Panasonic & Closed Caption - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 10-30-2007, 01:44 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
zerob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello ,

This is my first post here and I need your help .

I have an OPPO 980H and I just bought a Panasonic model TH-42PV70LB ( the Brazilian 42" Plasma HD , 1024x768 , model ) .

I understood that as Closed Caption is an analog signal I should not use Panasonic's HDMI input so I connected OPPO using the Component connection .

Well , the problem is that CC doesn't work with Panasonic's Component input . No legends ( C1, C2 ... ) .

My question is : Any of you with a Panasonic 42" is able to use the Closed Caption feature ?

Someone said to me that only using the RF input Panasonic would accept CC signal - but I think that this would be an absurd , a ridiculous limitation .

Thank you all ,

zerob

P.S. : Panasonic's Menu and also the Manual mentioned , clearly , CC .
zerob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 10-31-2007, 12:30 PM
Senior Member
 
limacharliewhisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The OC
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't have a Panasonic, but yeah, analog CC doesn't work on component cables. Digital CC does work through component on HD channels, but you usually have to turn this on with your cable or satellite box. Not sure how digital CC is enabled through over-the-air reception.

With SD channels, you won't get analog or digital CC through component. You'll likely have to use S-video or composite cables.
limacharliewhisk is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 10-31-2007, 12:55 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
zerob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your answer limacharliewhisk ,

I sent to OPPO Digital this doubt and they answered me that :

" ... Closed Captioning (CC) is an analog signal. You need to use component, S-Video, or composite at 480i to obtain Closed Captioning.
HDMI does not carry a CC.
Best Regards,
Customer Service
OPPO Digital, Inc. ... "

The problem is that my Panasonic doesn't work with CC unless I use RF or Composite cables - very poor inputs regarding dvds , isn't it .
I think that my Panasonic ( US equivalent is model TH-42PX75U ) has a design flaw .

regards ,

zerob
zerob is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 10-31-2007, 03:20 PM
Senior Member
 
limacharliewhisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The OC
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you're connecting a DVD player, then S-Video is likely the best signal you can use to get analog closed captions. My Samsung doesn't allow analog CC over the component cables either.
limacharliewhisk is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 10-31-2007, 03:55 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
zerob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I'll do it with S-Video .

Thanks again ,

zerob
zerob is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off