Wall mount for Pioneer 6070? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-29-2007, 09:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Maximus330I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys and gals, just wondering which wall mount you went with? I am very close on pulling the trigger on the Pioneer 6070 and was thinking about the Peerless mount. I don't really need a mount that tilts, just a basic flat mount is fine. Thanks.
Maximus330I is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-29-2007, 11:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kr8z1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Dutchtown, LA
Posts: 1,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Search in the Flat Panel General section, there is a thread (actually many threads) there discussing mounts. I use a Sanus mount. Others have been happy with the Monoprice mount.

The FPG section is where this question really belongs BTW...just so you know since this thread may end up moved anyways.
Kr8z1 is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 01:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Maximus330I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Kr. I didn't even realize there was another flat panel section until now. I did a search and it seems like the Peerless SF670 mount is mentioned a lot.
Maximus330I is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 06:35 AM
Senior Member
 
bdoseck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Botkins, Ohio
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Peerless SF670 is a very good choice for the Pioneer 6070HD. You may also want to look at the ST670, it is only a few dollars more.

Thanks,
Bob Doseck
Plasma Concepts

AVS Forum Alliance Sponsor


Uncle Bob's Coupons
bdoseck is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 08:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 12,410
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Liked: 692
Well for the bigger plasmas, except the Panasonic TH-65PX600U (needs a special mount) The Sanus VMPL3 has an adjustable back plate to span over 3 studs (Not 2) and comes with tilt and flat ams. Therefor, all pieces are there to make it a flat or tilt mount.

<<>>

Cleveland Plasma is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
creemail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Peerless is a good start. They have great/reliable mounts. I would suggest a flat panel mount, such as the Peerless SF660. This is a low profile mount that sticks out 1.18" away from the wall. That way it would give it close to a flush look to your wall. It also handles upto 200 lbs, so this more than plenty weight support for the 6070.

Cleveland recommended the Sanus VMPL3 for adjust-ability purposes. Well you can simply go with the VMPL2, which has a single back plate and is a much more lower profile mount.

Keep in mind the weight of your 6070 is only 112.4 lbs, in which the SF660 and VMPL2 can handle that weight support.

Chris
MountAVision.com
creemail is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 09:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
jrbd90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by creemail View Post

Peerless is a good start. They have great/reliable mounts. I would suggest a flat panel mount, such as the Peerless SF660. This is a low profile mount that sticks out 1.18" away from the wall. That way it would give it close to a flush look to your wall. It also handles upto 200 lbs, so this more than plenty weight support for the 6070.

Cleveland recommended the Sanus VMPL3 for adjust-ability purposes. Well you can simply go with the VMPL2, which has a single back plate and is a much more lower profile mount.

Keep in mind the weight of your 6070 is only 112.4 lbs, in which the SF660 and VMPL2 can handle that weight support.

Chris
MountAVision.com

The SF660 will NOT fit the hole pattern. The SF670 will, but that is nearly 2" added depth.

Instead, I went with the Solid Mounts UF-800F which fit pretty well and is only 0.98" in depth.

All i had to do was cut a tab on the rail which took less than five minutes to get a perfect fit.
jrbd90 is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
creemail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrbd90 View Post

The SF660 will NOT fit the hole pattern. The SF670 will, but that is nearly 2" added depth.

Instead, I went with the Solid Mounts UF-800F which fit pretty well and is only 0.98" in depth.

All i had to do was cut a tab on the rail which took less than five minutes to get a perfect fit.

Yes I apologize I meant the SF670. I had the model numbers switched around. Yes you are correct and it will not fit the hole pattern. Also the depth is around 2". Yes thanks for the correction.

Chris
MountAVision.com
creemail is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 11:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Maximus330I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks again guys. It looks like I will go with the Peerless 670. Just wanted to clarify one more thing. Do I need to add an adaptor plate of any kind on the Pio 6070 for the Peerless 670 to work?
Maximus330I is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 11:32 AM
Member
 
daab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is no plate necessary for the ST or SF670 for the 6070.



Dan Aab
Plasma Concepts

Dan Aab
Plasma Concepts
Forum Sponsor
daab is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 02:43 PM
 
RomanInvision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Since it seems like the sponsors (well some are sponsors) are all over this thread I will suggest the ST670 as well since I have had great luck with it
RomanInvision is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 03:04 PM
Senior Member
 
ishoong's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Toronto, On
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RomanInvision View Post

Since it seems like the sponsors (well some are sponsors) are all over this thread I will suggest the ST670 as well since I have had great luck with it

But will the flat mount cause some issue to connect cable to the panel when it is still on the mount? Also will it fit 1140 or 1540?
ishoong is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 03:28 PM
 
RomanInvision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ishoong View Post

But will the flat mount cause some issue to connect cable to the panel when it is still on the mount? Also will it fit 1140 or 1540?

Works with 1140. 1540 you need an adapter plate ACC670T. ST670 is a tilt mount the SF670 is the flat and you should have no issues connecting the cable (many people do it themselves or get an installer)
RomanInvision is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 10:05 PM
Member
 
Shinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What exactly is the difference between the ST670 & the ST670P? From looking at the Peerless website I see the "P" model comes with standard hardware while the "non-P" model comes with "security" hardware. Looking at the package contents listing it doesn't seem like there's any difference in the hardware that comes with the mount. Ideas anyone?

Slan,

Jim
Shinner is offline  
Old 08-12-2007, 07:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
creemail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes their is not very much info, but the P indicates that is it standard philps screws, while the non-P takes security fasteners. The security fasteners look like an octagon screw (sort of speak). That is the only difference.

Its best to buy the P.

Chris

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shinner View Post

What exactly is the difference between the ST670 & the ST670P? From looking at the Peerless website I see the "P" model comes with standard hardware while the "non-P" model comes with "security" hardware. Looking at the package contents listing it doesn't seem like there's any difference in the hardware that comes with the mount. Ideas anyone?

creemail is offline  
Old 08-13-2007, 10:46 AM
Member
 
Shinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by creemail View Post

Yes their is not very much info, but the P indicates that is it standard philps screws, while the non-P takes security fasteners. The security fasteners look like an octagon screw (sort of speak). That is the only difference.

This is what you're talking about, correct?



Quote:
Originally Posted by creemail View Post

Its best to buy the P.

Ah well, I ended up buying the non-p model since "security" hardware sounded better for the same price. I have plenty of allen bits so no problem.

Slan,

Jim
Shinner is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 01:23 PM
Member
 
Shinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump....my "ST670" came today. Hardware included is something like pictured below, except longer and phillips instead of flat. Was expecting socket head screws, but no big deal. Dunno how this "security" hardware differs from the "standard" (which I understand to be phillips wood screws as well).


Slan,

Jim
Shinner is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 01:28 PM
 
RomanInvision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I would love to see the final product pics in this thread

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=802333
RomanInvision is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 09:13 PM
Member
 
Shinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm running into trouble putting the wall mount up....we're in a townhouse and there's a cement block firewall behind the wallboard (not actually up against it but about 1.5" back from the exterior edge). Gonna search for some install experience on this.

Slan,

Jim
Shinner is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 09:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
creemail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shinner View Post

This is what you're talking about, correct?




Ah well, I ended up buying the non-p model since "security" hardware sounded better for the same price. I have plenty of allen bits so no problem.

Yep thats about the only difference. I think its hideous if you ask me.

Chris
creemail is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 10:28 PM
Member
 
Shinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by creemail View Post

Yep thats about the only difference. I think its hideous if you ask me.

As they're hidden, I don't see that it's a big deal. In the end, my "security" model came with standard phillips hex head screws.

Slan,

Jim
Shinner is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 07:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
briang191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
has anyone looked at the wall mount sold at sams club or costco any thoughts on those wall mounts?
briang191 is offline  
Old 09-17-2007, 07:50 PM
Member
 
ggemmill17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

Well for the bigger plasmas, except the Panasonic TH-65PX600U (needs a special mount) The Sanus VMPL3 has an adjustable back plate to span over 3 studs (Not 2) and comes with tilt and flat ams. Therefor, all pieces are there to make it a flat or tilt mount.

<<>>




This mount is awesome! Heavy Duty. I have my 507 cmx hanging on it. Actually, I hung on it before I hung the plasma (200lbs). The mount costs a little more than a standard flat, but if you decide to tilt it, you only have to change the tv brackets, it comes with both. Call Chris at Cleveland Plasma,he'll hook you up with a good price.
ggemmill17 is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 01:48 PM
Newbie
 
vincident's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can the SF670 be mounted on a wall where the studs are 24" off of center? Trying to self install this mount for my 6070. The instructions seem to need a 16" stud range?

Vincent
vincident is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off