Panasonic 42pz700, 50pz700u, 50pz750u, 58pz700u and 58pz750u Owners Thread! - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 10938 Old 05-10-2007, 02:02 PM
Member
 
trublu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirk11 View Post

crutchfield is saying the 700u is not hdmi 1.3...

i know other ppl have been saying it is. Anyone really know for sure? I know hdguru said the 750 is hdmi 1.3. Seems pretty lame to not give it to the 700u too.

I was told by panasonic direct that the 700U has hdmi 1.3.
trublu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 10938 Old 05-10-2007, 02:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hdmi 1.3 is still a hit miss thing it seems.

Pioneer just anounced new Elite receivers that will have 1.3 but at the same time announced a new elite bluray player that is hdmi 1.2a.

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #183 of 10938 Old 05-10-2007, 02:03 PM
Member
 
burninator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirk11 View Post

crutchfield is saying the 700u is not hdmi 1.3...

i know other ppl have been saying it is. Anyone really know for sure? I know hdguru said the 750 is hdmi 1.3. Seems pretty lame to not give it to the 700u too.


I contacted Panasonic support via email, and they said all of their 2007 models are 1.3
burninator is offline  
post #184 of 10938 Old 05-10-2007, 02:38 PM
Member
 
dirk11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well here is hoping panasonic knows whats in their tvs better than crutchfield. ;P. My 50 700u is scheduled to arrive saturday, and my heart sank when i happened to notice that crutchfield had the 700u posted as 1.2a. Even though i know the benefits of 1.3 are virtually non-existant for the time being, i want it on my friggen tv .
dirk11 is offline  
post #185 of 10938 Old 05-10-2007, 10:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Andyisc00l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey ---

50pz700u only has a 5,000:1 contrast ratio. Samsung's 65F series has a 15,000:1 contrast ratio. People were saying the blacks were good on the 50pz700u. What's the deal? You'd think the 65F would destroy the 700u with 3 times the contrast ratio and I've heard people saying Panasonic has better blacks?


Anyone know the contrast ratio of the 50pz750u? is it the same as the 50pz700u?
Andyisc00l is offline  
post #186 of 10938 Old 05-10-2007, 10:30 PM
Senior Member
 
binister's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andyisc00l View Post

Hey ---

50pz700u only has a 5,000:1 contrast ratio. Samsung's 65F series has a 15,000:1 contrast ratio. People were saying the blacks were good on the 50pz700u. What's the deal? You'd think the 65F would destroy the 700u with 3 times the contrast ratio and I've heard people saying Panasonic has better blacks?


Anyone know the contrast ratio of the 50pz750u? is it the same as the 50pz700u?

This has been covered in this thread and many others.

Comparing CR between vendors and even between models is difficult and not likely to tell you much.

Let your eye be the judge. As many people here have already mentioned, the 50PZ700U looks brilliant. Some going so far as saying the best plasma on the market.
binister is offline  
post #187 of 10938 Old 05-11-2007, 06:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 454
****Please note: Contrast Ratio and Brightness levels at this point should not be used in a decision to buy a screen.**** There is no set standard to measure these specs. Each manufacturer measures them in there own way. When projectors are measured they have "Lumens" which is a set standard for measuring brightness. In the Auto industry they have "Dyno" machines to measure horse power.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #188 of 10938 Old 05-11-2007, 08:27 AM
Member
 
fatman72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree, in fact I compared a 50pz700u with 5000:1 CR and a 50px600u with 10000:1 CR and the pz with presumed lower CR was way better in terms of PQ, as of right now I don't think u can go wrong with the new panny pz models they look awesome
fatman72 is offline  
post #189 of 10938 Old 05-11-2007, 10:15 AM
Senior Member
 
bbonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
don't the 700 series have 1080p?
bbonds is offline  
post #190 of 10938 Old 05-11-2007, 11:30 AM
Senior Member
 
wales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope this price history chart for the 600 is indicative of what we'll see on the 700 and 750. If 750 is truly limited distribution I guess it's less likely for that one. The red maximum price line roughly reflects msrp at the time and it looks like it was dropped in Sept. 2 months after introduction then again before Christmas. Since the 700 (and 750) will be out sooner seems safe to assume we'll see one noticeable drop in price by September.

http://www.nextag.com/Panasonic-TH-5...e-history-html
wales is offline  
post #191 of 10938 Old 05-11-2007, 11:41 AM
Member
 
eflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my new pz700 delivered today. Other than one dead pixel it looks pretty good. It's about as bright as it gets in this room during the day and I see no reflections or glare so there must be something to this anti-reflective screen. I haven't really played with the settings yet. If you're interested, I'll post my settings once I'm happy with them.

All in all, so far so good.
eflynn is offline  
post #192 of 10938 Old 05-11-2007, 12:34 PM
Senior Member
 
binister's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eflynn View Post

Just got my new pz700 delivered today. Other than one dead pixel it looks pretty good. It's about as bright as it gets in this room during the day and I see no reflections or glare so there must be something to this anti-reflective screen. I haven't really played with the settings yet. If you're interested, I'll post my settings once I'm happy with them.

All in all, so far so good.

Are you going to live with the dead pixel? I thought plasmas didn't suffer from dead pixels as much as LCDs.

So you are saying you are happy with the brightness?

Eagerly awaiting your review...
binister is offline  
post #193 of 10938 Old 05-11-2007, 01:18 PM
Member
 
eflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by binister View Post

Are you going to live with the dead pixel? I thought plasmas didn't suffer from dead pixels as much as LCDs.

So you are saying you are happy with the brightness?

Eagerly awaiting your review...

Not sure about the dead pixel. It actually doesn't bother me at all because I can only see it up close but my wife already called BB about it. We'll see what they say. There is a small scuff on the piano-black finish that she doesn't like too so we may end up getting the set replaced anyway.

The brightness is good but not like the Sharp LCD I just sent back. 100000 times better than my old CRT but I think I the Sharp spoiled me. I would like to get the brightness up a bit higher to make it look more like the LCD but it's still good anyway. No complaints. I can't wait to see it during the evening - I think this TV will really shine then.

Also, I'd like to change my earlier statement about the reflections. I do see reflections in the screen but only when I'm viewing from an angle. Really doesn't bother me. For reference, I saw them in my LCD too. The difference is that in the LCD, they were more like blobs of light, like someone shining a flashlight on the screen. In the plasma, they are much more defined, like an actual reflection of something. In both cases though, I can still see a good image on the screen so like I said, they don't bother me.

Too soon to say but so far, I think I made the right decision to return the LCD for this set. At the very least, I'm loving the nice uniform screen without bands and other weird things.
eflynn is offline  
post #194 of 10938 Old 05-11-2007, 02:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 454
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #195 of 10938 Old 05-11-2007, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 5,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

TH-42PZ700U will be out early it is looking. Should hit the states next week

Excellent news, thanks!
Joxer is offline  
post #196 of 10938 Old 05-12-2007, 04:01 PM
Senior Member
 
binister's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Went down to my local Best Buy to take a look at the 700U and was surprised how large the bezel is on it. I wish they could make the bezel on these things less than an inch wide like on LCDs. I was also surprised by the amount of light it reflected. It was set up facing a wall full of LCDs/plasmas and it was distracting.

PQ was outstanding though even though they had it hooked up to a standard DVD player. I was really impressed by the blacks and the brightness was fine.

Can't wait to get one of these in my house!
binister is offline  
post #197 of 10938 Old 05-12-2007, 04:23 PM
Newbie
 
scubascrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I love my 50pz700u. I am not a expert and would love to see the owners of this TV post there settings. Thanks Ken
scubascrub is offline  
post #198 of 10938 Old 05-12-2007, 05:32 PM
Member
 
viper900's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Went down to my local Best Buy to take a look at the 700U and was surprised how large the bezel is on it. I wish they could make the bezel on these things less than an inch wide like on LCDs. I was also surprised by the amount of light it reflected. It was set up facing a wall full of LCDs/plasmas and it was distracting.

PQ was outstanding though even though they had it hooked up to a standard DVD player. I was really impressed by the blacks and the brightness was fine.

Can't wait to get one of these in my house!

How does the reflectiveness compare to a typical CRT television?
viper900 is offline  
post #199 of 10938 Old 05-12-2007, 08:59 PM
Member
 
macaronia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone know if the 750s will be for sale at the EPP?
macaronia is online now  
post #200 of 10938 Old 05-12-2007, 11:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
skyehill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Saw a 50 inch 700u in the wild today (Best Buy). As others have said, contrast is NOT an issue. What a beautiful picture. If I didn't need a TV to also handle a video game console or two, I'd be all over this one. Or perhaps the 58 inch version, which BB did not have today. From what I could tell, it reflected just as much light as all the other plasmas around it. BB had it stuck on Vivid, so I changed it around some and very quickly got it looking really nice. I might just leave my video game consoles hooked up to my projector and get the 700u just for HD NFL games and HD primetime TV. Decisions decisions.
skyehill is offline  
post #201 of 10938 Old 05-12-2007, 11:35 PM
Member
 
dave_coulier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by skyehill View Post

Saw a 50 inch 700u in the wild today (Best Buy). As others have said, contrast is NOT an issue. What a beautiful picture. If I didn't need a TV to also handle a video game console or two, I'd be all over this one. Or perhaps the 58 inch version, which BB did not have today. From what I could tell, it reflected just as much light as all the other plasmas around it. BB had it stuck on Vivid, so I changed it around some and very quickly got it looking really nice. I might just leave my video game consoles hooked up to my projector and get the 700u just for HD NFL games and HD primetime TV. Decisions decisions.

You seem to be really worried about burn in since you wont play video games on the plasma. It really isn't that much of an issue anymore. My friend has a Panasonic Plasma and he definately doesn't take alot of caution with it(Leaving for 2 hours at a time, with a static image of GH2 on) and he has yet to experience any burn-in. I had my 700u delivered just the other day, and I am definately going to be using it for gaming when I get it broken in .
dave_coulier is offline  
post #202 of 10938 Old 05-12-2007, 11:52 PM
Member
 
dave_coulier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im having intermittent problems when using the 50pz700u as a pc monitor. Everything will be running fine for awhile, then Ill turn off my tv to go do something, but when I return I can't get my pc to show up again.

I had to restart my pc 3 times just now until the picture came thru. This problem occurs on both HDMI ports. Oddly enough when I was pressing my power button in to restart, the pc image came thru, then disappeared again when I let go of the power button on pc.

Anyone else having this kind of problem?
dave_coulier is offline  
post #203 of 10938 Old 05-13-2007, 12:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
skyehill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave_coulier View Post

You seem to be really worried about burn in since you wont play video games on the plasma. It really isn't that much of an issue anymore. My friend has a Panasonic Plasma and he definately doesn't take alot of caution with it(Leaving for 2 hours at a time, with a static image of GH2 on) and he has yet to experience any burn-in. I had my 700u delivered just the other day, and I am definately going to be using it for gaming when I get it broken in .


Actually I'm referring to the small number of useable 1080p connections on the TV. When there's more composite inputs thatn 1080p inputs on a 1080p TV, that's just lame.
skyehill is offline  
post #204 of 10938 Old 05-13-2007, 01:08 AM
Member
 
dave_coulier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by skyehill View Post

Actually I'm referring to the small number of useable 1080p connections on the TV. When there's more composite inputs thatn 1080p inputs on a 1080p TV, that's just lame.

Ah okay. Its unfortunate it doesn't have enough inputs for you. Luckily all im using mine for is the Elite, and possibly a PS3 sometime in the future.

On a side note, I get overscan when using my pc via dvi-hdmi. Is it possible there will be a fix for this in panasonics future?
dave_coulier is offline  
post #205 of 10938 Old 05-13-2007, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Macfan424's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by skyehill View Post

Actually I'm referring to the small number of useable 1080p connections on the TV. When there's more composite inputs thatn 1080p inputs on a 1080p TV, that's just lame.

Yes, I find the tendency of TV manufacturers to lag behind the market in connectivity to be annoying. It's not new, though. I was grumbling about it when I bought my set three years ago.

Anyway, I wouldn't deprive myself of a TV I wanted for lack of HDMI connections (assuming that is your problem), when you can inexpensively (relative to the cost of a new plasma, at least) solve it with something like this MonoPrice HDMI switch. They come in several sizes. I have the 4X1 version and it works like a charm on my older Panasonic, which only has one HDMI input.
Macfan424 is offline  
post #206 of 10938 Old 05-13-2007, 11:39 AM
Newbie
 
ambs275's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norse View Post

4. nvidea based video card in Vista HTPC. Booted and hit F8 to bring up Vista Safe mode menu. Selected low color option which resets your video settings so you can get into windows to setup correctly with new display. DVI - HDMI cable was use with hdmi 2 o Panny. Once I logged in, selected 1920x1080p and answered yes. Overscan was there so used the remote to select HD Size 2. Perfect 1:1 with 0 overscan. WOOOOO HOOOOO! amazingly clear.

Here you go, Dave. Hopefully that helps you.
ambs275 is offline  
post #207 of 10938 Old 05-13-2007, 03:22 PM
Member
 
dave_coulier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ambs275 View Post

Here you go, Dave. Hopefully that helps you.


Unfortunately the tv displays the pc signal at the sign-in screen and beyond, so Im unable to get into safe mode unless theres another way to do so..

I read another post about someones plasma only picking up their pc signal at the sign in screen as well. Anyone know why that happens, but not on lcds?

I lowered the resolution on my vid card until I found a setting that I can live with, so its not really a problem anymore.

Thanks for helping me though. Once I get a desk for my pc, Im going back to using my pc monitor, so its not too important.
dave_coulier is offline  
post #208 of 10938 Old 05-13-2007, 05:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 2,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does the 700 store separate settings for each mode (cinema, std, vivid) for each input? (I hope)?


thx

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #209 of 10938 Old 05-13-2007, 05:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
D-Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 14,935
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post

Does the 700 store separate settings for each mode (cinema, std, vivid) for each input? (I hope)?


thx

bob

Each input has a custom video mode. So it has one mode per input for personalized settings.
D-Nice is offline  
post #210 of 10938 Old 05-13-2007, 05:54 PM
Member
 
cashman91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8upaxeman View Post

TH-50PZ700U
Here's my story.
I went to best buy in Dayton ohio area at 5:00pm 5/7/07
Had in my hand 6 different online quotes. had the toll free numbers for all and any physical addresses that some but not all Etailers had.
I had all the prices listed or quoted
Just as what I thought was a joke I approached a sales person and ask if they would match the lowest or close to the lowest price. He first said we don't match internet prices.
I told him I wanted 2 of these displays. My friend was wanting 1 also
I then showed him the ones that had physical addresses. He said let me go see what we can do.
He came back out of the back of the store and said WE ARE GOOD TO GO. just like most people I said stop messin with me and he then replied I'M SERIOUS!!
I said stund and in shock. I didn't bring my money with me. He replied I had till the end of closing to make good on his offer.
Remember that this was just a sales person no manager.
So off to the bank I went cussin all the rush hour drivers in my way as the bank closes at 5:30pm.
Got to the bank got my money and my friend banks at the same place so back to the store.
They were $100 dollars more than the lowest internet price that I had saw not even including shipping WOW!!!!
The sales person wrote up my sales slip and mentioned that there was a shift change at 5:00pm for the store managers and the new incoming manager was the one that signed off on the deal. He said something like he was real busy at the time getting organized?
I had to wait untill 5/10/07 for the 2 displays to get to the store from the warehouse so I'm in a holding pattern
The sales person then said that not 1 of these displays have ever even been in the store period. (Yes I bought the display sight unseen) TH-50PZ700U
He then told me I was in the right place not at the right time but the right minute.

THANKS TO ALL THE WONDER FULL PEOPLE ON THIS FORUM FOR HELPING ME GAIN KNOWLEDGE AND MAKE MY CHOICE A LITTLE EASIER!!!!!!!!!!

sweet to bad i live in canada and FS and BB don't have the sets yet
cashman91 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Plasma Lcd Tv Remote Control N2qayb000100 N2qayb000102 Supplied With Models Pt 50lcz7 Pt 5 , Panasonic
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off