Composite Video over HDMI Receiver - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 10-24-2009, 11:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
avfan9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I attach my Wii to one of my receiver's composite inputs, the sound is output to the speakers, but no video is shown. Does the reciever convert to composite video to HDMI video?
avfan9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 10-24-2009, 03:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
What kind of receiver do you have?
Colm is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 10-24-2009, 03:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
avfan9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Igsignia NS-R5101HD
avfan9 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 10-24-2009, 03:50 PM
Newbie
 
Rjonesls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Your receiver probably does not upconvert standard video to Hi def so what you go in with you need to come out with. Meaning you need to run a composite line out to your TV from your receiver.
Rjonesls is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 10-24-2009, 04:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Although some receivers are capable of upconverting to HDMI, yours does not appear to be one. You need to run a cable from the Monitor Out jack on your receiver to the composite input on your TV. You will have to change sources on the TV to view it.
Colm is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 10-24-2009, 11:51 PM
 
ChrisWiggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 20,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
RTFM. Some do some don't. It will tell you in the manual. I COULD do a google search on the receiver for you, and find the manual, and read through it and locate for you the relevant informative passages, and summarize what they say, but we're not your personal servants...
ChrisWiggles is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 12-23-2009, 07:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Xesdeeni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TFM doesn't say.

Oddly, it has no s-video inputs, but has composite, component and HDMI. It has HDMI, component, and composite (labeled monitor) outputs. I would say it implies that it does support conversion, since there is nothing that says otherwise where it tells you to hook up the TV.

We are looking at this for a Blu-Ray, cable-box, and Wii. But based on avfan9's experience, it won't work with composite. The Wii has no HDMI output, but we have the component cable. Does anyone know if it will convert the 480p component to HDMI?

Xesdeeni
Xesdeeni is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 12-23-2009, 10:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
The basic function of an AVR is to simply switch inputs. If the manual does not say it converts from one format to another then it is a good bet that it doesn't.
Colm is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 12-24-2009, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Xesdeeni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For a techie, this makes some sense. But for a consumer, not being clear, even in the manual, is quite poor.

I haven't done a survey of receiver manuals, but there is a note in my Sony receiver manual indicating that conversion is not done (actually, it's more cryptic, only saying that the composite and s-video inputs only come out the composite and s-video outputs, while the component outputs only go out the component -- my older receiver has no HDMI).

There is no such note in the Insignia manual. However, there is a note indicating that the OSD only appears on the composite and component out, not the HDMI.

Xesdeeni
Xesdeeni is offline  
Reply HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off