Master Burn-In/IR/Break In Thread Part II: All Posts Here Only - Page 185 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 40Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #5521 of 5530 Old 04-22-2015, 09:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Semp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Let me correct myself btw. I said when watching thx to activate pixel orbiter put it to size 2. That is incorrect. Turn over scan on then pixel orbiter will work with thx. Over scan should be on any way when watching tv channels. They aren't made for full pixel displays. Usually almost all have noise or are cropped in some way shape or from on the sides.
Semp1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5522 of 5530 Old 04-23-2015, 01:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Okay so I got my 5300 but I don't actually have a DVD drive on my PC and I don't have a DVD player. Is there just a raw video file I could use instead?
iGREASE is offline  
post #5523 of 5530 Old 05-20-2015, 10:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,246
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Semp1 View Post
Let me correct myself btw. I said when watching thx to activate pixel orbiter put it to size 2. That is incorrect. Turn over scan on then pixel orbiter will work with thx. Over scan should be on any way when watching tv channels. They aren't made for full pixel displays. Usually almost all have noise or are cropped in some way shape or from on the sides.
Very few HD channels have this issue. It's mostly an SD thing.
Soulburner is online now  
post #5524 of 5530 Old 05-20-2015, 11:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by iGREASE View Post
Okay so I got my 5300 but I don't actually have a DVD drive on my PC and I don't have a DVD player. Is there just a raw video file I could use instead?
I just got a Samsung 5300 60" last week.

I am watching TV about 12-15 hours a day: CNBC....ESPN.....some HBO....baseball and hockey...some On-Demand TV programs. The TV rarely remains on any 1 channel for more than 1/2 hour, so no static images for hours at a time. Screen is completely filled; not watching Turner Classic Movies or watching Blu-Rays with black bars on them.

Any benefit to running one of these video discs with images ? Or should I just keep doing what I am doing ?
PhilipsPhanatic is online now  
post #5525 of 5530 Old 05-20-2015, 11:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
sawfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 924
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulburner View Post
Very few HD channels have this issue. It's mostly an SD thing.
For HD, it's at most a YMMV thing. My local HD NBC and CBS channels have black borders along the top, and NBC also has one on the right side. NBC also always has 20-30 white flickering pixels in the upper left. Many HD channels have black borders of varying sizes and locations, and sometimes they have garbage in them. One of my favorite web pages on this issue presents ESPN as an example, and the "good" no-overscan image has garbage along the top that is absent from the "bad" overscan image, and it doesn't show any significant missing information:

http://www.missingremote.com/guide/m...7-media-center

FAIL.

For broadcast TV (cable, OTA, whatver), I always use overscan so I never see these problems, which I first noticed almost a decade ago, and which continue to this day. You're not going to miss anything important, because they assume overscan is in effect. I seriously doubt anyone is able to consistently tell any difference in sharpness.

The important thing is to make sure only one of your TV and source perform overscan. I use Windows Media Center for broadcast TV and let it perform overscan, while my Panasonic ST60 TV is configured NOT to perform overscan. I play ripped content with Kodi with no overscan, and the same for Blurays for my physical player.

That said, I sure wouldn't enable overscan on the TV so Pixel Orbiter would work, as I consider it a worthless feature.
sawfish is offline  
post #5526 of 5530 Old 05-21-2015, 12:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Soulburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,246
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Weird, I only see the artifacts at the edges on some SD channels. DirecTV.
Soulburner is online now  
post #5527 of 5530 Old 05-21-2015, 03:37 AM
Member
 
Iceberg86300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilipsPhanatic View Post
I just got a Samsung 5300 60" last week.

I am watching TV about 12-15 hours a day: CNBC....ESPN.....some HBO....baseball and hockey...some On-Demand TV programs. The TV rarely remains on any 1 channel for more than 1/2 hour, so no static images for hours at a time. Screen is completely filled; not watching Turner Classic Movies or watching Blu-Rays with black bars on them.

Any benefit to running one of these video discs with images ? Or should I just keep doing what I am doing ?
You can keep doing what you're doing, or if you want to get out of the "danger zone" more quickly then you display a near white or white (70-100 IRE) gray scale slide. These can be found on any test disc, and you can usually loop the chapter if the pattern wants to change.

I prefer a physical commercial disc, but if you have the capability you can use the free test disc or parts of it here on AVS.

Definitely a good investment regardless if you use one now, as the high IRE windows are one method to get rid of IR if you run into it down the road.

Regards, (for the vast majority of people :-p)

Steve
Iceberg86300 is offline  
post #5528 of 5530 Old 05-29-2015, 02:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PhilipsPhanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 3,150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iceberg86300 View Post
high IRE windows are one method to get rid of IR if you run into it down the road.
That's good to know as I have never used discs or white screens or had any built-in IR/BI protection before I got the 5300 on my 2 other HDTVs.

2 or 3 times so far I have fallen asleep while watching an on-demand program and the program would end and the OD interface would show up. So for some time that be fixed on the screen because even though I had the TV set to go off, it was usually about 45-60 minutes after the program ended.

So far, however, I saw nothing each time I turned the TV back on in the morning.

Always good to use the TV timer to go off as it will save you SOME time without the TV being on and sometimes fixed images being locked-on, too.
PhilipsPhanatic is online now  
post #5529 of 5530 Old 06-06-2015, 08:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 2
So I don't know much about plasma's but I may be able to get hold of a used 55VT65B (which is the VT60 in the USA) from a family member. From what he tells me he's had about 400-500 hours use and I'm sure he didn't really "break it in" since he's not so techie.

Have I missed the breaking in period then? Will the set be more prone IR/screen burn? I watch a lot of sports i.e. football so the scorecards are usually static, will do gaming etc. Never had a plasma, went from a CRT to an early 720p LCD which I'm still using.
mushroomkid is online now  
post #5530 of 5530 Unread Today, 11:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Cuda1169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The District
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by mushroomkid View Post
So I don't know much about plasma's but I may be able to get hold of a used 55VT65B (which is the VT60 in the USA) from a family member. From what he tells me he's had about 400-500 hours use and I'm sure he didn't really "break it in" since he's not so techie.

Have I missed the breaking in period then? Will the set be more prone IR/screen burn? I watch a lot of sports i.e. football so the scorecards are usually static, will do gaming etc. Never had a plasma, went from a CRT to an early 720p LCD which I'm still using.
No need to worry about "break in" as you already have 400-500 hours on the panel. I would recommend you watch as much varied content as you can. I have a ST50 and watch a lot NFL on Sundays in the fall and winter, but I watch a lot of other content during the week. So static logos and scoreboards have not been a problem for my panel.
Cuda1169 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Hpt4254 42 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Pioneer Pro110 Pro 110fd Pro 110fd Tv Pro110 Kuro 50 Plasma Hdtv , Panasonic Th 50px75u 50 Inch 720p Plasma Hdtv , Playstation 3 160gb System
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off