Placing a plasma TV on a stand - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-26-2007, 05:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DREAMMOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SOMEWHERE IN TIME
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey guys I have a question about placing a plasma TV on the stand it comes with. Do you place the panel bezel first on a table like the manual states and then attach the stand, or do you use a different method? Also, if you do place it bezel first on a table what do you use so that the bezel or glass does not get scratched? Any help/advice will be appreciated.
DREAMMOS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-26-2007, 06:46 AM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 488
Quote:
Originally Posted by DREAMMOS View Post

Hey guys I have a question about placing a plasma TV on the stand it comes with. Do you place the panel bezel first on a table like the manual states and then attach the stand, or do you use a different method? Also, if you do place it bezel first on a table what do you use so that the bezel or glass does not get scratched? Any help/advice will be appreciated.

It depends on the brand and how the stand is attached to the TV.

If it's a Panasonic for instance, it's safer to place the stand on the table first, then you and a helper gently lower the TV onto the posts until it stops. Then you just install the retaining screws. This is how CC did it with my old Panny PX50U and how Magnolia did it with my new PZ700U.

If the stand bolts to the backside of the cabinet (like i've seen on many LCD TVs and i think the Pioneer too) then you probably have no choice but to lay the TV face down on a table to facilitate stand installation. A soft blanket or a sheet folded several times should be enough to protect the bezel, but don't let the TV drop the last inch as you pull your fingers out from under it.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-26-2007, 07:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mattg3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Does anyone know which pioneer kuro come in the box already mounted on the stand?Im primarily interested in the 50 inc 720 elite.I live alone so this is a big issue.

Matt
mattg3 is online now  
post #4 of 6 Old 09-26-2007, 07:41 AM
Newbie
 
EvoIXse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattg3 View Post

Does anyone know which pioneer kuro come in the box already mounted on the stand?Im primarily interested in the 50 inc 720 elite.I live alone so this is a big issue.

After looking through my manual (5010) it appears that the 50 inch models come with the stand already mounted and the 60' will need to have the stand put on.
EvoIXse is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-26-2007, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mattg3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Good new thanks

Matt
mattg3 is online now  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-26-2007, 10:40 AM
Member
 
allenshelley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattg3 View Post

Does anyone know which pioneer kuro come in the box already mounted on the stand?Im primarily interested in the 50 inc 720 elite.I live alone so this is a big issue.

I'm not sure which "50 inc 720 elite" your referring to, but I have both the Elite 50" (110FD) and the Elite 60" (150FD). The 50" comes with the stand already attached. The 60" does not.

-Allen
allenshelley is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off