The Official Pioneer 8G Kuro Settings/Issues Thread - Page 431 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12901 of 12908 Old 05-07-2015, 12:13 AM
Member
 
Herman8or's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post
Word. Bought my 5010-FD in spring 2008, and has been running amazingly ever since. Still bests most pictures I see.

Interested in how PQ has evolved since 2008 but not much is causing me to research it since mine still looks so good. Plus plasmas are dead, so they CRT-like screens are extinct. Except for mine
Scott, I couldn't agree with you any more!!! I bought my Pro-1150HD in 2008 too and the PQ is frickin amazing!!! So many people comment on "what kind HDTV is that?!, the picture is amazing!"
When I knew Plasma was dead, I doubled down and bought a
Pro-150HD - 60" - 1080p set, plus a Panasonic ZT60 60". My 1150 is 34,000 plus hours and going strong. Still amazed how Pioneer packed so many feature rich functions into their Plasmas. Someday a 4k OLED will be in my Home Theater, but not anytime soon. Just no need at this point. Best of luck & continued success with your Elite.
Herman8or~
quarlo, rcapprotti and Bruce2019 like this.
Herman8or is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12902 of 12908 Old 06-22-2015, 10:02 AM
Member
 
filmoreXXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Contemplating buying an 8g?

For those familiar with the 8g service menu...

Say someone wanted to buy one second hand, I've heard rumours people can re-set the hours done on the panel to give the illusion its Been " lightly used" " in spare room " etc etc

I know how to get into the service menu but is there a way to tell if someone has re- set the hours? ( without control cal)
filmoreXXX is offline  
post #12903 of 12908 Old 06-22-2015, 08:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mamasboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Stuck in Michigan
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Herman8or View Post
. My 1150 is 34,000 plus hours and going strong.
How can I find out how many hours on my Pioneer? It wouldn't be too bad but people have a habit of leaving it on and walking away.

I feel infinite

Last edited by Mamasboy; 07-28-2015 at 03:34 PM. Reason: two -- too
Mamasboy is offline  
post #12904 of 12908 Old 09-28-2015, 07:32 AM
Member
 
smalltownguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
PDP-5080HD - text on menus is sliced into 3

Just noticed this happening on my 5080 a week or so ago when I went to set the sleep timer. I normally don't access the menus of the TV, so I can't say how long it's been doing this, but I also noticed that the numbers on the volume up/down are affected too.

Symptom: In the on-screen menus, text is misplaced and sliced into 3 repeating images on the screen. Graphics on the menus are un-affected. This makes it nearly impossible to do any kind of TV setup maintenance, as you can't really see what text you have highlighted.

I'll get some pics up later tonight.

I apologize if this problem has already been reported and diagnosed, I'll admit I didn't take the time to read a 400+ page thread
smalltownguy is offline  
post #12905 of 12908 Old 09-30-2015, 08:03 AM
Member
 
smalltownguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by smalltownguy View Post
Just noticed this happening on my 5080 a week or so ago when I went to set the sleep timer. I normally don't access the menus of the TV, so I can't say how long it's been doing this, but I also noticed that the numbers on the volume up/down are affected too.

Symptom: In the on-screen menus, text is misplaced and sliced into 3 repeating images on the screen. Graphics on the menus are un-affected. This makes it nearly impossible to do any kind of TV setup maintenance, as you can't really see what text you have highlighted.

I'll get some pics up later tonight.

I apologize if this problem has already been reported and diagnosed, I'll admit I didn't take the time to read a 400+ page thread

Fixed it. Cycled the power on the unit, and all is well.
rongallant likes this.
smalltownguy is offline  
post #12906 of 12908 Old 01-31-2016, 04:43 PM
Member
 
Parrot_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hoping to get some advice, I have a 5080Hd that I bought new back in the day. My house was hit by lightening about four years ago and fried the HDMI inputs 4&5 and the component input. I was able to continue using the tv using HDMI inputs 6&7 until my insurance replaced the unit at which time the 5080 went into storage.

I recently added a tv room and was going to use the Pioneer. All was fine for a couple of weeks when all of a sudden after about 30 minutes of using the display, the display would just go to a black screen, no picture, no audio, no blinking blue light. I disconnected the power and let sit for 10 minutes and everything would come back to life for about 10-15 minutes before the screen goes black again.

I was thinking of replacing the main board. I'm not hearing the cooling fan and I believe that fan is controlled from the main board.

Any advice or suggestions?

Thank you

I'll kill a man in a fair fight. Or if I think he's gonna start a fair fight. Or if he bothers me. Or if there's a woman. Or if I'm gettin' paid. Mostly when I'm gettin' paid - Jayne
Parrot_HD is offline  
post #12907 of 12908 Old 02-01-2016, 01:16 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 25,184
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parrot_HD View Post
Hoping to get some advice, I have a 5080Hd that I bought new back in the day. My house was hit by lightening about four years ago and fried the HDMI inputs 4&5 and the component input. I was able to continue using the tv using HDMI inputs 6&7 until my insurance replaced the unit at which time the 5080 went into storage.

I recently added a tv room and was going to use the Pioneer. All was fine for a couple of weeks when all of a sudden after about 30 minutes of using the display, the display would just go to a black screen, no picture, no audio, no blinking blue light. I disconnected the power and let sit for 10 minutes and everything would come back to life for about 10-15 minutes before the screen goes black again.

I was thinking of replacing the main board. I'm not hearing the cooling fan and I believe that fan is controlled from the main board.

Any advice or suggestions?

Thank you
If you are adapt at changing computer components then you can do that yourself depending on the cost of parts. We had our 6010's main board changed and as I recall the board was around eight hundred dollars. As for your diagnosis, I have no idea. It does sound like the unit could be shutting down because of heat. I'm not sure that there would be no blue lights in that case.

Good luck.
htwaits is offline  
post #12908 of 12908 Old Today, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
brentsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wildwood, MO
Posts: 1,994
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My very lightly used 5010FD is failing. It was perfect until last night when it wouldn't turn on via the remote. I tried the cycling the physical switch on the back, but that didn't work. I unplugged the set and plugged it back in, and the result was a normal TV for hours.

I turned it off for a while again, and the symptoms returned. This time the hard power cycle first resulted in a blue blinking light. Second try it gave the message about the plasma booting up, but froze there. Third attempt again gave me a working TV for hours.

Today it's dead again, and now the physical power button the rear left of the display won't even toggle the red LED off. I hear a click but nothing happens.

Thoughts? This TV was used for the occasional movie or video game, so hours are extremely low. The only thing that -might- have been bad for the display is frequent use of the physical power on rear-left. We have another Pioneer TV in close proximity and this one would errantly respond to remote commands if left on.

Thanks! I'm searching the forums for answers and really want to get this display repaired.

B
brentsg is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer Pdp 6010fd 60 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Pioneer Pro110 Pro 110fd Pro 110fd Tv Pro110 Kuro 50 Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off