Yellow Line On Left Side Of Panasonic PZ77U - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 12-07-2007, 09:33 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rwwilk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had my PZ77U for about a week now and have noticed that some HD stations broadcast a yellow line on the far left hand side of the screen. This line does not appear on all HD channels so I assume this is not a problem with the TV.

Similarly, some HD stations, when viewed in FULL mode, broadcast a thin line of, well, I am not sure how to describe it - blacks and whites, maybe? Again, this line does not appear on all HD channels, though it does appear more frequently than the aforementioned yellow line.

How can these issues be fixed? Do I need to adjust the TV settings? Do I need to adjust the settings of my Comcast cable box?

Thanks for the help!
rwwilk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 12-07-2007, 11:35 AM
Senior Member
 
the_gunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Indy
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its extra data sent w/ the signal, typically viewed on major network broadcasts. Its not your tv. If it bothers you, switch your tv to 16x9 mode. The extra data will be over-scanned out of the frame.
the_gunner is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 12-07-2007, 11:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
DPowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You have your set to 1/1 pixel mapping. Great for HD DVD and BD, not so good for cable/sat/ota. Your seeing the edge of the signal. Use the first overscan setting. It's set at 5%

VanillaHD
Simple. Clean. information about high definition
DPowers is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 12-15-2007, 04:48 PM
Newbie
 
M3_962's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DPowers View Post

You have your set to 1/1 pixel mapping. Great for HD DVD and BD, not so good for cable/sat/ota. Your seeing the edge of the signal. Use the first overscan setting. It's set at 5%

I think he means the "HD size" setting in the picture menu. It's in the submenu ("more"?).
M3_962 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 12-15-2007, 04:56 PM
Senior Member
 
ATC7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3_962 View Post

I think he means the "HD size" setting in the picture menu. It's in the submenu ("more"?).

Spot on. It's a common issue with HD cable and satellite providers. The slight overscan in setting 1 gets rid of all lines or signal anomalies around the edges. It's under Picture - Other Adjust - HD Size - Size 1. Size 2 is 1 to 1 mapping which, as already mentioned, is great for HD-DVD or a PS3 for example.
ATC7 is offline  
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off