Is possible that you can get virus over HDMI cable? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 01-11-2009, 12:28 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ben_k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I just want to know THEORITICALLY, can you get virus, or sort of that information via HDMI cable?

FOr instance you connect one media device with HardDrive and there is a virus, is it possible to get this virus to TV via hdmi cable or something?
ben_k is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 01-11-2009, 12:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
kciaccio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Pearland TX
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As far as I know viruses effect software not hardware, so probably not but I could be wrong. Plus viruses are targeted for certain software since microsoft is the largest they write viruses for that software the most. That is one of the reasons linux is so stable they don't bother writing viruses for systems that only the minority uses.
kciaccio is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 01-11-2009, 12:42 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ben_k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just wanted to know this in case I connect HD TV media player to my Philips LCD TV with hDMI cable, and just found that this little box can delete files from harddrive too. I reported the stuff.
ben_k is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 01-11-2009, 06:49 PM
 
ChrisWiggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 20,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
no, no viruses. You could give your TV a bacterial infection though.
ChrisWiggles is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 01-11-2009, 06:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Denophile's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 2,297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
definitely if someone sneezed on it before you touched it...
Denophile is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 01-12-2009, 10:23 PM
Member
 
Jessev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
lol good thread
Jessev is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 05-29-2013, 06:58 PM
Newbie
 
Scotty1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes You can get a virus on the hdmi cable its happened to me 10 times
Scotty1990 is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 05-29-2013, 07:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scotty1990 View Post

Yes You can get a virus on the hdmi cable its happened to me 10 times
You joined today to add that ridiculous answer to a 4 year dead thread? Couldn't you find something better to do?
DVD Freaky likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Just as big an idea thief as)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
olyteddy is online now  
post #9 of 21 Old 05-29-2013, 08:57 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scotty1990 View Post

Yes You can get a virus on the hdmi cable its happened to me 10 times

Which explains the response above.

Important! - Really important!! Do not stick an HDMI cable into your mouth (or any other part of your body). As Scotty says, you can get a virus. I really hate it when that happens to first timers..

Mod - feel free to delete the last three appends (including this one). They serve no useful purpose.

BTW, in case anyone is wondering - a passive HDMI cable has no processor or memory. So it can't. The Redmeres and other active cable do not have changeable programs, so they can't get a virus. Your TV's programming memory can be altered but only by flashing the device, so that would be very difficult even if you could find a way to run a program on the TV. But how would the virus spread? I don't think it could.

I suppose it might be possible on a Blu-Ray player with Java script but again how would it spread? Reset the Blu-Ray player and the virus is wiped.

Not really much to wonder about. No viruses over HDMI.
alk3997 is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 05-29-2013, 11:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 88
I have it on good authority that the MERS virus in the middle east is spread through unconventional use of HDMI cables. But HDMI cables cannot spread computer viruses to your gear.
Colm is offline  
post #11 of 21 Old 05-30-2013, 11:07 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
MERS virus:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Middle_East_respiratory_syndrome_coronavirus

Looks like Wikipedia is behind and doesn't have an entry yet on HDMI causes of MERS. Someone should add that...
alk3997 is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 05-30-2013, 11:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Saudi society is very conservative and does not talk publicly about such things. So, it is no surprise it hasn't made it to wikipedia yet.
Colm is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 05-31-2013, 08:40 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
I have to admit, I'm disappointed. If you do a Google search on "HDMI MERS" (no quotes in search) this thread doesn't show up until the second page. I can only wonder how there are almost two pages of MERS-related HDMI links before this most informative append.
alk3997 is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 05-31-2013, 10:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 242
I can't help but smile every time I read this thread rolleyes.gif
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #15 of 21 Old 05-31-2013, 03:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Read this?
Colm is offline  
post #16 of 21 Old 05-31-2013, 05:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colm View Post

Read this?

Stop it, you're killing me biggrin.gif
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #17 of 21 Old 05-31-2013, 06:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
Doctego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I swapped out my HDMI cables and, now, I have an upset stomach. Does that count?
DVD Freaky likes this.

We are here to help you. Please help us to help you. If you provide incomplete information, at best, we can give you an incomplete response.
Doctego is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 05-31-2013, 09:09 PM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doctego View Post

I swapped out my HDMI cables and, now, I have an upset stomach. Does that count?

Afraid not. That's just a normal reaction to HDMI usage (unfortunately).
alk3997 is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 06-02-2013, 09:27 PM
Member
 
CalebLevArn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
But what about HDMI with ethernet? tongue.gif

CalebLevArn is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 06-02-2013, 11:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 88
What about it? You seen any gear that supports HEC?
Colm is offline  
post #21 of 21 Old 06-03-2013, 08:01 AM
 
alk3997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colm View Post

What about it? You seen any gear that supports HEC?

That's because the HDMI virus is blocking the Ethernet signal. (I've heard it also increases the picture sharpness and corrects color).
alk3997 is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off