Help!what am I doing wrong PQ not what I expected - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 11-18-2007, 06:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
coachagee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wasn't sure where to post this but here goes.
I recently purchased a samsung fpt-5084 plasma and while I am impressed with the current picture I am getting (upgraded from a dell 4200hd plasma) my hd-dvds and blu-rays don't seem to have the same "hd-pop" that I have seen in stores.Compared to the 58" samsung plasma and the 46" samsung lcd. I ran the same movies as reference titles and they seemed to be better at circuit city.My unbiased 7 year old says " it just doesn't look as real"

my set-up
samsung fpt-5084
onkyo txsr605
ps3
toshiba hd-a3
all hooked up with hdmi

any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated
Thanks
coachagee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 11-18-2007, 06:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
creemail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What are your settings? Increase your picture brightness. See if this helps.

You may be an LCD guy. Sometimes on how much we recommend plasma over LCD you may fall into the LCD category. Just a thought...

Plasma in general have a laid back look in comparison to LCDs. If you are looking for bright "picture pop" a Samsung 71 or 81 series will do the trick!

Chris
creemail is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 11-18-2007, 06:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
coachagee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the response,
Brightness is down and contrast is up.
I agree that the lcd's I looked at seemed brighter but comparing transformers between my set and the 58" sammy with the same specs mine seems to lack the "3d look" or "pop".

I will try boosting up the brightness and see how it looks.
Thanks again
coachagee is offline  
post #4 of 23 Old 11-21-2007, 08:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
coachagee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Boosted the brightness up a bit, seemed to help a little but more or less flatened the blacks.
Any other suggestions?
Thanks
coachagee is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 11-21-2007, 09:10 AM
Senior Member
 
tomjc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Palos Heights, IL (Suburban Chicago)
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
found in the ZippyBong Hits thread for starters. This should improve the PQ. Give the settings a few days use before changing. Then tweak them to personal taste. If the panel is new accumulate 100-200 hours before final tweaking. Settings are not global and need to be applied to each input.
tomjc is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 11-21-2007, 10:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Do you have any proper reference material for calibrating your display? AVIA, DVE?

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 11-21-2007, 10:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
coachagee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Suntan,
The best I have is the thx optimizer and my poor eyesight.

I checked some of the other threads and tried some of the suggestions but they just aren't what I expected.
(I have yet to try zippys settings yet)

Thanks to everyone for the help
coachagee is offline  
post #8 of 23 Old 11-21-2007, 01:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hans Gruber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I don't want to say you bought the wrong plasma, but you bought the wrong plasma.
Hans Gruber is offline  
post #9 of 23 Old 11-21-2007, 01:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
coachagee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hans,
Can you please elaborate as to why?
I thought I did my homework on this one, and I got a pretty good deal with a price match and rebates.

Thanks
coachagee is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 11-21-2007, 03:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
blazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
you're not comparing your plasma to the newer 120hz sets are you?
blazed is offline  
post #11 of 23 Old 11-21-2007, 03:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hans Gruber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Finds someone else's settings on the forum with the same plasma and input those in your set. People list their setttings here all the time and you will find some settings are very good. Since you're not professionally calibrating your plasma, this would be a logical next step.
Hans Gruber is offline  
post #12 of 23 Old 11-21-2007, 04:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
coachagee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Blazed,

I am comparing mine to the 5884 I have seen at c-city (both running transformers hd)

Hans,

I set my set with c-nets dark room settings ( the picture is great ) but I am refering to the " 3d effect" or "pop" that I have seen on the 5884.Both sets have the same specs and both running the same movie. If I have to get the set professionally calibrated so be it.I was just looking for some help if it was just me doing something wrong.

Thanks
coachagee is offline  
post #13 of 23 Old 11-21-2007, 04:42 PM
Member
 
Sceptic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe the issue has to do with the output settings on your HD DVD player (or the player itself)? Is there anything you can tweak in there?

Alternatively, how does your PQ look via Blueray on your PS3 by comparison? I recognize that you'll have to select a different title, but maybe the pop you're missing is due to the source?

Also - what's the lighting like in your room?
Sceptic is offline  
post #14 of 23 Old 11-21-2007, 04:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
tomanystraydogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
How many hours do you have?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- read it, learn it, live it.
tomanystraydogs is offline  
post #15 of 23 Old 11-21-2007, 04:53 PM
Member
 
BigBad74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you running video through the 605? If so that may be part of it. In all the reviews I have read on the 605 they mention the loss of detail. Try bypassing the receiver and compare.
BigBad74 is offline  
post #16 of 23 Old 11-21-2007, 04:57 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
coachagee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sceptic,
I have seen night at the museum run in blu-ray which had "pop" but that was on an lcd sammy 4761 I think and the same movie running on my set did not.
Just a couple of tweaks on both players (rgb enhancement,resolution) and as for lighting there is some direct lighting during the day but I can draw the blinds to darken the room.
coachagee is offline  
post #17 of 23 Old 11-21-2007, 05:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
coachagee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dogs,
about 100

bigbad,
Yes,and I have tried bypassing the 605 in a blu-ray test (no better) but have yet to try hd-dvd test.

Thanks guys/gals for the input sofar it's just frustrating (law of diminishing returns I guess)
coachagee is offline  
post #18 of 23 Old 11-21-2007, 05:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
tomanystraydogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Try this

Not a permanent solution as it's a different model, but it might help you see it 'pop'.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- read it, learn it, live it.
tomanystraydogs is offline  
post #19 of 23 Old 11-21-2007, 05:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
coachagee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dogs,
Just tried your suggestion with transformers and it definately looks better than c-nets dark room settings.I have been reading in the forums that the display gets better as more hours are put on it.

Could this be an issue?
coachagee is offline  
post #20 of 23 Old 11-21-2007, 06:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
tomanystraydogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have about the same hours as you. It seems to get better as the hours go by.

So far my best source is the Music HD channel and local news channels in HD. They all really have that 'looking out a window' look to them.

I just got my HD-A3 yesterday so I am still playing around with it.

I need to get Transformers, heard it's a great HD-DVD.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- read it, learn it, live it.
tomanystraydogs is offline  
post #21 of 23 Old 11-21-2007, 08:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
coachagee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dogs,
Transformers is awesome,I would have to agree that most of my hd channels look great especially football and tnt hd (comcast digital cable) the "looking out the window" comment is really what I have been trying to achieve but couldn't describe it right. I think I will let your settings ride for awhile and tweak a little later.

Thanks for the help and have a great turkey day.
coachagee is offline  
post #22 of 23 Old 11-21-2007, 10:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
maverick0716's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 2,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bet the demo TV at Circuit City was running in "Vivid" mode........which would be totally vibrant (and very unrealistic) colours and sharpness........though some people actually do like it.

Panasonic 42PX75U Plasma
PS3 60 GB
Xbox 360 Elite
Toshiba HD-A2
Pioneer VSX-1018
Polk Audio RM6750
maverick0716 is offline  
post #23 of 23 Old 11-22-2007, 09:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
tomanystraydogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by coachagee View Post

dogs,
I think I will let your settings ride for awhile and tweak a little later.

Drop your color down to 44, I just did and think it gives better flesh tones.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- read it, learn it, live it.
tomanystraydogs is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off