is offline  
post #183 of 8389 Old 04-17-2007, 10:56 AM
Member
 
WSeattleGuY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: West Seattle, WA
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by royalkilla408 View Post

I like all the features of this tv exept 1024x768 resolution, Does it really matter? Thanks

The 4254 is my 4th HD set (although some would argue this isn't technically an HD set due to the 1024 horizontal resolution). The previous 3 all have 1368 horizontal resolution. The 4254 has the best HD I've seen on a set once it's home and calibrated. Don't worry about the resolution. It's more than adequate and the other factors that matter MUCH more are excellent on this set (i.e. contrast, shadow detail, color reproduction).
WSeattleGuY is offline  
post #184 of 8389 Old 04-17-2007, 12:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Baller23217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WSeattleGuY View Post

The 4254 is my 4th HD set (although some would argue this isn't technically an HD set due to the 1024 horizontal resolution). The previous 3 all have 1368 horizontal resolution. The 4254 has the best HD I've seen on a set once it's home and calibrated. Don't worry about the resolution. It's more than adequate and the other factors that matter MUCH more are excellent on this set (i.e. contrast, shadow detail, color reproduction).

What settings do you run it on?
Baller23217 is offline  
post #185 of 8389 Old 04-17-2007, 12:48 PM
Senior Member
 
DDG1914's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Man, Defcon. That's nice. Seeing the basketball in that pic reminds me of looking at this set in the store. The thing that struck me about the PQ is that it seemed nice and balanced. No one thing about it took precedence, you know? Everything just came together to the best effect.
DDG1914 is offline  
post #186 of 8389 Old 04-17-2007, 01:06 PM
Member
 
micah323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know you arent supposed to put to much emphasis on the picture in the stores, but the 5054 to my eyes is by far the most impressive out of all the ones I have seen. The pioneer 5070/6070 is could be on par with it.

Defcom thanks for the pic. I love the styling of the samsungs.
micah323 is offline  
post #187 of 8389 Old 04-17-2007, 01:41 PM
Senior Member
 
DDG1914's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The feed in the store on the 4254 showed a clip of a basketball game, and the fans in the bleachers did a wave, or something. As they stood up and sat down, they didn't look like flat cardboard cutouts- you could make out their facial features and the shapes of their heads. The funny thing is, when I saw that I instinctively recoiled, because it was creepy.
DDG1914 is offline  
post #188 of 8389 Old 04-17-2007, 02:24 PM
Newbie
 
deadhoarse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZippyBongHits View Post

You should also have "Just scan" as well through HDMI, then you can set aspect ratio through your DVD player, assuming its a decent one that has those options.

Can digital broadcasts be stretched on this TV? On the 5053 series, if a digital broadcast has black bars, you can't stretch over HDMI. You can only select 16:9 or 4:3.
deadhoarse is offline  
post #189 of 8389 Old 04-17-2007, 02:32 PM
Member
 
WSeattleGuY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: West Seattle, WA
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by deadhoarse View Post

Can digital broadcasts be stretched on this TV? On the 5053 series, if a digital broadcast has black bars, you can't stretch over HDMI. You can only select 16:9 or 4:3.

You can stretch over HDMI. I think it's called wide.
WSeattleGuY is offline  
post #190 of 8389 Old 04-17-2007, 02:50 PM
Member
 
WSeattleGuY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: West Seattle, WA
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baller23217 View Post

What settings do you run it on?

I tweak nonstop. Drives the wife nuts

I'm still in the breakin period so my contrast and brightness are pretty low. I actually leave dnie on most of the time (wife prefers it) and turn off the black level and dynamic contrast in the detailed settings. I haven't had a chance to calibrate the colors yet.
WSeattleGuY is offline  
post #191 of 8389 Old 04-17-2007, 03:11 PM
Member
 
royalkilla408's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow thanks for the quick response, I've decided to get the SAMSUNG HPT4254 its perfect for me, plus I cant wait to plug in my 360. I was thinking LCD's but my friend has one and the PQ just looks flat. My 3 year old rear projection had a more realistic PQ.
royalkilla408 is offline  
post #192 of 8389 Old 04-17-2007, 07:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
eghill1125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Butler, PA
Posts: 917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The tweaking is killing me on this sammy. There are so many user controls. I have posted my current settings on 4-17-06. These settings really work well for me at night with a regular room lamp on. I continue to tweak every night though. I have about 120 hrs on it, so it will probably continue to adapt some for a little while.

My question for anyone is this. Has anyone taken the time to try and get some settings during the daytime. I am not home early enough most of the time. My settings DON"T work for daytime very well. Was hoping to use a dynamic or standeard setting for this.

Any help?

Ed

PSN - eghill1125
eghill1125 is offline  
post #193 of 8389 Old 04-17-2007, 08:21 PM
Newbie
 
BOOMer_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well bought the Samsung 4253 a month ago here in Canada never even got to get it home( had to go out of town for a month and never got to pick it up) Anyway way went to the store to pick it up today and they sold it by mistake said the sold tag in the back store warehouse must have fallen off LOL and none of the stores carry that model anymore The manager said I can have the 4254 for $100 more. So paid 1800 for the 4254 hope it`s better then the 4253 I was suppose to get? Getting it delivered on Thursday. Anyone have this TV and can you please message me the break in settings you are using. This is my first Plasma. Thanks
BOOMer_2007 is offline  
post #194 of 8389 Old 04-18-2007, 05:20 AM
Newbie
 
bonbonchef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZippyBongHits View Post

Hehe, I have a funny feeling that the USB port on the 4254 can be upgraded to "64" status with a firmware upgrade since there is no physcial difference in the circuitry. They basically just "diabled" the USB on the 54 series through software.

If I can get my hands on a 64 series USB flash firmware I would be willing to be a guinia pig.


Haha my first post since I joined months ago, and turns out to be non AV related. I have been researching on USB product development and learned that there is a difference in the hardware for USB hosts vs USB devices, despite their ports look the same externally. A USB host circuit is indeed slighlty more expensive.

Judging from the functions of the USB ports described here for the 54/64, I would guess that 54 has a device-only port (the TV as a firmware upgradable device), while 64 has a device/host port (firmware upgrade but can also act as a host to OTHER device such as USB drives).

My suggestion - dont hack it with incompatible firmware. The flashing is probably fool-proof (no pun intended) but I wouldnt take the risk .
bonbonchef is offline  
post #195 of 8389 Old 04-18-2007, 05:30 AM
 
ZippyBongHits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: White Mountains NH
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BOOMer_2007 View Post

Well bought the Samsung 4253 a month ago here in Canada never even got to get it home( had to go out of town for a month and never got to pick it up) Anyway way went to the store to pick it up today and they sold it by mistake said the sold tag in the back store warehouse must have fallen off LOL and none of the stores carry that model anymore The manager said I can have the 4254 for $100 more. So paid 1800 for the 4254 hope it`s better then the 4253 I was suppose to get? Getting it delivered on Thursday. Anyone have this TV and can you please message me the break in settings you are using. This is my first Plasma. Thanks

I feel it is. The colors are significantly better due to better grayscale tracking. And the grayscale tracking can be tweaked via user menu controls as well. It also has less false contouring as well to go with good deep blacks. Its on par with the Pioneer 70/71 series in PQ when set up right.
ZippyBongHits is offline  
post #196 of 8389 Old 04-18-2007, 05:35 AM
 
ZippyBongHits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: White Mountains NH
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eghill1125 View Post

The tweaking is killing me on this sammy. There are so many user controls. I have posted my current settings on 4-17-06. These settings really work well for me at night with a regular room lamp on. I continue to tweak every night though. I have about 120 hrs on it, so it will probably continue to adapt some for a little while.

My question for anyone is this. Has anyone taken the time to try and get some settings during the daytime. I am not home early enough most of the time. My settings DON"T work for daytime very well. Was hoping to use a dynamic or standeard setting for this.

Any help?

My settings are for room controlled(ie: no light or small backlight only)lighting situations where it can be made dark. But your settings will carry over. Just switch from low in the Power Saver function to regular or high or whatever its called. Thats what that control is for. Power Saver mode is how you adjust the TV to the light in the environment. It almost acts light a backlight control. When I do have light in the room I find thats all I need to do. All the other settings stay relatively accurate. Its not like your doing critical video viewing with the lights on anyway.
ZippyBongHits is offline  
post #197 of 8389 Old 04-18-2007, 06:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Chilli_Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Land of Lincoln
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just realized that DNIe and Digital NR are global settings. Seems kind of weird since most other picture settings are unique to each input.

Are all Samsungs this way, or is this "feature" just unique to the new 54 (and 64?) series?
Chilli_Dog is offline  
post #198 of 8389 Old 04-18-2007, 07:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Chilli_Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Land of Lincoln
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know if discrete input commands are available for the 5054? I've got an MX500 that I'm trying to program, but haven't found a good way to select the correct input due to the lack of discrete input commands available on the Samsung remote.

I tried downloading the codes for the 5054 on a Harmony remote, but the only input command available was InputNext. Would the discrete commands available on other Samsungs models work on the 5054? I would just try them, but I've got a fear that the commands would work differently on the 5054 and possibly be interpreted as some system level command. Given my previous luck with TVs, just didn't want to take any chances.

Any input would be appreciated.
Chilli_Dog is offline  
post #199 of 8389 Old 04-18-2007, 09:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
eghill1125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Butler, PA
Posts: 917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey Zippy...

When you say minimal backlighting for your settings, what are you using. Some type of rope lighting or one of the lumes? I am looking into getting something like these.

Thanks

Ed

PSN - eghill1125
eghill1125 is offline  
post #200 of 8389 Old 04-18-2007, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
huskerpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chilli_Dog View Post

Anyone know if discrete input commands are available for the 5054? I've got an MX500 that I'm trying to program, but haven't found a good way to select the correct input due to the lack of discrete input commands available on the Samsung remote.

I tried downloading the codes for the 5054 on a Harmony remote, but the only input command available was InputNext. Would the discrete commands available on other Samsungs models work on the 5054? I would just try them, but I've got a fear that the commands would work differently on the 5054 and possibly be interpreted as some system level command. Given my previous luck with TVs, just didn't want to take any chances.

Any input would be appreciated.

I am having some trouble with my harmony as well. it does not want to change inputs correctly when changing activities, ie. it goes to the next input rather than the one is supposed to go to. The wifes grandparents are in town and I have not had the time to sort it out yet. Will post when I do though.

Life is tough, but it's tougher when you're stupid. - John Wayne
huskerpat is offline  
post #201 of 8389 Old 04-18-2007, 11:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
tomanystraydogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have the TC30 derivative of the Harmony.

I think you need to tell the Harmony the tv does not have discrete inputs, then it will toggle to the correct one.

Works on my current tube that does not have discrete inputs.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- read it, learn it, live it.
tomanystraydogs is offline  
post #202 of 8389 Old 04-18-2007, 01:17 PM
Member
 
golfdad907's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI to anyone in the market. Just picked up a 4254 for MBR last night at Best Buy. Reason being, had to get my 110% price match back on the 5054 bought 2 weeks ago. Printed out Fry's current promo prices and they choked, but matched them without even calling to verify stock available. 5054 2Gs+35, 4254 was 13hundo. Pretty great deals on fantastic TVs. Hope info useful to y'all :-D
golfdad907 is offline  
post #203 of 8389 Old 04-18-2007, 01:36 PM
Newbie
 
mvetos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Enjoy![/quote]
hello and thank you for a very informative thread 2 questions here 1. can you play an external harddrive or a flash drive with a movie thru the usb port 2. how would this {5054-64} compare to the pioneer 4312 I own from costco as far as pq on all formats [hd -sd-dvd] really interested in the new samsung plasmas. By the way love my pioneer 4312. and thanks again to all the great members here
mvetos is offline  
post #204 of 8389 Old 04-19-2007, 04:37 AM
Newbie
 
im1fan2nv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, I'm new to plasma, but have had an LCD for about 1 year. It is glad to see that there is a forum like this to help the new guys. I just purchased the sammy 4254. I've only had it 3 days now. I'm having an issue when I first turn it on. It doesn't happen everytime, but it does happen. It has what looks like some pixel aliasing when I first turn it on around the edges of an image. The edge looks red. Say for instant someone's chin. The edge of the chin looks like some pixel aliasing. I plan to get a picture of it when I get the chance, but wanted to check here to see if anyone else is seeing something like this. It goes away when I turn the TV off and then back on. Is this something that can be caused because it is cold.
Thanks for any advice.
im1fan2nv is offline  
post #205 of 8389 Old 04-19-2007, 07:35 AM
Senior Member
 
biznus97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does this model have any issue with Floating blacks?
biznus97 is offline  
post #206 of 8389 Old 04-19-2007, 08:16 AM
Member
 
L_Bo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well my 4254 was finally delivered this AM!!!!! Can't wait to go home and check it out, it was delivered right before I left for work. I took it out and placed it on a my stand, it compliments my Sammy HT-X40 home theater system nicely.

Thanks to all those who have posted feedback and helped my decision on my first plasma. I will make the break-in DVD today and later use Zippy's calibration settings..............turning brighness and contast down though until it's broken in. Were those settings used with HDMI or Component? Apparently the PQ is different based on the type of connection and settings will vary accordingly.


Has anyone used the built in break in setting for this set? I have been following this threaad and didn't see it mentioned, if it was my apologies.
L_Bo is offline  
post #207 of 8389 Old 04-19-2007, 08:18 AM
 
ZippyBongHits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: White Mountains NH
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by biznus97 View Post

Does this model have any issue with Floating blacks?

Nope, solid black levels, no floating.
ZippyBongHits is offline  
post #208 of 8389 Old 04-19-2007, 10:07 AM
Member
 
jlepak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Stevens Point, WI
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by L_Bo View Post

Has anyone used the built in break in setting for this set? I have been following this threaad and didn't see it mentioned, if it was my apologies.

there is a built in break in mode on these sets?
jlepak is offline  
post #209 of 8389 Old 04-19-2007, 10:58 AM
Senior Member
 
tomjc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Palos Heights, IL (Suburban Chicago)
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by L_Bo View Post

Well my 4254 was finally delivered this AM!!!!! Can't wait to go home and check it out, it was delivered right before I left for work. I took it out and placed it on a my stand, it compliments my Sammy HT-X40 home theater system nicely.

Thanks to all those who have posted feedback and helped my decision on my first plasma. I will make the break-in DVD today and later use Zippy's calibration settings..............turning brighness and contast down though until it's broken in. Were those settings used with HDMI or Component? Apparently the PQ is different based on the type of connection and settings will vary accordingly.


Has anyone used the built in break in setting for this set? I have been following this threaad and didn't see it mentioned, if it was my apologies.

L_Bo,
Based on my experience with 4254 you do not need a break in disc. My set is now two weeks old with approximately 60 hours use. I lowered the contrast, brightness and sharpness settings right out of the box. Also set the picture to normal and the anti burn setting to 3.3.1. I have no problems with IR or burn with any input or media. Take your time in the setup and learn each function. The Sammy is one d--m nice set.
Enjoy,

Tom
tomjc is offline  
post #210 of 8389 Old 04-19-2007, 11:13 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
oxfdblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomjc View Post

L_Bo,
Based on my experience with 4254 you do not need a break in disc. My set is now two weeks old with approximately 60 hours use. I lowered the contrast, brightness and sharpness settings right out of the box. Also set the picture to normal and the anti burn setting to 3.3.1. I have no problems with IR or burn with any input or media. Take your time in the setup and learn each function. The Sammy is one d--m nice set.
Enjoy,

Tom

My experience is similar with my 4264. It has about 35 hours on it. I turned the standard brightness and contrast down to the mid 40's... but also set the movie setting to normal viewing. If I'm watching something mundane or just letting the set run up some hours, I leave it on the dimmed settings. If it something more interesting or "important" (Ranger playoffs!) I put on the regular, brighter settings.

I also have the pixel switching on 3-3-1 and I let the scrolling go for about 20 minutes or so before turning the tv off for the night. So far, not even the slightest hint of burn in or image retention.

Other topic- Has anyone else with a 64 series realized that Samsung doesn't have the model series on the website to register the set as far as warranty and stuff?
oxfdblue is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off