HDMI audio out on Panny plasmas? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 11-05-2007, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Flavius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Bit of an HDMI newbie...if I buy a new Panny plasma with HDMI inputs.... where does my fancy 5.1 optical audio go? My receiver only takes optical and coax digital inputs, not HDMI... Do the TVs have optical out passthrough from the HDMI input?? Is there such a thing as a cable with HDMI on one end and HDMI + optical or coax output on the other?? Thanks!
Flavius is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 11-05-2007, 01:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BillKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
No hdmi audio out from TV through optical as far as I know. Only optical in on the TV. Just run the optical (or coax) out from your cable box to your receiver and mute your TV (or turn the volume all the way down if your tv shows an annoying "mute" icon when muted) when you want to use the surround system. I've never heard of an hdmi cable with optical out on one end.

~Bill
BillKen is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 11-05-2007, 01:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chrisherbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 5,863
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flavius View Post

Bit of an HDMI newbie...if I buy a new Panny plasma with HDMI inputs.... where does my fancy 5.1 optical audio go? My receiver only takes optical and coax digital inputs, not HDMI... Do the TVs have optical out passthrough from the HDMI input?? Is there such a thing as a cable with HDMI on one end and HDMI + optical or coax output on the other?? Thanks!

While it would make sense for a TV to pass the 5.1 signal on to the receiver via optical or coax, thanks to (nonsensical) copy protection restrictions, this is not allowed.

You will need to run coax/optical directly from the source (cable box, dvd player, video game system, etc) to the receiver. It also means that you'll need to switch inputs on both the TV and the receiver, which is a pain in the ass.
chrisherbert is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off